Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: We're not used to seeing any major problems with Hyundai, which makes the early signs of trouble with the 2013 Elantra very surprising, in a bad way.

Early trends show problems with the steering wandering / pulling to one side along with premature tire wear. Elantra owners have tried sensor adjustments, wheel alignments, even replacing axles, most with no luck. Hyundai has made vehicle buybacks through arbitration, but that rarely works out well financially for owners in the end.

Also there is a pattern of complaints about the 2013 Elantra brakes grinding at very low mileage. It seems there was a bad batch of OEM pads & rotors, but so far Hyundai is not doing a recall. Instead Hyundai issued a TSB & dealers have been replacing pads & rotors on a per-complaint basis.

The final straw is that for several years in a row, Elantra owners report significantly lower gas mileage than the EPA estimates, & there's a small trend of engine problems.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
22 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
26 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,281 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Hyundai Elantra seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Oct 172016

Elantra

  • 129,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My airbag light was off and on for about a month and now it is a steady light. The repair shop I took it to said I needed a clock spring and a new driver air bag. They also said I might need another part. Total cost of all of this will be around $1600. Since my car has over 100,000 miles, it is not under warranty. I've noticed other people are complaining about the airbag light.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #30

Oct 122016

Elantra

  • 57,000 miles
1. airbag light has been turning on. No apparent reason but I was told that if in an accident will not deployed. Since 10/12/2016 2. suspension is not the greatest, car will swirled sometimes if exceeding 40mph hello I live in puerto rico there is no such thing as 40mph in our roads... 3. tire sensors are constantly braking. 4. front headlights seems get humidity when it rains or get too cold. 5. brakes sometimes do not work as they should, I stop and it seems to keep going I would have to brake again to make it stop and these is not going more than 40 mph.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #29

Sep 082016

Elantra

  • 80,000 miles
I have noticed that my vehicle's airbag light is turning on and off while the vehicle is in motion on a city street and on highways. I do not know what triggers it to turn off and on. It also turns on and off while the vehicle is not in motion. I believe this is a major security issue because if I am involved in a major car crash and the airbags are not on then I will not be secured.

- Tulare, CA, USA

problem #28

Apr 092016

Elantra

  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 19 year old daughter was in an accident on April 9th 2016 in her 2013 Hyundai Elantra.. both vehicles were at a dead stop at an intersection before either of them started moving. My daughter was going straight and the other vehicle was turning, both of which were going approximately 10 mph. My daughters car hit the front fender of the other vehicle causing a bent wheel and a small dent to the fender. My daughters Hyundai, totaled. Every airbag in the Hyundai deployed, including the back seat which seemed strange since it was a frontal crash. The transmission wouldn't go in to any other gear it was stuck in drive. The hood was smashed up to the front windshield. The damage to the car was over $12,000 there has to be some faulty part(s) or equipment on the car to cause such damage at such low speeds. I can't imagine what could happen at highway speeds in a crash in a Hyundai. I wrote to Hyundai about safety concerns of their Hyundai Elantras, their response was unacceptable: "we understand that you are dissatisfied with the design of the 2013 Elantra and we apologize for any disappointment this has caused you. This information has been forwarded to all appropriate parties within Hyundai for review, including Hyundai management." Really Hyundai! people can be severely injured or die in these vehicles which I feel Hyundai needs to be a little more concerned.

- Lyman, WY, USA

problem #27

Jul 112016

Elantra

  • 66,015 miles
On July 11, 2016 had an accident wherein the vehicle was totaled and the front driver side air bag did not deploy. Driver was diagnosed with blunt force trauma to the sternum. Driver rear ended a vehicle which was stopped on the on ramp to the highway.

- Norman, OK, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #26

Jun 132016

Elantra

  • 30,000 miles
Braking difficulties and air bags structure.

- Alington, TX, USA

problem #25

May 192016

Elantra

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my car the trip reset button does not reset and the number of mpg going crazy and now I have the airbag light on the dash on suddenly and stayed on. I am afraid that the air bag will deploid or wont work on a accident. Safety. This vehicle was in motion.

