Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,614 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #36

Sep 242012

Santa Fe

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that while parked the air bag light and the ESC light illuminate on the instrument panel. The contact mentioned that while driving approximately 55 mph the vehicle suddenly stalled and the contact smelled a burning odor. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V122000 (service brakes, hydraulic:switches:brake light) that may be related to the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who confirmed that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #35

Sep 052012

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,241 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that he was involved in a rollover crash in which the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries as a result and the vehicle was deemed as destroyed. The manufacturer was notified and a complaint was filed. The failure mileage was 65,241. Updated 9/26/12

- Quinlan, TX, USA

problem #34

Aug 312012

Santa Fe

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, when the vehicle crashed into the back of another vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and two people sustained injuries. The vehicle was towed to a tow area. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and the current mileage was 42,000.

- Keymar , MD, USA

problem #33

Aug 082012

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag would not turn on. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the VIN was not included under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V354000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 36,000 and the current mileage 36,500. Updated 09/26/12

- Centennial, CO, USA

problem #32

Mar 012007

Santa Fe

  • 0 miles
We have a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe and have had a problem with the passenger-side air bag since the car was new, but the dealer was never able to fix it. Our dealer (phil long Hyundai, Colorado springs) now says that the VIN for our car is not included in the passenger air bag recall. Is there any way to expand the cars affected so ours can be fixed - or "encourage" them to fix our car?

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #31

Jun 152012

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 29,600 miles
My local vehicle service department in Maryland will not fix the current air bag recall (NHTSA campaign id number: 11V472000), because the vehicle was bought in guam. They claimed that us recalls don't apply to cars bought in guam, even though they researched the issue and found that the reason my air bag light is illuminated is because of a faulty clock spring, the same as the recall. I now have a vehicle with a safety recall in the United States and the manufacturer refuses to fix it, which means my air bag will not work.

- Lexington Park, MD, USA

problem #30

Jun 112012

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 50,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The airbag light in the instrument cluster came on and now stays on while the car is being operated. This is the fourth time in less than a year that this has happened. I'm told that when this light is on the airbag system is not operating and will not function when needed. The prior three times this happened, the incident was addressed by my Hyundai dealer, king Hyundai in deerfield beach, fl. In one case, there was a recall by Hyundai for a "clock spring" replacement which king Hyundai claims they have completed, yet the light keeps coming on, usually within one month of having it repaired at the dealer. There are numerous complaints about this all over the internet yet there are no permanent solutions from Hyundai while there is a significant risk undertaken by drivers of this vehicle when the government mandated airbag system is disengaged, thus I implore you to force Hyundai to once again recall all affected vehicles that seem to commonly have this problem and permanently fix them.

- Deerfield Beach, FL, USA

problem #29

Jun 082010

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 96,458 miles
The clock spring contact assembly, installed behind the steering wheel, that provides electrical connection between driver's air bag and air bag control module failed in June, 2010. This safety hazard had to be repaired on June 24, 2010 and I had to pay for the deductible of $100 on the extended warranty. Hyundai recently announced a vehicle recall on this safety hazard (campaign 103)--but refuses to accept my claim for repair reimbursement of the repair deductible "because I had the car repaired prior to the dates they allowed for this condition". I've owned several Hyundai's and this is absurd. My repair was June 24, 2010 and they won't allow claims for any repair prior to September 8, 2010 (a mere 10.5 weeks difference)! claim [xxx]. it's the same problem that was repaired. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Los Olivos, CA, USA

problem #28

Jun 162011

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Passenger air bag deactivates due to misclassification of occupant (125 pound wife).

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #27

Dec 292011

Santa Fe

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 hyundia Santa Fe. While the contact was driving approximately 25 mph, the air bag warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis and the trouble code detected that the pods ECU was faulty. The technician stated that the front passenger seat would need to be replaced in order to perform the repair. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Birmingham , AL, USA

problem #26

Dec 312011

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, another vehicle crashed into her passenger. The contact's vehicle rolled over twice, but the air bags did not deploy. The contact was transported to the hospital by ambulance to treat a shoulder injury. The police reported to the scene and a report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to tow yard. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 03/14/12 updated 03/16/12

