Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: We're not used to seeing any major problems with Hyundai, which makes the early signs of trouble with the 2013 Elantra very surprising, in a bad way.

Early trends show problems with the steering wandering / pulling to one side along with premature tire wear. Elantra owners have tried sensor adjustments, wheel alignments, even replacing axles, most with no luck. Hyundai has made vehicle buybacks through arbitration, but that rarely works out well financially for owners in the end.

Also there is a pattern of complaints about the 2013 Elantra brakes grinding at very low mileage. It seems there was a bad batch of OEM pads & rotors, but so far Hyundai is not doing a recall. Instead Hyundai issued a TSB & dealers have been replacing pads & rotors on a per-complaint basis.

The final straw is that for several years in a row, Elantra owners report significantly lower gas mileage than the EPA estimates, & there's a small trend of engine problems.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,898 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Hyundai Elantra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Mar 272015

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles


2013 Hyundai Elantra had an accident due to unintended acceleration. Was pulling onto my parking spot, when the car just accelerated by itself, causing me to crash into my building.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #18

Feb 092015


  • 32,300 miles
I bought a used 2013 Hyundai Elantra with 29,802 miles on it on October 6, 2014. By February 2015 I started hearing a tapping noise from under the hood and a noise when I pressed the gas pedal which stopped when I took my foot off the gas pedal. I took it to a Hyundai dealership in February 2015 and it was determined I needed my engine replaced. Hyundai agreed to replace it under factory warranty. I had 32,500 I believe miles on it. The dealership had multiple cars sitting on their lot which needed their engines replaced. While I was waiting for a rental car business to come pick me up at the Hyundai dealership to get me a rental car to drive while my car was waiting to be fixed, I spoke to a couple who came in to drop off their rental car. Their 2012 Hyundai Elantra needed an engine replacement as well--at 23,000 miles. The dealership told me that these cars had engine problems more often in the northeast due to the more severe weather in the winter. I so regret ever buying my first ever Hyundai vehicle!

- Wiscasset, ME, USA

problem #17

Dec 262014


  • 46,000 miles
As others have mentioned, I have had both problems starting the vehicle (the car could not be started on two occasions so far, despite having adequate fuel and a charged battery), and with the rear of the car swinging out when traveling over a bump or on slippery road conditions (even at speeds as low as 35 mph, there is a noticeable kick from the rear of the vehicle, which has worsened with time). For both cases, the dealer was unable to find an issue, and/or said any kind problem was "within tolerance."

- Lakewood, OH, USA

problem #16

Jan 212014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 425 miles


Car loosely steered barely off road, 1/8 mile from home, bumped tree 15' away, backed up, engine shut off (as usual since day 2 of lease), windshield heated to over 150 degree's in 35 degree weather, so I vacated car, which was in flames 2-3 minutes and burned to ash..had 5 months, daily problems, battery, fuses, ignition, numerous calls to dealer, shop, no help, could easily have died in firetrap alive, car dove itself, when & where it pleased, and was uncontrollable.even Hyundai motor finance has not paid on gap coverage in 11 months, ruining my credit to boot, and was over financed past legal limits, on a total new lemon and not only was car not replaced as promised, I cannot get a response from Hyundai, or Hyundai finance.,this was the biggest mistake of my life, and I will tell everyone to never purchase a Hyundai product. You should be ashamed.and lose your franchise license.I will have to sue to ever begin to be compensated for all you have done to me, and because of your product.

- Lagrange, NC, USA

problem #15

Sep 252014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
My wife was driving the car. It was a dark road in the night. Perhaps she didn't see the stop sign and crashed into a vehicle coming from right hand side, going in the same direction my wife was going. My wife crashed the other vehicle from behind. It was serious crash in which the entire front portion of the car is damaged. But the air bags did not come out. My wife had her head hit the steering wheel and had an injury. My complaint is "why did the air bag not inflate in such a serious crash?"..updated 10/06/14. Updated 05/13/2015

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #14

Jul 012014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle in June 2013. I had no complaints until July of 2014, wherein my car picks and chooses when to start. I have looked online and there are many others who seem to have this complaint. I finally gave in on Aug. 24, after my car sat for two days because I could not get it to start. I called the Hyundai 24 hour roadside and had them tow it to the nearest dealership. The tow truck driver initially tried to start it, and it didn't. he popped the button nearest the top of the shifter and pressed it in, and put the car in neutral, it then started but sputtered like it wanted to turn off. He was able to drive the car onto the tow truck. The next morning, I spoke with the mechanic at the dealership who indicated that the car was starting for them just fine. He said there are so many sensors that it could be one, but they wouldn't know where to start as there are so many and could not make an educated guess. He wanted to keep it overnight to see if it would act up for them. It is now 2pm two days later and the mechanic claims there is still no issue, he said they have let it run all morning and it is fine. This has become ridiculous, especially when I see so many others with the same complaint, yet nothing being done. Help, NHTSA!

