Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,827 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Hyundai Sonata seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #88

Dec 152015

Sonata

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was involved in a accident on December 15, 2015 the other driver cut across three lanes and into my car at mph 40. My vehicle was struck thrusting it into a small wall and pole. My seat belt unbuckled and the airbags did not deploy I think this is a manufacture defect.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #87

Feb 032016

Sonata

  • 120,000 miles
Sensor in passenger seat cushion not working properly and will cause the airbag and seat belt light to illuminate and also causes the airbag to not deploy upon impact. This is a problem that should be a recall issued from Hyundai as there are millions of people that have this same complaint.

- Waukegan, IL, USA

problem #86

May 152015

Sonata

  • 76,002 miles
In May 2015, I received a letter from Hyundai motors America concerning a defect in my 2006 Sonata's seat belt buckle assemblies (campaign txx2) causing the airbag light to illuminate. I took my vehicle to waco Hyundai located at 1501 w. loop 340, waco, tx 76712 on 5/14/15 for the campaign notice and other maintenance/repairs. Waco Hyundai failed to honor the campaign letter refusing to repair my Sonata based on the fact my Sonata had been previously wrecked. I purchased my Sonata a few years prior when it had about 10,000 miles on it knowing it had been wrecked at some point prior. It had 76,002 at the time I dropped it off for service. Waco Hyundai advised if I had a complaint to call Hyundai motors America which created case #7944327. It took Hyundai motors America over a month, but they too would not honor the campaign letter because my vehicle had been previously wrecked. My vehicle is currently registered, passes state inspection and is road worthy by all appearances and applicable standards, but neither waco Hyundai nor Hyundai motors America would honor their own campaign txx2 notice.

- Lorena, TX, USA

problem #85

Apr 272015

Sonata

  • 135,681 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In the mid of April, I received a extended warranty letter from Hyundai for my "air bag" light that has been on. It was for the air bag light due to resistance within the connector for the front seat belt buckle. On April 27, 2015 I scheduled my first appointment at savannah Hyundai. On invoice it stated: 135681 check and found history codes B1701 drivers seat buckle pretensioner resistance high B176 passenger seat buckle resistance clear codes no codes reset. I was told the problem was fixed. As I drove off the service lot, my air bag light went back on. On May 4, 2015, I went in for another diagnosis and was told that they needed my car to stay at the shop and they gave me a rental. They said they needed to send my seat off to be fixed. It was a few days that they had my car. On that invoice it stated: Check air bag system for codes B1701 and B1706 driver and passenger front seat belt buckle pretensioner resistance high found service bullentin 15be002 install tie strap on driver and passenger seat belt buckle pretensioner connectors.on June 22, 2015 I came in savannah Hyundai once again because my air bag light warning came back on. I was told that my warranty was already extended was no longer under warranty and I would have to pay out of pocket if I wanted to fix this problem with my car. Which I had the extended warranty and had no idea why they were fighting with me with this. Fix the safety issue! on invoice it was noted that the tsb for pretensioner connectors were already performed and that the vehicle needs passenger buckle pretensioner and the tsb does not mention any warranty covering the replacement, only the zip tie installation. I called corporate and on May 29, 2015, they ordered the passenger seat buckle pretensioner and supposedly they fixed the issue. Today is July, 15, 2015 and my air bag warning lamp is on once again. I am very disappointed.

- Guyton, GA, USA

problem #84

May 132015

Sonata

  • 197,347 miles
I wish to make a complaint on the safety operation of this car. Since it was bought new from sansone auto mall the air bag light has come on 4 times and now a 5th time in may of 2015. The air bag light on the instrument cluster always points to the seat belt buckle on the drivers seat. Every time we take it to Hyundai they have no concern of the issue even though we complain. They say there is nothing they can do except replace the seat belt buckle assembly. They will not warranty anything. Also talked with Hyundai and they have no concern either on this safety issue. We fear the safety of not just the drive but the passengers should an accident occur and they air bags don't deploy or the seat belts work correctly. The front passenger seat cushion also became defective which had to be repaired as well. Hyundai and their dealership is charging us and average of $350 each time for this issue which we believe is theirs. Apparently as we see it they have no concern for the safety of this model car series. We have to take it again for the same problem prior to motor vehicle inspection in July of 2015.

