Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: So far the 2011 Elantra doesn't have the same volume of transmission problems that 2010 owners are fighting with. It also doesn't have the same pattern of steering and braking complaints that are piling up with the 2013 model year.

We're not saying the 2011 is perfect -- I mean, what were they thinking advertising their MPGs -- but there are worse choices.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,896 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Elantra electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Oct 032016

Elantra

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Shift interlock faulty in 2011 Elantra at 91,000 miles - car will not go out of park after idiling for 5 minutes. This same issue was a recall on 2007 -2010 models

- Damascus, MD, USA

problem #20

Sep 162016

Elantra

  • 1 miles
Airbag warning light on panel comes on when vehicle is placed in drive and engine engaged

- Fairview Heights, IL, USA

problem #19

Dec 062015

Elantra

  • 58,000 miles
When I attempt to start the car, the lights and all electrical features come on, but the car will not turn over. This happens repeatedly and then it suddenly starts. I've read that this a widespread problem with this model and it may be the inhibitor switch.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #18

Oct 062014

Elantra

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that while coming to a stop, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed, but the failure was not found. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 8,000.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #17

Jun 262014

Elantra

  • 34,000 miles
Car will not start. Have battery, alternator, and started all tested and are good. Every so often go to start the car and when you turn the key to first position everything turns on. Windows work, radio works, light on dash turn on. Go to start the car and it does nothing. Does not even try to start the starter makes no noise. You just here a clicking noise. Was told be dealer that it might be inhibitor switch (range switch), that was replaced and a week later it again will not try to start. If you let it sit and come back a day later many time it will crank right over. There are many forums online with the same issue from this model.

- Wentzville, MO, USA

problem #16

Aug 092015

Elantra

  • 38,803 miles
When I went to go start my car for work it wouldnt start. Left it at home and had son try to turn on and didnt turn on. Dealership asked me to jump it started for a few days then it happened again not starting. Aaa came out move to neutral then started. Been having this problem for the past few weeks.

- Penns Grove, NJ, USA

problem #15

Feb 142014

Elantra

  • 62,439 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car does not start - key is in ignition, lights and sensors all work - turn key in ignition to "on" position - no start. Going through several gyrations ie: Jiggle the shifter, step on brake, lock and unlock car from inside with fob - then car starts usually. Car was taken to college park Hyundai - service found poor connection at mps box; secured connections, no show on diagnostics. Got in car at dealership, did not start on 1st time. Took car home - same thing - not starting on first try (sometimes). Returned car back to dealership 2-24-15 - still cannot duplicate or find problem. Returned car back to dealership 3/2/15 - cannot find problem. Am picking up car today 3-10-15.

- Hyattsville, MD, USA

problem #14

Jan 142015

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Gear shift will not go into park or reverse. Also the ESC light comes on and off at times.

- Coatesville, PA, USA

problem #13

Jun 012012

Elantra

  • 10,000 miles
I bought my Hyundai Elantra new in 2011 since owning the vehicle it's been a nightmare and I get very little if any help from the local Hyundai dealer. I have had numerous issues with the vehicle not starting (car is silent when I turn the key in the ignition, car cranks but won't turn over, engine starts but dies, car dies without any reason). I've brought up complaints and concerns to the local dealership but they are never of any help. I recently had to have the starter replaced but it was only replaced because my car one day wouldn't start at all. Since the replacement I am still met with my car not starting at least once a week if not more. Yesterday my sun roof would not close completely, it retracts a few inches from closing, this is not new to me, multiple intermittent electrical issues, such as is occurring now - the sun roof retracting on its own without any visible reason. Or when the gear shift is put in park/reverse, etc. Sunroof will take on a mind of its own. I'm fed up with this lemon of a car and as I see from all the other complaints online about starting issues Hyundai needs to do something about it - figure out the reason why and let us consumers know.

- Missoula, MT, USA

problem #12

Jan 262015

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
The car will not start intermittently. After we jumpstart it, it will start for a couple of days and then not start again. This has happened four times now. The battery was tested and was rated in good condition. The cause was not because of leaving electronics on as nothing was left on.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #11

Feb 052015

Elantra

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car will not start. It just clicks and will not start. It is random, but progressively gets more frequent as the car gets older/more use. Potentially standing a driver wherever they are at the time it happens. It has already stranded my wife once. This is a safety issue during very hot or cold weather. Hyundai does not seem to care about fixing the issue, nor are they making any efforts whatsoever to remedy it. Dealers are not helping their customers solve the problem either. See the website below. This issue is very common. There needs to be a recall for this issue, as it is likely affecting tens of thousands of owners at the very least. A neutral switch or range switch seems to be the main culprit. www.cargurus.com/cars/discussion-T40609_ds554427.

