Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,813 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Hyundai Sonata brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #58

Mar 022014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles


During a snow storm, I was attempting to make a stop. My brakes would not engage (as if something was keeping the brake shoes from engaging onto the wheel). There also was a loud clatter. I disengaged my electronic stability control and was only then able to apply the brakes. Today I took my vehicle in for service and was told that the stop switch needed to be replaced. I saw Hyundai had a recall NHTSA campaign #: 09V-122 which was published April 15, 2009.. according to my VIN history, my stop lamp switch had been previously replaced on 4/4/09 by malone Hyundai. I contacted Hyundai corporation and asked if perhaps my stop switch, since being replaced before the recall, might have been replaced with also a defective stop switch. The case manager told me that the 5 year, 60,000 mile warranty on parts was 5 years, 60,000 miles from the time the vehicle was first driven new off the lot and Hyundai would not replace my defective stop switch unless I took the vehicle to a certified Hyundai dealership and they could certify that my switch was installed incorrectly. On, you have several documents published related to this recall. In the document entitled "owner notification letter", page 2 which is a notification to Hyundai dealership & service managers dated 6/24/2009, paragraph 5 says: "all Hyundai dealers will be shipped a supply of stop lamp switches..." which implies all existing stock of these switches were potentially defective! your assistance is greatly appreciated in getting Hyundai to take responsibility for this defect!

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #57

Mar 092012


  • 81,822 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA recall campaign id number:09V122000(service brakes:hydraulic:switches: Brake light) on August 19, 2009 however, the contact experienced a brake failure 40,000 miles later. The manufacturer was contacted but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 81,822 and the current mileage was 82,000.

- Single Mountain , TN, USA

problem #56

Apr 072010


  • 17,237 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated during a routine maintenance performed on the vehicle she was notified that the rotors were corroded and needed to be replaced. The contact stated she had to replace the rotors previously. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 17,237 and current mileage was 28,900.

- Yonkers , NY, USA

problem #55

May 032011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 56,227 miles


Right rear outer brake pad seized in the pad holder, grinding the rotor. Dealer repaired the brakes and charged me $ $400 even though the vehicle was still under warranty and should have been repaired free of charge. The front pads were only 50% worn and they do most of the stopping. Now Hyundai dealer says that the Hyundai Sonata vehicle should have rear brakes cleaned and lubricated every 15,000 to 20,000 miles at my expense, to prevent "lock up". Hyundai does not mention this type of maintenance anywhere in it's maintenance schedule. After checking on the web, I find that this is a common safety problem among Hyundai owners who are being ripped off by Hyundai who refuses to repair this defect under warranty or recall the faulty brake calipers. I live in a rural area and mileage is 90% highway, so there is minimal usage of the brake compared to city dwellers, yet the brakes failed prematurely.

- Campus, IL, USA

problem #54

May 212011


  • 57,990 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact heard an unusual noise when he applied pressure to the brakes. He took the vehicle to the dealer for diagnosis where he was informed that the rear brakes were completely depleted and the rotors were in poor condition. They replaced the rotors as well as the brakes. The manufacturer was not notified. The current mileage was 62,000. The approximate failure mileage was 57,990.

- Matthews , NC, USA

problem #53

Aug 202011


  • 25,710 miles
Left rear brake lining failed causing loud noise when I braked. Also brakes took longer to stop. Had I been going faster it may have caused an accident. Hyundai has a problem with the rear calipers seizing up and not releasing thereby wearing the brake pads out in several miles and causing the rear brakes to fail. I also had this same failure at 12,000 miles and Hyundai replaced the pads and the said calipers were ok. Hyundai said this problem occurs in areas were they use a high concentration of chemicals on the road in wintertime. All other manufacturers don't seem to have this problem, my opinion is there is a design defect in the calipers Hyundai uses and the problem should be investigated and fixed before someone gets killed or injured due to a rear wheel brake failure.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #52

Jun 102011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 17,000 miles


Passenger side rear brake caliper frozen causing metal on metal contact and premature failure and replacement of rear pads and right rear rotor. Front pads were hardly worn. Car mileage at 17,000 miles with normal driving conditions.

- Hauppauge, NY, USA

problem #51

Jun 142011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
My 2007 Hyundai Sonata gls has defective rear brakes. I purchased the car in March 2008 and at 15,000 miles the brakes started squealing. I took the car in to the dealer in September 2009 and was told the rear pads were frozen which was causing the squealing. The dealer cleaned and adjusted the rear breaks. In June 2011, when stopping at a red light, the rear brakes suddenly started to stick and make noise as if metal was rubbing on metal. This really concerned me since I had my family with two children in the car. This happened with the car having 36,000 miles on it. I went on-line and googled to see if anyone else had this type of experience. I noted hundreds of similar complaints. Car experts mentioned this is an engineering design fault, which Hyundai has failed to responsibility for. I called the dealership to schedule an inspection and asked the service representative if they had encountered similar issues with other customers. He said he was not aware of this brake issue. I had a hard time believing him since this issue appears to be a common occurrence with many Hyundai Sonata gls owners. Could this be a Hyundai money earning scam? Hyundai needs to recall these cars due to the serious safety issues due to the faulty rear brake design! safety! safety! safety! I hope something gets done!

