Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,114 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Hyundai Elantra seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

Aug 132016

Elantra

  • 123,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag light came on and remains on steady as I was driving in residential section today, around 10pm. It has been 104 degrees with humidity factor the last couple of days.

- Grottoes, VA, USA

problem #38

Jun 142016

Elantra

  • 97,000 miles
Air bag light comes on when you move the seat forward or backward. Should be covered by a recall, but when I call the dealer I am told that there are not open recalls on my vehicle. Yet, the recall list for fixing the air bag system lists 2002 Hyundai.

- Riverton, UT, USA

problem #37

May 112016

Elantra

  • 121,190 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V533000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 121,190.

- Fall River, MA, USA

problem #36

Dec 152015

Elantra

  • 146,571 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Random illumination of air bag light on dash without explanation.

- Willows, CA, USA

problem #35

Apr 262014

Elantra

  • 110,000 miles
Was traveling home at 6 pm and I was coming over a hill and a car stoped short I swerved to avoid collission and side swiped a telephone pole.the airbags went off and I was hit with a piece of sharpnal that went into my lip causing me to get stitches and has left my face disfigured.

- Westminster, MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #34

Jun 022014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 99,146 miles
When I got a new battery the air bag light came on. I took it to my mechanic and he disconnected the battery and tried to reset it, it didn't work. I then took it to my mechanic at naples Dodge and he tried to get it off by hooking it up to a computer. After several tries he said he could not do it. I don't know what to do. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #33

Dec 272013

Elantra

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Elantra. The contact that while starting the ignition, the air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the air bag module and air bag wiring harness attachments needed to be replaced. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number 08V533000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Wareham, MA, USA

problem #32

Oct 072010

Elantra

  • 72,000 miles
Something hit car over driverside windshield and door during Transport. Insurance totaled. Airbag light already on. Before settling with insurance co, bought tag and insurance. Bought car back from ins co. Drove until tag expired.can"T get salvage title until airbag light is fixed. Took it to Hyundai dealership in montgomery al. Diagnosis (air bag control module), which is recall part. Talked with Hyundai supervisor [xxx]. he told me that my car wasn"T in the recall number, but coincidentally my car needs the same recall part. Maybe they made mistake and left my car out. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Luverne, AL, USA

problem #31

May 072013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 08V533000 (air bags) but was advised by the manufacturer that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 138,000.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #30

Jan 032013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 153,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the rear passenger's side tire blew, causing the vehicle to roll over and land on the driver's side. None of the air bags deployed. Both the contact and a passenger were injured. The contact sustained injuries to the head, ribs and back. The passenger sustained injuries to the head. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic but was not inspected for the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and the current mileage was 153,000. Updated 03/07/13 the consumer stated the vehicle had tokyo tires installed in June 2012 with an alignment. The consumer crossed a rail road crossing. Approx a half mile, the vehicle went off the right shoulder of the road, got back on to the road, hit an ice patch, hit a ditch, rolled over twice and landed on the driver's side door. Updated 03/11/2013

- Paducah, KY, USA

problem #29

Aug 152012

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 99,030 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The air bag light on the dashboard illuminated. This marked the third such incident since the vehicle was recalled for an airbags defect and received a replacement airbag wire kit and vinyl cover on 12/12/2008 at 60,414 miles. When I took the vehicle in to the local Hyundai dealership, they found that the side airbag for the front passenger seat had too much resistance because the wiring harness had fallen from the protective bracket. To address the issue, the dealership tightened the connector and secured it to a protective bracket with a zip tie. The dealership performed the work under the twelve-month/ 12,000-mile service and parts guarantee stemming from the repair for the previous incident in which the airbags became inoperable because of a poor connection at the psab connector under the front passenger seat.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #28

Feb 022012

Elantra 4-cyl

  • miles
Air bag light is on. Currently there is a safety recall in effect describing movement of the air bag wiring harness underneath the front seat. I visually confirmed the airbag wiring harness underneath the front passenger seat has been dislodged. I spoke with Hyundai 112 [631-758-2200] and Hyundai [800-633-5151]. both times I've been informed there's nothing they can do because my car is not within the VIN range of the recall.

