Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,055 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Hyundai Azera seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Hyundai Azera:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Hyundai Azera Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #36

Oct 012015

Azera

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dashboard has outline airbag crack on passenger side. Driver seat moves forward, tilts forward, moves back while driving.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #35

Oct 102014

Azera

  • 119,255 miles
Our airbag light is on all the time. Back in Oct 2014, car had 119K miles, we took it to the dealer because there was a recall on the seat belt tensioner. They said that the car was salvage title so nothing could be done (salvage title due to hail damage). They said the recall had already been performed. They charged us for the diagnostic and recommended we replace the right (passenger) seat belt retractor assembly but we did not do this. Also, there are 2 cracks in the passenger side dashboard that were there when we bought the car. My husband thought it was probably sun damage, but I have since seen in the NHTSA comments that this is an issue due to airbag below.

- Deep River, IA, USA

problem #34

Feb 122016

Azera

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Azera. While driving various speeds, the seat belt and air bag warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the new wiring harness clip was loose and needed to be tightened. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was previously serviced per NHTSA campaign number: 10V007000 (air bags, seat belts) but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The vehicle was brought back to the dealer several times for the failure. The contact was advised that no one over 150 lbs should utilize the passenger seat. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and confirmed that the seat limit was 150 lbs. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #33

Jan 012016

Azera

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After the vehicle is started, the air bag warning indicator illuminates. Issue seems to be related to a recall for campaign 094 which was fixed in Dec 2014. My regular car service provider has diagnosed and confirmed it to the same issue and says the recall is not properly fixed but the Hyundai dealer does not agree. How can one confirm if recall was properly fixed or not. Air bag and seat belt indicator came on after few months of fixing the recall. I initially thought it to be some computer codes issue and got the codes cleared but it came back after a month again. Campaign 094 states "the wiring harness for the right front seat belt tension sensor may become damaged after repeated use of the right front seat belt. If the wiring is damaged, the passenger front airbag will not deploy in the event of a crash. Dealers will repair the vehicles free of charge. The recall began February 22, 2010. The Hyundai recall number is 094." I don't remeber the exact date of when this happened so I am putting a dummy date of 01/01/2016

- Cumberland, RI, USA

problem #32

Jun 152010

Azera

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Azera. The contact stated that after the vehicle was started, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was serviced in 2010 under NHTSA campaign number: 10V007000 (air bags, seat belts) however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Celima, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #31

Nov 032014

Azera

  • 125,000 miles
Driver's dash airbag warning lamp illuminates sporadically. Front passenger seat "airbag disabled" warning lamp illuminates sporadically whether seat is occupied or not. Front passenger seat "seat belt unlatched" warning lamp illuminates sporadically whether seat is occupied or not and/or whether seat belt is latched or not.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #30

Oct 202014

Azera

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Azera. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician diagnosed that the air bag was defective. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 55,000. Updated 6/8/15

- Thornton , CO, USA

problem #29

Apr 152015

Azera 6-cyl

  • miles
There are two cracks leading from tht passenger side air bag.I have reported this to Hyundai but was denied.I was given no reason why. I consider this a serious safety problem because you will never know when the air bag will deploy.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #28

Apr 012014

Azera

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Azera. The contact stated the air bag warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 84,000.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #27

Jan 022015

Azera

  • 49,087 miles
I just bought this car used with 49K on the odo and the other day the passenger airbag off light remained on and like other instances will not reset to the on position. I have not yet taken the car to the dealer, but that is my next step. This is a known problem, but yet I see no recall from Hyundai for such a serious safety condition. That is the reason for my complaint.

- Escondido, CA, USA

problem #26

Sep 152014

Azera

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The passenger airbag light that comes on when someone is not seating in the front passenger seat stays on all the time. In an accident the passenger air bag will not deploy.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #25

May 052014

Azera

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Azera. While driving at an unknown speed, the air bag warning light illuminated and failed to turn off. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Kamuela, HI, USA

problem #24

Mar 112014

Azera

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Azera. The contact stated while driving approximately 60 mph, the front driver and passenger side air bag warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the seat belt tensioner needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 67,000.

- Crossville, TN, USA

problem #23

Jul 232014

Azera 6-cyl

  • 50,050 miles
The drivers side airbag light has been on since I took it for service on 7/23/2014. It went out for a day and came back on, staying on ever since.

- Wappingers Falls, NY, USA

problem #22

Oct 022014

Azera

  • 55,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Azera. The contact stated after the vehicle was started, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the passenger side seat belt and tensioner needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 55,500.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #21

Jun 022014

Azera

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Azera. The contact stated that that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the passenger's side seat belt tension needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact mentioned that the failure was previously repaired under a manufacturers recall. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 103,000.

- Lynchburg, VA, USA

problem #20

Dec 122012

Azera

  • 79,000 miles
All kinds of electrical problems least of which is the cigarette lighter quit working. The powered passenger seat can not be moved any direction. Air bag light came on after hitting a fairly small pothole. Air bag light goes on for a few days/weeks then goes off.passenger seatbelt indicator light comes on sometimes while passenger is wearing seatbelt sometimes the same light randomly comes on then goes off with no passenger and no weight in the seat. I have personally paid for a new battery and two starters which more than likely didn't need replaced because my car still won't start at random times. I first experienced it not starting around 79,000 miles I could tell it wasn't the battery cause I tried jump starting it and all the while the door chime lights and radio all worked fine. So I replaced the starter only to have it not start the very next day. Anyway a wire was replaced to the starter and all was fine for about 10,000 miles and the same non starting issues occurred again and again. Seems like I just keep trying to start it and maybe the 8th or 25th time it starts.. running out of words and they would only let me pick 3 parts to write about also have issues with brakes cracks around passenger air bag on dash etc.

- Oakland, MD, USA

problem #19

Jan 012014

Azera 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
Drivers side air bag light in the instrument panel is staying on. This means the airbag will not will not work if the light is on. I know there is a recall on the passenger side, but they will not recognize the drivers side air bag. To me if a light is on I believe that would also be an issue for a recall, but the company just poo poo's the claim. For anyone that has the same problem please call and make a report. The number for a complaint is: 1-888-327-4236. Please call and complain so this issue can be resolved.

- Crossville, TN, USA

problem #18

Jan 152014

Azera 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Azera. The contact stated that the driver side air bag sensor light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 66,000. Updated 06/10/14 the consumer stated the manufacturer refused any assistance. Updated 06/16/2014

- Crossville, TN, USA

problem #17

Dec 152011

Azera 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The air bag dash light remains on.

- El Paso, TX, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?