If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

1.3

hardy worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
132,541 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe Owner Comments

problem #13

Jan 262014

Santa Fe

  • 255,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated while driving 35 mph, the driver suddenly lost control of the vehicle without any warning. After inspecting the vehicle he noticed that the rear passenger wheel was bent due to corrosion. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle had been repaired under recall NHTSA campaign number: 09V123000 (suspension). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 255,000.

- Mosimee, WI, USA

problem #12

Aug 072013

Santa Fe 4WD 6-cyl

  • 166,200 miles
Became 2nd owner in June 2005. In March 2010, Hyundai recalled vehicle for suspension component rusting/corrosion, specifically rear trailing arms & front sub-frame. [ Hyundai has had numerous (8-9 ??) similar suspension recalls over the past 5 years for elantra, sonata, tiburon, azera and other models.] in March 2010, responding to recall, vehicle taken to authorized Hyundai dealer, where dealer elected to repair, rather than replace affected front and rear suspension components. The prescribed recall repair consisted of drilling (drain) holes in all front & rear suspension components, removing excess rust from inside components, then spraying with anti-corrosive wax. August 7, 2013, right rear trailing arm failed due to continued excessive corrosion, causing steering loss and near wheel collapse. Hyundai dealer revealed cause of suspension failure. Hyundai corrosion specialist concluded that Hyundai would replace both rear trailing arms only (not front sub-frame components, which are also excessively rusted/corroded), but that because of vehicle's 10+ year age, owner would be responsible for all "incidental and related suspension parts and labor" expenses incurred while the rear trailing arm replacements were being made. I am appealing this Hyundai decision to NHTSA because the repair that Hyundai elected to perform (vs a full components replacement) in March 2010, when vehicle was only 9 years old, has proven to be totally ineffective, and that owner has not contributed, in any way, to this suspension defect. Given Hyundai's corrosion vulnerabilities, their inability to effect a repair in 2010, and the owner's non-contributory role here, Hyundai should now replace all front & rear suspension components, as they should have in 2010, at no cost to the owner.

- State College, PA, USA

problem #11

Sep 082013

Santa Fe 4WD 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
Lower control arm rusted through wheel detached from rotor wheel hang off. Wheel not straight.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #10

Oct 062009

Santa Fe 4WD 6-cyl

  • 149,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that the rear driver's side tire was abnormally leaning inward. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the trailing arms were rusted and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 149,000. Updated 1/129/13 the consumer stated the trailing arms were also rusted on the passenger side. Updated 2/6/2013

- Chesterton, IN, USA

problem #9

Sep 192012

Santa Fe

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph the vehicle started to shake and the tires began to make a loud noise. The contact mentioned that after inspecting the vehicle he noticed that the control arm was bent into the frame. The contact believed that the failure was due to corrosion. The dealer was contacted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 118,000 and the current mileage was 118,390.

- Ithaca , NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Sep 102012

Santa Fe

  • 120,000 miles
My teenage son was driving his vehicle, when it suddenly felt like he was driving on black ice. The wheels felt like they were all over the road, and he heard some type of loud noises coming from underneath the car. Luckily he knew better and pulled over onto the side of the road. The wheel on the left hand side looked completely turned in and the vehicle was not drivable. We immediately took the vehicle to our local mechanic. Later that night I did some research and saw that they had a recall for the 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe because of the trailing arms rusting out. I called the corporation for Hyundai reference my situation and asked about the recall. They said that since I did not live in a salt belt state, there was nothing they could do for me. I then called my local Hyundai and asked them. They told me that I could bring it in and they would look at it and see what they could do, but they would not make any promises. Our local Hyundai dealership has a horrible reputation, and I knew if I had the vehicle towed to them, not only would they tell me that the vehicle did not fall under the recall, they would charge me and arm and leg to fix it. I chose to stay with my local mechanic who I trust. That mechanic told me the arm was completely rusted out.. he had pulled up the recall as well, and agreed with me that Hyundai should fix this free of charge, since obviously it was a defect on their part. He also said that the salt belt state rule for the recall made no sense since other things can cause rust. After my vehicle was fixed I took the trailing arm to my local Hyundai dealership and showed them. I told them I expected them to pay at least for the arm which cost me $189 plus tax, since this was their defect. I had also bought the vehicle from them on April 30. They said no and showed me the door. My son could have crashed and died. Hyundai should be ashamed.

