Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,599 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Hyundai Sonata brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Aug 152012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the passenger seat air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 08V161000 (air bags) and was not repaired. The failure mileage was 68,000 and the current mileage was 68,300. Updated 10/11/12 updated 10/16/2012

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #27

Mar 012006

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving, she could hear a loud sound coming from under the front passenger side wheel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the rotors were defective and needed to be replaced. The remedy failed to repair the failure. The vehicle was taken back to a dealer who diagnosed that the control arm bushings were defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 10,000 and the current mileage was 129,000. Updated 06/07/12

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #26

Sep 282011

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 57,488 miles
During routine service inspection the dealer mechanics reported the rear disk brakes were worn "almost metal to metal". I replaced the rear brake pads myself. The driver's side outside pad was worn almost to the metal but the other three pads were worn not much at all. I have photographs. The brakes worked fine before and after the pads were replaced. My son has the exact same year and type vehicle with similar mileage that exhibited the very same pad worn in a like manner.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #25

Feb 012011


  • 35,000 miles


During braking, brake rotors failed and resulted in difficulty braking. Grinding noise noticed for several days prior. Upon checking about this particular issue with Sonata's online, I determined that there seems to be a prevalent issue with Sonata brake rotors prematurely wearing away. Again, in 9/2011, I noticed the same problem on the same rear rotors, and will have to get this replaced. Initial cost was very high, as the auto shop noted that the rotors and calipers were beyond repair and needed to be replaced.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #24

Sep 032011


  • 88,705 miles
Stop lamp switch was replaced under recall in Sept 09. Same part went again in approx July 2011. Charged for diagnostics and replacement of stop lamp switch 1429 ckr $79.95 and 1 93810-SK000 switch asm $6.60 for a total of $86.55. Dealer, motorworld of wilkes barre, pa indicated that I already had recall done so I would have to pay for this repair. I also own a 2011 Sonata and had to have the same part replaced two months ago (under warranty). Seems like there is still a problem with this part.

- Hammonton, NJ, USA

problem #23

May 072011


  • 96,900 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that after recieving notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 09V122000 (service brakes, hydraulic:switches:brake light) the vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs. One year later, the brake lights became inoperable. The manufacturer was then contacted and they offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 96,900.

- Fresno , CA, USA

problem #22

Apr 112009


  • 60,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the passenger air bag warning light illuminated while the passenger seat was occupied. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for repairs under NHTSA campaign id number: 08V161000- air bags. The dealer refused to repair the vehicle stating that her VIN was not included in the recall despite that the contact received a letter from the manufacturer in regards to the recall. The sun visor labels also began peeling and the contact inquired with the dealer in regards to NHTSA campaign id number: 06V234000 (equipment: Other labels) and was informed by the dealer that that the repair was previously performed. The dealer refused any additional repairs. In addition, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 05V377000 (seats: Front assembly: Recliner) and the dealer refused repairs under the recall, stating that the work had already been performed on the vehicle. The contact stated that she never took the vehicle in for repairs under the recall. The contact also stated that when applying the brakes, the brake lights would not illuminate. She received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 09V122000 (service brakes) and when taking the vehicle to the dealer, she was informed again that the work had already been performed. The vehicle was not repaired for any of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 111,000.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #21

Jul 202010


  • 51,100 miles
2006 Hyundai Sonata rear brakes worn down at twice the rate of the front brakes. While driving without applying brakes, there is constant scraping noise from the rear brakes. When braking, the noise turns into grinding. Replaced rear brakes and rotors with new parts, and the problem still occurs. Dealership stated it is due to rust buildup on the calipers, but could not explain why new pads and rotors, and a cleaned/greased caliper did not fix the noise.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #20

Jul 142010


  • 49,958 miles
July 14, 2010: While stopped at a stoplight, I was alerted by another motorist that none of my brake lights were working. After googling the problem, I found that a recall had been issued April 14, 2009, no. 09V122000, regarding the malfunctioning of the stop lamp switch. Having received no notification of the recall, I contacted my dealership and informed them of the problem. The dealership informed me that they had performed the recall repair on July 31, 2009, while my car was in for service. I immediately took my car to the dealership for them to look at the problem. The result was that the "stop lamp switch has circuit open." They replaced the stop lamp switch for the second time in less than one year. This is a serious safety concern, and it seems that the previous recall "fix" is not fixing the issue. Hyundai needs to find out what is causing the malfunction and remedy that, not just replace one defective stop lamp switch with another.

- Paducah, KY, USA

problem #19

Jul 102010


  • 21,000 miles
2006 Hyundai Sonata-problem with brakes and rotors. I just had to have front and rear brakes replaced and rear rotors replaced. The cost was $600. I only have 21,000 miles on the car. I was told by the Hyundai service dept. That the normal for this type of repair is 40,000 miles. I have been on the internet and have discovered that this is an ongoing issue affecting numerous Sonata owners and the company is aware of the problem. Are they possibly using defective parts? if there are so many complaints about the same issue why isn't the company addressing it.

