Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,137 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Hyundai Elantra lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments

problem #9

Oct 212005

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 29,192 miles


2003 Hyundai Elantra has 69,173 miles & has had numerous problems with the headlights burning out. The most recent replacements didn't even last 1,000 miles. 7/27/09 - left headlight- 69,173 (mileage) 7/5/09 - both headlights - 68,670 (mileage) 5/6/08 - left headlight- 57,921(mileage) 11/5/07 - right headlight- 52,428(mileage) 9/5/07 - left headlight- 50,633(mileage) 4/9/07 - right headlight- 45,223(mileage) 6/3/06 - left headlight- 36,405(mileage) 10/21/05 - 29,192(mileage) I talked to a mechanic- he said there is nothing that can be done to fix the problem other than keep replacing the burned out lights. I find this an unacceptable solution - it is a safety hazard. My son was driving home on 7/5/09 & both headlights burned out. He had to drive home on high beams. There is no reason for a car to keep burning out headlights. Updated 08/04/09.8jb

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #8

Jun 102009

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,700 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the air bag warning light continued to illuminate on the instrument panel. The dealer stated that the module failed and would cost over $600 to repair. There were no recalls for the failure and the manufacturer has not been notified. In addition, the low beam headlights would burn out every 3-6 months. The current and failure mileages were less than 36,700. Updated 9/1/09 updated 09/02/09.

- Straford, PA, USA

problem #7

Nov 252008


  • 69,858 miles
Head lights - I have a 2003 Elantra and have to replace headlights every two to six months. I need to know what is causing this problem. Dealership only claims that everyone is complaining of the same thing, but offer no explanation.

- Clinton, MD, USA

problem #6

Sep 302008


  • 60,000 miles


Since having the car, I bought it used a year ago, while not noticing any major issues, I still continue to have problems with the headlights going out. I have had the headlights changed three times now with alternating sides going out every few months. I cannot imagine this being a normal occurrence.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #5

Apr 072007

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
We purchased a 2003 in February 2006, since then the headlights had to been changed 3 times, and now again after being stopped not knowing the passenger side was out, it went out right before we got stopped on api L 7,2007, being charged with a ticket. And 3 points off my drivers license without a warning ticket to get it fixed. There needs to be a recall on these cars it shouldnt happen that many times.

- Elkhorn, WI, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #4

Feb 022007

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,480 miles
I have had to replace the driver's side headlamp 3 times in 3 years. Apparently I am not the only one, the chats and blogs are full of similar complaints internationally. According to what I have read, I am one of the lucky ones. Others have experienced much more frequent replacements. Curiously enough, the driver's side lamp is the one that blows. I have saved the last lamp replaced. It is a sylvania silverstar. This is the third brand of bulb / lamp. My wife is night blind. She tries to avoid driving after dark. The undependable lighting system poses a serious safety hazard in her case and I am sure in seniors who require more light to see clearly.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #3

May 112006

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles


: the contact stated the lenses on the headlights clouded over in less than two years, making it hard to see the road at night. Both low and high beams are affected. The dealer has been alerted and determined the headlights need to be replaced.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #2

Jan 062006


  • miles
I purchased a used 2003 Hyundai Elantra 4 door sedan in February 2005. In June 2005 I had to have both low beam headlights replaced. Now it is January 2006 and I will have to replace them both again.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #1

Jul 242002


  • miles
Headlights will read dim but light will actually be on high beam, causing problem to other drivers. Dealer notified.

- Grandville, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?