Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,198 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Honda Pilot suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Honda Pilot:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Honda Pilot Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Mar 142016


  • 46,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Honda Pilot. The contact noticed that the vehicle was leaking black oil from the front driver side bushing. In addition, the steering wheel hesitated to turn left or right. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Maples, FL, USA

problem #20

Jan 202016


  • 75,000 miles
2011 Pilot touring with 75K miles one it started shaking when breaking at highway speeds a few months ago. Took in for service and asked them to check on the cause of the shaking, and they replaced bushings as part of the extended warranty, claiming that would fix the problem. It did not affect the shaking at all. I then took to Firestone for tires and breaks, who identified a busted lower left tie rod and gave me an estimate of $1100 to fix. It only has 75K miles on it, why these suspension/breaks/wheel issues already?? my vehicle shakes violently when I break and I feel it is unsafe for me and my children. This should be a recall, but the labor is extremely expensive because the entire assembly has to be disassembled. I have been a lifelong Honda is very wrong here.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #19

Jan 012012


  • 22,000 miles
Rotors began to prematurely warp at about 20K miles. Dealer resurfaced the rotors as a courtesy service. Warping problem re-appeared at approximately 30K. Warped rotors caused severe vibrations through steering column at highway speeds making for unsafe driving conditions. Honda tech mentioned that Honda used rotors with a softer material in an effort to reduce squealing problem on previous year models. However, this resulted in warping problems on newer models as car is heavier and these rotors are not sufficient in stopping the vehicles without causing significant wear. At 55K miles, I decided to replace rotors with a third party since Honda refused to stand behind their defective product and replace my rotors even though I had reported the problem well before the standard factory warranty period of 3 years / 36K miles. Technician also discovered cracked compliance bushings on front end.

- Union City, CA, USA

problem #18

Jan 152016


  • 81,750 miles


I just purchased my 2011 less than 30 days ago. I have only driven it about 5 times the problem is with a knocking noise when you drive over bumps. When I purchased the car it was a rainy night and you could not hear anything like that because the car and the road was wet. Not that it is dry you hear it at every small bump in the road. Took to service to find that the compliance bushings are cracked and it will also need struts. This is crazy a car less than 5 years old need this already. Honda has to know about this problem why wont they fix this. They have a service bulletin about it. You are looking at almost $1500 to have these 2 problems fixed. I haven't send in my 1st car payment. This is just crazy. I am not happy about this at all. This is something you would never see or know until you take the car to a service center. This is a known problem Honda fix this. You are losing your loyal customers behind things like this

- North Prince George, VA, USA

problem #17

Aug 182015


  • 67,400 miles
Steering wheel making knocking noises when turning at slow speed, especially left. Also had really bad vibration noises when braking from high speeds. Had to change pads at own cost. Compliance bushings were change as part of a service warranty bulletin.

- Carmel, NY, USA

problem #16

May 132015


  • 25,230 miles
Leaking front compliance bushing

- Roseville , CA, USA

problem #15

Aug 182014


  • 61,000 miles


Took the car to the dealer for clicking noise when making slow turns, such as pulling into a parking space. Found 2 compliance bushings are broken and leaking. Approx 650 dollar repair. Dealer knew it was an issue and considers it normal wear and tear for a 3 year old car. Not covered under warranty.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #14

May 232012

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 39,018 miles
2011 Honda Pilot experiencing a severe vibration issues when applying the brakes when traveling at highway speeds (45mph+). the vehicle stability, steering and control do not feel safe under these conditions. We first identified the problem with Honda at 39000 miles in 2012 and they balanced the tires. Brought to Honda's attention again at 69000 miles in August 2013. They replaced the front and rear brake pads and resurfaced front and rear the rotors for a charge of $478. Still experiencing at 80000 miles and they said we need new front rotors ($440) and need to replace compliance arm bushings (found compliance bushings split and torn) for $736.95. Please investigate as a serious defective issue that perhaps warrants a recall.

