Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Be aware that there's a significant trend of owners complaining that the Elantra's fuel economy is significantly less than the EPA estimates.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,136 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Hyundai Elantra brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Nov 202016

Elantra

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Elantra. While driving 30 mph, the electronic stability control warning indicator illuminated. The contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a ditch. Prior to the crash, the vehicle accelerated independently. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to a dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the tie rod was bent and the brake pad on the front passenger wheel was missing. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Montgomery, NY, USA

problem #23

Oct 222015

Elantra

  • 30,000 miles
On November 8th, 2016, saint paul, mn, my car would not start up. No warning signals came on and just made a "clicking" noise". I called Hyundai's roadside assistance when they arrived he told me to try to start it up. The car then came on which was approx. A 45 minute wait. In October 2015- eagan, mn, I was driving on the highway, I felt dizzy, nauseous and had a panic attack. I tried pulling over to the side of the road, the car would not stop despite stepping on breaks, the car kept pulling toward the side of the grass that was surrounded with gravel. I ended up hitting and stopping at a guardrail. The driver side wheel was blown and along the drivers and passenger door was scratched, there was also some front end damage which got repaired. In approx. March 2015- West saint paul, I just got off the highway when my car lost power. I started it up, pressed on the gas and ended up rear ended the driver in front of me. In 2014, maplewood, mn, I was at a restaurant's drive-thru and my car lost all power and steering for about 5-10 minutes. I called Hyundai's roadside's assistance to report the incident. In 2014, eden prairie, mn, I was driving on the highway and my car completely lost power and the steering wheel locked up. I called Hyundai's roadside assistance to report the incidence. About 15 minutes later, the car started up and no longer needed roadside assistance's towing service.

- Oakdale, MN, USA

problem #22

Aug 152016

Elantra

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Elantra. While driving various speeds, the vehicle braked independently and caused the electronic stability control warning indicator to illuminate. After the vehicle was parked, the brakes seized. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic stability control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V871000 (electronic stability control). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #21

Jul 022015

Elantra

  • 52,380 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Problem : ESC light flashes while driving, some time makes rumbling noise, power loss, feel like car in neutral, steering felt lock, sudden break and creates unsafe condition. Not all symptoms come up same time but one of them while light flashing. Details : 1. first time happened in June/July 2015 contacted dealer. Since dealer cannot replicate they did test drive and felt everything normal. I drove 1 year scarred but issue didn't occurred 2. few weeks ago this problem resurfaced dealer repeated same story but wanted to drive with me which is pending. While normal driving it happened and this time it was recorded on my cellphone to show as proof because in test drive it may or may not happen. I feel company and dealer not working closely and someone can cause serious issue of safety. I request to look into this reaching out to company and address this issue. I cannot upload video let me know if you need. Just loading a picture.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #20

Apr 162016

Elantra

  • 53,800 miles
My vehicle was affected by NHTSA campaign number: 15V871000. The local Hyundai dealer performed campaign # 133 on 04/14/16, at which time a Y yaw rate sensor rep/hecu upd was (corrected). On that date, the odometer reading was: 53,768. Prior to having this re-calibration I had experienced no noticeable issues regarding the braking system. After the recall was performed by the dealer, on six (X6) separate occasions, one of the bakes has independently locked up upon transitioning from smooth to rough surfaces, going over a manhole and/or dissimilar road materials (such as blacktop to cement bridge, or onto a serrated metal bridge material). This has been completely random in occurrence, on the highway or typical city street, but does seem to be related to braking or slowing down in general as that is when it is noticed, except that one wheel brake locks - causing the us (the drivers) to take evasive action as the car suddenly will veer to one direction or another unexpectedly instead of the intended slow-down. Rather than rectify the problem the recall was meant to resolve (that we had not even seen symptoms of), now the "supposed repair - Hyundai campaign 137, " seems to have actually reproduced the symptoms in our vehicle, now making us feel unsafe and uneasy driving it as we have nearly avoided collisions on a few occasions due to the new brake lock-up that has started since recall work was performed on 04/14/16, which was meant to correct this issue, not create it.

- East Orange, NJ, USA

problem #19

Jul 312013

Elantra

  • 61,828 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Elantra. While driving at various speeds, the engine light remained illuminated. In addition, while driving 65 mph, the vehicle shook violently and made a loud noise each time it drove over a bump or pothole. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and was repaired from a previous recall; however, the failure recurred. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V871000 (electronic stability control). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 61,828.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #18

Jan 112016

Elantra

  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

NHTSA campaign number: 15V871000 - same situation 2012 Hyundai Elantra - engine breaks automatically while on the interstate. Car seems to break (slow down) in bursts while trying to accelerate even on roads with speeds under 40mph. Has been a intermittent issue since January. Dealer agrees it is an ebs/ yaw system problem but will not fix it with the recall of NHTSA campaign number: 15V871000, even though we have a 2012 Hyundai Elantra. The problem may be bigger than the original scope.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #17

Dec 232015

Elantra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Elantra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V871000 (electronic stability control); however, the parts to do the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #16

Apr 062016

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 122,712 miles
Re: NHTSA 15V871000 based on the Hyundai safety recall, I went to two dealerships and still have a glowing ESC dash light and an unresolved safety problem. Each did a free "calibration" of a "steering" sensor and told me a "yaw" sensor would have to be replaced at my expense for over $1200. The NHTSA remedy said "dealers will verify the proper operation of the ESC sensors.... free of charge". please note "sensors" is plural. Surely it was not the NHTSA's intention to have Hyundai operate a "bait and switch" by doing a free "calibration" on one sensor and charging over $1200 to replace the other. My family and I are now driving a car with a safety issue that is known to the NHTSA and Hyundai but is apparently not covered by a safety recall - based on Hyundai's interpretation of the existing recall! your help is needed - thank you.

