Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,702 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Hyundai Sonata engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments

problem #12

Aug 132014

Sonata

  • 93,412 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We were driving highway speed when all of a sudden the cars check engine light, ESC light came on while in the middle of traffic and the motor completely shut off causing no steering or any control of the vehicle, was able to coast to the side of the road and tried restarting the car with no luck. Called the dealership immediately and they stated it had done that to the previous owner but was not warranted to be fixed, but yet we only purchased this car 6 months ago. Sat on the side of the road trying to figure out what to do, when the tow truck came by and scanned in which I got the following codes: P2106, P1295, P2135. Its a sensor on the accelerator pedal and causes the car to shut off immediately because it cant respond to the throttle body. This is very dangerous as we could have been rearended and seriously injured. Please contact asap!!!!!!

- Newport, NC, USA

problem #11

Nov 182013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
ESC off light comes on periodically; cruise control not working. Stop lamp switch replaced in 2010 but problem persists. Dealer wants to charge fee to diagnose problem and additional charges to repair. Should have part of recall.

- Washington Dc, DC, USA

problem #10

Oct 092013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Case no. [xxx] I purchased my 2007 Sonata from the denville, NJ dealership in May 2007. With only 38,000 miles on odometer I had the scare of my life¿¦.driving on the highway, the engine died, and I lost all power. The ¿¿check engine¿ light came on. Thankfully, I was able to pull to the shoulder of the road and safely stop the car. After 2 minutes I tried to restart the car. It started and I drove it home with the check engine light still on. I checked that all fluids were ok. Next day driving to work, coming down a long grade, car engine died and again I was fortunate that I did not get into an accident. I brought my car to a aaa service station and reported the problem. They checked and informed me that the problem is due to the throttle position sensor, (tps) which they found a tech service bulletin describing the symptoms and condition. They gave me a copy of said bulletin. They noted that even if they installed the part, I would have to have a Hyundai dealer perform ECU software update. Therefore, I brought the car to the dealer and had them make the repair. I expected that this would be a ¿¿recall¿ by Hyundai, as failure of this part could be life threatening, as it was in my case. They said they could not honor any warranty service and I was charged $252.24. I requested and received the replaced part.. I am rasked Hyundai motors of America to show good faith to a loyal customer, by reimbursing me for the costs associated with this known failing part.. their response:" Tsb are not recalls. Dealers are made aware of these and are asked to perform them on affected vehicles when they come in for other service. I vehicle outside of warranty, then the repair is an out of pocket cost to customer. They apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused." They refused to reimburse me saying this part was not a recall. How outrageous of them!

- Livngston, NJ, USA

problem #9

Feb 112012

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while exiting a driveway, the vehicle accelerated independently to 45 mph. The failure occurred without warning. The contact attempted to brake but the vehicle failed to respond. As a result, the contact crashed against a tree. The air bags deployed and the vehicle was destroyed. The contact sustained a fractured and dislocated femur. A police report was filed. The vehicle was inspected by the insurance company, however the cause of the failure was not determined. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileage was unknown.

- Center Point , TX, USA

problem #8

Feb 192013

Sonata

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while attempting to park, the vehicle accelerated independently. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 51,000.

- Merrillville, IN, USA

problem #7

Apr 142012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 78,060 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact was driving 5 mph when the brakes were depressed and the vehicle accelerated unexpectedly, crashing into a wall. The crash caused the air bags to deploy. The contact and passenger suffered injuries to their chest areas as a result of the crash. The police were notified and a report was on file. The vehicle was then towed to a local repair shop. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 78,060. Updated 06/05/12 updated 06/06/12 the consumer stated as the brake was applied to enter a parking space, the vehicle suddenly accelerated, and went over a curb, three feet of lawn and hit a stone wall. The vehicle was not repaired and deemed totaled. Updated 06/19/12

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #6

Nov 242010

Sonata

  • 25,728 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While operating my 2007 Hyundai Sonata, I experienced sudden unintended acceleration (sua) which resulted in an accident of moderate property damage and no injuries. I had pulled to a curbside to park, and had stopped approximately 8 feet behind a large SUV. As I began to raise my foot off the gas pedal, the engine started to accelerate. I applied the brakes which initially began to hold the car which was starting to move forward, but as the acceleration increased, the brakes became unable to hold the car, and it lurched forward and struck the unoccupied SUV. Even though my car only accelerated and traveled 8 feet, the impact was strong enough to cause $6000 worth of damage (actual allowance by insurance company). I've since found out that the hydraulic breaking system and the electronic throttling system are inversely connected to the vacuum generated by the car's engine which means that braking power decreases as throttle increases. Cause of the sua has not been determined. After I got the car repaired, I took it to Hyundai and they were very conciliatory but after checking it for an hour, state that they were unable to recreate the condition and that they did a complete safety check and scanned all the electronic systems to no avail. I had never experienced this condition in the past in this vehicle, however, I had experienced it 3 times in my wife's 2003 Hyundai sante fe. In those situations, there was not anything directly in front of me, and I was able to shift into neutral and regain control of the vehicle.

