Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,122 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Hyundai Elantra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments

problem #6

Jul 102013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles


Was attempting to pull out of a parking space, and the car shut off. 2nd incident was while driving appx. 45mph it shut off, on or about 29 Oct.2013. Took it into the dealer and they replaced the pressure control solenoid, this was 1nov. 2013, got the car back on 6 Nov. 2013. 3rd time was 16 Nov. 2013 while exiting the interstate it shut off on the ramp. Took it back to the dealer on 17 Nov. 2013. Got car back on 19 Nov.2013. 4th time was 27 Nov. 2013, shut off while running in park, restarted and shut off again while trying to leave parking lot. Took back to dealer on 29 Nov. 2013 and got it back 9 Jan.2014. They installed a battery. 5th time was 7 Feb 2014, shut off while pulling off at a red light and again a half mile further pulling into a parking lot. Took back to the dealer on 17 Feb. 2013 and got it back 20 Feb 2013. Each time, dealer says could not duplicate concern and or could not get a code.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #5

Nov 082007


  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that there was an intermittent stalling when driving 10-15 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer at least ten to fifteen times but they were unable to locate or diagnose the cause of the failure. The sway bar was also replaced at least three times due to breakage in the front of the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted who sent a representative to inspect the failure but there were no failures found within the vehicle. They offered no further assistance. The failure mileage was 17,000 and the current mileage was 59,000. Kmj

- Munhall, PA, USA

problem #4

Mar 202011

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,252 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Elantra. The contact was driving approximately 65 mph when the eps warning indicator illuminated, followed by the loss of power steering. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side the road and the engine was turned off. The contact restarted the engine as the vehicle resumed normally yet the failure recurred on a separate date. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and repaired yet the failure continued to recur. The failure mileage was approximately 34,252. Updated 05/25/11 the dealer claimed the repairs were made to the steering. However, the consumer stated while driving, the engine suddenly shut off. Updated 06/08/11 updated 11/16/11.

- Howard Beach , NY, USA

problem #3

Dec 132010


  • 75,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the engine stalled while driving 70 mph and the check engine light was illuminated. In additin, the steering would sporadically lock without warning. The vehicle was turned off momentarily and the contact was able to drive the vehicle to his place of residence. The failure was an intermittent occurrence. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 75,000.

- Maplewoods , MN, USA

problem #2

Jul 132009


  • 23,479 miles
On July 13, 2009 I left my 2007 Elantra on to run in somewhere, when I came back to my car it had died. I thought that I had just turned the key off before I got out of my car without thinking and didn't worry about it. I continued driving for a couple of hours with no problems. When I was leaving work I turned my car on and it died so I turned it off for a few seconds and back on pulled out of the parking lot into the street and it died again. I turned it off and on again and it was fine. The next day I had no problems until I was on my lunch break. I was driving back to work and was stopped at a red light and my car died again, I turned if off and then on again and it immediately died so I turned it off and on again and then it was fine. The next day (July 15, 2009) I took my car into the dealership to have it looked at. After 2 days in the shop they called and said they couldn't find anything wrong with it and had no idea why it was dying. So I picked it up yesterday and so far have not had a problem but I am worried about driving my car now. I was lucky that it was only dying when I was idling but who knows next time it could die while on the highway going 60 mph!

- Abilene, TX, USA

problem #1

Jun 082009


  • miles
I was driving to work on the highway at very slow speeds. At one point, I was coasting and the car stalled, turned off. I coasted off the shoulder of the road, waited for a few seconds and restarted the car. In weeks past, I had noticed the car sputtering and rocking at very low speeds on my commute home.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?