Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,800 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Hyundai Elantra fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments

problem #2

Dec 012007

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 18,049 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had the same problem and this is the 16th time as of 12/06/2011. The problem started off with the car stalling when I came to a stop then, it progressively became worse where the car stalls while driving. The car has had the canister assembly replaced many times and the problem still occurs. I do have copies of all of the work orders. This is a list of the events: 1. 12/01/2007 for stalling. This visit they claimed that it was a "hard start" and replaced the battery. 2. 05/09/2008 for stalling. Replaced sensor assy-air flow 3. 05/29/2008 for stalling. Replaced the purge valve and canister. 4. 06/10/2009 for stalling. They stated the canister and car was fine. 5. 09/17/2009 for stalling. Replaced speedometer assy and battery. 6. 12/16/2009 for stalling. They drove 103 miles and stated there was no problems. 7. 01/25/2010 for stalling and they replaced the canister. 8. 05/10/2010 for stalling. Replaced canister assy. 9. 09/10/2010 for stalling. They stated no problems 10. I picked up my car on 09/11/2010 to have it stall on my way out of the dealership. Replaced canister assy. 11. 11/30/2010 for stalling and failure of the ABS unit. No problem found with stalling. Replaced ABS unit 12. This was another visit where I picked my car up on 12/07 and before the end of the day, it stalled again and again they stated no problem found. 13. 01/18/2011 for stalling. Replaced evap hose. 14. I picked up my car on 01/19/2011 it stalled on the way out of the dealership. They replaced canister assy. 15. 01/25/2011 for stalling and they replaced the fuel pump and sender module. 16. as you can see, I have been in numerous times for the same problem, they want me to pay to fix the canister assy, on this past visit on 12/06/2011. I still have not had the car fixed as I am arguing with Hyundai as to who is responsible for paying for the repair.

- Holiday, FL, USA

problem #1

Jan 182010

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 45,550 miles
On my 2006 Hyundai Elantra gls 4cyl engine there is a issue which I have brought up 3 times now to Hyundai & all they keep doing is resetting the computer & trans retrain reset. The issue I am having is at a steady speed off 25-30 miles hour I get a very bad bucking & jerking effect the loss of power shortly after the bucking & jerking happens that the car looses power some much so it doesn't want to move fast enough to keep up on the highway when coming off a off ramp merging into the highway traffic two times the last time was today this all happened again & I couldn't get the car to move fast enough to flow with the regular traffic that I almost got hit by a 18 wheeler truck today. This problem is making the car not safe to drive & I am afraid if I continue to drive it like Hyundai wants me to do in this condition to try to bring the check engine light on to see what the problem is I might get hit by someone & possible killed. This issue is a serious operating condition that warrants someone doing something about this problem & this is a common issue from other Hyundai Elantra owners of the same year or newer I have read online & Hyundai hasn't addressed it well enough or come up with a fix as of yet. Telling a customer to keep driving the car in this condition is not safe just some the mechanics can get a check engine light on with a code to go on. This car almost always feels like it is going to loss total engine power & just cut out on me while I am driving somewhere & I will get hit.

- Bangor, ME, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?