Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,689 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Hyundai Elantra seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments

problem #19

Aug 212010


  • 34,076 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the ignition and air bag warning light illuminated. The warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the technician replaced the driver and passenger side frontal air bags and the supplement restraint system control module. Also, the satellite sensor was replaced. The defect was related to a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 08V533000 (air bags: Frontal: Sensor/control module); however the notification was received after the repairs were performed on the vehicle at the expense of the owner. The manufacturer was notified for reimbursement which they refused to honor for the previous recall related repairs. The failure mileage was 34,076.

- Dover, DE, USA

problem #18

Jul 022010

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 176,114 miles
The contact owned a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. While driving at 30 mph, a vehicle abruptly moved in front of the contact. The contact depressed the brake pedal but crashed into the preceding vehicle. The vehicle was destroyed. The air bags did not deploy and the contact sustained injuries to her chest. The passenger sustained hip injuries. The vehicle was towed from the scene. The dealer advised all recall repairs related to the air bag were previously performed on the vehicle and there was nothing wrong with the air bags (NHTSA campaign id numbers: 08V532000: Air bags: Frontal: Sensor/control module and 00V332000: Air bags: Side/window). Updated evoq 10/20/10

- Beltsville, MD, USA

problem #17

Apr 092010

Elantra 4-cyl

  • miles
2001 Hyundai Elantra. Consumer states problem with air bag module the consumer stated she received a recall notice regarding the air bag module. However, two months prior, she was informed the vehicle needed an air bag module due to internal failure. The air bag light had illuminated and remained on. The consumer stated since a recall was issued, she is seeking reimbursement.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #16

Nov 272009

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. He had his vehicle repaired according to recall # 08V532000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module). However the remedy referenced in the recall does not allow recourse for consumers who have experienced contamination prior to recall service. As a consequence he would have to pay $3000 to repair the connector module. After he pays for the repair he could then inquire about reimbursement. The manufacturer was notified, the consumer was referred to the dealer. The failure and current mileages were 55,000. Updated 2/22/10 updated 07/15/10

- Chicopee, MA, USA

problem #15

Nov 232009


  • 158,055 miles
I had Hyundai motors and luther bloomington Hyundai Mitsubishi Kia perform NHTSA campaign id number: 08V532000. I had an air bag light on, Hyundai motors and luther bloomington Hyundai Mitsubishi Kia could not verify to me that the light was due to the recall. Since the air bag control module may be affected in this recall.

- Burnsville, MN, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Dec 152008

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. The air bag warning light was illuminated on the instrument control panel, which indicated that the air bags were inoperative. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and a technician concluded that air bag control module connector failed. The remedy in recall # 08V532000 (air bags;frontal'sensor/control module) does mandate the replacement of the air bag control module. As a consequence, collateral damaged caused by a failure that has progressed will not be remedied. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 70,000. The current mileage was 80,800. Updated 11/03/09 the consumer stated in his case the recall was useless, because the damage had already occurred. Updated 11/04/09

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #13

Jun 152009


  • 56,200 miles


2001 Hyundai Elantra was taken to ourisman Hyundai Mazda of laurel, md to have them perform the Hyundai recall no. 88 (NHTSA campaign 08V532000). Dealer failed to install the recall repair item yet dealer claimed the recall work was completed. Photos of unmodified vehicle are available. Subsequently and on the same day of claimed repair, the SRS (air bag) control module began to show a failure light on the vehicle dashboard. Vehicle was returned to ourisman Hyundai to correct the failure on 8/28/09. Dealer claimed the SRS control module was (now) defective and must be replaced at owners expense. The SRS control module on this vehicle appeared to perform its function correctly for 8 years; no failure symptoms were evident. Dealer recall work has rendered the SRS control module inoperative. Due to dealer action, our family is not longer protected by the safety restraint system.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #12

Feb 182009


  • 85,324 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 08V533000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module). The recall repair was performed, but the air bag indicator is still on. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer and they stated that she would have to pay for the second repair because they completed the repair under the recall. She then had the dealer call the Hyundai manufacturer and they stated that the contact would have to pay for the second repair. The failure mileage was 85,324. Updated 3*/16/09 the consumer was informed the problem was with the module nder passenger seat which was not covered under the recall. Updated 03/20/09.

- Conventry, RI, USA

problem #11

Sep 012008


  • miles
2001 Hyundai Elantra recall on the air bag control module. Consumer wants to know why the dealership will not replace the module for this recall. The consumer stated she had her vehicle cleaned and detailed. When she picked the vehicle up, the air bag light was on. She took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated the module was no operating. The dealer informed the consumer it could have been from moving the seats. Several months later the consumer received a recall letter regarding the potential problem. The consumer made an appointment to rectify the situation as stated in the letter, only to be told they were only required to put a protective cover over the air bag module so that liquid could not get into the module. The consumer stated the damaged had already been done.