- Rapid City, SD, USA

problem #7

Jul 112012

Santa Fe

  • 137,741 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was entering my apartment complex when my car made a noise. It felt like we had a flat tire and I lost control of the vehicle. I parked the car and then saw that the rear trailing arm was fractured. I looked in the internet and saw campaign id number 09V123000. This campaign mentions all cars manufactured from 2001-2003. My car was manufactured in 2001 and was sold in the state of New York. I called the Hyundai and they say my VIN does not fall onto this campaign yet it has all the symptoms and characteristics to be included. Please help!

- Blacksburg, VA, USA

problem #6

Nov 122011

Santa Fe 4WD 6-cyl

  • 119,765 miles
While backing out of the driveway I noted a crunching sound from the rear of the vehicle. After driving approx one mile I inspected the rear suspension. I found the driver's side lower trailing arm had rusted to the point that it had collapsed. This vehicle has been kept in a garage in northern Virginia since new. Up through Dec 2008 it was used for one winter trip to eastern Pennsylvania and northern New Jersey. Since I was aware of issues with the rear suspension of this vehicle I had inspected the lower trailing arms approx four months prior to this incident. At that time I found only a half dollar sized circle of scale/rust and some scale/rust on the welded seam on the driver's side trailing arm. There was no indication of an impending failure. I surmise the component rusted from the inside out and thus a visual inspection would not be effective to give a warning of possible failure. Owners should be advised that visual inspection, at least to an untrained eye, may not be effective to indicate impending failure. The last dealer maintenance prior to this incident was a rear brake job in October 2010 at 111,000 miles. Pictures of the failed component are available.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #5

May 012010

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 121,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe. While driving approximately 25-30 mph on a gravel road during rainy weather conditions the rear passenger side tire came off. The contact drove onto the emergency lane. He called the dealer where he purchased the vehicle and it was towed to the dealer. The vehicle was pre-owned and purchased in April 2010. The contact stated that the dealer put the wrong lug nuts on the tire. After the lug nuts were replaced a week later the ball joints on the passenger and driver side failed. He also stated that the trailing arms on the rear driver's side were covered with rust and broke in half. Most of the repairs were made to the vehicle. The body shop is repairing tire failure and the rear fender. The failure mileage was 121,000 the current mileage was unknown. Updated 01/06/11. Updated 02/28/11

- Ottumwa, IA, USA

problem #4

Aug 182009

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 129,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe. While driving approximately 50 mph on normal road conditions. The vehicle began to pull severely towards the right direction. The driver reduced the speed rate and continued in operation with caution. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for inspection. There was front sub-frame perforation which was a result of severe internal corrosion. The contact had concern of the potential safety hazard. The vehicle has not been repaired at this time. The failure and current mileages were 129,000. Updated 01/20/10 the consumer stated the vehicle was not drivable. A rusted hole in the sub-frame occurred where the upper A-arm was secured. Failure of retaining bolt would result in suspension collapse and loss of control of vehicle. The suspension was repaired. The consumer stated there was a recall for same make, but different model. Updated 01/22/10.

- Portage, IN, USA

problem #3

Mar 102008

Santa Fe

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Santa Fe. While driving over 50 mph, the contact heard a thumping noise coming from the vehicle. She also felt the vehicle jerking while attempting to turn left or right. The vehicle was serviced by a mechanic, who stated that the transmission was fine and he could not find any failures. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 110,000 and current mileage was 126,000.

- Oakley, CA, USA

problem #2

May 032004

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 133,000 miles
While driving at 25 mph, the consumer heard a screeching sound that was followed by a loud bumping noise. The vehicle soon stalled and would not restart. The dealer examined the vehicle and determined that the four wheel drive transfer case needed replacement. The ball joint and the front wheel bearing was replaced.

- Columbia, PA, USA

problem #1

Jun 282002

Santa Fe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,327 miles
Vehicle rattles and shakes when driving in city. Noise appears to come under the carriage. Taken several times to the dealer and they are unable to locate the source of the problem. Have a written complain with Hyundai.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?