- Barceloneta, PR, USA

problem #24

Apr 072015

Elantra

  • 40,000 miles
My son had an accident on the street where we live coming home one night, he fell asleep and he ran into a parked pick up on the right side of the street and the had lots of front end damage, the car was a total loss. He hit his face on the steering wheel during the accident, the air bag(s) did not deploy. My son's face was horribly swollen, he also ended up with a blacken, blood shot eye as well and I had to take him to the doctor to seek medical treatment.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #23

Dec 242015

Elantra

  • 89,000 miles
Takata recall. The airbag light is on since December 23rd 2015, I went to the rick case Hyundai dealer in davie, fl and they told me the warranty expires"?, how come a warranty for a mechanic part that is not in use, mean the airbags have never been deployed, can expire?", I am very concern for my wife, daughter and me safety and afraid to use the car for long trips.

- Weston, FL, USA

problem #22

Sep 092015

Elantra

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owned a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. While driving at 40 mph, another vehicle ran a traffic light and crashed into the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and no injuries were sustained. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was deemed destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #21

May 292015

Elantra

  • 60,008 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag light comes on and then goes of when you unfasten seatbelt.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #20

Jan 082015

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 10,150 miles
I was coming off of interstate 95 onto my exit and I applied my brake to slow my car but my brake apparently gave out and was not working. It make a loud sound like it was trying to hold but it didn't and in order to stop my car from hitting any others or people standing at the side of the road I tried steering it toward the closest curb so that I could prevent as much as possible within my power. My airbags didn't deploy but the car hit hard enough that my face slammed into the steering wheel, I sustained a concussion and damaged my face and glasses. I have muscle strains in my back, neck and still a swollen eye and cheek bone.

- Folsom , PA, USA

problem #19

Jan 232015

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. While stopped, another vehicle rear ended the contact's vehicle. As a result, the contact's vehicle rear ended the preceding vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver sustained injuries to the back and the right thumb. The front passenger sustained a back injury. The contact did not disclose if medical attention was required. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 91,000....updated 02/11/15

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #18

Jan 122015

Elantra

  • 10,000 miles
Driver was making a left turn into a parking space on 2nd floor of parking garage. As the left turn was made, the Elantra GT suddenly accelerated by itself into a wall, hitting a pole and the wall. Hyundai is investigating. Dealer is useless. Right now unsure how to proceed. Exterior can be fixed, but what about the problem?

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #17

Dec 262014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Did not go off.

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #16

Oct 212014

Elantra

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated while driving at 35 mph, the air bags failed to deploy after another vehicle crashed in the driver side of the contact's vehicle., the driver sustained unknown injuries which he received medical attention on the scene and was later taken to the hospital. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop. The approximate failure mileage was 16,000.

- West Seneca, NY, USA

problem #15

Sep 252014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
My wife was driving the car. It was a dark road in the night. Perhaps she didn't see the stop sign and crashed into a vehicle coming from right hand side, going in the same direction my wife was going. My wife crashed the other vehicle from behind. It was serious crash in which the entire front portion of the car is damaged. But the air bags did not come out. My wife had her head hit the steering wheel and had an injury. My complaint is "why did the air bag not inflate in such a serious crash?"..updated 10/06/14. Updated 05/13/2015

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #14

Sep 152014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
While turning into a parking spot. My car suddenly jumped and accelerated and slammed into a concrete barrier. The air bag also did not deploy.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #13

Aug 112014

Elantra

  • 14,000 miles
Was making a left turn at a intersection and T boned a pick up truck, extensive damage to front end of the Elantra front end, [ air bags did not deploy on the Elantra ] even though the whole front end was tore off. Driver door damaged, windshield cracked both front fenders damaged, plus unknown if transmission and or transaxle has been damaged until the car can be repaired. Hyundai has stop any repairs until they send a Hyundai investigator to look at the car, which they say could take up to 6 to 8 weeks to check it.

- Rickman, TN, USA

problem #12

Feb 212014

Elantra

  • 7,200 miles
The contact owned a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. While driving approximately 10 mph and making a left turn, the contact accidentally crashed into another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact and the passengers in the vehicle sustained minor scrapes and bruises that required medical attention. The other vehicle's passengers also required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The VIN was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 7,200...updated 10/01/14

- Jonestown, MS, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?