Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
104,077 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Hyundai Sonata body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #51

Oct 202014


  • miles


The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 35 mph, an abnormal noise emitted from the front passenger side of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the front axle and the front subframe needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Bluss City, TN, USA

problem #50

Apr 102012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • miles
On 4/10/12 went to get car inspected and it failed was told rear sub frame rotten. Called and talked to Hyundai motor America to see if they could help. We had the sub frame in front replaced by lia Hyundai in Jan 2010 when there was a recall. I don't get why the rear was not recall if that rusted out too. Now I'm looking at $700-$800 to have it fix. I feel that if this is the problem with these cars this should of been replaced when I did the front. I have talked to these people about this and no one seems to call you back with answer when they say they will check into it and will call me back. I called them for 3 days now and it's the same answer. This car is running great except for the subframe. Please if you can help me with this problem. I would like them to at least pay something to help me with this. I work three jobs and can't afford to lose them right now with no car.

- Schaghticoke, NY, USA

problem #49

Mar 212011


  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Sonata. The contact was traveling 30 mph when the frame buckled and the front wheels began collapsing outward. The contact stated that the vehicle had been drifting from side to side for some time when the vehicle was being driven. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileages were 130,000.

- Waterloo, IA, USA

problem #48

Jun 152010


  • 120,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated while driving at 5 mph, the front driver's side tire and wheel completely separated from the vehicle. The contact was in a parking lot at the time of the failure and was able to avoid an accident. A tow truck was called and upon arrival, the driver noticed that the entire front end of the vehicle was rusted and corroded. The vehicle was towed to a local repair facility. The manufacturer advised having the vehicle towed to an authorized dealer for repairs. The current and failure mileages were approximately 120,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Mt Vernon , KY, USA

problem #47

Apr 042010


  • 131,000 miles
I own a 2001 Hyundai Sonata. Last night my daughter was driving the car and noticed the steering wheel was pulling very badly to the right. When I got a chance to look at it this afternoon I noticed the front right frame was almost completely rusted through.

- Deltona, FL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #46

Mar 222010


  • 166,249 miles
Noticed an issue in January 2010: Took car to a auto-repair shop for repair; new tires and alignment service. On 03/22/2010 while leaving a shopping mall the vehicle lost control and veared a hard left into a cement light pole in the middle of the parking lot. (I was able to apply the brakes in time and turn the vehicle) only damage was to the front driver side bumper and quarter-panel, body damage only. I then tried to drive the vehicle which at that point operated in drivable condition. On my way to the auto-repair (less then 1 mile away) my vehicle completely broke down in the middle of an intersection in another shopping plaza. The car was then towed to the auto-repair shop, which then later called and explained that the frame of the car was cracked and the whieel was detatched. I called the dealership and they took the matter very lightly telling me to just bring the car in (the vehicle was not drivable). I call my towing company and towed the vehicle to the dealership and now awaiting response. I was not offered a loaner, nor did the manager know of any recall, neither did I, something I had to investigate for myself. (luckily I was not on the highway when this happen or I would not be here today.

- Avenel, NJ, USA

problem #45

Oct 232009


  • 98,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Sonata. While driving the vehicle would drift towards the right. Upon further inspection he discovered that because the right side of the sub-frame was corroded, it caused the engine to tilt towards the right. He was in the process of contacting the dealer and the manufacturer. The current and the failure mileages were 98,000. The vehicle identification number was unavailable.

- Oakwood Village , OH, USA

problem #44

Oct 052009


  • 147,609 miles
I was driving and the tire fell off the front frame from being rusted.

- Lakewood, NJ, USA

problem #43

Sep 032009


  • 68,912 miles
I was driving down the street and the frame snapped on the front right hand side luckily there was not an accident. This should be a recall on the vehicle its an 01 with 68,000 miles.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #42

Jul 302009


  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Sonata. While replacing the tires on the vehicle, the contact noticed that the alignment was not gripping correctly. He examined underneath the vehicle and noticed that the frame on both of the front wheel suspension mounts were rusted. The vehicle has not yet been inspected by a mechanic. Through online research, the contact discovered that this was a very common failure with his type of vehicle. He believes that a recall should be issued by the manufacturer. The current and failure mileages were 140,000.

