Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

8.2

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,268 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Hyundai Elantra seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Jun 192004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The passenger air bag is not activated when my wife of 120# is seated in my 2004 Hyundai Elantra. This has occurred from the time I acquired the vehicle. I took the car in and was given the run-around in that there was not a fix. On your site you state that the remedy is a re-programing by the dealer. The maintenance supervisor at the dealer has not heard of that. I acquired this car as a result of my 2001 Elantra being totaled in an accident that activated both of the front air bags, which I consider prevented serious injury to me and my wife. My last conversation with the supervisor at the dealer stated that there is a posible fix in that the air bag deployment would be modified to enable deployment at all times. He also stated that I would have to sign a waiver if they were to do so. This is beyond me. I don't know how anyone could design a system without the means to calibrate it for people with narrow rears. The air bag sensor is supposed to be enabled for weights greater that 56# as stated in the owner's manual. A 60# individual is not very wide.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #13

Aug 152004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
Frontal air bag sensor in the passenger seat failed to operate when a passenger was seated. Also, sensor failed to activate. Dealer was notified

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #12

Jun 202004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,234 miles
I bought a new Hyundai elentra in June 20th, 2004. Every since I got it, the passenger air bag sensor control system has not worked. I am a fully grown adult female who weighs 128lbs. When I am sitting in the passenger seat, the air bag system is turned off meaning that it will not deploy in a crash. I have taken the car into the dealer several times for this issue with no results. Hyundai keeps telling me that the sensor system is working properly and that there is nothing wrong with the car. The dealer however, admits that they realize that this is a problem but that they can not address the issue unless Hyundai America gives them permission. This issue really concerns me because it is a real safety problem that could lead to deaths. Please note that everytime someone sits in the passenger seat of the vehicle, the sensor has failed.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #11

Jun 022004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My husband bought a 2004 Hyundai Elantra end of February and since then we have been having problems with the passenger side air bag sensor. When I am sitting in the seat (I weigh approx 120 lbs) the light indicating the passenger airbag is off is illuminated 99% of the time. When we noticed it I tried to be aware of the way I was sitting and also had others sit there instead of me. When reading the owners manual about the sensor weight being 56 lbs and noticing the problem persisiting no matter how still or correct I sat we called the dealer. The first time they physically looked at it to "diagnose" they said everything was ok (6/04) and I wasn't sitting right; of course it still occured. So we had to go down and demonstrate that I sat in the seat exactly like you are supposed to and the light never went off. This prompted them to order a new sensor. It took approx 40 days for the part to arrive and we just received the vehicle back yesterday and it is still malfunctioning.

- Liverpool, NY, USA

problem #10

Mar 272004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • miles
I purchased a new 2004 Elantra in April 2004. After I bought the car and having driven it for a few miles, I realized that the passenger airbag was disabled. Since the day I purchased the car, I have ridden in the passenger seat several times, and regardless of the position, the airbag remains disabled. When the odometer read 1,000 miles, I took the car in for service and I requested a check of the passengerS airbag sensor. When I picked up the car, I was told that everything looked normal; however, the service manager explained to me that this feature was part of the design for the new 2004 model. He offered me to test drive a brand-new Elantra to compare it to mine. The other car had the same design flaw. I am disappointed and frustrated. I do not consider the car to be safe. On July 14/04 I sent a letter to the dealer and to this date I have not been contacted by them.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Mar 242004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20 miles
Numerous incidents where passenger airbag sensor does not work. It is defective. Still does not work. Dealer, Hyundai manufacturer, were notified and claimed they can't find anything related to this. Was in repair shop twice. Nothing done to correct this. Car is unsafe. Passenger is at great risk or serious injury or death due to air bag not deploying while adult is in passenger seat. No one returns our calls. We made numerous attempts to no avail.

- Ronkonkoma, NY, USA

problem #8

Mar 232004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The consumer noticed that while someone was occupying the passenger seat air bag light appeared on the dashboard. The vehicle was taken to dealer for inspection numerous times, and mechanic was not able to duplicate the problem. Two mechanics had driven the vehicle, with the consumers wife in the passenger seat, as the light stayed on, goes off, then had come on again. The problem have not been corrected.

- Ronkonkoma, NY, USA

problem #7

Jun 012004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Since we got the 2004 Hyundai Elantra in December 2003, there has been a recurring problem with the airbag off light remaining illuminated even though there is a person sitting in the front passenger seat.

- Olney, MD, USA

problem #6

Apr 222004

Elantra

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Passenger air bag intermittenly is enabled/diabled with proper eight passenger sitting properly in the seat.

- Carol Stream, IL, USA

problem #5

May 112004

Elantra

  • miles
While driving 55 mph air bag light appeared on the dashboard and remained on. Consumer drove the vehicle to the dealer for inspection, and mechanic placed the vehicle on diagnostic machine. Then, determined that computer registered the vehicle as not working properly. And problem could not be resolved.

- Belchertown, MA, USA

problem #4

May 052004

Elantra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After picking up my new 2004 hyndai Elantra on Friday April 30, 2004 I noticed that the passanger side airbag on/off light was not working properly. When I sat in the seat, in any and every position with my seatbelt on, and the seat in all different positions the indicator light would say passanger side air bog off. I am a female that wieghs 160 lbs.I brought the car back to the dealer the next day and they said that they would take care of it. I brought the car to their service department on Monday May 3rd they called me on Tuesday afternoon and told me that they could not replicate the problem, so they could not fix it. I went there that day and sat in the seat in all the positions, I sat in the seat exactley as they say you should and the indicator light still displayed passenger side air bag off. They took the vehicle back in to be repaired. They called me on Wednesday afternoon and told me that they chekced all of the sensors and that the computer says that everything is working properly and at this point there is nothing they can do to help me. They handed me a copy of Hyundai techinical service bulletin from febuary 2003 and told me that this is the way that the car is supposed to work. They told me that this system was required in new cars by NHTSA and that they can not fix the problem nor will they refund or replace my vehicle. When I called Hyundai consumar affairs they said that they are not aware of any problem of this kind. They refered me to NHTSA saying that it is you who reqquires this system and I should talk to you with any concerns. The dealer insits that this is the way the airbag system should work for a adult who wieghs 160lbs, and are going to give me back a car that does not have a working passenger side airbag for a 160 lb female.

- Belchertown, MA, USA

problem #3

Apr 102003

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3 miles
Passenger side occupant sensor light for passenger side airbag reapeatedly goes on and off when a 122 lb. Full grown adult female is sitting properly in the seat. Unfortunately, the dealer says they've done what they can, and that their hyndai corporate contacts have done what they can. Seat and sensor system replaced twice, to no avail. I belive this to be a safety issue if the car has a severe frontal impact and the passenger side airbag doesn't deploy!

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #2

Apr 012004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 400 miles
Passenger air bag off indicator comes on with 108 lb adult riding in car.happened 10 times in an hour. Passenger was seated according to Hyundai service bulletin # 04-90-003.dealer says that is normal.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #1

Mar 252004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14 miles
"passenger air bag off" indicator comes on an inconsistent basis while riding. Passenger is a 120lb adult female who sits as instructed in owners manual. Manufacturer and dealer claim they can do nothing to prevent this. They blame you for rules laid down regarding sensors. Has happened numerous times since purchasing car Feb 23 2004. Date listed below is latest occurence.

- Sun City Center, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?