Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,798 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Hyundai Genesis brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Hyundai Genesis:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Hyundai Genesis Owner Comments

problem #9

Oct 282015

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Genesis. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 60 mph and attempting to stop the vehicle, the brakes failed causing the brake pedal to extend to the floorboard causing a longer stopping distance. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was previously serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 13V489000 (service brakes, hydraulic) but the failure persisted. The failure mileage was 101,000.....updated 12/30/15 updated 01/27/16.

- Sheffield Lake, OH, USA

problem #8

Jul 172015

Genesis 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Genesis. The contact stated that the brake pedal failed to respond and extended to the floorboard. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who replaced the master brake cylinder, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where it was diagnosed that the ABS control module failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V489000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 107,000. MA 09/22

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #7

Feb 042015

Genesis 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Genesis. The contact stated that when attempting to engage the brakes, the brake pedal went to the floor without any warning. The contact was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 13V489000 (service brakes, hydraulic) and indicated that the dealer only replaced the factory brake fluid. The contact stated that the dealer did not inspect the hecu module for proper operation. The contact stated that months later, the failure recurred. The recall repair did not remedy the failure and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer who diagnosed that the hecu needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 88,000. Updated 4/7/15

- Jacksonville , FL, USA

problem #6

Dec 122013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Genesis. The contact stated the vehicle was included and repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V489000 (service brakes, hydraulic). After the vehicle was repaired the contact depressed the brake pedal while driving approximately 25 mph when it fell to the floor board and the brakes would not respond. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where the technician stated air was entering the brake system causing the failure. The brake fluid was replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000. The consumer stated the brake went to the floor after the last repair.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #5

Oct 212013

Genesis

  • 70,000 miles
I filed my original complaint on 10/21/13 concerning a soft pedal condition. After many visits to my dealer, Hyundai agreed to replace the hecu and flush / bleed the system again to correct my issue. The work was performed at the end of November and I picked up the car in early December. After driving the vehicle for a few days the was no improvement / correction of the problem. I contacted my dealer and was told that there was no problem with the brake system and " that the soft pedal condition I was experiencing is a normal characteristic of the Genesis" I did not agree with the answer and was given the customer care # at Hyundai. I contacted Hyundai on 12/17/13 and explained my position ( pressure is being lost due to fluid moving somewhere in the hydraulic system ) stating that is not normal. I requested that someone in the design engineering or brake systems engineering department contact me and state that " this is a normal characteristic of the Genesis" tell me that this is normal and safe. I was given a case # but have not had a response to date. If in fact the soft pedal condition is a normal condition of the Genesis, then why doesn't Hyundai just state that.....or is there more to the plot" what is the status of the NHTSA investigation of this issue"

- Southport, NC, USA

problem #4

Sep 022013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 85,748 miles
Problem: Upon applying brakes, reduced brake pressure & longer pedal travel, feeling like master cylinder problem- although brakes continued to work with greater effort. Nov. 2013 received Hyundai safety recall notice 13V-113: Replace stop lamp switch and flush/refill brake fluid. Dealer completed service noc 30, 2013. Dealer said that master cylinder needed replacement. Service performed Dec. 5, 2013. Dealer then said hydraulic electronic control unit needed replacement. (parts ordered.) I feel that my brake problems were caused by the manufacturer installing inadequate/faulty brake fluid. The repairs need to be done at the manufacturer's expense.

- Lincoln, CA, USA

problem #3

Aug 082013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 68,282 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Without warning, the brake pedal traveled almost to the floor of the car before stopping the vehicle. The first occasion happened on August 7, 2013, but the problem corrected itself and the brakes seemed fine until October 20, 2013, when my husband and I were vacationing in the mountains of North Carolina, approximately 5 hours from our home. Again, without any warning, the brake pedal went almost to the floor before stopping the vehicle. We made it home safely, but the brake failure was a major safety concern. After seeing information online about a recall of the Genesis related to the brakes, we took the vehicle to the Hyundai dealership in goldsboro, nc, on October 23, and they replaced the brake fluid, which failed to correct the problem with the brakes. They told us the master cylinder needed to be replaced. Based on the history of the problem, we did not agree with that diagnosis and, on October 24, took the Genesis to johnson Hyundai in raleigh, nc, where they determined the problem was caused by a failure of the hydraulic module for the anti-lock brake system. The Hyundai company told us they are currently investigating this very same problem with the 2009 Genesis but the investigation is not far enough along to determine if a recall will be made. Further, that we should have the repairs done (over $2100) and if a recall is made, we would be reimbursed. Johnson Hyundai is trying to help us find a resolution to this issue. The vehicle is only four years old and about 10,000 miles out of warranty; $2100 in a repair bill is a lot of money for us to pay for a brake problem of which Hyundai is already aware....updated 11-12-13 johnson Hyundai and Hyundai corporation replaced the defective ABS module at no charge. Updated 11/19/13

- Four Oaks, NC, USA

problem #2

Aug 152013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 62,900 miles
Was traveling on a road at the posted 45 mph when I came to S stop sign. When I tried to slow down prior to reaching the sign, the car did not slow down at all and the brakes were soft and went down all the way to the floor. Needles to say, I was not able to stop at the stop sign but by virtue of pumping the brakes I stopped on the other side of the street. Had this transpired during a busy time, I would have T boned a cat that had a right of way and at 45 mph, I am sure there could have been lives lost if the other car had passengers. Research shows that this is a common problem with Hyundai that is being disregarded. The car has 62,900 miles and the dealer simply says, sorry, you are one month and 3000 miles over the warranty. The problem according to the dealer is a fluid leaking in the ABS control unit and they want about $2500 to replace it.curiously, the estimate invoice also showed that they had flushed the brake lines and replace it with a new dot 4 brake fluid and, this was done under a warranty which has expired. Could the original fluid have created some of the problems? either way, the breaks fail without any warning whatsoever and I certainly hope that someone looks into this before a disastrous accident with casualties takes place.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #1

Dec 012009

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 250 miles
Hyundai Genesis 3.8L V6 2009 model 1. steering pull to left - significant pull despite alignment fix 2. brake jam at low speeds including at traffic light stops 3. steering noise - when turning left during car parking and back-up 4. engine noise like motor cycle when driving at moderate speeds 30-65 miles/hour.

- Belleville, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?