- Urbana, OH, USA

problem #41

Jul 172009


  • 91,200 miles


I took my car to a mechanic today to have the brake pads replaced and he found a corroded hole in the sub-frame assembly. He mentioned this was recalled by Hyundai last year but I was never notified of such a recall and I'm upset as this could have caused a very serious accident. Why was I not notified of the recall first of all, and what is Hyundai going to do to fix my car?

- Kingston, PA, USA

problem #40

Apr 242009


  • 120,762 miles
I own a 20001 Hyundai Sonata. I took it to the repair shop for a front end alignment because the car was pulling badly to the right and was informed that the subframe on the right front is severely rusted. It was recommended that I not continue to drive this car because it is extremely dangerous to do so.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #39

Feb 282008

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 141,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Sonata. The contact heard an abnormal noise near the rear of the vehicle. The dealer stated that the subframe had excessive corrosion and needed to be replaced at the cost of $800. Her state was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 09V124000 (suspension). The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 141,000. Updated 05/04/09 updated 05/04/09.

- Fort Thomas, KY, USA

problem #38

Apr 102009


  • 89,300 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Sonata. The contact took her vehicle to a local service station and was advised by a technician that the front subframe had excessive corrosion. She called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The contact is currently waiting for a response. The failure and current mileages were 89,300.

- Katonah, NY, USA

problem #37

Apr 132009


  • 99,925 miles
Was told by mechanic that my frame is rotting out. Has holes size of golf ball not to mention lines 5-6" of rot. Mechanic informed me that he will no longer work on the car as it is too dangerous for me to drive it and suggests I get a new car.

- South Hadley, MA, USA

problem #36

Apr 092009


  • 149,000 miles
The car was pulling to the right and thought I needed a wheel alignment but after coming back from taking my children to school the car stopped in front of my house and started making a rattling sound when I put it in gear (reverse and drive ) I thought is was axle that may have slipped out of place. The car was taken to mechanic who said I had a lot of rust and a whole in my frame and the rust started to fall off the car frame. I called the consume affairs dept for Hyundai and they picked up the car and took it to a Hyundai dealership to hopefully get fixed. They wanted to charge me $2,100 for the repairs.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #35

Aug 302008

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 124,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 55 mph on normal road conditions, the contact heard a loud noise outside of the vehicle. The engine began to reduce power without assistance. There were no warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was driven cautiously to an authorized dealer for inspection and they replaced the frame cross member assembly and speed sensor. The failure mileage was 124,000 and current mileage was 130,000. Updated 04-23-09 updated 04/30/09.

- California, KY, USA

problem #34

Mar 232009


  • miles
Vehicle steering wheel started to unalign counter clockwise in the last week, then a noise from the front right wheel, then my wife pulled into the garage when I noticed the front passenger wheel on a tilt. I looked under the car and there is a huge 4" hole of rust right through the frame.

- Racine , WI, USA

problem #33

Mar 232009


  • 112,300 miles
I was driving down the road at 30mph and the car started swerving left and right like 'crazy'. I pulled over and noticed the drivers side front wheel was bent even though wheels were straight. I looked underneath the car and there was crack all the way through the subframe of the car where the lower torque arm attaches to the wheel. The torque arm looked fine but where it attached was rusted so much it broke. I touched this area and noticed a fist sized hole of metal had rusted away. Hyundai apparently used very cheap metal when building their product. I checked the other side and noticed the same problem. The other front wheel side is about ready to break too and fall off the car. I managed to make it home trying my best to stay in one lane which was very hard and didn't always do that. I will take some pictures later.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #32

Mar 242009


  • 116,000 miles
In February I had gone to have my oil changed by my uncle who works at a shop in franklin he had put my car up on the lift and looked it over to ensure there wasn't any major problems in which he concluded there was not. On March 20th 09 I went to pep boys to have 4 new tires put on and an alignment done. On March 24th I was driving my son home and notice the car was making a odd noise and figured I should get it looked at. I went home and about an hour later I went to pull out of the driveway to take my car to my uncles shop when I heard a terrible loud noise so I put the car in park the conclusion was that my axle broke off and my subframe was completely rotted and my engine was almost on the ground.

- Walpole, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?