Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
123,970 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Jun 192016

Santa Fe

  • 172,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that the vehicle's lower frame control arm was making a clicking noise. The dealer diagnosed that the a frame needed to be replaced; however, the bolts that held the frame were rusted. The a frame was not able to be removed and the vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the manufacturer issued a previous recall that was directly related to the failure; however, they were unable to identify the recall number. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 172,000.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #24

May 232016

Santa Fe

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that while driving at 25 mph, the driver's side rear wheel tilted leaving the vehicle impaired. The vehicle was towed to a near by Firestone where the failure was assessed by the technician. The failure was diagnosed as a fractured rear axel. The contact stated that the manufacture was notified of the failure and no repairs was made. The failure mileage was 17,000. The VIN was not available.

- Bowling Green, KY, USA

problem #23

Feb 102016

Santa Fe

  • 184,215 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that the front passenger side suspension and subframe that the suspension was mounted to was severely corroded. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic to be inspected. The contact was informed that the subframe and suspension needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V435000 (suspension). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 184,215.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #22

Aug 032015

Santa Fe

  • 155,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai sante fe. While driving 25 mph, the contact heard a loud pop, the vehicle's weight shifted, and the rear driver side tire caved into the wheel weld. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the rear driver side trailing arm needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 155,000.

- Camden, OH, USA

problem #21

Jun 252015

Santa Fe

  • 40,000 miles
I have had to replace the ball joints twice. The first time was seven years ago at about 40,000 miles and recently in June 2016 at 84,000 miles. Since it is a unique suspension without alignment adjustments, the design could be causing unusual stress on the ball joints.

- Lawrenceville, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #20

May 112015

Santa Fe

  • miles
While driving home with family in vehicle the control arms broke, ball joints broke and the sway bar broke.

- Mason, OH, USA

problem #19

Apr 102015

Santa Fe

  • 173,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear trailing on on both sides have corroded through. Driver side rear control case has disintegrated, passenger side is severely corroded. - March 18, 2010: Vehicle had service preformed on to address "recall #090 rear trailing arms and front sub-frame corrosion treatment", rust preventative V and plug kit service performed by dealer. - May 16, 2012: Vehicle had subfame replaced due to rust hole at right front lower control arm connection, replacement of rack & pinion and transfer case for $2777. - Dec 12, 2014: Vehicle had service performed to address "tsb# 14-01-141-1 - front coil spring protector. There is a fault with how the recalls and service requirements have been issued with this vehicle. If the recall and prescribed service were properly done, having to replace the front sub-frame just over 2 years of having service to prevent sub-frame corrosion performed would not have been required. The sub-frame was so damaged that the vehicle was deemed unsafe to drive. Nor would 4 months after having recall service performed and vehicle inspected by dealer, the rear control case and arms have completely failed making the car not only unsafe to drive but not even drivable now because the rear driver side wheel is positioned at an angle with structural support.

- Clarksburg, MD, USA

problem #18

Apr 102015

Santa Fe

  • 173,000 miles
Rear trailing on on both sides have corroded through. Driver side rear control case has disintegrated, passenger side is severely corroded. - March 18, 2010: Vehicle had service preformed on to address "recall #090 rear trailing arms and front sub-frame corrosion treatment", rust preventative V and plug kit service performed by dealer. - May 16, 2012: Vehicle had subfame replaced due to rust hole at right front lower control arm connection, replacement of rack & pinion and transfer case for $2777. - Dec 12, 2014: Vehicle had service performed to address "tsb# 14-01-141-1 - front coil spring protector. There is a fault with how the recalls and service requirements have been issued with this vehicle. If the recall and prescribed service were properly done, having to replace the front sub-frame just over 2 years of having service to prevent sub-frame corrosion performed would not have been required. The sub-frame was so damaged that the vehicle was deemed unsafe to drive. Nor would 4 months after having recall service performed and vehicle inspected by dealer, the rear control case and arms have completely failed making the car not only unsafe to drive but not even drivable now because the rear driver side wheel is positioned at an angle with structural support.