- Madera, CA, USA

problem #13

Aug 132014


  • 41,570 miles


Unable to move the car out of park. The electrical worked (radio, windows). I insert the key and turn but the car wont turn over (start). I have to use the shift lock release to start the car. The problem occurs intermittently and there is no pattern.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #12

Jul 142014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 15,984 miles
On my way to work I was exiting the highway and I hit a bump. I was taken by surprise as what felt like the rear of the car bounced up abnormally and lurch toward the guard rail. The handling on rough surfaces is awful. This could lead to an accident. I just bought this car used and the engine is noisy which I am told this is the timing chain. I never had a car like this in my long life. The handling really worries me. Sucks!

- Brookfield, MA, USA

problem #11

Jun 282014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Taking a corner at 5 mph in 2nd gear, heard a metallic sound from the engine. The engine cut out, lost power steering and brakes. Pulled over using the emergency brake to stop. Towed car to a Hyundai dealer. I was told the top of the piston had a crack in it that developed over time and finally failed. The failure caused catastrophic damage to the engine, which is being replaced under mfg. Warranty.

- Whitesboro, NY, USA

problem #10

Jun 042014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
I'm having a tak, tak, tak sound coming from under the hood once I shut the car off. Also, you can see a spark while it is making the sound. I"ve taken the car back to the dealer several times for this and the scrubbing sound on the brakes and the missing while the car is idling. I'm told each time they can't hear or feel anything and to please come back if it happens again. I've been to the dealer so much I hate to go again.

- Satsuma, AL, USA

problem #9

Apr 052014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 5,750 miles


While driving my vehicle at highway speed, the vehicle suddenly stalled without any apparent reason. I was in the middle lane of a three lane highway. I had to coast over to the side of the highway with no steering or brakes due to the engine failure. Once at the side of the highway, the vehicle re-started immediately and ran normally again for about a week when the same thing happened again, this time on a side street at approximately 15 mph. The vehicle once again started back up with no problem. It has run normally again as of this posting. Updated 10/23/2014

- Milford, MA, USA

problem #8

Feb 022014


  • 13,200 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the engine was powered on for approximately 20 minutes when dark gray smoke began billowing from under the hood area. The vehicle quickly became engulfed in flames. The fire department was called and was able to extinguish the fire. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed to determine the cause of the failure, nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 13,200. The VIN was not available. Updated 4/4/14

- Macon, MO, USA

problem #7

Feb 112014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • miles
Vehicle owner smelled a burning type smell on a cold day when having the heater on full to warm the vehicle. There was no obvious smoke or fire. The second time the vehicle owner had the heater on full to warm the car, a fire resulted. The fire caused so much damage to the vehicle that the initial cause is unknown.

- Los Angeles, , CA, USA

problem #6

Sep 132013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
I rear ended a car and nearly totaled my car. For some odd reason the airbag never deployed during the time of impact.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #5

Jul 082013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 550 miles
Vehicle was stopped at a traffic light and started idling roughly and engine shut off. Doral had a Hyundai motor "field engineer" ([xxx]) look at it on July 11 and I was informed through the service adviser that this was typical of these models and that she, personally, had chosen to ignore it; she works for a Hyundai dealership. Furthermore, nothing can be done. Please refer to previous complaint. Thank you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #4

Jul 042013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 500 miles
Pulled over to shoulder on Florida turnpike to adjust seat belt and the car started a very rough idling and would not engage in drive. Reported it to dealer and Hyundai motor America and following was their reply: -dealer: This is a characteristic of these vehicles that they don't know how to correct -Hyundai: They are aware of the problem and are working to resolve it. In the meantime I am driving a car that is not reliable to me from a safety standpoint and two dealers in miami, doral and lehman Hyundai service managers have told me that there is nothing they can do until the factory tells them how to correct the issue, your assistance will be very much appreciated.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #3

Apr 052013


  • miles
My wife was trying to park her car when the car suddenly accelerated without her touching the gas or the brake. Luckily, she was able to stop by slamming on the brakes. I've heard recent cases of people not being able to stop when this happens.

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #2

Feb 232013


  • 10,000 miles
The 2013 Hyundai Elantra was parked in a driveway and turned off, and an electric fire started in it. It burned completely up.

- Corsicana, TX, USA

problem #1

May 282012


  • 275 miles
When driving the vehicle on the high way I 29 N at about 68-72 mph the brand new vehicle engine stalled abruptly and the steering wheel froze and we were stuck in the direction the steering was previously turned it and it made impossible for us to steer it on to the shoulder and the vehicle behind us almost crashed into us. We were just a whisker away from getting killed. We had a near death experience and my fiance is still having nightmares about it.

- Brookings, SD, USA

Not what you are looking for?