Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
2,934 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Hyundai Elantra fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments

problem #7

Jan 012009


  • miles


2008 Hyundai Elantra recall for fuel pump motor problem. Consumer states that the dealership is having a problem with getting the parts for the car.

- Bala Cynwyd, PA, USA

problem #6

Dec 132008

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 9,932 miles
2008 Hyundai Elantra with recall for the fuel pump. Consumer states that the vehicle was looked at and the work was performed. After the work was performed the vehicle stopped running while driving and a smell of gasoline filled the car. It was discovered that the fuel line leading to the fuel pump had come loose and had fallen off the connection point, which was the cause of the fuel leak and the vehicle stalling. The consumer believed the problem was related to the recall work that was performed.

- Herndon, VA, USA

problem #5

Sep 152008


  • 1,291 miles
I purchased my 08 Elantra this summer. Delivery date 07/05/08. Complaint 1, "customer states engine wont start". the dealership replaced fuel pump to correct concern. Complaint 2, incident 1 invoice date 09/15/08. I began to have problems with my clutch. Vehicle will make grinding noises going into rev, 1st, and 2nd gear. Clutch will not engage properly. Will stall out when very cold or raining. Major problems when at stop lights railroad crossings(stalling out on the tracks) or going up an incline. After several attempts to "correct my concern" the dealership and its service shop have yet to "duplicate" the problem or any to be exact. However, my service report date 09/24/08 states "but did find hard to get into gear at times bled hydraulic system and corrected concern." Again on 10/08/08 dealer stated could not duplicate problem but service invoice reads " cust stats in am trans is hard to shift into gear and RPM gage will rev high found hard shift replaced tranny gear oil to correct concern" I took the car back on 11/06/08 because it still has the same problems and a few new ones. I spoke to the owner of the dealership who verified that there was a problem with the car. Later that day he called me back and told me it was fine. Liar much?I have my car back again today 11/13/08 and it is still giving me problems. These problems create a serious safety hazard due to the fact that it stalls out in the middle of the road in stop and go traffic and at lights and gives off a weird smell like a burned circuit after I go uphill for too long, keep in mind I'm not driving my car into the ground. I took a test drive with the service manager today, the car was giving me trouble right in front of him and he claims that I was riding the clutch. I explained to him that I needed to depress the clutch pedal to keep the car from stalling out but he ignored me. I'll be going back on the 15th to speak to the owner again.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #4

Sep 282008


  • 3,917 miles


Vehicle year : 2008 make : Hyundai model : Elantra results : 1 | all records displayed make : Hyundai model : Elantra year : 2008 manufacturer : Hyundai motor company mfr's report date : Aug 19, 2008 NHTSA campaign id number : 08V429000 PE08044 NHTSA action number: PE08044 component: Fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump potential number of units affected : 65000 dealer performed the above recall procedure. Car now leaks fuel. Unsafe, fire hazard. As of 9/29/08 Hyundai unable to find source of leak. Passenger area fill with raw gas fumes.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #3

Aug 232008


  • 3,500 miles
I took my 2008 Elantra in for service. They replaced the fuel pump due to a recall. That same day the car stalled in the middle of a busy highway. They just replaced the fuel pump again.

- Ronkonkoma, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #2

Jul 032008


  • 1,000 miles
Our Hyundai Elantra, with approx. 1000 miles on it, stalled not far from our home. We left home and within two miles the car begin to hesitate. After a mile of several hesitating instances, we turned around but could not make it home. The engine died and we had to park in a neighbor's driveway. The fuel pump had gone out.

- Hazel Green, AL, USA

problem #1

Jul 072008


  • 900 miles
Our 2008 Hyundai Elantra stalled on I-5 outside of chico ca with less approximately 900 miles on the car. We were just barely able to get to the shoulder before the car completely died. We were towed to the Hyundai dealer who replaced the fuel pump.

- Gig Harbor, WA, USA

Not what you are looking for?