- Clarksburg, MD, USA

problem #17

Sep 232014

Santa Fe

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe. While driving approximately 40 mph, the rear of the vehicle swayed. The contact noticed that the rear end was lower than normal. A certified mechanic stated that the rear-trailing arm and struts were rusted. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and repaired. The details of the repair were unknown. The contact also mentioned that the fuel tank was previously replaced due to rust. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 125,000.

- Saint Xavier, MT, USA

problem #16

Sep 092014

Santa Fe

  • 157,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that while attempting to make a left, the rear tires turned right and the vehicle went sideways blocking two lanes. The vehicle was towed to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the driver and passenger side trail arm was rusted and cracked in half. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 09V123000 (suspension). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 157,000.

- Mount Bethel, PA, USA

problem #15

Sep 012014

Santa Fe 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Hi, I've read several complaints over a issue that I'm starting to have and the out comes has not been good and I fear for my family driving in this vehicle. I'm hearing a scratchy rubbing sound in the rear so I jacked it up to find my trail arms are rusted so bad theirs huge holes in the trail arms and rotor cover are rusted almost off. I sure don't want to receive a call my family has been hurt in a accident so is why I'm contacting you over this matter. I would appreciate to be contacted to know what I should do before it's to late. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Middleburgh, NY, USA

problem #14

Jul 282014

Santa Fe

  • 180,000 miles
My teenage daughter was driving her car and it started swaying on the road. She had a lot of trouble controlling the car and finally was able to pull in someones drive. Upon inspecting the car we noticed there was a problem with the back right tire. After further inspection it was discovered the trailing arm had split and had rusted out. I had noticed there was a recall in certain states for the same problem that was wrong with her car but I was told by the dealer her car did not have a recall for this. We had to pay out of pocket to fix the car. I don't understand how Hyundai can only limited this type of recall to certain states, when Kentucky does use a lot of road salt that seems to cause this problem. Please let me know if we could be reimbursed for this. It could have been a lot worse if my daughter had been going faster or on the interstate.we do have pictures if you need those please let me know.

- Magnolia, KY, USA

problem #13

Jan 262014

Santa Fe

  • 255,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated while driving 35 mph, the driver suddenly lost control of the vehicle without any warning. After inspecting the vehicle he noticed that the rear passenger wheel was bent due to corrosion. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle had been repaired under recall NHTSA campaign number: 09V123000 (suspension). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 255,000.

- Mosimee, WI, USA

problem #12

Aug 072013

Santa Fe 4WD 6-cyl

  • 166,200 miles
Became 2nd owner in June 2005. In March 2010, Hyundai recalled vehicle for suspension component rusting/corrosion, specifically rear trailing arms & front sub-frame. [ Hyundai has had numerous (8-9 ??) similar suspension recalls over the past 5 years for elantra, sonata, tiburon, Azera and other models.] in March 2010, responding to recall, vehicle taken to authorized Hyundai dealer, where dealer elected to repair, rather than replace affected front and rear suspension components. The prescribed recall repair consisted of drilling (drain) holes in all front & rear suspension components, removing excess rust from inside components, then spraying with anti-corrosive wax. August 7, 2013, right rear trailing arm failed due to continued excessive corrosion, causing steering loss and near wheel collapse. Hyundai dealer revealed cause of suspension failure. Hyundai corrosion specialist concluded that Hyundai would replace both rear trailing arms only (not front sub-frame components, which are also excessively rusted/corroded), but that because of vehicle's 10+ year age, owner would be responsible for all "incidental and related suspension parts and labor" expenses incurred while the rear trailing arm replacements were being made. I am appealing this Hyundai decision to NHTSA because the repair that Hyundai elected to perform (vs a full components replacement) in March 2010, when vehicle was only 9 years old, has proven to be totally ineffective, and that owner has not contributed, in any way, to this suspension defect. Given Hyundai's corrosion vulnerabilities, their inability to effect a repair in 2010, and the owner's non-contributory role here, Hyundai should now replace all front & rear suspension components, as they should have in 2010, at no cost to the owner.