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #25

Dec 232011

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • miles
Hi, I took my car today to Hyundai of white plains for "air bag" warning campaign "camp 103". the dealership charged me 119 usd for this. I am tried to contact Hyundai as I did not gets satisfactory answer when I called Hyundai customer connect. I am writing my concern to National Highway Traffic Safety Administration by this complaint. According to the recall letter this check/repair should be free of charge and this is miss leading part on Hyundai motors, usa. Please look in to this matter and help me as a customer of vehicle with recall. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- White Plains`, NY, USA

problem #24

Feb 012011

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I received a recall letter from Hyundai concerning the airbags in the vehicle. I realized that my airbag light on my dash had been on for a long time, perhaps a year or two, but I thought that was normal and didn't realize it meant it didn't work. I brought my vehicle to the dealer and they performed the repair related to the recall. The dealer stated that the repair did not fix the problem as the airbag light was still on. I agreed to pay the diagnostic charge so the dealer could find the problem. The dealer says there is a short in the wiring harness that is the cause of the problem which would cost $1500 to fix. They said the SRS computer and airbag sensor may also need to be replaced for a cost of $600 and $400 respectively.

- Crystal, MN, USA

problem #23

Oct 242011

Santa Fe

  • 70,000 miles
After the (airbag) light came on in transit to a death in the family two hours away! I felt the truck was unsafe to drive an set up an appointment to have checked out at a Hyundai dealer out of town. The dealer charged me $48 to tell me that a part in the steering wheel failed and would have to be replaced (clock spring) at a cost to me for $1300 for the part. I said I couldn't afford that right now. Now I'm driving a unsafe vehicle and the dealer doesn't seem to care. After reading many complaints about airbags not going off while in accidents I feel dealers are ignoring problems! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Shavertown, PA, USA

problem #22

Sep 232011

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • miles
I have moved since the recall has come out on the 2007 Santa Fe. I do not know if he letter came. I was informed if I did not have a letter they will not fix the recall. What can I do? it hall Hyundai on jefferson ave, Norfolk, va.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #21

Sep 142011

Santa Fe

  • 61,179 miles
At 61,179 miles the air bags light on the dashboard appeared lite. Dealership troubleshoot to a faulty air bag computer. Computer not covered under extended warranty. Noticed on NHTSA website a few higher mileage vehicles are experiencing this problem. Requesting an investigation into Hyundai's quality practices relating to potential safety issues. If the air bag computer is malfunctioning will airbags still deploy in an accident" NHTSA- question - if not is this a re-callable event. Please advise all Hyundai Santa Fe owners whether this a safety hazard and what preventable measures can be taken."

- Rockaway Twsp, NJ, USA

problem #20

Jul 252011

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 55,800 miles
Wife's car-driving one day and noticed airbag warning light on. Took to dealer. Dealer said it was safe to drive while part was ordered, would not offer loaner. Came back and had part installed a week-1/2 later, after finally got part notice in mail. Part replaced-no light anymore. Problem is back again. Called customer service, but they don't seem to be too concerned.

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #19

Jun 012010

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • miles
My ESC light comes on and goes off intermittently while driving, this has been happening for probably the past year. I have never noticed any effect on the performance of the vehicle and since I didn't know what ESC was I did not pay it a great deal of attention to it. My passenger air bag light also does this "coming on and going off thing" so I assumed it was a weird dash light glitch. About 4 months ago vehicle started having electrical problems (power door locks sometimes stop working). Finally today I noticed my rear brake lights were not coming on... obviously I was very concerned and called Hyundai to find out if there were any recalls. Hyundai gave me a case # but said my vehicle is not covered under current recall, so I am not sure if anything is wrong?

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #18

Aug 052011

Santa Fe

  • 41,105 miles
The air bag warning light in the main dash console stays illuminated after starting the vehicle. I have contacted hyundaiusa.com customer service & they just referred me to the dealer where I purchased the vehicle "certified used" and they said that the original warranty did not transfer when bought used (5 yrs/60,000 miles). Just to get the problem diagnosed would be $95. So I researched on the internet nhsta website and I found all of the same complaints about this year, make & model. Accidents have been reported where the airbag malfunctions, sensor warning does not work properly, etc. So my question to the nhsta is why hasn't this vehicle been recalled for airbag warning light malfunction with all of the complaints you have received? this is a dangerous safety issue especially if it prevents airbags from deploying in an accident. Please investigate with Hyundai & hopefully this can be corrected with a recall. Thank you

- Bristol, TN, USA

problem #17

Jun 112011

Santa Fe

  • 62,000 miles
Just bought used from luther Hyundai bloomington mn, with adult passenger in seat, weight 110 lbs, the air bag will not turn on air bag light says air bag off, do not buy a Hyundai if you may have a passenger who weighs less than 130 Hyundai says adult passenger has to ride in back seat.many asian people are not heavy enough to make air bag work supposed to be the safest car, to bad really nice car will have to bring back and buy a Toyota highlander

- Oakdale, MN, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?