Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,902 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Hyundai Elantra fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Jul 292011

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 31,800 miles


The car stalled 6/21/11 at 7pm on the freeway in 10-20 mile an hour stop and go traffic. The temp outside was mild, I had been on the road for 20 min before hitting traffic, and both air conditioning and radio were on. I was in traffic approx. 10 min. I went to tap the gas pedal and nothing was there. I had to get out (on freeway) and push the car off the road and onto center divide (no call boxes). Two strangers stopped and helped me to side of road. After 5 minutes I was able to start car and drive home. The car stalled again on 7/29/11 in 10-20 mph stop and go traffic at 5pm. The temp was mild and I had just filled the car with gas. 15 minutes later on the freeway (stop and go traffic), with air conditioner and radio on, I went to tap the gas pedal and nothing was there. Was in traffic less than 10 min. Again stuck in the middle of the freeway. This time I did not get out of the car but was attempting to call for help when chp pulled up behind me and used his car to push me off the road. I put car in neutral, chp pushed me off through entire lane of freeway traffic into center divide. The brake would not work. I had my foot to the floor but car was not stopping. The emergency brake was the only thing that kept me from rolling into siderail. While we waited for tow truck, I attempted to start car and it started. Chp escorted me off freeway and I drove home 5 min. Away.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #31

Jun 152008


  • 800 miles
2008 Hyundai Elantra. Consumer states vehicle has a mileage problem. While on a 4,600 mile trip, mostly on the interstate, with the cruise control set at 60 mph, the average mpg was only 28 mpg. Hyundai informed the consumer they could not help him with the mileage. The epa fuel economy estimated 33 mpg with the expected range for most drivers up to 39 mpg.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #30

Mar 012010


  • 19,650 miles
When we called to Hyundai motor company about the recall campaign on 65000 units Hyundai Elantra 2008 asking why we did not receive the notification. Their response as follows " we have received your email regarding when you will receive a recall notice for your 2008 Elantra. After researching your concern we have determined that your vehicle is not affected by campaign 086 for the fuel filter. Fuel pumps installed in vehicles prior to November 5, 2007, and since June 28, 2008, were manufactured with upper body components that maintain proper armature alignment. The models produced during that production date range are the only ones affected by the armature alignment condition. Your vehicle was produced on 9/29/2007". our conclusion that Hyundai just screen out the demand of recall repairs and wait until incident crash occurred or law suit if the fuel pump failure. When I drive on the street or freeway, sometimes I feel the vehicle is slow down and jerking or jump as no fuel injected or pumped properly in the engine despite of middle grade 98 octane gas.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #29

Aug 012009


  • 5,200 miles


My 2008 Hyundai Elantra stalls frequently, but not reproducible, about once a week. I notice this when the vehicle is traveling around 20-25 miles/hour. Internet search indicates that others are experiencing similar problem and a faulty fuel pump may be the issue.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #28

Mar 012009

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 8,918 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Hyundai Elantra. Whenever the contact shifted into park, the gear would never stick. The vehicle would either move forward for a few seconds before coming to a complete stop. Whenever the gear was in drive, the vehicle would jerk forward. When the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle would not move or would suddenly accelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three times for these failures. During the first visit, the mechanic replaced the transmission, which corrected the issue for less than four months. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and they stated that the solenoids were causing the failures. The dealer replaced the valve assembly and the solenoids. There had been no further occurrences since the last repair. The contact believes that a recall should be issued since it appeared to be a manufacturer defect. The failure mileage was 8,918 and current mileage was 11,792. Updated 7/23/09 the consumer also stated there was a smell of gas in the vehicle. Updated 07/30/09.

- Trafford, PA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #27

May 192009


  • 5,150 miles
Engine cut off with fuel gauge dropping to 'empty' [ with a 1/2 full tank]. on the nys thruway almost causing a collision with an 18 wheeler as I coasted across its path to the shoulder in rockland county. Called aaa and eventually, [about 10 min. After, while still on the line with aaa, I heard a light click and the fuel gauge went back up to 1/2 tank and the car engine started up to complete my drive home.

- South Ozone Park, NY, USA

problem #26

Oct 272008


  • 8,400 miles


I have a 2008 Elantra that continues to stall and hesitate. This occurred on two separate occasions and I was almost hit from behind. The dealership has failed twice to diagnosis the problem and I have filed a complaint with Hyundai. Now they want me to take the car back to the dealership and leave it overnight. They don't currently have a loaner car. My car was not a part of the recall, why? I don't know. Clearly there is something wrong with the fuel line and I am afraid I am going to hurt in a car accident.

