Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
16 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,079 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Hyundai Elantra seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #46

Dec 032014


  • 161,000 miles


Turning onto main street when a large oak tree fell from left side of road, catching lower drivers sidefront fiberglass bumper and tow bar. Making the car stop abruptly. Air bags deployed, passenger side shattered windshield and ripped dash area on passenger side. The bag hit my wife's right arm and shattered all the bones from her elbow to her fingers. We are 74, and 75 yrs of age. As driver my lip was split open. I was able to drive the car to my home 5 blocks away looking through a shattered windshield. But the wife had to spend 5 days in hosp. And two surgeries to put her arm back together. The air bag did all of the bad damage to my vehicle and my wife. All attempts to have legal help has been turned down saying not enough to take to court. Can you help. The air bag almost killed her. They are supposed to help not mame...thankyou

- Magalia, CA, USA

problem #45

Apr 132011


  • 88,789 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated the air bag warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel and remained on. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing and they stated that the air bag wiring failed. The failure recurred days after the vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was approximately 88,789.

- Central Islip, NY, USA

problem #44

Jul 102013


  • 161,500 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that while braking for a traffic stop, the side air bag haphazardly deployed without warning. The vehicle was not repaired. The front passenger's side air bag haphazardly deployed two months later. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 161,500 and the current mileage was 162,530.

- Lehigh Acres, FL, USA

problem #43

Feb 272013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 99,400 miles


Was exiting off of the parkway to the right traveling approx. 25- 30 mph when I lost control of the vehicles steering causing me to crash into the curb of the median. Resulting in both of the front tires to blow out and pushing the wheel on the drivers side back into the wheel well. The control arm was broken when we looked at the damage after. The vehicle which is a 2001 Hyundai Elantra had to be towed. Also the airbags did not deploy. I am looking into this recall for that vehicle. Mileage at time was 99,400.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #42

Oct 072012


  • 155,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs under NHTSA campaign id number: 08V533000 (air bags: Sensor/control module) for the supplemental restraint system. The recall stated that the dealer would install new side air bag wiring harness connector clips. In addition, the dealer was to revise the driver and passenger side air bag wiring harness attachments that were under the seats. The dealer refused to perform the repair and advised the contact that the recall did not state to perform the specific repairs. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was advised that they would not repair the vehicle under the recall despite the contact's VIN being included in the recall campaign. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 155,000 and the current mileage 163,000.

- Hampton, VA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #41

Dec 212011


  • miles
Spokane Hyundai matter I bought my Hyundai in 2001 and have over 100,000 miles on my car. I am the sole owner of the vehicle. Recently (about 2 weeks ago) my dashboard airbag light went on and I called the dealership to inquire what I should do. I am concerned that the airbag may not deploy or may be defective. Hyundai spokane (the dealership who sold me the car) said to bring the car in for them to investigate. I brought the car in the next day: December 21, 2011 and the car dealership informed me that it would cost me $90 for them to run their tests to determine what is wrong with my airbag light. They went on to say that there were a couple of recall notices on the car that they could replace. This airbag concern is a safety issue that is mandatory for the dealership (manufacturer) to investigate and fix. This safety issue is for the life of the car, so even though my warranty has expired on my engine, transmission, etc; the safety (airbags) is for the life of the car. Why would I pay to have spokane Hyundai investigate and fix a problem that Hyundai is responsible for? if I had an accident and the airbag did not deploy or ineffective; spokane Hyundai is liable and at fault. Why is spokane Hyundai trying to gauge the customer (again) for expenses they are responsible for fixing? could you pleases investigate. Thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #40

Jan 132006


  • 50,776 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated upon starting the vehicle and remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for the failure where the dealer discovered a connection problem and cleared the failure codes. The failure recurred within one year. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and again, the dealer reconnected the wiring harness for the driver side air bag. The failure recurred three times in a one day period and the dealer made repairs for a third time yet to no avail. The manufacturer advised that his vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 08V532000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module). The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 50,776 and the current mileage was 125,200.

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #39

Jan 012001

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. The contact was unsure of the exact details in regards to the failure but stated that the air bag light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on numerous occasions where the vehicle was repaired. The failure continued. The failure mileage was 500 and the current mileage was 71,000. Updated 03/24/11 updated 06/03/11

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #38

May 052010


  • 62,721 miles
I have a pending case no. [xxx] with Hyundai. My son's vehicle has been at advantage Hyundai in hicksville, NY (the "dealer") since April 5 pending a recall repair (NHTSA campaign id no. 09V125000). I contacted the dealer again today and spoke to michael keily (516-465-7700) who informed that he had no idea when the needed part will be available and therefore he was unable to give me a date by which I can expect the vehicle to be repaired. Mr. Keily also informed me today that Hyundai corporate will only pay $35 per day for a rental replacement vehicle. I contacted enterprise car rental and they informed me that a compact vehicle will cost $58.50 per day given that my son is 21 years old. My son has been without a vehicle for a month, has no means of transportation to get to his summer job and cannot afford the economic hardship of paying an additional $23.50 per day. I contacted Hyundai corporate (1-800-633-5151) and after being on ¿music hold¿ for over 2 ½ hours, two different customer service representatives informed me that they would need an additional 2 to 3 business days before they could provide me with an answer as to whether Hyundai would absorb the full cost of a rental vehicle. Hyundai has failed to repair my son's vehicle ¿within a reasonable time" (page 14 NHTSA "motor vehicles safety defects and recalls- what every vehicle owner should know") and therefore they should be compelled to pay for the full cost of a rental vehicle without further delay. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- New Hyde Park, NY, USA

problem #37

Feb 022010


  • 950,004 miles
Unable to control front wheel direction when car started to slide into oncoming traffic, was unable to control car to turn in opposite direction, happened without warning. Received motor vehicle recall on 3/9/2010 about possibility of this happening. Hyundai Elantra 2001. Also side door air bag did not inflate.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #36

