Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,377 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Hyundai Genesis engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Hyundai Genesis:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Hyundai Genesis Owner Comments

problem #20

Aug 162016


  • 42,000 miles


While slowing down to a stop at a stop sign at 15mph the car locked up and I couldn't turn the wheel, press the brake, and the vehicle wouldn't even accelerate when it rolled to a stop. All the lights on the dash lit up and stayed lit up. The car was in drive and wasn't moving. I took a video of my foot off of the gas and the car in drive and it wasn't moving. Also shown in the video I took I show all the lights lit up on the dash. This is the 2nd time this has happened with my family in the car, wife and two kids. I am very concerned since this our daily driver and always has our children in the vehicle that this will happen while on the interstate and possibly cause us to get in a very bad accident. I also could not put the car into park. I had to press the on off button and shut the car completely off and restart it for it to do anything. But both times it happened luckily no vehicles were in front of me because I was unable to do anything to stop the car it had to roll to a stop and both times it was at 15-20mph. It was in a street turning out of a development. I have found in forums that I am not the only person with the issue and that someone had their crank shaft censor replaced and hadn't had any issies for several months since, but theirs was occuring up to 10X a week before that replacement. There were several other affected parts I was unable to select... it seemed you were only able to select 3 affected parts.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #19

Jul 192016


  • 43,000 miles
My car literally just shut off while I was driving. I tried to turn once and just shuts off. So I took it back to he dealership and they said it was the emc and it did drive good for a couple months. However, when I had to accelerate fast to get by a car and the RPM were up higher than I normally drive it, I went home and it sat for 20 mins top. I get back in and it just shuts off again! I called Hyundai near me and they gave me the run around. Told me I would have to pay for rental car. I said I uber warranty and this shouldn't be happening!! worst experience ever with this car and the dealerships. They seem to know about this problem and know there is no real cute. I don't expect this car to really ever be fixed as I lol be getting something different as soon as I can.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #18

Sep 242015


  • 66,000 miles
Upon leaving my daughters cheerleading practice. I notice my transmission slipping, I could not excellerate in traffic which was causing traffic to back up behind me. Every time I would try to accelerate my tachometer would go to about 5,000 rpms and the vehicle would make a sudden jerk as if I was being hit from behind. My family became very scared thinking someone was going to rear end us in traffic. Thankfully I was a able to navigate home using side streets. Thus prompting myself to take this vehicle to the Hyundai dealership now I am waiting for an explanation to what is really causing this vehicle to react this way.

- Redford , MI, USA

problem #17

Aug 212015


  • 27,870 miles


As leaving the store, the vehicle(a standard) would not shift into any gear besides reverse. The lights would not come on. The car was initially in 1st gear and rolled backward with foot on gas and clutch. The seatbelt light kept dinging and flashing even though the seatbelt was hooked in. This is the second time it happened. This time it occurred as we were pulling onto a highway from a store. The car had to be shut off and restarted on the side of the road. If there was a car coming, there would have been an accident.

- Horseheads, NY, USA

problem #16

Aug 012014


  • 35,000 miles
I originally bought my 2013 Hyundai Genesis as a certified pre-owned vehicle from a dealer in Georgia. From August 2014 to present (August 2015), the vehicle has stalled/cut off unexpectedly on 8 different occasions, 7 times while driving at speeds between 5 mph and 45 mph, and once while sitting idle in park. When stalling, the steering wheel tightens and/or locks which makes it extremely difficult to steer, the brakes harden which make it extremely difficult to stop, and the dash lights up with various symbols and indicators much like it would if it only had power but without the engine started. To get the car going again, I have to come to a stop, put the car into park, push the start/stop button, and the vehicle starts again. On the 7th time of the car stalling, my wife was making a right hand turn when the vehicle cut off. She nearly plowed into a vehicle that was stopped at the light making a left hand turn onto the street she was coming from, and then nearly caused a 3 car pile-up behind her because of her unexpected braking and sudden loss of control of the car. As of right now we are afraid to drive the car any longer. We have taken it to the dealer 3 times now. On the first visit back in October 2014, they cleaned the fuel injection and throttle body, saying that maybe we had a bad batch of gas that left carbon deposits. They kept our car for a week. They were unable to replicate the problem. Fast forward several months and here we are again at the dealer for time number two. This time they kept it for about 12 days and did another cleaning of the fuel injection and throttle body. They were unable to replicate the problem. Last Friday, August 14th 2014, 3 days after getting it back from the dealer, it stalled again. We refused to drive it that weekend, and I drove it only to bring it back to the dealer this past Monday August 17th. We do not feel safe

