Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's an emerging trend of transmission problem with the 2010 Elantra at fairly early mileage.

So far owners report having the transmission replaced under warranty but that won't hold up for much longer. It may be a bit premature but for now we're putting the "CLUNKER" rating on the 2010 Elantra just to be safe.

Speaking of being safe, you might not be unless Hyundai can figure out why their airbags aren't deploying.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 1
Average Mileage:
49,165 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Hyundai Elantra steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #53

May 102016

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2010 Hyundai Elantra was recalled for a problem with the assisted power steering. The problem was addressed by the service department at M.J. sullivan dealership in new london, ct in April of 2015. Thirteen months later the system failed and the steering is now difficult, especially during attempts to make turns of short radius. Presumably other owners of this make, model and year have also experienced the same recurring problem following the 2015 recall. My purpose is contacting you is to bring the problem to your attention, to inquire as to the frequency of failure of the "fix" to the power assisted steering since the 2015 recall, and to ask if a follow-up recall is anticipated. Thank you for your interest! [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mystic, CT, USA

problem #52

Aug 192016

Elantra

  • 187,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced a loss power steering. The power steering warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 187,000.

- Paramus, NJ, USA

problem #51

Aug 202016

Elantra

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the power steering failed while driving approximately 5 mph. The eps warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V100000 (steering). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 52,000.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #50

Jul 112016

Elantra

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced an abnormal clicking noise from the steering column. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 70,000.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #49

Apr 292016

Elantra

  • 106,113 miles
Was driving down the hwy and had to stop for a stop light as I pulled away the esp light came on turning off my power steering causing me to have to stop and try to pull over to turn car off to reset the esp light so I could turn my car safely I had to do this several times it have to make a 90 degree to turn on my road or off on to the hwy. I took it to the dealer and they said that it was a safety issue but was not on recall the part to fix my car ended up costing me $2100 for a part that should have never gone out. I had to replace the whole steering column. For a part that was in the steering column. I contacted Hyundai costumer service and they said that my car was out of warranty but I have went on there complains and see that this has been going on for awhile they have complaints for 2009 and up to 2012 I told Hyundai that it was not that it was not the warranty I was complain about and that it was a safety issue I then contacted the BBB as instructed to to hear the same thing I thank that this issue needs to be addressed before some one gets hurt it is all ready costing consumers thousand of dollars to fix after hyundia states that there vehicles are safe it is not safe when you loss your power steering while trying to make a turn a can't turn the steering wheel. I have all the information and E-mails that I communicated with Hyundai and the BBB if you need it I can E-mail it to you.

- Imperal, MO, USA

problem #48

Jun 182016

Elantra

  • 40,790 miles
Twice the power steering assist has gone off. Once at 20 mph after making a turn in mall parking lot, and once approx 30-35 mph while going straight on a residential street in suburbs.. the vehicle required great effort to steer the vehicle to the shoulder of the road. The engine was still running. Driver shutoff the engine, then restarted the engine and continued driving without further incident. The events occurred three months apart March and June 2016

- Fairfax Station, VA, USA

problem #47

Feb 082016

Elantra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Hyundai Elantra. While driving approximately 55 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the eps needed to be replaced. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 15V100000 (steering), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN and failure mileage were unknown.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #46

May 262016

Elantra

  • 43,200 miles
Vehicle was took in to dealership last 4/22/2015 for eps recall NHTSA campaign number: 15V100000 and Hyundai recall 127. They completed a software update. The recall does not fix the problem on 5/26/2016 was driving the 2010 Elantra and eps light came on causing loss of steering capability. Called Hyundai they said it was not part of recall take to dealer. Dealer on 6/1/2016 stated that the software update was done but did not fix eps steering issue and would need to replace steering column $2150. The recall obviously did not fix the problem and after doing research online have noticed many others are having the same issue. If a recall is to fix the problem the recall should be done fully and correctly not cheaply and halfway. The eps causes stiff steering making it impossible for a person to steer. This could lead to many accidents and possibly death. The light comes on and immediatley with out warning the steering is automatically gone. While driving I was almost in an accident because after losing steering I tried make a turn off the main road into a subdivision to get off the main road. As I was turning at a very low speed below 5 mph I was unable to stay in my lane and a car was exiting the subdivision. Although there would be minor damages, this could be different if I was on the highway at an exit coming around a turn. The loss of steering is unsafe and I do hope that the right measures are eventually taken to resolve this issue before someone is killed. The vehicle has less than 45000 miles on it.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #45

May 172016

Elantra

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Hyundai Elantra. While driving in reverse, the steering wheel seized and the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the eps control unit needed to be updated. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 15V100000 (steering); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 44,000.

