If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,710 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Hyundai Sonata electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #56

Jan 282006


  • 2,073 miles


This Sonata had electric problems from the very beginning (climate control, light bulbs, brake lights, side mirror control, window control, cabin lights, etc.). most of the light bulbs have been replaced many times either by the dealer when it was still covered by warranty or by myself. The most recent round of replacement was on July 3 for the passenger side headlight, driver's side turn light (yellow) and rear left back off light. I finally started to question if the fuses were misplaced. After checking carefully the fuse types and labeled specifications of both the engine and cabin fuse panels, I found three fuses in the cabin panel were not the same as the owner's manual described. They are (wrong fuses in the parentheses): FS19 20A (25A), FS6 10A (15A), and FS5 25A (20A). I rearranged all three fuses according to the specification on the owner's manual (P. 6-41). Hyundai should be legally and financially responsible for these problems, which occurred during the assembly but led to countless frustrations and even safety problems when those lights were down frequently.

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #55

Apr 072015


  • 122,245 miles
I turned on ignition and, as usual, all dash lights came on then disappeared, as usual. However, the "passenger air bag off" light returned on and the warning chimes have been ringing ever since.if a passenger sits on the passenger seat then the light stays off. Jiggling of wires underneath the seat do not fix the problem.

- Calumet City, IL, USA

problem #54

Jun 252014


  • 74,377 miles
This is the second repair of buckle assy- front (first repair was performed in 2009). I paid for the second repair on 6/25/14 as the maintenance manager said it was a one-time recall and would not be covered under warranty. (part: 88840-0A000-qs) needed it done for safety so I paid; but, it bothered me that it was a recall and I had paid nearly $260. I called the dealership after the first of the year (2015) and after talking to a couple of people found there was an extended warranty that should cover the cost. After numerous calls, mailing invoice with check number, faxing same on 3/20/15, I got a phone call today requiring me to upload a file to a particular website. I called and went thru 2 more people, one of whom had my hard copy invoice document in hand, could not enter my personal info. (phone #, address, email address) and, was not in the dept. That handled the "compaign" refund; she transferred me to "sweetie" who still insisted I must create a jpg file of my invoice to post to the new website. (I am 62 but figured it out, others won't. I have doggedly pursued my refund but Hyundai is making it nearly impossible (which I told them). Today is 4/20/15. Waiting for next ridiculous requirement. Too many phone numbers and websites to list here. Also had valve cover oil leak repaired on 6/25/14 and based on a complaint seen on this site, I am wating for a second occurance. Installed 22453-3C110 gasket-rocker cover LH, replaced valve cover gasket. We can complain all day but nobody is streamlining the recall repair process. At least I finally discovered this website which I am saving to favorites.

- Carrollton, GA, USA

problem #53

Apr 062015


  • 93,700 miles


Driving on my way to an early lab appointment 645 am. When I got about 2 miles from destination doing 40 mph, when the check engine light came on. Followed by the ESC light, battery light, airbag light, seatbelt light blinking, and lights on dash dimming., when I stopped at the traffic light, the speed odometer still read 40. When light turned green, I went to step on gas, and car would hardly move, I was able to get off road safely. I turned car off, dead. I walked from where I left car, to appointment almost 2 miles each way.I am a heart patient[ have an artificial valve and a defibrillator\ and this episode upset me. I read today, that this happens to Hyundai Sonatas. When I got back to the vehicle, I arranged it to be towed to a mechanic. Is there a recall on this, if so we have never received one, this vehicle has been owned by us since 2009.

- Winter Haven, FL, USA

problem #52

Mar 102015


  • 65,248 miles
Under regular driving conditions the brake pedal would become so hard that they could not be pressed down, the speed would decline to 5 miles per hour and the car would start smoking. The ABS and ESC light would come and wouldn't go off until car is turned off. This S due to a faulty ABS hecu unit (hydraulic and electronic control unit) and the right front upper control arm. I contacted Hyundai who wouldn't pay the dealer to fix my 2006 Hyundai Sonata gls V6 with 65,263 miles. They advised that the isn't under warranty, however, the ABS hecu unit is faulty. This is a safety concern for myself and fellow drivers.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #51