- State College, PA, USA

problem #11

Sep 082013

Santa Fe 4WD 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
Lower control arm rusted through wheel detached from rotor wheel hang off. Wheel not straight.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #10

Oct 062009

Santa Fe 4WD 6-cyl

  • 149,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that the rear driver's side tire was abnormally leaning inward. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the trailing arms were rusted and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 149,000. Updated 1/129/13 the consumer stated the trailing arms were also rusted on the passenger side. Updated 2/6/2013

- Chesterton, IN, USA

problem #9

Sep 192012

Santa Fe

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph the vehicle started to shake and the tires began to make a loud noise. The contact mentioned that after inspecting the vehicle he noticed that the control arm was bent into the frame. The contact believed that the failure was due to corrosion. The dealer was contacted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 118,000 and the current mileage was 118,390.

- Ithaca , NY, USA

problem #8

Sep 102012

Santa Fe

  • 120,000 miles
My teenage son was driving his vehicle, when it suddenly felt like he was driving on black ice. The wheels felt like they were all over the road, and he heard some type of loud noises coming from underneath the car. Luckily he knew better and pulled over onto the side of the road. The wheel on the left hand side looked completely turned in and the vehicle was not drivable. We immediately took the vehicle to our local mechanic. Later that night I did some research and saw that they had a recall for the 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe because of the trailing arms rusting out. I called the corporation for Hyundai reference my situation and asked about the recall. They said that since I did not live in a salt belt state, there was nothing they could do for me. I then called my local Hyundai and asked them. They told me that I could bring it in and they would look at it and see what they could do, but they would not make any promises. Our local Hyundai dealership has a horrible reputation, and I knew if I had the vehicle towed to them, not only would they tell me that the vehicle did not fall under the recall, they would charge me and arm and leg to fix it. I chose to stay with my local mechanic who I trust. That mechanic told me the arm was completely rusted out.. he had pulled up the recall as well, and agreed with me that Hyundai should fix this free of charge, since obviously it was a defect on their part. He also said that the salt belt state rule for the recall made no sense since other things can cause rust. After my vehicle was fixed I took the trailing arm to my local Hyundai dealership and showed them. I told them I expected them to pay at least for the arm which cost me $189 plus tax, since this was their defect. I had also bought the vehicle from them on April 30. They said no and showed me the door. My son could have crashed and died. Hyundai should be ashamed.

- Rapid City, SD, USA

problem #7

Jul 112012

Santa Fe

  • 137,741 miles
I was entering my apartment complex when my car made a noise. It felt like we had a flat tire and I lost control of the vehicle. I parked the car and then saw that the rear trailing arm was fractured. I looked in the internet and saw campaign id number 09V123000. This campaign mentions all cars manufactured from 2001-2003. My car was manufactured in 2001 and was sold in the state of New York. I called the Hyundai and they say my VIN does not fall onto this campaign yet it has all the symptoms and characteristics to be included. Please help!

- Blacksburg, VA, USA

problem #6

Nov 122011

Santa Fe 4WD 6-cyl

  • 119,765 miles
While backing out of the driveway I noted a crunching sound from the rear of the vehicle. After driving approx one mile I inspected the rear suspension. I found the driver's side lower trailing arm had rusted to the point that it had collapsed. This vehicle has been kept in a garage in northern Virginia since new. Up through Dec 2008 it was used for one winter trip to eastern Pennsylvania and northern New Jersey. Since I was aware of issues with the rear suspension of this vehicle I had inspected the lower trailing arms approx four months prior to this incident. At that time I found only a half dollar sized circle of scale/rust and some scale/rust on the welded seam on the driver's side trailing arm. There was no indication of an impending failure. I surmise the component rusted from the inside out and thus a visual inspection would not be effective to give a warning of possible failure. Owners should be advised that visual inspection, at least to an untrained eye, may not be effective to indicate impending failure. The last dealer maintenance prior to this incident was a rear brake job in October 2010 at 111,000 miles. Pictures of the failed component are available.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?