Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2010 Hyundai Santa Fe apparently has a problem with the engine stalling while driving.

In a 2-page letter to Santa Fe owners from August 2014, Hyundai claims the engine stalling only occurs under a "specific set of operating conditions".

However a class action lawsuit filed around the same time details multiple claims from Sante Fe owners that claim the engine stalling happens at any time, under any conditions.

Although the model year range in the lawsuit is 2010-2012, the stalling complaint trend hasn't shown up in our data for the 2010 model year. Both the 2011 & 2012 Santa Fe model years DO show a significant defect trend of the engine stalling.

Currently we're not rating the 2010 Santa Fe as "bad" or "poor". Just be aware of this potentially serious problem.

9.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
2,159 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Hyundai Santa Fe fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Hyundai Santa Fe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Hyundai Santa Fe Owner Comments

problem #3

Aug 282011

Santa Fe 4-cyl

  • 600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased 2010 Hyundai Santa Fe in Feb 2010. Drove to dallas, tx in May 2010 the car started stalling after being idle at traffic light, on turns and from pulling out after being stopped. You would the think it was going dead but would catch up. This occured numerous times during the trip to & from. Immediately took to dealership on return but they found no problems. Has happened numerous times since then, once at 20 mph mergeing in traffic and twice today. Have taken it in 3 times but they never find anything and could not duplicate problem. I don't know when this will happen and don't dare pull out in traffic unless I have plenty of clearance from other cars! I feel at risk everytime the car in driven and feel it is a very dangerous safety problem and needs to be investigated.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #2

Aug 182010

Santa Fe

  • 677 miles
Report date: 08/26/2010. Purchased Hyundai Santa Fe 08/14/2010. Vehicle has 1190 miles to date. Vehicle has momentarily stalled 5 times - 2 in traffic situation which could have resulted in crash. All stalls have occurred after sitting and idling at traffic lights or turns on both level surface and inclines. When brake is released and accelerator pushed vehicle starts moving sluggishly and then stalls flat for several seconds and then engine re-engages. No warning lights activated. Engine does not die requiring an ignition restart. Immediately took to dealer after stalling on incline 3 times at 677 miles on 08/18/2010. Service tech ran complete computer diagnostic in idle mode in shop and found all systems within technical specifications. Suspect drive-by-wire / computer linkage. Vehicle runs smoothly, downshifts and accelerates on demand normally at all other speeds less than 10 mph. This condition occurs after a stop and after brake is released and accelerator engaged (2 times); when moving slowly and hard acceleration demanded (2 times); or when transmission initially engaged in drive from park mode (2 occasions).

- Valrico, FL, USA

problem #1

Jun 082010

Santa Fe

  • 5,200 miles
On Tuesday, June 8, 2010 I was on a busy interstate highway with fast moving traffic and my car lost all power while traveling at 70 mph. Fortunately, I was able to barely glide the sante fe to the shoulder and stop without incident. Follow up: 3 pm visited Hyundai service center and was told that it was not a throttle problem. They are in contact with ca service to determine cause of problem. Friday, 6-11-10 after complete testing of all circuits, Hyundai declares no source of problem. Auto was picked up at 4:30 pm Hyundai assistant service manager: Bob wood Hyundai case # 3982284 the specifics are: "SUV was purchased 8/09 and currently has 5200 miles. ?cruise control was on but not engaged. ?gas tank indicator on one-half. "with my foot on gas pedal the initial instinct was that the engine had lost all power. Opressing harder on gas pedal had no reaction. Othere was an opening in traffic and with the SUV forward inertia I was able to just reach the road shoulder. Oobserved that red indicators were on (battery, oil) ?reset transmission selector to park, turned off key. Ofirst restart-nothing happened osecond restart SUV started and I did not turn off until reaching home. Obviously, this is a serious life threatening situation that needs to be researched thoroughly and corrected.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?