Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,409 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Hyundai Accent seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Hyundai Accent:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Hyundai Accent Owner Comments

problem #17

Sep 172016

Accent

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag light came on and won't go off. Took to independent mechanic stated error message B1448 is failure of passenger seat airbag sensor. I was informed that this is a very expensive repair but he thinks there is a recall. I called Hyundai- they informed me there is no recall. The vehicle was in an accident and nothing happened that should have caused the sensor to go bad. I am now afraid that the airbags may not deploy as needed in this car

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #16

Jul 182016

Accent

  • 77,000 miles
On the lower portion of the tachometer, there is a warning light: Air bags. This light is on continuously, whenever the car is turned on. My daughter reports it has been on for "quite some time". I called the closest Hyundai dealership service department, and was told that probably means all of the air bags are disabled. A dangerous situation. Further, they could diagnose the situation for one hour of shop time, or $110. That's not repair, only a scope test. I told dealer the car only has used 77K miles on its 100K warranty, and was told since were are not original purchasers, there is no warranty on malfunctioning air bags, or warning light sensors. I told dealer there was a recent alert and recall regarding air bag malfunctions on Kia vehicles (a Hyundai product) of which this vehicle has the identical engine and interior as the 2009 Kia rio, and the dealer said they have heard nothing regarding our vehicle or this specific problem.

- Coupeville, WA, USA

problem #15

Feb 102015

Accent

  • 16,000 miles
Passenger seat occupancy air bag sensor defect. SRS indicator light on. Dtc code B1 448 occupant classification system mat defect. Entire seat cushion with sensor needs to be replaced. Was no damage or abuse to seat, very low use and mileage. Many reports online of similar situations.

- Yorktown Heights, NY, USA

problem #14

Mar 072015

Accent

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Accent. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was driven to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the seat sensor was damaged and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact also stated that the seat sensor on the driver side failed a few months after. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximated failure mileage was 125,000. The VIN was not available....updated 02/02/16

- Stevensville, MD, USA

problem #13

Oct 262015

Accent

  • 71,000 miles
The air bag light came on in car. In order to pass safety inspection this needs tone dealt with at dealership. After diagnostic was run they told me the passenger side detection sensor was faulty. The repair is $1200 and for a car less than 10 years old and under 100,000 miles there is no reason to have this issue. I tried to receive relief reimbursement at the dealership level and at Hyundai customer service. Both were denied.

- Richmond, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Oct 222015

Accent

  • 82,000 miles
In/about 11/13/2014 the air bag warning light activated and stayed it. Dealer's option was to charge for obtaining the code and possibly bill as much as $1,400 to replace the seat. Another mechanic reported the code as "B 1448 OCS" [occupant classification system - mat failure]. after several attempts at resetting the system and cleaning the contacts, replaced the seat with a used seat for $200 on 10/22/2015.....updated 12/03/15

- Brattleboro, VT, USA

problem #11

Oct 182015

Accent

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2009 Hyundai Accent. While driving at approximately 70 mph, the contact's vehicle crashed into the preceding vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to a salvage yard. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Candler, NC, USA

problem #10

Jan 222015

Accent

  • 86,000 miles
The driver side airbag off light came on and stays while the car is on. The passenger side airbag off warning light has been faulty for several years now- it sometimes turns on when there is an adult passenger sitting properly in the passenger seat with a seatbelt on. This is intermittent; however it happens fairly often for the past several years when there is a passenger sitting there. A few days ago, the driver side airbag warning light illuminated. I took it for servicing at hooman Hyundai near lax and they told me that the driver side light has to do with the passenger side airbag sensor and this would cost over $1000 to replace.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #9

Nov 132014

Accent

  • 80,948 miles
The air bag warning light activated and stayed lit. Hyundai service advised there would be a diagnostic fee merely to test where the problem might be. Repair could cost, according to past experience of the service manager, in the neighborhood of $1,400. It is my understanding that the vehicle will not pass inspection with a lit air bag warning light. I took the vehicle to another mechanic who had access to a scanning computer. The code read: "B1448 OCS (occupant classification system) (mat failure)." The warning light was reset. A review of filed complaints discloses several other instances of this occurring: Date of incident: 05/16/2014 NHTSA id number: 10592409 date of incident: 12/12/2013 NHTSA id number: 10556375 date of incident: 04/29/2013 NHTSA id number: 10509961

