Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
18 / 1
Average Mileage:
69,060 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Hyundai Sonata seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 3 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #259

Nov 012013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • miles


Air bag light is on due to pretensioner issue.

- Poland, ME, USA

problem #258

Jan 072015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Since purchasing my car new in 2006, I have had to have the passenger side seat belt buckle replaced twice. First on Oct 6, 2010, then on Oct 25, 2013. Both times it was related to the air bag light illuminating on the dashboard and staying on consistently. In 2010, I was told it was a faulty seat belt part. Hyundai replaced it under warranty. In 2013, I was again told it was an issue with the same seat belt part, and this time I was charged $164.31 for the replacement. This week, the air bag light came on again. I can only assume it's, once again, a faulty seat belt buckle. I called the dealership who did the previous repair (davis Hyundai in NJ) and they said it was only covered under warranty for 12 months.. so I would have to pay for the replacement again. I googled the issue and it seems to be under investigation by your group. It's clearly a safety issue.. I don't think I should have to pay to have it fixed again, and really I think Hyundai should reimburse me for the first repair. If they can't figure out how to make a seat belt buckle that functions properly, they have no business making cars. Any help would be hugely appreciated. I planned to go through the BBB as well, but wanted to add to the number of complaints filed. I have records of all previous repairs.

- East Windsor, NJ, USA

problem #257

Jan 022015


  • 121,452 miles
Air bag light on at driver side- Hyundai says it is caused by passenger side seat buckle. Dealer and Hyundai corporate office says this is not covered under NHTSA action number PE14023. Unless I am reading NHTSA action number PE14023 incorrectly I think it should be"?" concerned about driving now.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #256

Jan 012015


  • 106,000 miles


Air bag light on the dash illuminated. Brought it to a mechanic and they said it was a faulty sensor in the seat belt latch.

- Fargo, ND, USA

problem #255

Jan 042015


  • 118,000 miles
Seat belt light stays on all the time.

- Crown Point, IN, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #254

Dec 022014


  • 150,000 miles
My 2006 Hyundai Sonata air bag light illuminated on my dash. I took my car into the dealer on 12/9/15 and after a $120 diagnosis fee was told that I needed to replace the seat belt buckle and that the cost would be near $500. Unfortunately, I do not have the money to replace the part and was told that my air bags will not work. I have seen many more complaints about this same problem. This is a safety issue and there should be a recall for this issue!

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #253

Jul 152014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles


Dear sir or madam, my 2006 Sonata has being illuminated the air bag lamp. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the seat belt buckle needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but the vehicle was not repaired. Please investigate if will determine if 2006 Hyundai Sonata car should be recalled. Thanks, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Morgantown, WV, USA

problem #252

Dec 192014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 101,550 miles
The airbag light on the dashboard came on at approx. 101,550 miles and has remained on since. Mileage now at 102,049. Light remains on regardless on if there is a passenger seated or not. Please advise status on a recall for this defect which by all the readings complaints noted on line, is for sure an issue.

- Somers, CT, USA

problem #251

Mar 202014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 78,202 miles
At approximately 78,000 miles the airbag light on the dashboard came on. I took it to the dealer who found history code B1448 - OCS mat defective. The tech cleared the code and retested car and stated it is working as designed. Then at 83,000 miles the same light came on again. I took it back to the dealer who stated this time that there is a fault code set for the passengers side seatbelt latch. The latch side of the seatbelt needs to be replaced and it will cost $360. The tech also stated that the airbag system is disabled. There are numerous complaints from many Sonata owners regarding this same problem. There should be a recall as this is a major safety concern.

- Bourbonnais, IL, USA

problem #250

Dec 102014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
I notice the air bag light stays on. I took it to the Hyundai dealer with in a week to have it fixed they said I would have to pay to get it fix. They told me that it was something in the seat belt connection and it was electroanal or some kind of sensor to turn the light off. So I asked will the air bag still work if I was in a accident" they said no because its not making the right connection to turn off the light and activate the airbag. So that's the only car I have to go from home to work and back or for anything else. So what am I to do" thank you

- Clearwater , FL, USA

problem #249

Dec 102014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles


I started having issues with my air bag light coming on intermittently two years ago at about 55,000 miles. I brought it in to the dealer for a corrosion recall and spoke with them about the air bag light. They told me if it stays on solid then return and they will look into it for me. I probably could have had it repaired at that point had they looked into it further. So now light is on all the time, took it in today and it is "seat belt buckles" that is causing issue, repair is 700 dollars and need my car for at least 4-5 days. I am guessing it will take another class action law suit to have Hyundai stand behind their product again and issue recalls for it's customers. I called corporate and inquired about investigations into making this a recall but obviously didn't get anywhere. The service department informed me that the air bags do not work now at all. I saw many other similar complaints about this issue, Hyundai obviously does not have the satisfaction or the safety of their customers as a priority.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #248

Dec 012014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 86,123 miles
Driving along, and the airbag light illuminated. Dealer says drivers side seat belt buckle failed and now, airbag light remains illuminated, possible failure of airbags.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #247

Sep 092013


  • 60,000 miles
Air bag light stays on took to dealer said driver seat switch bad, possible seat belt buckle could be bad quoted over 500. Dollars to fix I can not afford to have fixed should be covered under warranty.

