Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,287 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Hyundai Elantra steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #24

Apr 162014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 101,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2009 Hyundai Elantra with just over 100,000 miles on it. Around a year ago I had an issue with the eps light coming on. I took it to the dealer, and they had to do something to the computer. Yesterday I was driving and the eps light came on again. I then realized the power steering had completely went out in my car. I got into a parking lot and turned it off and then back on and it worked fine. Took it to the dealer and they told me that the entire steering column has to be replaced for $2,400. I am very upset because I do not have the money, and my extended warranty that I paid $4,000 for just ended. I am still paying on it. I decided to do some research and found out that it is very common in the Hyundai Elantra to have steering issues. As far back as 07 and as recently as the 2013 model. I had my baby and two other passengers in the car with me when it happened, and the thought of if I had been going 70 on the freeway when this happened makes me never want to get into the car again. I do not think that it is normal for so many cars to have the same issue. I think it should be looked into and recalled. It took every bit of strength I had to turn the car. I think this is a very serious issue and with so many complaints it should be looked into. Hopefully Hyundai does not wait until lives are lost to fix this. I have added the links with the complaints similar to mine. It seems that the steering columns are defective. With so many repairs having to be made, I am sure Hyundai is aware by now. www.aboutautomobile.com/complaint/2009/Hyundai/Elantra/steering forums.edmunds.com/discussion/14787/Hyundai/Elantra/Elantra-2013-steering-column-issues www.faqs.org/car/Hyundai-Elantra-2009/steering/ www.hyundaiforum.com/forum/Hyundai-Elantra-touring-I30-45/eps-12111/

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #23

Dec 152013

Elantra

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the vehicle was hesitant upon accelerating from a stop sign. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the failure was caused by the power steering. The technician replaced the power steering unit but the failure continued. Additionally, the steering wheel detached from the vehicle while parked. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 53,000. Updated 3/12/14

- Jeff, KY, USA

problem #22

Nov 112013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 83,665 miles
My daughter and I purchased this car August 30th 2013. In good faith from joyce koons in manassas Virginia. Less than 90 days after purchase the vehicle has lost power steering ability twice. On Nov 11th the car was serviced (total charge $172.50) and now the entire column shaft assembly needs replacing part # 56310-2H50. $2105.56 + parts $600 + alignment $99.95 my inquiry is two fold #1 is there any history of this being a faulty "part" on this vehicle? #2 the human element (because I know I human will be reading this) we purchased an extended warranty on this vehicle because my daughter's father passed away and he always took care of the vehicles. Now we are being told that this isn't a covered part even though steering issues are supposed to be covered.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #21

Apr 052010

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Lost power steering.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #20

Sep 052013

Elantra

  • 78,000 miles
Eps light comes on intermittently and shuts off the power steering while driving.

- Camden, NY, USA

problem #19

Mar 032012

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 91,260 miles
March 2012 the eps indicator light came on and the steering became very difficult. This happened intermittently at first, very scary when driving, and would sometimes resolve itself if the car was restarted. The dealership performed an update and repaired a loose connection, which seemed to correct the problem. In Jan 2013 the eps light came on & again steering became almost impossible. This time the dealership recommended replacing the steering column & motor to the tune of $2,312. As this is 1/4 the total value of the car, it seems astronomically high. As a highly paid public school teacher, I cannot afford this and am forced to drive the car as it is. I contacted Hyundai customer service who said there was nothing they could do as my warranty had expired. With so many complaints of this type, I am surprised Hyundai has not looked into it. I will never buy another Hyundai.

- Leland, NC, USA

problem #18

Jun 212013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 113,153 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the electronic power steering light illuminated on the instrument panel. The power steering assist failed and the steering wheel seized. The contact spoke to the dealer, but was not able to have the vehicle inspected. The failure and the current mileages were 113,153.

- Nashville, GA, USA

problem #17

Jun 202013

Elantra

  • 76,478 miles
Driving at a speed of about 45mph when the eps light came on and it became hard to steer the car. I did a search to find many complaints for the same problem, but no recalls as of yet. This problem needs to be addressed before a life is lost! not after! I am currently at the dealership and afraid to hear what it will cost me cause I'm no longer under warranty. Hyundai needs to do right to the customers or risk developing a bad rap.