- Temple Hills, MD, USA

problem #25

Sep 282008


  • 3,917 miles
Vehicle year : 2008 make : Hyundai model : Elantra results : 1 | all records displayed make : Hyundai model : Elantra year : 2008 manufacturer : Hyundai motor company mfr's report date : Aug 19, 2008 NHTSA campaign id number : 08V429000 PE08044 NHTSA action number: PE08044 component: Fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump potential number of units affected : 65000 dealer performed the above recall procedure. Car now leaks fuel. Unsafe, fire hazard. As of 9/29/08 Hyundai unable to find source of leak. Passenger area fill with raw gas fumes.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #24

Aug 102008


  • 360 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Hyundai Elantra. The contact received a recall notice to have the fuel pump repaired on her vehicle. She had not experienced any failures with the vehicle prior to having it repaired. Afterwards, she noticed that the vehicle would not operate the same. While driving less than 45 mph and attempting to brake, the vehicle would accelerate. She also felt heavy vibrations in the vehicle as well. The NHTSA campaign id number was unknown. The failure mileage was 360 and current mileage was 1,100.

- Dradenton, FL, USA

problem #23

Aug 302008


  • 325 miles
After having my fuel pump replaced due to a recall and previously reported problem, my car stalled out on a busy road again. I tried to restart the car numerous times with no luck at all. I had to have the car towed to a safe location so I was able to have it towed to the Hyundai dealership. I was told that this time the reason the car stalled was due to a fuel sensor being incorrect as a result of the installation of the new fuel pump. I was told that the car stalled because it was completely out of gas. The fuel gauge read that I had 3/4 of a tank. It at minimum is going to take the dealership a full week to have this problem resolved.

- Garner, NC, USA

problem #22

Aug 252008


  • 120 miles


While driving on a major highway and traveling at high speed, as I began to merge to an exit ramp, my 2008 Hyundai Elantra completely stalled out. I tried to restart the car three times and it died on me on each of those tries. After the fourth attempt I was able to restart the car to get to a safe location. The car was taken to the dealership the next morning when I was told that the fuel pump had been recalled and that it would be replaced. The fuel pump was replaced, but there were further problems with the fuel system. The fuel pump was recalled four days prior to me buying the Elantra and I was not made aware of the issue by the dealership.

- Garner, NC, USA

problem #21

Aug 232008


  • 3,500 miles
I took my 2008 Elantra in for service. They replaced the fuel pump due to a recall. That same day the car stalled in the middle of a busy highway. They just replaced the fuel pump again.

- Ronkonkoma, NY, USA

problem #20

Aug 242008


  • 770 miles
Driving North on hwy 5 from bakersfield ca when the engine began to miss and loose power. I managed to pull over at avenal where I put gas in hoping it would work better. I let it rest and when I started it up, the engine light came on. I drove it a bit and called into the roadside assistance from Hyundai and explained the situation to them. I said I was driving North but keeping it at 65 mph. I was told to continue and call back if any other issues occurred. Soon after that the car began loosing power intermittently and the engine was missing. Finally, at 10 miles before rte 152 between mendota & firebaugh, the car completely died and the battery light came on. I called roadside assistance again and they called for a tow and a police officer. The tow driver arrived about an hour later and took it to the gilroy dealership. I have since been informed it was the fuel pump. This is a new car, 2008, with only 770 miles on it. I've only had it 4 days.

- San Leandro, CA, USA

problem #19

Jun 142008


  • 1,100 miles
Was driving new Elantra (1100 miles and 12 days of ownership) on highway when vehicle started sputtering and lost power no matter how much gas I fed it. Pulled over and turned off car. Restarted vehicle with difficulty and "check engine" light indicating emissions problem came on. Car seemed fine until 2-3 miles later when same symptoms (lurching, losing power) recurred.. this happened 2 more times, each time I managed to pull off road, turned off car, let it sit and then took multiple attempts at starting before it engaged and ran very rough, with very little power. Intent was to get to a safe place to stop. Car was towed to nearest huyndai dealership (I was 150 miles from home) where they initially diagnosed bad gas. But car ran 175 miles on that tank of gas before problem occurred. Then they diagnosed bad fuel pump and replaced fuel pump. Hyundai roadside assistance was useless -- had to arrange for own tow truck -- Hyundai did not offer replacement vehicle or even reimbursement for gas for me to drive back and forth to pick up my dead new car from being repaired 150 miles from home. We've not had further problems (now have 7500 miles on it) but I am on edge expecting another break-down after reading other people's experiences.