- Patchogue, NY, USA

problem #27

Jan 242012

Elantra

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Elantra. While driving approximately 15 mph, the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle, causing the vehicle that was following the contact to crash into the contact's vehicle. The front driver side air bag did not deploy but the passengers side air bag did. The police were called to the scene and a report was filed. The contact sought medical attention for injuries to her chest and shoulder blades. The doctor diagnosed her with a chest contusion. The vehicle was destroyed and was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Ventnor City, NJ, USA

problem #26

Sep 172011

Elantra

  • miles
While driving down my residential street, my passenger side air bag detonated for no reason. The car was not in an accident of any kind. I immediately contacted Hyundai, who made me do all sorts of paperwork, saying they would investigate and have an answer as to whether they would replace the airbag, ripped upholstery and now broken seat belts. They claimed they would have an answer within 6-8 weeks of receiving my paperwork. They received it on October 3, 2011. I still do not have an answer, and now Hyundai will not respond to my emails.

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #25

Aug 232011

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 87,800 miles
The airbag light illuminated. I took the vehicle to lakeland automall Hyundai, which advised that the airbags were inoperable because of a poor connection at the psab connector under the front passenger seat. Lakeland automall Hyundai "repaired pin tension and verified concern was corrected." I asked whether the defect was covered under the airbags recall for this vehicle. Lakeland automall Hyundai claimed that this defect was not covered by the airbags recall. It billed me $102.72.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #24

Jan 292009

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 61,701 miles
The airbag light illuminated. I took the vehicle to lakeland automall Hyundai and was charged $101.93 for an assessment that the airbags were inoperable due to a faulty airbag control module. This Hyundai dealership then quoted me $693.31 plus tax to perform the repair. I asked whether this issue should be covered by the recent airbag recall under which the vehicle had received a replacement airbag wire kit and vinyl cover on 12/12/2008 at 60,414 miles. Lakeland automall Hyundai claimed that the faulty airbag control module was not subject to recall. Eventually, this dealership and Hyundai agreed to replace the airbag control module on 2/13/2009 as a "warranty extension" for the $101.93 fee that I had already paid.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #23

Sep 232011

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,300 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated his air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who advised him that the sensor on the front passenger seat needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 100,300. Updated 10/27/11 updated 12/19/11

- Monroe, OH, USA

problem #22

Oct 302009

Elantra

  • 102,302 miles
SRS light in instrument cluster would come on and off then, stayed off. I took vehicle to dealer and was advised the wiring harness under the passenger front seat needed to be replaced. I declined to replace as the cost was very high. I later checked the NHTSA data base and found this problem listed for the 2002 Hyundai Elantra; NHTSA campaign id number: 08V533000. I called the dealer in regards to the recall and was informed my car was not included and the stated recall, was a different problem. I later called Hyundai usa and they advised me my car was not included in the recall as it was manufactured 6 months later then the recall group. My vehicle has the same problem as that listed in the above recall. If there is a side impact the side air bags will not deploy, a definite safety issue! I think hyundia should make and pay for the repair!

- Raytown, MO, USA

problem #21

Oct 052010

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 126,000 miles
Hi, my daughter has an 02 Hyundai Elantra gls. I brought the car in to our local torrington ct, dealer who performed "two recalls" but not the one needed because it isn't showing up as a recall. My VIN# is [xxx]and the recall I am looking to have done is number 088 which is listed everywhere from motor trend to automotive.com as the exact problem on my daughters vehicle for 2001 and 2002 Elantras. They only have recall 080125 listed which was completed. This is a very serious problem because neither air bag will work. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Morris, CT, USA

problem #20

May 262009

Elantra

  • miles
2002 Hyundai Elantra. Consumer states vehicle has faulty lower control arms the consumer stated the lower control arm failed twice. The consumer became of aware of recall and the dealer replaced the lower control arm free of charge the second time. The first time, the consumer went to a repair shop and paid at his expense. The consumer was also informed the air bag light was on, all four struts needed to be replaced as well as the rims and tires.

- Maplewood, MN, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?