- Pittstown, NJ, USA

problem #13

Jun 112014

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 45,731 miles
2011 Honda Pilot has cracked, leaking compliance bushings. Now whenever I press on the break pedal at any speed above 30mph the whole large vehicle shakes and shakes until I take my foot off it, and on a downslope it feels as if the Pilot dives forward with no intent of stopping.. Honda is aware of the many complaints about the exactly same problem. Honda has redesigned the part to be replaced in when Pilot come in for repair/replacement. Why is Honda allowed to go on charging customers who paid almost $40,000 for a defective vehicle with no recall on this issue? I am requesting the NHTSA would investigate and put pressure on Honda to maintain quality standards on its vehicles. My Honda Pilot is not even 3 years old with 45K miles!

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #12

Mar 192014


  • 6,500 miles
In the last six weeks the "struts" have failed. The first time we were charged to replace them. Then within two weeks approximately, they broke again. Now the car is back in the shop again for the same reason. We don't know much about cars, but this doesn't make sense. We have used the car (e.g.: 6500 miles) but certainly not driven it in any unusual way.

- Billings, MT, USA

problem #11

Jan 132014


  • 38,003 miles


When driving on the freeway at speeds of 60 to 65 when I need to brake the front end of my Pilot shimmies while I apply the brake causing me to not be sure if I'm going to be able to stop. I thought maybe it was rough road surface and my son thought it was out if balance tires. I don't drive the freeway that often and there were no issues while driving on city streets. Lately I've been on the freeway more than usual and I noticed the problem was getting worse. On May 1st I went to costco where I purchased my radial tires January 2013 and had them check the balance of my tires. They said they were balanced and pressure was good. Later that day I called Honda san leandro while driving hands free stating I had a serious problem. The Pilot was shimming/vibrating very hard. I felt the problem was so dangerous that I took my Pilot to an automotive shop very close to my location leaving it for repairs. The owner of the shop called me the next morning May 2, 2014 telling me what he found. The bushings were cracked and broken. I asked to be shown where they came from and was shown the approximate area under a different car and was told that these two bushings had the job of providing a smooth drive. The owner told me that Honda changed the design of the replacement bushings which leads me to believe they knew the original design was defective. Why didn't Honda issue a recall? my Pilot now has only 38,000 miles. My bill is $513.82 with the 2 bushings being $306.26.I have the original bushings that were removed from my Pilot.

- Hayward, CA, USA

problem #10

Jun 232012

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
I was towing a trailer with a motorcycle in it. I was driving about 60 mph and the front end started to vibrate really bad. I drove to a friends house and left my trailer there because I was on my way out of town. I didn't notice the vibration once the trailer was removed. I now have about 54,000 miles on the car and the vibration can be pretty bad when I'm stopping hard and also sometimes when I'm driving. I've had the tires changed and rotated so I know it's not the tires. I also have a rear left tail light that keeps going out. I've changed it twice but it's not burned out. I think it must be a short. Now the radio lights have started to go dim. I first noticed this about 2 weeks ago. We got a hard rain this weekend and when I got into my car the next morning the headliner was wet around the sunroof on the passenger side.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #9

Jul 202013

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
I have had my 2011 Honda Pilot at the dealership (greg may Honda in waco, Texas) 5 times for suspension problems and they yet have found the problem. It is making bottoming out sounds on white rock roads that can be heard and felt through the floor. Almost to the point of jarring passengers. I have had both rear trailing arms replaced at which did not fix the problem. I suggested to them maybe shocks. But they refused to replace them. I am at my whits end with this problem. I fear that eventually something is going to break and cause an accident. The trailing arms bolts are made of rubber which does not look safe to me. I just purchased this vehicle in July and have had problems ever since then. Please help. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mexia, TX, USA

problem #8

Oct 142013

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 21,351 miles
Rear suspension is leaking. My SUV is less than 3 yrs old and only has 21351 miles.