- Osceola, IN, USA

problem #18

Jul 102008


  • 7,303 miles
6/26/08 - car looses power on expressway, check engine light comes on. Dealer fixes faulty "downstream oxygen sensor" 7/10/08 - car looses power, engine hesitation and racing RPM's in speeds of 20-40 mph. Check engine light comes on. Dealer replaces fuel pump 8/14/08- car hesitating and RPM's racing in speeds of 20-40 mph. Will take back to dealer when check engine light comes on.

- Bloomingdale , IL, USA

problem #17

Aug 092008


  • 1,789 miles
Took a 375 mile/ 8 hour trip. New 2008 Hyundai Elantra w/less than 1800 miles. Upon exiting expressway, engine struggled, as if trying to shift to next gear, but bucked & hesitated. After stopped at a red light, proceeded to cross busy intersection. Car sputtered and stalled.check engine light came on and stayed on. 5 failed attempts to restart but did after 9 minutes. Made it to destination. Local Hyundai service center closed. Forced to attempt trip back next day. Had to drive through very heavy traffic - including the george Washington bridge, and winding mountain roads in pa. Car acted up 3-4 times, each time losing speed, sputtering & bucking. While never actually stalled, could have been catastrophic. Acted worse while accelerating - sounded like engine cutting out. Dropped it off to dealership where purchased 8/10/08. Next day, informed of broken fuel pump. Being replaced with a new one - ready today, 8/14/08. After reading so many similar stories on-line, I felt I had to inform you of my incident. I believe there needs to be a recall - especially as there are so many 2008 Elantras on the road. Had we needed to make an emergency escape of our stalled car, in NY traffic, we would have likely been killed trying to exit, and probably been run over by a tractor trailer had we stayed in the car. We certainly would not have been able to get our crated puppy out of the back seat, as a parent would not be able to rescue a baby in an infant seat. This is a series of tragedies waiting to happen!!!! I will still not feel confident driving my 3 1/2 month old car, as many people continue to have trouble even with replaced parts. I implore you to probe deeper in to this matter and have Hyundai correct this problem...before many people become a fatality statistic!

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #16

Jun 252008


  • 25 miles
Purchased a new 2008 Hyundai Elantra. Left the dealership with the new car and after driving about 10 miles, noticed that the car was hesitating and could not increase speed and shift to the next higher gear. The car finally shifted to the final gear and all was well for about 10 more miles; then the car started to slow down to the point where feeding gas was not helping. The car crawled to a stop at a freeway exit (fortunately) and I contacted the dealer. They arranged towing and delivered me a loaner. The fuel pump failed after only 20 miles of driving the new car.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #15

Jul 242008


  • 3,500 miles
I have a Hyundai Elantra which one had 3500 miles on it and the cars fuel pump went while I was diving it. Just started to sputter and the check engine light came on. Had to have it tow to dealership where they replaced the fuel pump.

- Fort White, FM, USA

problem #14

Aug 052008


  • 1,432 miles
My 2008 Elantra SE which I bought in may has had two "episodes" of stalling. The first (od 1100 mi) on July 14 occurred on the freeway and began as a slight hesitation that got progressively worse such that we took the next exit and limped home on back roads. The check engine light came on and the car stalled twice before we finally made it home. The next day I was able to drive it to the dealer about 5 miles away. Their diagnosis was a bad oxygen sensor which they didn't have in stock. They said it would be ok to drive the car until the new sensor arrived. It ran fine and 3 days later I took it in to have the sensor replaced. They ran diagnostics again and said the sensor was ok and needn't be replaced. They said maybe it was bad gas or vapor lock and sent me on my way. The car ran fine until this afternoon (Aug 5) when it began hesitating (od 1432 mi) on the freeway and once again I took the first exit and limped home, unable to exceed 25 mph, bucking all the way. My wife followed me to the dealer and for the last mile were unable to go over 5 mph (emergency flashers on). We never made it as the Elantra shut down completely in rush hour traffic and I had to get out and push into a nearby parking lot. I called Hyundai roadside assistance and had the car trucked to the dealer, only about 4 blocks away. I understand NHTSA is investigating 07-08 Elantra stalling complaints and wanted to add another data point for your consideration.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #13

Jun 102008


  • 400 miles
Brand new car that after three weeks of ownership stalled in the middle of the road. Dealership replaced air sensors, car stalled again. Finally determined fuel pump was bad and replaced fuel pump from a car on the lot, car stalled again. Fuel pump replaced with new fuel pump, car still stalling. Have brought car in 7 times now and am now being told to go home with the car because they don't want to look at it.

- Nashua, NH, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?