- Cape Girardeau, MO, USA

problem #10

Nov 132014

Elantra

  • miles
My engine light came on and I took it to the local Firestone auto center and they told me that the code was a P2096 and it was a service recall with Hyundai. The service no. Is 13-fl-006. I called Hyundai and they told me that my car was not on the list, but Firestone told me it was.who shall I believe?can some one help me with this. Thanks....

- Fairfield, CT, USA

problem #9

Sep 082014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 66,759 miles
Intermittent issue wherein the car does not start even if the battery is healthy. Lever is in park mode. The engine doesn't even crank up. Happened after parking and I was stuck at a gas station for over five minutes. Dealer cannot find anything wrong with the vehicle and this is the second time in a year that I have had this problem. Last time they replaced a wire from starter to electrical.

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #8

Sep 052014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 55,400 miles
As I was driving the skid control light came on. At first, nothing was different, then all of a sudden my car started slowing down and would accelerate with gas being applied. Then, it started moving again. After a while the light went off, but then came on and did the same thing.

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #7

Nov 052012

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 23,092 miles
The contact owned a 2011 Hyundai Elantra. While traveling approximately 20 mph, the contact's vehicle crashed head on into another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The driver sustained severe leg injuries that required medical attention and a right knee replacement. The manufacturer was notified, but no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 23,092. Updated 10/8/14 prior to the accident, the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, because the air bag light was on. She was informed, it was an electrical issue. The consumer never received a recall notice. Updated 10/15/14 according to Hyundai, the vehicle performed as designed. They stated the frontal air bags were not intended to deploy during every impact that was generally directed against the vehicle's front end. Frontal air bas were designed to deploy when a vehicle sustained a sufficient forward deceleration to trigger the air bag sensor. The air bag sensor reacted to extreme deceleration of the vehicle's forward movement. Based upon the information provided, it appeared the vehicle was hit at an angular impact involving lateral forces. Updated 11/26/14 updated 12/17/14. Lawyer on behalf of client. Updated 01/16/15. Updated 02/24/15

- Greenfield, FL, USA

problem #6

Jun 052014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
My mother came to a stop and noticed smoke and then fire coming from under the hood. Everything in the engine compartment is burnt to a crisp.

- Dexter, ME, USA

problem #5

May 222013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
My Hyundai Elantra has had several issues since purchasing it March 09, 2013. Chief complaints are my vehicle will not start. Took it to dealership and they informed me to pop off the shift lock button on gear shaft and my car started. Took it to the dealer for further evaluation and was informed it was a relay switch, which was not covered under my warranty. Paid $260 to have this part fixed and my car still has problems starting. I have been stranded several times and unable to start my vehicle. Second complaint is my car is not getting the gas mileage it is supposed to. Spoke to the dealership about this issue as well. They informed me to only use shell gasoline. I still do not receive the gas mileage I was promised upon purchasing this vehicle. I did some research and have found that I am not the only person that has encountered either one of these issues.

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #4

Jul 302012

Elantra 4-cyl

  • miles
When turning left at a busy intersection, the car stalled. I could not accelerate at all. The airconditioning was still running and the car was otherwise on but it completely stalled. I had to turn the engine off and turn it back on in order for the car to accelerate. I was able to drive it approximately 20 feet and the car stalled again with all the same characteristics as before. No check engine light came on.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #3

May 262011

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 30 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the brakes were depressed when the vehicle stalled while the contact was shifting into drive. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 30 and the current mileage was 66. The consumer stated within the first week of ownership, the vehicle stalled in reverser, the same thing happened two more times after the vehicle was re-programmed twice by the dealer. On one occasion, while driving, the gear suddenly shifted from drive to neutral and stopped short. Updated 09/14/15.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #2

Jun 172011

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
2011 Hyundai Elantra. Lawyer writes regarding notice of claim under the lemon law on behalf of clients the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer for a routine oil change. When the consumer returned to retrieve the vehicle, the dealer informed him, they damaged the vehicle and it would not start. The problem was determined to be the ECM. Three months later, the dashboard warning lights would blink off and on randomly. As a result, there was no way for the consumer to know if the oil pressure, RPM's, tire pressure or engine temperature were within safe limits. The cruise control and miles per gallon did not work either. Also, there was no way to tell if the ABS was working. The problem seemed to be the ECM once again. When the consumer retrieved the vehicle again, from a different dealer, he was informed that the wrong computer module had been installed in the vehicle. Apparently, the computer for a vehicle with an automatic transmission was installed; when the vehicle had a manual transmission. Once the consumer left the dealership, the warning lights malfunctioned again. The vehicle was returned to the dealer again.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?