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #15

Jun 142015


  • 58,000 miles
As vehicle comes to a stop and gas is pressed to go again- car engine turns off. Radio, air, windows all work. Car is then put in park and starts right up again. Car has done it 6X since June 14th. Dealer can't figure whats wrong with it. Different parts replaced- throttle body and purge valve. Car still dies at a stop. Concerning it will happen in traffic on interstate while driving with my kids in the car.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #14

Sep 092014


  • 20,000 miles


My Genesis accelerates on its own, this has happened several times, the last time it happened I was able to get it to the dealership so they could see it, they turned the car off & could not duplicate the problem the 4th time it happened the car lunged out at a stop light & accelerated to 50 mph before I could get it stopped

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #13

May 232015


  • 38,000 miles
Engine stalled again in end of may, 2015 while the car was slowing down. It was traveling at a speed between 10-20 mph. That was the 4th time we experienced engine stall in the 2.5 years of our ownership. When the engine stalled, all electrical system seem normal - radio continued to play, ac and fan were still on. We only notice it because the car was slowing down more and there were no engine noise. After engine was stalled, we stopped the car and shifted the shifter back to "park". we were able to start the engine right up and everything was fine afterward. Outside weather temperature was hot (upper 80's to 90's) at the time. In the 4 incidents, the engine stalled while we were on a flat road, incline road, going straight and making a right turn. It happened randomly and we could not reproduce it. Dealer had taken a look at the issue twice. No computer error codes were found and they could not reproduce the stalling problem either.

- Johns Creek, GA, USA

problem #12

Feb 022015


  • 15,000 miles
First, the car began running rough soon after purchased in December 2013 with 13,000 miles. Taken to dealership twice. Had misfire codes. Was told not to use gas from kroger. Even using shell mid grade gas car runs rough and pronounced stumbling upon highway acceleration. Second, exhaust is sooty and staining rear bumper and corroding the exhaust tips. Dealer said the engine (6 cylinder) is high performance and all high performance engines soot. He would not write that response on repair ticket. As a lay person, car appears to be running rich which is causing the soot and rough engine problems.

- Johnson City , TN, USA

problem #11

Oct 172014


  • 7,500 miles
We were at an intersection on highway 1. cars were driving by at the speed limit of 55mph so it was important that we accelerate quickly in order to turn left onto the highway and avoid being hit by oncoming traffic. When it was time to go I stepped on the accelerator, the car began to move and then we experienced engine hesitation, where there was a momentary period where the engine did not respond to me stepping on the accelerator. I reacted by stepping on the accelerator completely to the bottom and still had no response - we were coasting. I completely backed off the accelerator and stepped on it again when the engine finally began to respond. Vehicles were fast approaching and in that moment I felt scared and lost trust in my car's functionality. Earlier that day I also noticed that when accelerating, when already moving, I noticed that the transmission felt like it would wobble. It's difficult to describe. It felt like very subtle momentary losses of power or acceleration followed by a recovery in the acceleration and then repeating but in quick succession. You would only notice it if you owned the car. I have not been able to duplicate it. Maybe it was the traction control system but being unable to accelerate in a situation like mine was very dangerous.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #10

Jun 152014

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 22,750 miles


Two weeks ago, my 2013 3.8 V6 Genesis sedan stalled when I was about to turn right into my driveway. Both the street and my driveway have a little of an incline (maybe 5 degrees). After the engine stalled, I noticed the fuel tank was on the near-empty side and the range indicator indicated the remaining range was 40 miles. I was able to shift the car to park and re-started it to pull into my garage. This engine stalled problem had happened to my wife twice around the same spot within the last six months. We took the car to a Hyundai dealership to have them look it over. The technician did not find any fault codes and the car ran fine during test drive. No corrective actions were performed at the time.