Dec 082009


  • 96,357 miles


1. there were no noticeable events that led up to the failure. Hyundai had a recall on the air bag sensor control module in October 2008 (recall id# 80141 & 80132). I had them install the new wiring harness and clips to prevent a spontaneous failure, but I had a failure none the less. 2. the front driver and passenger seatbelts failed without warning. I heard a loud bang noise and the seatbelts tightened up on both front passengers. I noticed an odor after the event and the seatbelts would not extend or retract and the air bag warning light was illuminated. I understand this safety feature was meant to deploy in the event of an accident, but I didn't hit anything. 3. I took the 2001 Hyundai Elantra in to Hyundai to diagnose the failure. The following codes came up on the computer: B1361, B1360, and B1366. I was told I needed to replace the front seat belts and air bag control module.

- Lumberton, NC, USA

problem #35

Nov 232009


  • 158,055 miles
I had Hyundai motors and luther bloomington Hyundai Mitsubishi Kia perform NHTSA campaign id number: 08V532000. I had an air bag light on, Hyundai motors and luther bloomington Hyundai Mitsubishi Kia could not verify to me that the light was due to the recall. Since the air bag control module may be affected in this recall.

- Burnsville, MN, USA

problem #34

Jun 152009


  • 56,200 miles
2001 Hyundai Elantra was taken to ourisman Hyundai Mazda of laurel, md to have them perform the Hyundai recall no. 88 (NHTSA campaign 08V532000). Dealer failed to install the recall repair item yet dealer claimed the recall work was completed. Photos of unmodified vehicle are available. Subsequently and on the same day of claimed repair, the SRS (air bag) control module began to show a failure light on the vehicle dashboard. Vehicle was returned to ourisman Hyundai to correct the failure on 8/28/09. Dealer claimed the SRS control module was (now) defective and must be replaced at owners expense. The SRS control module on this vehicle appeared to perform its function correctly for 8 years; no failure symptoms were evident. Dealer recall work has rendered the SRS control module inoperative. Due to dealer action, our family is not longer protected by the safety restraint system.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #33

Jul 192008


  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 08V532000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module). The recall repair was performed by the dealer; however, the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated. The dealer stated that she could pay the full amount for the module and could possibly be reimbursed; however, there was no guarantee. She first noticed issues with the air bag in July of 2008 when the indicator was illuminated. She took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that the air bag module needed to be replaced. The repair would cost $900. She was informed of the recall in September of 2008 and the manufacturer stated that recall notices would not be issued until the end of 2008. After having the recall remedy performed, the contact felt that the remedy was insufficient to completely repair the issue. She felt that the entire module should have been replaced because the cover was defective. The cover would be protecting the module. The NHTSA campaign id number was unknown. The current mileage was approximately 137,000 and failure mileage was approximately 120,000.

- Bay Shore, NY, USA

problem #32

Jan 132009


  • 45,000 miles
After receiving recall letter, went to atlantic Hyundai dealer, NY 11795 to fix the problem, and I believe they did nothing, because my air bag lights still remains on. They suppose to install the vinyl protective cover on the air bag electrical module, after more than 1-1/2 hour when I got back my car, the air bag light still remains on.

- Central Islip, NY, USA

problem #31

Nov 222008


  • 72,000 miles
I received a recall notice for my 2001 Hyundai Elantra for air bag well I called on it because I have all ready replaced on air bag module and my air bag light is on again and they say they only put a cover on it but are not responsible to replace module how is this suppose to help if module is no good. If they know this is a safety concern why not fix right way. Thank you randy

- Keeseville, NY, USA

problem #30

Nov 052008


  • miles
The side airbags exploded for no reason. I have a Hyundai Elantra 2001. According to your latter I went to the dealer ship, but nobody from there wanted to help me, so what do I do now?

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #29

Oct 282006


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. The air bag warning indicator was illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer stated that the air bag computer control module needed to be replaced, which prevented the vehicle from passing inspection. Months later, he received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 08V532000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module). The contact called the dealer and stated that he needed a new control module; however, the recall notice stated that a protective covering was needed on top of the air bag control module. The remedy does not correct the issue because the defect remains. The contact believes that the manufacturer should change the remedy of this recall. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000 and current mileage was 120,000.

- Dracug, MA, USA

problem #28

Dec 112008


  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. The contact called the dealer regarding a recall on her vehicle and was informed that her air bags may not deploy in the event of a crash. She was further informed that a harness and clips would be attached to the air bag system to assist the air bags with deploying; however, the mechanic stated that the air bags may be damaged because the indicator was illuminated on the instrument panel. The mechanic would not repair the vehicle, even though the damage was caused by the repair shop. The contact feels that it is a safety hazard to drive in a vehicle with no air bags. The current and failure mileages were 76,000.

- Delano, CA, USA

problem #27

Aug 222002


  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. The contact was involved in a crash on August 22, 2002 and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact was struck by another vehicle and the entire driver's side of her vehicle was crushed. The contact was injured on the left side of her body. Her head struck the window and the steering wheel. She also dislocated her jaw and had to endure therapy to regain her speech. The contact had surgery on her leg because the air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle was repaired with $7,000 worth of damages. The contact has pictures and a police report was filed. The other occupant in the contact's vehicle was also injured, although both were wearing their seat belts. The air bags had not been serviced prior to the crash. The contact recently received a recall notice, which advised her to report the crash. The failure mileage was 9,000.

- Brick, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?