- River Edge, NJ, USA

problem #7

Sep 022013


  • 54,000 miles
The vehicle shuddered and vibrated when breaks were compressed at high speed. Steering wheel also vibrated when the vehicle was driven at speeds over 50 mph. Took the car in for service and was told that the rotors would need to be fixed, but was also told that there was a problem with the compliance bushings leaking and that they would have to be replaced at a cost of $750. I stated that the car was not that old, was never driven 'off road, ' and was just over 50,000 miles. Dealer stated that this was a must fix problem and that they have seen this issue with other Pilot. The dealer checked with Honda about getting a break on the cost to fix the problem, and Honda agreed to subsidize part of the cost. Many concerns moving forward about the reliability of this part. This is not a reasonable repair for a relatively new vehicle marketed as a sport utility vehicle with 4-wheel drive.

- East Greenwich, RI, USA

problem #6

May 022013

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 46,750 miles
2011 Honda Pilot ex-L with 46750 miles has cracked compliance bushings. Per discussions with service writer at local Honda dealership, this has become a very common problem on 2010 to 2012 Pilot. They strongly recommend replacing them. Upon looking up the item on the internet, there is quite a bit of noise by Honda owners about having to replace this bushing on various models and years. Apparently, Honda has or is in the process of redesigning this bushing. If vehicle is out of warranty, one has to pay for the repairs but in a few cases it appears that Honda reduced the cost or may of fixed it for free after the owners pressed their case. The only tip off that I had about a problem was a slight thumping noise when I turned the steering wheel. Others per the internet had pulling to one side or the other or juddering when applying the brakes or premature tire wear. I am not sure how great of a safety issue this is or could be if these bushings were to break but it is apparent the Honda is aware of the problem but not letting anybody know about other than when you take it in for service and you are told about the problem and how much it will cost.

- Helotes, TX, USA

problem #5

Dec 102010

Pilot 6-cyl

  • miles
The car at 50 mph would loose control when you go over a bump on the road and if the surface of the highway is irregular it slide sideway and bounces up and down we took it in a few times to the Honda service and was told that everything was ok one time they told me it was the pressure of the tires and another time I needed new brakes so here I am with a car that is very scary to drive I am going to try again tomorrow to bring it in to the Honda service and hopefully they will fix it.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #4

Aug 062012

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 22,300 miles
Noticed a vibration in the gas pedal while driving at any speed. Feel every like bump in the roads. Also when slowing to a stop and turning or backing out of a parking spot, I feel/hear a hard vibration on brake. Took to dealer, they stated warped new to happen. Got full brake job at $340. Drove off, issue still present. At this visit tires were rotated and balance too. Next day also noticed all 4 rims were damaged from the tool that removed my tires. Told supervisor everything I learned about other Pilot owners and this possible defeat of rotors. They still have my truck (4 days so far) trying to identify issue. They do agree there is an issue. They are going to do road force balancing next. I will fight for a refund of this brake job and will continue to pursue until I am satisfied.

- Mount Washington , KY, USA

problem #3

Aug 042012

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
Uneven worn out rear right tire caused by suspension rod bending due to an accident related as claimed by Honda automobile. The video of the bend I have do showed otherwise, suspension rod do not appear as any impact related, it appeared as manufacturer's defect which Honda is avoiding to take the responsibility. I told them that I have not had any accident with the car. And which type of impact will cause such a suspension rod to bend without affecting other surrounding fragile components. Also why is the impact very isolative, neat and appeared corroded.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #2

Jun 092012

Pilot 6-cyl

  • 20,125 miles
Noticed the cars steering wheel shakes when brake is applied at approximately 65-70 miles per hour which is very scary. Brought the car to the dealership and was told the rotors need to be re-surface. I ask why because it's a brand new car with very low mileage and response was it could be the problem. Brought the car home 6/9/12 afternoon. Drove it the next day and steering wheel shaking still present. I research the web and found out, lots of Honda Pilot owner are having the same problems and that the remedy for it was replacing 1. power steering pump 2. power steering rack. Finding were presence of metal fillings from the power steering pump that's coming from the power steering rack itself and result was no more vibrations in the steering column...Honda need to recall this existing problem for safety purposes before someone gets hurt...

- Fairfield, CA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?