- Johns Creek, GA, USA

problem #9

Feb 152014

Genesis 6-cyl

  • miles
Multiple times I have accelerated the car to get onto the highway, change lanes quickly, and make right on reds, only to have it literally do nothing. At times it takes 2 to 3 seconds before it accelerates and then seems to have a tough time shifting through the low speeds the car seems to hesitate and shift poorly. Hopefully the dealer can do something to correct the issue.

- Middletown, DE, USA

problem #8

Apr 072014


  • 10,455 miles
In the morning around 9am going to work on 405 North. All the sudden I started to lose power, engine was still running but didn't accelerate at all, I came to stop end up blocking on of right lane and noticed engine sound was unusual and started shaking a lot. I called Hyundai roadside assistance and my car was picked up and dropped to a kirkland Hyundai dealer but they didn't find anything unusual. Service shop personal claim that car started right up and didn't find anything from diagnostics test. This incident makes me very nervous to drive this car.

- Bellevue, WA, USA

problem #7

Jul 102013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 978 miles
Vehicle hesitates when trying to accelerate in city & highway traffic. I have taken it to the dealer twice and it will be the third time tomorrow. They don't seem to have a solution and tell me that the vehicle is learning my driving habit's. (how funny). This is my 15th or so new high line vehicle. This hesitation is causing life threatening experiences. I almost got creamed, (hit) several times while trying to merge on the free way. I see I'm not the only one with this problem. We need help.

- Fairfield, CA, USA

problem #6

Jan 062014


  • 325 miles
When turning right from a standstill, car momentarily stalls and then lunges forward after 2 or 3 seconds. This happens 3 OR4 times a day. Mechanic at dealership said my foot was on the brake. The problem has continued and my foot was not on the brake.

- Mcgregor, TX, USA

problem #5

Jul 302012


  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Genesis. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact mentioned that the failure was experienced many times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the westgate valve failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #4

Mar 062013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 3,500 miles
Auto hesitates when accelerated hard; it falls flat on its face when called on to perform. Not sure if it is engine or transmission (wrong gear). I consider this a safety issue because one cannot get out of the way of oncoming traffic. Typically, when attempting to exit a slow moving (30-40 mph) traffic lane into fast lane, the car temporarily stalls putting driver at risk of being hit in rear. This almost always happens where car is moving as slow speed, but rarely from a dead stop.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #3

Jan 302013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Genesis. The contact stated that while driving 72 mph, black exhaust carbon soot emerged from the exhaust pipe. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis but they were unable to duplicate the problem. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 50. Updated 07/11/13 updated 07/31/13 a region rep informed the consumer nothing could be done to correct the problem.

- Robertsdale, AL, USA

problem #2

May 072013


  • 1,740 miles
When accelerating at low speeds (specially on freeways) the transmission experiences a delayed shift between gears 3-5. the shift delay typically lasts 2-3 seconds. This causes the rpms to increase to 3000-4500. Driver has to heavily accelerate to enable the transmission to up shift. In addition, this causes the rear tires to spin if ESC is turned off making it difficult to control the vehicle. Vehicle lunges forward suddenly as if the computer got the required information to accelerate this causes sudden forward was taken to the dealer, they found no issues.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #1

Apr 152013


  • 5,365 miles
Vehicle had previously backfired periodically, especially when downshifting. Was starting from full stop, engine was sputtering, check engine light was on, tachometer was below 500 RPM. Vehicle was drivable, but acceleration was difficult due to sputtering engine. Drove directly to dealer - vehicle was diagnosed and repaired same day (04/15/2013). Service writer provided copy of factory technical service bulletin #12--fl-007 (July 2012), which states as follows. "this bulletin provides information related to the gdi idb (injector driver box) ECU software update of some 3.3L/3.8L vehicles that may experience any of the following dtc stored: P0300: Random/multiple cylinder misfire detected P0301: Cylinder 1 - misfire detected P0302: Cylinder 2 - misfire detected P0303: Cylinder 3 - misfire detected P0304: Cylinder 4 - misfire detected P0305: Cylinder 5 - misfire detected P0306: Cylinder 6 - misfire detected" service writer verbally advised that misfire was detected in cylinder 5, but this problem was not stated on repair order. He also indicated that problem may recur. Dealer should have notified all existing vehicle owners at time technical service bulletin was issued.

- Plantation, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?