- Brattleboro, VT, USA

problem #8

Apr 172013

Accent 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Around 75,000 miles, vehicle is 4 years old, airbag sensor went off (no accident or anything). I brought the car to the dealership to have it looked at. Came back estimating roughly $1,200 repair to replace the passenger side seat. I told them it is probably just a blown fuse and to check for that, they refused and said they've seen the problem before and that the repair is not covered under any warranty and that it was likely my fault due to a spilled drink. I've never spilled a drink in this car or even left the windows open. Therefore, the problem is most likely due to faulty wiring. I refused to pay the $1,200 repair. Now I am writing this because I am likely to fail inspection and will be forced to repair it. I want to increase visibility of this issue.

- Parsippany, NJ, USA

problem #7

May 162014

Accent 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have taken my pre-owned, certified vehicle into the dealer 3 separate times because the air bag light on the console comes on and will not reset. Each time I have had to pay a diagnostic fee and have the codes reset. The last visit on May 16, 2014 I was told that if it happens again, they will repair and replace the seat sensors. I am now out the diagnostic fee ($89) each time I go in. This is clearly a safety issue as you don't know if it is functioning properly or the air bag will deploy if someone is in the passenger seat.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #6

Dec 122013

Accent 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Our airbag light went on at the dashboard, and a dealer informed us that the all the sensors on the passenger side airbag had failed. We were told that it would cost almost $1,000 to fix this, and that the parts alone were over $700. We are one 1 month 16 days, and less than 10,000 miles past he 60000 limit for the warranty. I have spoken with Hyundai repeatedly to have them pay for the cost of replacing this key safety device, which has failed due to no fault of our own. Hyundai, and the dealer refuse to accept responsibility for an obvious defect in these crucial safety sensors. Hyundai promotes their service and safety, but has a real problem with passenger air bag sensor failure, and the company will not accept responsibility for its own defects.

- Cheltenham, PA, USA

problem #5

Sep 052012

Accent

  • 13,000 miles
My son was driving a 2009 Hyundai Accent and rear ended a stopped vehicle. My son was doing approximately 40 mph and not one airbag is his car deployed. His car was inoperable and was totaled by the insurance company. I went to the Hyundai dealer, with pictures, to let them know there was some sort of problem with that car and the manager's response to me was "I wasn't the manager when that car was purchased". I tried explaining that I was there out of concern that if it happens to someone else, there could be some serious injuries but he only cared that "he was not the manager" when I purchased that vehicle.

- Lexington Park, MD, USA

problem #4

Apr 292013

Accent 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
I took my vehicle for Virginia safety inspection and it failed due to the air bag warning light stays on, which I thought was normal to let me know it was working, but apparently not. It has been on since I bought the car from carmax. I have researched a little and there seems to quite a few problems with this issue and Hyundai. This is the second safety issue, the brake light recall being the first.

- Front Royal, VA, USA

problem #3

Dec 062010

Accent

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Accent. While driving 45 mph the vehicle slid on ice, crashed into a ditch and rolled over twice. The air bags did not deploy. He was not injured. The weather conditions were wet and the ground was covered with ice. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. The insurance company towed the vehicle in order to diagnose the cause of failure. There was no maintenance done to the air bags prior to the crash. The manufacturer was contacted but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 10,000.

- Marion, OH, USA

problem #2

Sep 172010

Accent

  • 29,000 miles
I have a 2009 Hyundai Accent my wife weighs a little over 100 pounds when she is a passenger in the car she isn't heavy enough to trigger the passenger side airbag every time. Some times it will work sometimes it won't. we took to the dealer and they said hat everything is working fine.

- Fayetteville, TN, USA

problem #1

Apr 202010

Accent

  • 18,000 miles
My daughter, [xxx], was involved in an automobile accident where she rear ended another car head on going approximately 30 miles an hour' which probably totaled her car and no airbags delpoyed not even the front ones. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fort Valley, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?