- South Hadley, MA, USA

problem #16

May 192013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
The electronic power steering stopped working as the eps indicator light came on. I had difficulty steering so I pulled over and restarted the car which temporarily fixed the problem. The rest of the way home (apprx 5 miles) it stopped working about 6 more times. Again this morning (5/20) on the way to work it stopped working. Each time it stops I am able to temporarily "fix it" by restarting the engine. To be safe I'm keeping off the highway. Prior to this incident my eps indicator light would come on periodically but without the eps itself failing. During these prior incidents my mechanic couldn't find a problem and turned the light off, but found it troubling. I took it to Hyundai at one point and they claimed nothing was wrong and turned the light off.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #15

May 012013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
Steering wheel sticking while driving at any speed. I was told today steering column needs to be replaced and possibly the rack too. In addition, hearing a noise while turning or backing up before warranty expired and took the car in. First time, stated bad axle and replaced. Second time, still heard noise again and told everything is fine at 53,000 miles. Third time, at about 67,000 told it was the shaft due to being worn out along with the steering column and possible the rack too. I see several steering column complaints for this make and model. I don't understand why this is not being looked into?

- Jesup, GA, USA

problem #14

Apr 112013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 70,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Making hard left turn after backing out of driveway, power steering fails. Restarted car to restore power steering. Also failed on a rough road with no turn. Reproduced problem with a hard left turn while standing still. In all cases, restarting the car resolves the problem.

- Blythewood, SC, USA

problem #13

Dec 252012

Elantra

  • 71,243 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and the electronic stability program and electronic stability control lights illuminated. The vehicle was restarted, where it began to function normally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the steering column had failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted. The failure mileage was 71,000 and the current mileage was 71,243.

- Franklynville, NJ, USA

problem #12

Dec 282012

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 98,292 miles
Driving around 45mph, trying to turn left and the steering locked up and the aps light came on. Took to pearson Hyundai and had checked out. Per pearson, they found a code C1290, torque sensor main signal fault. Will need a new steering column. Appr. Cost of $1600. Per pearson, this is a safety issue and vehicle shouldn't be driven until repaired. Need information on any and all recalls on this vehicle for this safety issue.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #11

Sep 012009

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 300 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the steering pulled toward the right on its own. No warning lights illuminated during the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer five times to be aligned. The failure continued. The failure mileage was 300 and the current mileage is 23,000. Updated 7/18/12 updated 07/25/12

- Greenville, AL, USA

problem #10

Feb 222012

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Driving 25 mph the eps indicator light came on and I had no power steering so I pulled over and after turning the car off it worked fine. After many more of the same deals the steering would not come back.I took it to the dealer and they had to replace the steering column to fix the problem.

- Bothell, WA, USA

problem #9

Jan 042012

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized while driving 65 mph. The contact shifted into neutral and shut the vehicle off while it was in motion. Upon restart, the contact regained steering and maneuvered to the shoulder. The failure had since recurred on an intermittent basis. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the steering motor failed. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 93,000. Updated 02/27/12 updated 02/28/12

- Jay, OK, USA

problem #8

Dec 202011

Elantra

  • 60,400 miles
I was driving down the road, coming back from gym, when my eps light went on--seconds after the light appeared, my power steering shut down. I struggled with the steering wheel, then ran off the road after pulling with both arms to pull the car over. I eventually drove the car home with my hazards at a very slow speed since I had great difficulty turning the car etc. I can't imagine what would have happened had I been on the highway. I called Hyundai (customer connect ) my case number is[xxx]. they have only responded that they will not reimburse me any of the 2400 dollars it cost to replace. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hillsborough, NJ, USA

problem #7

Oct 012009

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Elantra gls. The contact was driving 55 mph when the steering failure light illuminated and the power steering failed. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 6,000 and the current mileage was 21,000. Updated 12/16/11 updated 01/20/12

- Birdsboro, PA, USA

problem #6

Aug 302011

Elantra

  • 11,774 miles
I was driving home last night in my 2009 Hyundai Elantra and my eps light came on and it was very difficult to steer the car. I had it towed in to the alan vines automotive in jackson, tn and they said there was nothing wrong with it. I have read other complaints on the net and it is a safety issue.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #5

Dec 242010

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Front end making a noise upon a slow to medium front or back-up turn. Also, at various times the esp light came on and I lost power steering(very dangerous while on the road at speed). Also, the front tires were wearing very unevenly(rear tires fine). They replaced the steering angle sensor and steering shaft assembly on 24dec 2010 with mileage at 35,791. They offered to sell me two front tires, alignment and balance at a steep price, I declined and had my mechanic do it for less. I strongly feel that the defect caused my tires to wear out too soon. This is a potentially fatal defect because if it happens while at highway speed you will suffer injuries. This is my third Hyundai, the two were fine.

- Laurel, DE, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?