- Woodridge, IL, USA

problem #10

Dec 172008

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 120,826 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the air bag control module in the center console failed. The cause of the failure was liquid intrusion due to a manufacturer defect of the center console cup holders. The dealer would not repair the vehicle according to NHTSA campaign id number 08V532000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module). The dealer will install a protective cover over the air bag control module connector. The contact feels that they should repair the failure and; however, the dealer stated that they were not responsible. The failure mileage was 120,826. Updated 01/14/09. Updated 01/21/09.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #9

Aug 142006

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles


Headlights burning out frequently was the first sign of problems, replaced them as the dealer said this was inherent to the 2001 Elantra. In August 2006 check engine light came on. Also, the air bag sensor light was on, headlight out again, took car to dealer, they called back and said that the alternator had been over charging and not only was the over charging burning out the headlights it also had taken out the cruise control module, and air bag module. Car had only 42000 miles on it, and was 2 weeks from being out of the 5 year bumper to bumper warranty. Well here it is 6 months later and 47000 miles and check engine light is back on, I have since purchased a diagnostic tool to read the codes. The car was running rough at idle. The codes came up as mis fire on cylinder 3, tps sensor failure and map barometer failure. I replaced the plugs and wires, engine still ran rough. Took car back to dealer they replaced the tps, still running rough, they suggested that because of the faulty tps that the excessive dumping of fuel into the jets could have caused one of them to be clogged. I had them clean the jets as well as replace the plugs and wires again (they had also found that #3 wire had been arcing.) this took care of the idle problem. I took the car home and the next day driving the car would surge between 3rd and 4th gear, engine light back on. Still have the map error. Dealer ended up replacing the map sensor. It has been about a month since this last occourence and all I can do is cross my fingers until I trade it in. Abl.pco

- Taylorsville, UT, USA

problem #8

Oct 282005

Elantra 4-cyl

  • miles
10/28/05 car did not stop immediately while parking, went through fence and hit deck. Brakes did not hold in sand. Car towed to dealership who informed, nothing wrong with brakes. Advised by dealership that the recall on brakes for Hyundai Elantra 2001 was remedied by them. Brakes still do not hold well, advised by another mechanic that brake shoes are fine. Still do not have a good comfort level with brakes. Air bag light on, recall on file for model and year, dealer advised not for my car. Will fix at cost of approximately $700.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #7

Oct 042006

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,500 miles
I was involved in a head on collision in my 2001 Hyundai Elantra, with a Jeep Wrangler, the front end of my car was badly damaged (have pictures), the damage was bad enough to for the insurance company to total my car. Yet! neither one of my front air bags deployed in the crash. Everyone who has seen my crashed Elantra could not believe the air bags never deployed! luckily, I was not seriously injured, so that does say something for the Elantra, but I still feel the air bags should have deployed. I'm just trying to prevent someone from getting really hurt in a crash, because of this possible defect. Will be glad to provide more details if necessary!

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #6

Jun 162005

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Contact states air bag light stayed illuminated in the vehicle, the service dealer stated this was due to things being underneath the seat. Consumer stated there was nothing underneath the seats. Abl.pco

- Muskego, WI, USA

problem #5

Nov 052004


  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
The air bag light stayed on. The owner has contacted the manufacturer and was informed that the bumper to bumper warranty had expired and there was nothing they could do. Provide further details. Abl.pco

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #4

Feb 222005


  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
The air bag light came on. The dealer stated that there is something is under the seat that made it come on., however, they will inspect the vehicle to determine exactly why the light is on. Abl.pco

- East Hartford, CT, USA

problem #3

Nov 082004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Air bag light continued to illuminate. Consumer was informed by dealer that the computer chip was burnt by liquid spilling on it since its location was below the cup holder. Dealer will repair at consumer's expense.........consumer does not see how this should be his responsibility. It should be covered under the warranty, or consumer should have been told that the cup holder could not be used for its purpose. Abl.pco

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #2

Jan 062004


  • Manual transmission
  • miles
I own a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. The air bag warning light came on while driving and stayed on. I took it into the dealership in Dec. But they found nothing wrong with it. The problem continued for several weeks. I took the car into the dealership on Jan. 6, 2004 and they claim liquid got on to the air bag sensors and computer through the emergency brake housing, so they feel they are not responsible for the $1100 replacement, even though the car is still under warranty. I feel it is a safety issue and poor design to not protect the sensors with a cover if they are going to install the air bag sensors next to the emergency brake, which are next to the cup holders. Although there is a possibility that a drink might have gotten splashed near the emergency brake, I do not ever recall that happening, and no one else drives my car. However, I was told that Hyundai Corp. Does not feel this is a problem (the positioning of the computer in a vulnerable place) because "in Korea, people don't eat or drink in their cars". then tell me why there are cup holders in their cars. I think their export models should have the air bag sensors and computer placed somewhere else, or, at the very least, in a covered box. Abl.pco

- Indian Harbour Beach, FL, USA

problem #1

Nov 072002

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
While traveling on the highway without prior warning the airbag light illuminated on the dashboard. Dealer is aware of the problem. Severe vibration in steering wheel after brakes are applied. Dealer found rotors were warped due to overheating and brake pads had to be replaced. However problem reoccured. Transmission did not shift properly and revved at a high RPM between 2nd and 3rd and bucked before shifting. Abl.pco

- Baiting Hollow, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?