Feb 112015


  • 111,907 miles
Oil leaked from valve cover onto alternator. Engine stalled and left me stranded on rural mountain road. Finally got towed home. Mechanic says it will cost nearly $1000 to replace valve cover gaskets and alternator. Car is 2006 Hyundai Sonata with 3.3L 6cyl engine. I believe that this is the same engine and same problem that prompted the recall on 2007 Hyundai veracruz NHTSA campaign number: 14V415000. The existing recall should be expanded to include more Hyundai vehicle models that exhibit the same problem.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #50

Sep 302014


  • 108,596 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 20 mph, the check engine indicator illuminated. In addition, while accelerating, the speedometer displayed various gears being shifted and there was a loud abnormal noise coming from the engine. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 108,596.

- Dunedin, FL, USA

problem #49

Jul 302014


  • 84,903 miles
The system warning lamps illuminated, then the engine shut off and would not restart. Evaluation showed that the alternator had failed and was covered with engine oil which had leaked from the front valve cover gasket onto the alternator. This failure is the same as NHTSA campaign number 14V415000, which covers another Hyundai vehicle.

- Potomac, MD, USA

problem #48

Dec 212009

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 57,301 miles
In 12/21/09 airbag system light kept coming on. Took it to the dealer. They stated chip related to air bag system under the passenger seat was broken and I was not covered under warranty. Invoice # [xxx] (dennis Hyundai of dublin) repairs estimated at $500 to $900. Called Hyundai with a complaint. The service manager then called we had a meeting. I paid $ $175.03 to replace the chip. They also repaired passenger seat per NHTSA recall 13V-354 (note the recall repair only worked for about a year). After the warranty expired I took the vehicle to both the dealer and local repair shops. The airbag light would come one and then sometimes when I stopped reset its self or the dealer/repair shop could reset the light. The electrical wiring system started to act up after the 60,000 mile warranty period expired. The ABS light comes on then goes off the radio will come in loud the get quiet. The constant however is the airbag system light. I had the seat belt (driver side) changed (twice) in 2011 as the first replacement in did not work. The airbag light was off for a short time and then came back on. It will not reset so the airbag light is always on. I have always felt this problem should be covered by Hyundai. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #47

Jun 262014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
Airbag light is on and the authorized service centre diagnosed that it is the driver seat belt problem hence need to replace the seat belt for around $500. When I searched on internet I found that this is the factory problem hence I think it should be company recalled and should be fix for free.

- Middletown, CT, USA

problem #46

Jul 012014


  • 54,000 miles


Air bag light stays on. Dealer unsure of cause. Suspects sensor in seatbelt. May prevent airbag from deployment.

- Clinton, MA, USA

problem #45

May 062013


  • 85,000 miles
Under normal driving, vehicle suddenly sputtered a bit and then the check engine light and electronic stability control light came on. The car then would barely move over 15-20 mph. We found out that these are the classic symptoms of a tps issue, for which Hyundai issued tsb 10-fl-010. We have had the vehicle at the dealership for all of the recommended repairs from that tsb twice with no resolution to the problem. My concern is that this problem occurs randomly and without warning. At least twice it has occurred on the interstate, and I felt we were lucky to get off to the side without another car running into us. I am extremely worried that the next time this happens we won't be as fortunate, and someone can be seriously hurt. This is also a very common issue with Hyundai. Frankly, I would not be surprised if someone has already been hurt because of this. I am also surprised Hyundai has not issued a recall or found a better solution to this problem. I believe this is a very serious problem and urgent safety issue. In fact, we would like to get rid of the car, but we cannot afford to buy another car, nor am I too keen on inflicting this problem on some other unsuspecting person thinking they are buying a good, reliable car. Please try to pressure Hyundai to come up with a better solution.