- Rocky River, OH, USA

problem #50

Jan 012007


  • 5 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated the headlights did not illuminate brightly and caused a decrease in visibility. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the headlights were adjusted. The repair did not remedy the failure. The contact was also informed that the vehicle was not included in either related recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 08E021000 (exterior lighting:headlights) or 09E012000 (exterior lighting). The contact also stated that the air bag light intermittently illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the air bag light trouble code was cleared. The contact was then informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 08V161000 (air bags). The failure recurred and in addition, the contact stated that the anti-lock brake light intermittently illuminated on the instrument panel. The failure mileage was 5 and the current mileage was 48,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #49

Nov 242010


  • 25,728 miles
While operating my 2007 Hyundai Sonata, I experienced sudden unintended acceleration (sua) which resulted in an accident of moderate property damage and no injuries. I had pulled to a curbside to park, and had stopped approximately 8 feet behind a large SUV. As I began to raise my foot off the gas pedal, the engine started to accelerate. I applied the brakes which initially began to hold the car which was starting to move forward, but as the acceleration increased, the brakes became unable to hold the car, and it lurched forward and struck the unoccupied SUV. Even though my car only accelerated and traveled 8 feet, the impact was strong enough to cause $6000 worth of damage (actual allowance by insurance company). I've since found out that the hydraulic breaking system and the electronic throttling system are inversely connected to the vacuum generated by the car's engine which means that braking power decreases as throttle increases. Cause of the sua has not been determined. After I got the car repaired, I took it to Hyundai and they were very conciliatory but after checking it for an hour, state that they were unable to recreate the condition and that they did a complete safety check and scanned all the electronic systems to no avail. I had never experienced this condition in the past in this vehicle, however, I had experienced it 3 times in my wife's 2003 Hyundai sante fe. In those situations, there was not anything directly in front of me, and I was able to shift into neutral and regain control of the vehicle.

- Islip, NY, USA

problem #48

Mar 142010


  • 85,000 miles


Every time the brake pedal is pressed the car seems to power down. The headlights dim, dash lights dim, fan slows, and inside car lights dim. This happens everytime it's pressed. The lights seem to dim more if you are driving at a faster pace and press harder on the brakes verse driving slowly and easing onto the brake pedal. The battery has been replaced and checked over several times for any sort of defect. Also the alternator has been replaced recently and checked over for any defects. These were replaced because they were thought to be the problem but the problem still occurs everyday everytime the brake pedal is pressed.

- Wild Rose, WI, USA

problem #47

Oct 142010


  • 64,000 miles
Rear brake pads are prematurely worn out on 2007 Hyundai Sonata gls compared to front brake pads. Rear brake pads essentially went to 99% worn out in matter of 4 months while front brake pads were minimally worn during this time period and are still around 50%. internet discussion boards are full of this type of events with this car model's rear brake system suddenly wearing out brake pads. This is a huge safety issue that Hyundai refuses to do a recall on.

- Murphy, TX, USA

problem #46

Oct 062010


  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact heard a noise at the front end of the vehicle while braking, but thought it would be temporary because the vehicle was new. However on October 6, 2010, he heard a loud metal grinding noise. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The manufacturer had not been notified. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000 and the current mileage was approximately 23,000.

- Wyckoff, NJ, USA

problem #45

Aug 192010


  • 35,000 miles
Frozen rear calipers causing brake failure and near accident. Required action - new calipers, rotors, pads.

- Stratham, NH, USA

problem #44

Aug 102010


  • 42,193 miles
Intermittent rear brake noise on 2007 Hyundai Sonata for over 1year. Twice inspected at dealers shop, no problem found and all disc brake pads within specs. I noticed recently at 42,000 miles that the passenger side steel rear wheel was getting extremely hot due to rear brakes overheating. My dealer stated that pass. Side rear brake pad had worn down almost completely due to "brake pad slides sticking on calipers". new set of rear brakes were installed at cost of $240. My dealer and Hyundai corporation both stated that repair work would not be covered under warranty! I feel this is a safety issue not only because of rear brake pad premature failure but the unknown effect on the rear wheel bearings due to overheating of brakes/wheel.

- Stevensville, MI, USA

problem #43

Aug 012008


  • miles
Under normal driving conditions, right rear brake pad and rotor fail.

- Bedford, NH, USA

problem #42

Jul 252010


  • 36,000 miles
Started hearing noise from rear brakes. Found left rear outside pad was worn to the metal and ruined the rotor. All remaining pads have 50% or better remaining on the linings. The worn pad was stuck tight to the anti rattle clip. I replaced the rear pads, clips and left side rotor.

- New Berlin, WI, USA

problem #41

Dec 262009


  • 24,200 miles
Rear brake pads on 2007 Hyundai Sonata had to be replaced with less then 25,000 miles on car while the front brake pads still looked brand new.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #40

Sep 182009


  • 34,000 miles
During dealer inspection, rear brake on passenger side of 2007 Hyundai Sonata was found to be worn down asymmetrically - on one side completely - due to stuck brake caliper. This was at 34,000 miles.

- Plymouth, MA, USA

problem #39

Apr 302010


  • miles
Extreme brake wear on Hyundai Sonata 2007. I had to replace brakes and rotors in 2008 and now I have to replace the brakes again. This is unusually high wear especially for a new vehicle that has been drive mainly on the highway.

- Arlington, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?