- Allegany, NY, USA

problem #44

May 192016

Elantra

  • 51,000 miles
On Thursday 5/19/2016 while driving to work in the a.M with the slightest movement to the steering wheel I noticed it was making a clicking sound and feels like the steering wheel is catching (for lack of a better term)when the click occurs and you are moving the steering wheel back the other way. Whether moving steering wheel to right or left but not when making a complete turn. I checked on the internet found a lot of complaints for my year and 2011 sonatas with the same problem. It seems to be a coupling in the steering column. I called the dealership I use and was told by the warranty administrator they know all about the problem but the repair wont be covered under warranty since I am out of basic. I asked if it is dangerous and was assured that is is just noisy.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #43

Feb 102015

Elantra

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2010 Hyundai Elantra. While driving 13 mph, the vehicle accelerated. The brake pedal was depressed and stuck to the floorboard and the steering wheel locked. The vehicle crossed opposite lanes and crashed through a gate and into a house. The air bags deployed long after the crash occurred. The contact was knocked unconscious momentarily and received medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a tow yard. Three months later, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V113000 (exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic) and 15V1000 (steering). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and requested information to investigate the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was approximately 63,000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #42

Nov 012015

Elantra

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Hyundai Elantra. While driving approximately 25-40 mph, the steering wheel began to shake and the eps warning light illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer who stated that the vehicle was previously included and repaired according to a recall for the power steering. The dealer also stated that the current failure was not associated with the recall despite the eps warning light being illuminated. The dealer diagnosed that the vehicle, but the results were unknown. The contact took the vehicle to a certified mechanic who informed the contact that the recall and recent failure of the vehicle were related. The certified mechanic diagnosed that the electronic motor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN and NHTSA campaign number were unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 9,000.

- Red Springs, NC, USA

problem #41

Mar 042016

Elantra

  • miles
Just starting getting a big problem with the steering making noise in steering wheels.. and it get worse.. seat belt keeps unclicking

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #40

Oct 072015

Elantra

  • 128,000 miles
The original steering wheel on this car has been cracking and now is disintegrating in my hands. Slowly but surely it is posing to be an issue with sharp edges which has cut my hand. I believe if this keeps going the skeleton of the steering wheel will be exposed. I am attaching pictures of this. I have talked to Hyundai Consumer Affairs they informed me that there is nothing they can do. I believe this is due to inferior material used in the construction of the steering wheel.

- Chesterfield, MO, USA

problem #39

Nov 282015

Elantra

  • 50,000 miles
Recall was performed on 4/22/15 at no charge. Bought car from dad on 5/26/15. 7 months later the (eps) light come on and I lose steering. If you shut the car off and turn on the light goes out. Its happening every other day. I think this still falls under the recall. I should be able to get fixed for no charge. Places are wanting money and have my car for a few days. Recall says 1hr. Says if not satisfied to write you. Please review. Pretty dangerous driving condition. Have no other car. Eps light comes on in motion, turning, mostly at slow speeds. Then lose steering. Here is a picture. I also have video on the road but it wont send.

- Troutdale, OR, USA

problem #38

Nov 272015

Elantra

  • 79,944 miles
The steering column made a knocking sound when turned. You could hear noise when vehicle was stationary and in motion. Took it to dealer and had the flexible coupling (part 56315-2K000-fff) replaced. The service manager said the part was melted and torn up. The car mileage was 79944.

- Matthews, NC, USA

problem #37

Nov 242015

Elantra

  • 80,000 miles
Vehicle in motion approximately 73 mph on NY 87S. Eps dash light suddenly illuminated and power steering was lost instantaneously. Pulled over to side of road.

- Port Jervis, NY, USA

problem #36

Nov 022015

Elantra

  • 71,588 miles
Last week the day after dlst ended, I used by headlights for the first time in months. This seemed to coincide with the start of the clicking of my steering wheel while driving. I stopped & talked w/ a mechanic, he said a dealer would have to do a costly repair because it involved the computer located in the steering column. It would probably need replacement. I am worried it may be a safety issue. He said it was not but I decided to check recalls.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #35

Nov 092015

Elantra

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Hyundai Elantra. While driving at approximately 20 mph and making a turn, a loud knocking noise emitted from the steering wheel. The failure occurred when driving and became progressively worse. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 51,000.

- Deerpark, TX, USA

problem #34

Oct 142015

Elantra

  • 61,080 miles
When driving the car and using the steering, the steering wheel clicks when you turn it any which way. Also the steering feels loose & sloppy. It happens every time you drive it.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?