Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,099 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Hyundai Accent lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Hyundai Accent:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Hyundai Accent Owner Comments

problem #6

Dec 122015

Accent

  • 81,592 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Break light recall - location mount vernon, Ohio - date 12-12-2015 I was driving to a christmas event and was pulled over by a state highway patrol officer due to my breaklights being out. I pulled over in the nearest parking lot and had my boyfriend look at it. He said there is a little switch behind the break area that was stuck. He flicked it a few times and it came loose and started working. I am glad the officer let me know before I got into I-71 traffic. I would like to know how to take care of this.

- Mount Vernon, OH, USA

problem #5

Apr 012013

Accent 4-cyl

  • miles
"Hyundai motor company (Hyundai) is recalling certain model year 2006-2009 Accent. Hyundai's recall campaign number is 110." I have a 2009 Hyundai Accent that has had a brake light switch failure back in April 2013 and now in November 2014. In 2013 Hyundai did a supposed fix based on campaign 110... the "fix" has failed and again all three brake lights have gone out at once. In 2013 I contacted Hyundai corporate and they assisted in getting the issue dealt with. The 'fix, " though, has failed and now Hyundai is saying my 09 has no known issues or recalls. I spoke with them and received a case number [xxx] and have spoken with a [xxx] and have been given different stories starting with it was only 06 and 07 Hyundai Accents recalled for brake light switch issues even though cars.com and motortrends.com reported otherwise and when I called back informing them that the NHTSA has 09 Accents also listed the story became that it's only certain 09 Accents. The issue is now over VIN number. What I know it that I have a 2009 Hyundai Accent that has had not one but two brake light switch failures... an issue known in these type of cars by them and the federal government... but Hyundai is not recognizing that there is an issue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pflugerville, TX, USA

problem #4

Nov 092012

Accent

  • miles
2009 Hyundai Accent. Consumer writes in regards to stop lamp switch malfunction recall notice and consumer seeks reimbursement for repairs. The consumer stated in April 2013, he received a recall notice. On November 19, 2012, his vehicle was repaired at a nationwide recognized facility, where the stop light switch was replaced, due to no brake lights. The consumer stated he followed all of the procedures of the recall notification, for vehicles already repaired. On August 12, 2013, the consumer called the customer service number, only to be informed, he would have to take his vehicle to a Hyundai dealer to have it inspected and verified, before the reimbursement could be approved.

- Battleboro, NC, USA

problem #3

Jun 172013

Accent 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I noticed my vehicle's brake light switch was faulty after bringing in my car for an oil change. After coming home and noticing it, I realized that there was a recall on the same exact part for my make model year (Hyundai Accent 2009). After calling the local dealership, they said that it was not covered underneath the recall. I am skeptical that Hyundai made there recall large enough to cover all of the impacted vehicles, thus this post. It looks like other owners are having similar issues as well:

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #2

Jan 042013

Accent 4-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
I own two Hyundai Accents, a 2008 and this, a 2009. Now both have had the same problem with the brake light switch becoming inoperative. Fortunately, the lack of brake lights was noticed before any accidents occurred, and the vehicles were taken to the dealer and were repaired at no charge. It seems that the recall for 2006 and 2007 should have been extended to the 2008 and 2009 Accent models (plus any others using the same brake light switch).

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #1

Dec 142012

Accent 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The brake lights all failed at the same time. My daughter was following me and noticed they weren't working. I checked the fuse and it is ok, so the next component is the switch. I researched problems with my model and noticed there was a recall for the 2007 model year for the same model car for the stop lamp switch. Maybe the same parts are being used in later model years.

- Front Royal, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?