- Indian Land, SC, USA

problem #44

Feb 132014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Head lights dims, flickers, dashboard lights dims, radio shut off when slowing speed, sometimes brakes light come on.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #43

Jun 012012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
First of all the time and mileage are approximate. We experienced difficulty in turning off the parking/dashboard lights in our 2006 Hyundai Sonata. Flicking the stalk back and forth a few times would eventually turn them off. I asked my mechanic and called 2 local Hyundai dealers and all agreed the only solution is to replace the entire fuse/relay box. After consulting a few Hyundai forums I learned that this was a problem affecting some 2006 and 2007 hyundias and that owners were paying between $700 to $1200 to replace the faulty part. Many owners are upset that Hyundai does not issue a recall. On Monday, January 27, 2014 the stalk stopped working. A call to Hyundai North America not only resulted in no help in finding out which fuse would disable the lights but also assured me that Hyundai seems to expect the life of such parts to last just past the warranty expiration date. I decided to pull out the relay located under the dashboard which turned off the lights (among other things). The next day when my wife left work after inserting the relay back in, she couldn't get out of first gear and slowly things started to stop working such as the heated seat and the rear defogger. Once home, I disconnected the battery, waited a few minutes, reconnected the battery and road-tested the car. Everything worked normal; however, this is the only way to turn off the lights. On Sunday, February 2, 2014 I bought a battery quick-disconnect and wired the other end to the existing Hyundai positive battery cable. Now, while we wait weeks (possibly months) to have the money to get this part replaced, my wife will have to leave work and in a dark parking lot, reconnect the battery using this quick-disconnect tool. While the car sits at home and at her place of employment, it remains unlocked with no alarm, I can provide digital pictures of this along with other complaints about the car.

- Easton, PA, USA

problem #42

Dec 012013


  • 133,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 08V161000 (air bags). After the recall repair was performed, all of the instrument panel warning lights illuminated and the reading of the gauges fluctuated erratically. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was awaiting diagnosis of the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 133,000.

- El Mirage, AZ, USA

problem #41

Dec 022013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 137,600 miles
I only put 2 items but I have other campaigns in with same care but im driving the car and I loose power in car to everything like it was shut off at key then goes back on does it like 2 or 3 times a week I almost hit another car due to no power to brakes then car just goes right back on without touching anything other problems never heard back is the issue with a known problem with the gas tank leak due to the metal on top rusting and cracks plastic tank cause service engine light to stay on then the front suspension clunking since I bought it 2 yrs ago but dealership cant find nothing its the upper control arm my airbag light in driver cluster was on when I bought it dealer said they fixed it same day I bought it went for state inspect wouldn't pass the fuse was pulled so light stays off this car is a lemon they should repair or buy it back I put more in car in 2 years than what I paid for it so far and still needs more work.

- Coventry, RI, USA

problem #40

Dec 012013


  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, the headlights became extremely dim and limited the contact's visibility. The failure recurred whenever the headlights were activated. In addition, the heater and air conditioner fan failed to operate due to a short circuit. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 113,000.

- North Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #39

Nov 302011

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The dummy airbag light in my 2006 Sonata has been on for a few years. The last time I brought it in to service, in July 2012- I was told that my passenger seat may need to be sent out, but that I would also need 2 new seat belts. I was told the air bags wouldn't deploy if I was in an accident.the mechanic was able to turn the dummy light off but only for a day or two. This November 2013, the seat was sent out to ca under a recall notice I was sent by Hyundai, and I paid to have my seat belts replaced, but I feel the whole thing is related and should have been a recall. Everyone I have spoken to about it feels the same way. The seat belt replacement cost $350 per seat excluding tax. Hyundai has known of this problem (through my dealer) since July 2012 and the problem had been ongoing for months prior to me taking it in for servicing, not realizing it was a dangerous situation. I missed the 5 year 60K warranty probably by 10K miles or less. I would like to know how many other Sonata owners have had to replace their seat belts and whether or not we should be suing Hyundai to have them cover this "repair". I could get no statistics from Hyundai when I called them regarding how many people have complained about this problem. The explanation provided to me is that they are separate problems, not inter-related and that the seat belt issue is an electrical issue and the service center was given a code to diagnose the issue.

- Norwich, CT, USA

problem #38

Jul 242013


  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the key failed to turn after being placed in the ignition. The vehicle was dealer where it was found that the solenoid had failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage and VIN was unavailable.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #37

Jun 262013


  • 76,600 miles
I was driving my sisters car and noticed the headlights would dim and then come back on after a second.. I went to a gas station to get gas and a gentleman pulled in next to me saying he turned around to let me know my lights flickered dull to bright. He said a friend had the same problem in their Sonata and had it to dealer many times and no fix. He said they traded for a Honda. My sister loves this car and its paid for, but if this is a problem, is there a recall?

- Winter Haven, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?