- Mechanicsburg, OH, USA

problem #246

Oct 102014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 143,000 miles
Suddenly, an warning sign for air bag appeared on the dash board. I was not comfortable to drive a car with air bag error sign. I brought my to my mechanic. It was diagnosed due to defective sensor in a buckle clip in a front passenger seat. Then, I brought my car into local dealer but they denied to repair in a warranty or recall. I heard that the same defect was not uncommon in Sonata around that year. If so, this defect should be covered by recall. I love my Sonata and Hyundai car!

- Clarksville, MD, USA

problem #245

Sep 292006


  • 9,442 miles
We noticed a crack starting in the passenger side dashboard where the airbag was located. The crash pad was replaced on 9/29/06 under warranty. A new crack started in 2010 which continued to expand & spread. On 10/12/11, we returned to the dealership and they verified the situation. However, we were told that because the vehicle was now "off warranty, " regardless that it was in the exact same location as the original problem, they could not re-address the issue unless we paid for the repair first & then could be considered under the "good will consideration policy". we strongly objected to this policy, but were told that nothing further could be done. It is now 12/4/14, and the crack has become so severe that air bag light has come on, creating a potential safety concern for the passenger. We know that we are not alone with this particular problem as we have personally spoken with other 2006 Sonata owners that have experienced this same issue.

- Oswego, NY, USA

problem #244

Nov 252014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased this vehicle not even a week ago and the air bag light came on Nov. 25,2014.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #243

Nov 112014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 124,000 miles
My vehicle lights for the ecs system, seat belt and airbag keeps illuminating. I took it to Hyundai here in jacksonville and was told that a diagnostic for $94, would need to be done to see why the ESC light is on. The air bag light will go off when the seat cushion is recalibrated but, something is wrong with my seat belts(both), so it will stay on and therefore the air bags will not deploy on impact, I pray that I don't get into any accidents till I find out what the problem is. Why aren't the seats belts part of the recall for the airbag system? they work inconjunction with each other.the ESC was suppose to have been fixed in 09 but here it is 2014 and the same thing is happening again, the same problem as before. I have to pull over turn the car off and wait a minute to restart it only to have the light come on again once I start to drive. What is wrong with this car, it is suppose to be safe.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #242

Feb 042013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
In 2013, my airbag light came on and would not go off. I learned that a recall had been issued so I took the car to the dealership. The front passenger's seat was removed and sent away for repair. However, after this repair was made, the air bag light came on again and would not go off. I took the car back to the dealership and was told that the seat belt pretension/buckle was defective and would need to be replaced at a cost to me of over $400. Since that time, I have done extensive research and have found that this is a very common problem with Hyundai Sonatas. As of yet, I understand that no recall has been issued but that this matter is under investigation. This is a serious safety concern as the air bags may not deploy in an accident. I was specifically told this at the dealership. I urge you to take action and issue a recall on this. I, like most others in this situation, cannot afford to spend $400+ dollars to have this repaired. However, I also cannot in good conscience allow passengers to sit in the front seat knowing the air bags may not deploy. Of course, I also am concerned for my own safety as a driver and the air bag on the driver's side as well. It seems as though Hyundai knows that this is a problem, but obviously, unless the NHTSA issues a recall, no action will be taken and those of us in this situation will continue to put ourselves and our passengers at risk. Thank you for your attention to this serious matter!

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #241

Nov 112014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • miles
There is a recall on my 2006 Hyundai Sonata for issue code: B1448 which means OCS mat defect and this made my dash air bag illuminate at times, meaning the airbag wouldn't have deployed in case of an accident. Fortunately, the Hyundai dealership shop did not charge me to replace the passenger seat since it is a recall. However, before they began to process the B1448 fix, another "safety" issue code came up on their diagnostic test saying "seat belt buckle pretensioner: Driver resistance is too high" and the dealership told me that this is also causing the air bag light to illuminate, thus the airbag may not deploy. Since my car warranty has expired and there is no safety recall on this specific issue, I have to pay a big bill out of my own pocket to replace the buckle pretensioner. This is a safety issue and there should be a recall on this. No one should pay anything for a safety issue. Upon web researching there has been a good number of people that have the same issue but yet there is no recall yet.

- Pico Rivera, CA, USA

problem #240

Oct 012013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Around 70000 miles the air bag light on the cluster has came on and has remained there. The dealer said it may be the ground and like other I have not found any other information on the problem.

- Highland Hts., OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?