Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

8.2

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,268 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Hyundai Elantra seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Jul 062009

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Hyundai Elantra. While starting the vehicle the air bag light came on and then turn off. The failure occurred intermittently. She stated that the air bag remained illuminated when she took the vehicle to an authorized dealer. The dealer advised her that the driver's side seat sensor needed to be replaced. The contact stated that the vehicle was not repaired. The estimated repair cost was $500. The failure mileage was 52,000 and the current mileage was 64,000. Updated 03/24/11 updated 03/31/11

- Rahway, NJ, USA

problem #33

Aug 012007

Elantra

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
Passenger air bags does not work. I have given the car for 2 update fixes but the problem continues. The passenger air bags goes off even when someone is sitting in the car. The last time I showed it to the dealer, he said that there was no fix to it.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #32

Jun 072006

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
Passenger side airbag occupant classification system disables airbag for adult passengers. Issue occurs regularly or intermittently with at least three adults weighing more than 130 lbs, two females aged 23 and 28 and one 25-year old male. 6/7/06 problem reported to fucillo Hyundai, schenectady, NY. Reprogrammed OCS in accordance with Hyundai campain 073 and informed issue resolved. Issue subsequently observed (ca. Dec 2006) 1/23/07 complained to connolly hyundau, natick, MA 4/18/07 seat removed and sent to Hyundai for reprogramming. Issue not resolved 5/29/07 Hyundai district service manger (kevin cleary) verifies problem with 130 lb. Female passenger at mirak Hyundai, arlington, MA Hyundai has offered a settlement in accordance with class action. Settlement stipulates mileage offset for buyback or replacment will be based on ca lemon law, which specifies the mileage used for the offset is that of the first complaint. Hyundai offers offset based on 27,500 miles (date seat removed), not mileage at first complaint (20,573).

- Brookline, MA, USA

problem #31

Mar 222006

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,851 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact stated that she received her recall letter in 2005 for campaign # 03V322000, and she had the recall repaired at the dealership on 03/22/06. 1 week after the repair she had to contact the dealership and inform them that the air bag sensor light was still not working properly. The contact has call the manufacturer and was told after the recall that they will replace her vehicle or refund her purchase price. As of 1/12/07 the issues has not been address and the manufacturer has not responding to her complaint. The contact gave manufacture complaint # 994795. The contact stated that her airbag doesn't recognize anyone sitting on the passenger side of the vehicle.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #30

Dec 292005

Elantra

  • miles
2004 Hyundai Elantra passenger air bag off light remains on. The vehicle was taken tot he dealer regarding recall campaign #073 concerning the occupant classification system of the right front passenger seat for air bag deployment. The passenger air bag off light remained on no matter who sat in the seat. The technician told the consumer that the air bag off light may be illuminated because the passenger may not be seat squarely in the seat with feet on the floor.

- New Hyde Park, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #29

Dec 082004

Elantra

  • miles
With a passenger in the right front seat the air bag light off is displayed quite frequently.

- Galway, NY, USA

problem #28

Mar 222005

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger air bag sensor incorrectly detecting passemger 50 pounds or more. Passenger air bag "off" ligth stays on even is a passenger 100 pounds or more are seated properly.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #27

Jan 012005

Elantra

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
Ongoing failure since car was purchased. Passenger airbag is off almost constantly no matter who sits in my car. 150 lb girlfriend can not get the passenger airbag off light to turn off, no matter how she sits. 145 lb female friend only gets the airbag off light to turn off about 10% of the time. Hyundai dealer says it operates as designed.

- Hawthorne, FL, USA

problem #26

Jul 202004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
NHTSA recall 03V322000 concerning air bag sensor. This vehicle was not included in the recall due to VIN. However, the sensor on the air bag was not turning on when the passenger got into the vehicle.

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #25

Mar 012004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • miles
While driving air bag sensor worked intermittently with someone sitting in the seat. Consume contacted the dealer several times. Dealer stated that it was the cover that was on the seat. And then said it was the way the consumer was sitting. However the problem recurred.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #24

Dec 082004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since I purchase the car in aoril of 2004, the passenger air bag indicator continues to read air bag off when a passenger is seated in the front seat who weighs over 56.4 pounds through about 160 pounds. This is recall number 03V322000, Hyundai recall no. 062. The manufacuturer will not fix the problem unless I sign a release which does not incidate anything about the air bag working with someone seated in the front passenger seat weighing more than 56.4 pounds. They want me to waive my rights, not telling me the parameters they will reset the computer to activate the passenger air bag if necessary. I have a copy of the agreement they want to to sign. Along with a letter I sent them dated 10/18/2004. According to the dealer service manager, this is a problem on all their 2004 models. Please help me.

- East Rockaway, NY, USA

problem #23

Nov 172004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20 miles
Passenger's air bag should be turned on when sensor reads weight over 56.4 pounds. However, air bag is turning on after reading 160 pounds. Dealer can reprogram air bag sensor at consumer's expense.

- East Rockaway, NY, USA

problem #22

Aug 242004

Elantra

  • Automatic transmission
  • 650 miles
The air bag seat sensor kept showing no passenger in the seat, which indicated the air bag will not deploy in an accident. Manufacturer stated the consumer should make contact to have the bag deactivated. Consumer did not wish to have this done.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #21

Apr 232004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles
Air bag light remained illuminated while driving. Vehicle had been to dealeron three separate occasions, and dealer stated that nothing was wrong with vehicle.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #20

Oct 082004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer noticed that the passenger side SRS light appeared on the dashboard when some was seated in the passenger's seat. Consumer contacted the dealer, and was informed that there was nothing that they could do to fix it. Cause has not been determined.

- Burr Ridge, IL, USA

problem #19

Jan 062004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The passenger side air bag disabled light goes on and off while driving with adults of minimum of 100 pounds sitting in the seat. The dealer said that there is nothing wrong.

- Milford, CT, USA

problem #18

Aug 012004

Elantra

  • miles
The air bag sensor works intermittently. When sitting in an upright position with feet placed flat near the engine compartment the sensor will activate. However, if consumer moves feet the sensor will deactivate, and the light will illuminate.

- Almont, MI, USA

problem #17

Sep 182004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,500 miles
The vehicle was parked in my apartment's parking lot. My wife and I entered the vehicle. I started the engine. We both buckled our seatbelts and I took off the parking brake. As I was reaching for the gearshift, the driver's side air bag deployed without warning.

- Thousand Oaks, CA, USA

problem #16

Sep 202004

Elantra

  • miles
Consumer's was experiencing the same exact thing that was described on the internet only for rent a car business. Front air bag sensor indicator light came on, indicating that no one was sitting in the seat, even though there was someone there.

- Culver City, CA, USA

problem #15

Sep 152004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • miles
2004 Hyundai Elantra, when a passenger is riding the light on the dash keeps comming on with the message "passenger airbag off" the car was taken into the dealer, and he says the person is not heavy enough for the seat sensor to pick up. The person weighs 140-155 pounds. When the light is on the air bag will not deploy.

- Fremont, NE, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?