- Rahway, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #83

Jun 252014

Sonata

  • 74,377 miles
This is the second repair of buckle assy- front (first repair was performed in 2009). I paid for the second repair on 6/25/14 as the maintenance manager said it was a one-time recall and would not be covered under warranty. (part: 88840-0A000-qs) needed it done for safety so I paid; but, it bothered me that it was a recall and I had paid nearly $260. I called the dealership after the first of the year (2015) and after talking to a couple of people found there was an extended warranty that should cover the cost. After numerous calls, mailing invoice with check number, faxing same on 3/20/15, I got a phone call today requiring me to upload a file to a particular website. I called and went thru 2 more people, one of whom had my hard copy invoice document in hand, could not enter my personal info. (phone #, address, email address) and, was not in the dept. That handled the "campaign" refund; she transferred me to "sweetie" who still insisted I must create a jpg file of my invoice to post to the new website. (I am 62 but figured it out, others won't. I have doggedly pursued my refund but Hyundai is making it nearly impossible (which I told them). Today is 4/20/15. Waiting for next ridiculous requirement. Too many phone numbers and websites to list here. Also had valve cover oil leak repaired on 6/25/14 and based on a complaint seen on this site, I am waiting for a second occurrence. Installed 22453-3C110 gasket-rocker cover LH, replaced valve cover gasket. We can complain all day but nobody is streamlining the recall repair process. At least I finally discovered this website which I am saving to favorites.

- Carrollton, GA, USA

problem #82

Oct 012013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the air bag warning light continuously illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the seat belt buckle pretensioners needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 71,000. Updated 6/11/15 updated 6/18/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on 4/17/2015 at mileage 74,985. Updated 7/16/2015

- Sacrmento, CA, USA

problem #81

Mar 302015

Sonata

  • 118,000 miles
Seat belt assembly malfunction - car will not pass inspection due to air bag light on. Entire assembly must be replaced at a cost of almost $500.

- Mineral, VA, USA

problem #80

Jan 202015

Sonata

  • 56,000 miles
My 2006 Hyundai Sonata's air bag light stays on. I took it to dealership. They said the problem is due to faulty passenger seat belt tensioner. This matches the description stated in NHTSA action number: PE14023. This investigation was closed because Hyundai will extend the warranty to 15 years or 250K miles. My Hyundai dealership does not honor this warranty because they did not get notice from corporate. I called Hyundai customer connect center 1-855-671-3059 with this issue and provided the NHTSA case number. I talked to a agent and his supervisor and his supervisor. Neither acknowledge the existence of this NHTSA action number: PE14023. They said I had to repair this on my own cost. I am surprised to hear that Hyundai just ignores the authority of NHTSA especially on the airbag issue. I have recorded the phone conversation with both supervisors for reference.

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #79

Dec 012014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Seat belt tensioner causing air bag safety problem.

- Wilmington, MA, USA

problem #78

Jan 072015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since purchasing my car new in 2006, I have had to have the passenger side seat belt buckle replaced twice. First on Oct 6, 2010, then on Oct 25, 2013. Both times it was related to the air bag light illuminating on the dashboard and staying on consistently. In 2010, I was told it was a faulty seat belt part. Hyundai replaced it under warranty. In 2013, I was again told it was an issue with the same seat belt part, and this time I was charged $164.31 for the replacement. This week, the air bag light came on again. I can only assume it's, once again, a faulty seat belt buckle. I called the dealership who did the previous repair (davis Hyundai in NJ) and they said it was only covered under warranty for 12 months.. so I would have to pay for the replacement again. I googled the issue and it seems to be under investigation by your group. It's clearly a safety issue.. I don't think I should have to pay to have it fixed again, and really I think Hyundai should reimburse me for the first repair. If they can't figure out how to make a seat belt buckle that functions properly, they have no business making cars. Any help would be hugely appreciated. I planned to go through the BBB as well, but wanted to add to the number of complaints filed. I have records of all previous repairs.

- East Windsor, NJ, USA

problem #77

Jan 022015

Sonata

  • 121,452 miles
Air bag light on at driver side- Hyundai says it is caused by passenger side seat buckle. Dealer and Hyundai corporate office says this is not covered under NHTSA action number PE14023. Unless I am reading NHTSA action number PE14023 incorrectly I think it should be"?" concerned about driving now.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #76

Jan 012015

Sonata

  • 106,000 miles
Air bag light on the dash illuminated. Brought it to a mechanic and they said it was a faulty sensor in the seat belt latch.