- Lenoir City, TN, USA

problem #15

Feb 152016

Elantra

  • 1 miles
The ESC system did not help prevent and may have even caused my car accident. There has also been a recall on my yaw-rate sensor, which is the key component to the ESC system...updated 05-19-16 on March 2, 2016, Hyundai national customer care refused the consumers request to have the vehicle tested in its post accident condition. On March 26, 2016, southern states Hyundai of raleigh replaced the yaw-rate sensor and acknowledged the part was defective. Hyundai sent a letter to the consumer, stating they did not believe the yaw-rate sensor contributed to the accident. Updated 06/13/16.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #14

Mar 292016

Elantra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Elantra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V871000 (electronic stability control) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #13

Mar 232016

Elantra

  • 54,500 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Elantra. While driving 50 mph, the vehicle began to decelerate and the electronic stability control light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 54,500.

- Egg Harbor City, NJ, USA

problem #12

Oct 212015

Elantra

  • 32,389 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Elantra. While driving 45 mph, the steering wheel shook violently when the brake pedal was depressed. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the cause of the failure was not determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V871000 (electronic stability control). The failure was persistent. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 32,389.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #11

Feb 182015

Elantra

  • 42,000 miles
Takata inflators first day I got the car, I was driving slow due to poor conditions (snow) when I tried to stop brakes made a grinding noise car pulled off to one side. I came dangerously close to smashing into a snow bank. I assumed this happened because of the road conditions. This has happened repeatedly and unexpectedly, every once in awhile I apply the breaks, hear the grinding noise aand lose control of the car. Im very lucky and surprised I havent gotten into an accident because of this. Its extremely scary and I absolutely hate driving the car in fear of this happening and causing a crash.

- Oxford, MA, USA

problem #10

Mar 072016

Elantra

  • 101,200 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the brake system failed to engage while driving 50 mph in rainy conditions. The contact crashed into an embankment. The stability control warning light illuminated. The contact suffered injuries to the back and arms that required medical attention. A police report was filed and the vehicle was towed. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V871000 (electronic stability control), but the parts were not available for repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 101,200.

- Timpson, TX, USA

problem #9

Feb 262016

Elantra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Elantra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V871000 (electronic stability control) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Mateo, CA, USA

problem #8

Feb 222016

Elantra

  • 57,580 miles
While driving on a major highway in normal non slick road conditions, my vehicles ESC light began to blink. Unexpectedly, and without my foot depressing the brakes, my vehicle decelerated from 55mph to 20mph. The front left tire ceased to rotate and torque was lost to the engine. The car was turned off and back on again and I immediately turned off the ESC system and drove home. That evening I received the notice recall for exactly the issue I had encountered. I brought my vehicle two days later to sansone Hyundai where they agreed after reading the car's computer that the ESC issue had indeed occurred. The technician then explained to me that they "reset the computer and this probably shouldn't happen again". he went on to explain there is no current solution, and I have to be patient. I appreciate the fact a solution has not yet been found but, I am now fearful to drive this vehicle. I was unbelievable lucky that there were no driver's behind me and that I was near the shoulder when the system failed. If those lucky conditions had not been present I could have been involved in a potentially serious accident. I feel I should have been provided with a loaner vehicle in the meantime. I purchased my Hyundai because I felt they were safe, reliable cars with great customer service. My car actually experienced the issue that is described in the recall which itself states that, "inappropriate brake application to one or more wheels and/or reduced engine torque can increase the risk of a crash". knowing this, Hyundai has sent me on way in a vehicle which can "increase the risk of a crash". I now have to wait and be genuinely scared of the vehicle which I rely on. I have patience to wait for a solution, but I need a solution from Hyundai now. Not when someone is able to update the software in the vehicle.

- Rahway, NJ, USA

problem #7

Aug 312015

Elantra

  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Elantra. While attempting to park, the vehicle accelerated independently and crashed into some branches. When the brake pedal was depressed, the vehicle was already in the branches. There were no injuries. The vehicle was still drivable. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V871000 (electronic stability control); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 19,000.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #6

Aug 132012

Elantra

  • miles
The contact owned a 2012 Hyundai Elantra. While driving approximately 30 mph, the brakes failed and the contact crashed the vehicle into a pole. The air bags did not deploy without warning. The contact sustained knee and chest injuries, but medical attention was not required. A police report was filed. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V871000 (electronic stability control). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The VIN and failure mileage were unknown.

- Monroe Township, NJ, USA

problem #5

Sep 012015

Elantra

  • 45,000 miles
My car has been having issues with starting. The problem isn't all the time. I'm not sure what the trigger is, but one or twice a week, it won't start. I thought it was the battery, but it's not. I changed it and still giving me issues. I read online and found that it might be the range switch because people that has this issue had their range switch replaced and no more issue. Before they replaced the range switch, they recommended to put in "N" position before start, which I did and it worked for a while. Now, I have to put the E-brakes on before it cranks. The last couple of weeks, I have issues with locking my car. Neither the electronic push button on the door nor remote works. I had to manual lock it with the key. But this issue isn't all the time either. It only happened 6 times so far.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?