- Scranton, PA, USA

problem #18

Jun 012010


  • 45,000 miles


I bought my 2006 Hyundai Sonata LX in New Hampshire brand new. I lived there until June 2009 and moved to Virginia. I needed the brakes looked at as they were pulsating and squealing at 45K miles. Upon complete inspection at the mechanics it was apparent that the rear brake pads have completely rusted through and need replacement. This has been reported by numerous owners of the same car on the internet as an ongoing issue.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #17

Mar 272007


  • 19,830 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 55 mph during normal weather conditions she heard a noise. She also stated that it did not affect her driving. She made an appointment with her local mechanic who advised her that the noise was coming from her brakes and the rotors and replaced them. She called the manufacturer and they advised her that the brakes were not under warranty. She also stated that the rear brakes and rotors were replaced four times and the front brakes and rotors were replaced three times. The failure mileage was 19,830. The current mileage was 62,000.

- Summit, NY, USA

problem #16

Dec 152006

Sonata 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
TL contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that he owns two of these vehicles and while driving at various speeds between 10 to 30 mph when applying the brakes, the brakes barely worked. The contact stated that the failure mainly occurs in cold snowy weather. The dealer was contacted and they stated that they were unaware of this type of failure. There have been no repairs to the vehicle. The failure mileage was 5000 and current mileage was 59000. Updated 03/01/10. Updated 06/14/10.

- East Grand Forks, MN, USA

problem #15

Dec 252009


  • 59,000 miles
Brakes on both of my 2006 Hyundai Sonatas often freeze during blowing snow or after driving through snow. Thus, the brakes will not allow the car to move after it has been parked, or they will inadequately slow/stop the car when braking. This occurs very frequently whenever it snows, even if it only snows a little. Somehow, I'm speculating, the snow blows into the brakes (calipers?) and makes them dysfunctional. I have read on the internet that this is a common problem with Hyundai Sonatas in the northern tier of states. The worst case happened to me during the recent 2009 christmas snowstorm in the midwest. I could only get my car to barely stop even when I was moving less than 10 miles an hours. Thank goodness I did not get into an accident. This has been going on for the past several winters, but this latest incident prompted me to notify NHTSA. Thank you.

- East Grand Forks, MN, USA

problem #14

Nov 182009


  • 46,000 miles
Tractor trailer, trailer portion struck vehicle sending it toward median divider. Brakes worked well during emergency maneuver however, a no brake situation of an approximate 10 -20 second duration occurred after vehicle recovery. Brakes then returned to normal operation.

- Anderson, SC, USA

problem #13

Aug 052009


  • 56,000 miles
I received notification from my dealership that my rear disc brakes on my 2006 Hyundai Sonata needed to be replaced (pads, rotors). My car currently has 56K miles on it, and any car I've ever owned never need a rear brake job (pads only) before 100K miles. The front disc brake pads were just replaced in November, and during that visit the technicians stated that all brakes (after the job) were fine. Additional issues with car, repaired during recall: ESC light displayed on dashboard ABS light displayed on dashboard airbag light displayed on dashboard

- Lansing, IL, USA

problem #12

Jul 102009


  • 44,322 miles
2006 Hyundai Sonata. My brakes vibrate and I have had the front rotors turned twice in a ten thousand mile period (44K mileage). The problem continues and am wondering if this is a national problem and there may be some defect.

- Louisville , KY, USA

problem #11

Apr 182007


  • 11,500 miles
Front brakes failed due to build-up of (salt) corrosion at 11K miles. Dealer had to grind cradles to create clearance (and lube) so calipers would engage. Dealer said vehicle would have to be brought in every year to have cradles cleaned, and this was a common problem with this vehicle! this problem was discovered after driving down steep road and rear brakes were smoking excessively, doing all the work to stop the vehicle (poorly). Rear brakes subsequently had to be replaced, worn so badly. Front brakes were like new (because they weren't working).

- Livonia, NY, USA

problem #10

Jul 022009

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
2006 Hyundai Sonata 6 cyl. The rear brakes need complete replacing only after 26,000 miles. The front brakes are fine. Numerous similar complaints have been found online.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #9

Nov 302008


  • 27,000 miles
Complete 4 wheel brake pads and rotors were required at only 27,000 miles at a cost of $825. I am a very slow and careful driver and not hard on brakes. Dealer said all 4 wheels were metal to metal and Hyundai claims this is a wear item and not covered by warranty. This is way too soon and dangerous.

- Beachwood, OH, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?