- Fargo, ND, USA

problem #75

Jul 152014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Dear sir or madam, my 2006 Sonata has being illuminated the air bag lamp. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the seat belt buckle needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but the vehicle was not repaired. Please investigate if will determine if 2006 Hyundai Sonata car should be recalled. Thanks, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Morgantown, WV, USA

problem #74

Dec 102014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I started having issues with my air bag light coming on intermittently two years ago at about 55,000 miles. I brought it in to the dealer for a corrosion recall and spoke with them about the air bag light. They told me if it stays on solid then return and they will look into it for me. I probably could have had it repaired at that point had they looked into it further. So now light is on all the time, took it in today and it is "seat belt buckles" that is causing issue, repair is 700 dollars and need my car for at least 4-5 days. I am guessing it will take another class action law suit to have Hyundai stand behind their product again and issue recalls for it's customers. I called corporate and inquired about investigations into making this a recall but obviously didn't get anywhere. The service department informed me that the air bags do not work now at all. I saw many other similar complaints about this issue, Hyundai obviously does not have the satisfaction or the safety of their customers as a priority.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #73

Dec 012014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 86,123 miles
Driving along, and the airbag light illuminated. Dealer says drivers side seat belt buckle failed and now, airbag light remains illuminated, possible failure of airbags.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #72

Nov 112014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 124,000 miles
My vehicle lights for the ecs system, seat belt and airbag keeps illuminating. I took it to Hyundai here in jacksonville and was told that a diagnostic for $94, would need to be done to see why the ESC light is on. The air bag light will go off when the seat cushion is recalibrated but, something is wrong with my seat belts(both), so it will stay on and therefore the air bags will not deploy on impact, I pray that I don't get into any accidents till I find out what the problem is. Why aren't the seats belts part of the recall for the airbag system? they work inconjunction with each other.the ESC was suppose to have been fixed in 09 but here it is 2014 and the same thing is happening again, the same problem as before. I have to pull over turn the car off and wait a minute to restart it only to have the light come on again once I start to drive. What is wrong with this car, it is suppose to be safe.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #71

Feb 042013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
In 2013, my airbag light came on and would not go off. I learned that a recall had been issued so I took the car to the dealership. The front passenger's seat was removed and sent away for repair. However, after this repair was made, the air bag light came on again and would not go off. I took the car back to the dealership and was told that the seat belt pretension/buckle was defective and would need to be replaced at a cost to me of over $400. Since that time, I have done extensive research and have found that this is a very common problem with Hyundai Sonatas. As of yet, I understand that no recall has been issued but that this matter is under investigation. This is a serious safety concern as the air bags may not deploy in an accident. I was specifically told this at the dealership. I urge you to take action and issue a recall on this. I, like most others in this situation, cannot afford to spend $400+ dollars to have this repaired. However, I also cannot in good conscience allow passengers to sit in the front seat knowing the air bags may not deploy. Of course, I also am concerned for my own safety as a driver and the air bag on the driver's side as well. It seems as though Hyundai knows that this is a problem, but obviously, unless the NHTSA issues a recall, no action will be taken and those of us in this situation will continue to put ourselves and our passengers at risk. Thank you for your attention to this serious matter!

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #70

Nov 112014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • miles
There is a recall on my 2006 Hyundai Sonata for issue code: B1448 which means OCS mat defect and this made my dash air bag illuminate at times, meaning the airbag wouldn't have deployed in case of an accident. Fortunately, the Hyundai dealership shop did not charge me to replace the passenger seat since it is a recall. However, before they began to process the B1448 fix, another "safety" issue code came up on their diagnostic test saying "seat belt buckle pretensioner: Driver resistance is too high" and the dealership told me that this is also causing the air bag light to illuminate, thus the airbag may not deploy. Since my car warranty has expired and there is no safety recall on this specific issue, I have to pay a big bill out of my own pocket to replace the buckle pretensioner. This is a safety issue and there should be a recall on this. No one should pay anything for a safety issue. Upon web researching there has been a good number of people that have the same issue but yet there is no recall yet.

- Pico Rivera, CA, USA

problem #69

Oct 012013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Around 70000 miles the air bag light on the cluster has came on and has remained there. The dealer said it may be the ground and like other I have not found any other information on the problem.

- Highland Hts., OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?