- Islip, NY, USA

problem #5

Nov 192010

Sonata

  • 42,538 miles
Uncontrolled acceleration incident report incident occurred at 5:05 pm Friday November 19, 2010 vehicle: 2007 Hyundai Sonata from about 50 mph, I changed lanes and accelerated into the lane's traffic by pressing the gas pedal as far as it would go. When I partially let up on the gas pedal, the car kept accelerating, with the engine roaring, and I fought it with the brake. I put it into neutral and the engine roared still more loudly, so I put it back into drive and used the brake more while the engine roared at its previous rate, which I saw on the tachometer was about 3000 RPM. Then after around five seconds more I put it in neutral again; this time it died down to normal RPM, and I coasted to a stop. After about twenty seconds I put it back into drive, and it was fine. At first I wondered whether the accelerator had gotten caught on the store-bought floor mat, so when I got home I experimented with it, never having moved the mat from its position during the incident. I could indeed cause the lower end of the accelerator to go under the forward edge of the mat, but the mat was not attached to the floor and was too light to prevent the accelerator from coming back up immediately. When I did the same mat experiment on November 22 in the presence of the local Hyundai service manager, she agreed that it is very unlikely that the mat was the problem. She had her technician check the car electronically, but no codes came up to indicate a problem. The service department then did a ¿premium fuel service fuel injector / throttle body service¿ and a ¿complete 27 point inspection¿.

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #4

May 072010

Sonata

  • 106,950 miles
Upon startup, the check engine light illuminated. Car was put into gear, but accelerator pedal had no effect; car was in "limp" mode. Turned car off and restarted several times before it went back to "normal" mode. Check engine light turned off. Took to dealership and was informed that this was their number one problem/complaint. Service manager at tuscaloosa Hyundai said they replace the $500+ throttle positioning sensor on 4-5 cars per week. He said Hyundai wouldn't issue a recall until someone got hurt. I called Hyundai customer service to complain that this sounds like a major problem that should warrant a recall. Agent claimed there were no problems; that mine was an isolated incident. Called manager back, and he said that a Hyundai representative had talked to him about the wide-spread problem. I believe that Hyundai should pay for this repair, as it seems it is widespread, and perhaps being covered up or hidden.

- Tuscaloosa, AL, USA

problem #3

Apr 122008

Sonata

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated while sitting idle at a traffic stop behind a truck, there was an unusual increase in engine rpms. The vehicle suddenly accelerated into the rear of the truck. The vehicle was towed to the dealer yet the dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The dealer also advised that if the failure were to occur again, that the contact should put the vehicle into neutral to stop the unintended acceleration. The failure occurred again and the contact was able to stop the acceleration by following the dealer's advice. The failure mileage was 2,000 and the current mileage was 13,000.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #2

Aug 142008

Sonata

  • 29,776 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 65 mph on normal road conditions. There was pressure applied to the accelerator, pedal, followed by a slow power response. The warning light indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The driver pulled over to the side of the road and the engine was turned off. The vehicle restarted and he resumed normal operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on three separate occasions for identical failures. The failures were contributed to the throttle position sensor. The vehicle was repaired for the malfunctions. The failure mileage was 29,776.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #1

Jan 062010

Sonata

  • 69,954 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. The contact was parking the vehicle in his garage when he applied pressure to the brake pedal, followed by an unintended aggressive and forceful acceleration. The engine revved excessively and the RPM's rapidly increased. He immediately forced the gear shift into the "park position"; however, the vehicle lunged forward and crashed into the garage wall. There were no personal injuries or damage to the vehicle. The cause of failure has not been determined. The failure and current mileages were 69,954. The VIN was rejected from the system which will be updated upon receipt of the complaint form. Updated 3/8/10 the consumers husband was driving the vehicle up the driveway, when it began to accelerate on its own. He had the brake to the floor, but the vehicle would not stop. He threw the gear into park and the vehicle still did not stop. The consumer hit the garage wall which ultimately stopped the vehicle. Updated 06/18/10.

- Wheeling , WV, USA

Not what you are looking for?