Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,036 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Hyundai Sonata brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Aug 012015

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had to replace brakes twice. After reading 200 complaints online, I have discovered it is an ongoing problem with all Sonatas. The new brakes have to be ground down to fit the Sonata.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #41

Feb 292016

Sonata

  • 90,000 miles
The rear brake calipers appear to be defective in that a high percentage seem to fail. This is the second caliper that has required repair/replacement, which necessarily also requires replacement of brake pads and rotors. It appears that the calipers stick in the extended position causing (in the best case) the rapid wear of the rotors and calipers, and (in the worst case) a heat build up, and a failure of the brakes. Internet blogs indicate that this is not just a problem with my vehicle but is systemic with Hyundai Sonatas, and particularly 2009 and later. I will note that Hyundai had a brake recall regarding calipers for Sonatas between 2011 and 2014, but that it did not extend to the 2009 Sonatas.

- Kensington, MD, USA

problem #40

Feb 162016

Sonata

  • 65,000 miles
In February of 2015, less than 2 months after I purchased this vehicle used, I noticed the left rear tire was screeching when in motion like a belt in the engine would. I took it to a Hyundai dealership where they made me aware that the caliper had locked up and needed to be completely replaced & repaired along with a brand new rotor. I figured this was just a one time issue, until just this month (February of 2016) less than a year after repairing the caliper and brake system in the left rear tire, a strong burning smell was appearing periodically from the right rear tire after any drive. Took the car to the same Hyundai dealership who made me aware that the caliper was now locked up in the right rear tire and needed to be completely replaced and repaired. In both circumstances I was told that the vehicle was absolutely unsafe to drive off their lot and had to get a rental car to leave the car for repairs. I did my research... apparently this same make/model/year has given lots of people the same issues.. but no recall has been made. This is incredibly dangerous and in both circumstances I was driving the car with my car seat aged toddler in the back seat. Please help me get to the bottom of this!!

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #39

Feb 152016

Sonata

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a major problem with my brakes. While driving they will suddenly go out. I have to press the pedal almost to the floor to try and stop the car. My car was repaired in September 2015, November 2015, December 2015 and my brakes went out again on yesterday, February 15, 2016 while on the highway. This is a serious problem and could end up being a deadly problem.

- Galveston, TX, USA

problem #38

Dec 242015

Sonata

  • 114,400 miles
The car has had four rear caliper failures. These caliper failures have also consumed three sets of rear brake pads and two sets of rear rotors. The failure appears to be an excessive wear/slow to release condition that creates an overheating of the brake system, which has symptoms of a burning smell from the brakes and the rim of each wheel being far too hot to touch. Once we noticed the most recent failure, we noticed that the burning smell can start within about 1/2 mile drive.

- Plymouth, MN, USA

problem #37

Oct 042015

Sonata

  • miles
ESC light on does not goes when using ESC button

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #36

May 162015

Sonata

  • 36,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Hello, 2009 Sonata: The ESC off light comes on. If I shut the car off and re start, the dash light goes out sometimes; may return the next time I start the car. I heard that this is a common manufacture defect. Thank you.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #35

Jul 012014

Sonata

  • 68,000 miles
On July 1, 2014 the rear caliper on the driver's side of my car had seized, stripping the brakes to metal on metal. On August 30, 2014, the rear caliper on the passenger side of the car followed suit. Less than one year later I have replaced each of the rear calipers once again. I had the rear driver's side repaired on May 15, 2015, and the rear passenger side on June 9, 2015. I bought the car with just over 53,000 miles on it in 2013. Today, it has 101,000 miles on it and I have replaced four calipers, three rotors and five sets of brake pads. Each time my calipers failed I was placed in danger of total brake failure and fire, unknowingly. The mechanics who worked on my car have individually theorized that an engineering failure is the cause of this issue. Last week I contacted Hyundai for financial reimbursement for the repairs. The company stated that they could not reimburse me since the parts were not replaced with Hyundai factory parts, or repaired by a Hyundai certified dealership. I am aware that there was a class action lawsuit against Hyundai based on this issue in the state of New York. I have also read, and heard about many other people having this exact problem (rear caliper problem) in their Hyundai Sonatas, built between the years 2006-2010.

- Pequot Lakes, MN, USA

problem #34

Mar 172010

Sonata

  • 2,200 miles
Returned car to dealer 16 months after purchase due to grinding noise from wheels. Brake calipers had locked up, destroying pads and scoring the rotors. Brakes serviced again in 2012 and 2013 for worn pads and grinding noise. Brakes failed again in June 2014 requiring new pads and rotors, front and rear. Returned car to dealer due to a burning smell in December 2014. Found right rear caliper had seized. Replaced caliper and pad. Again burning smell in January 2015. Dealer found left rear caliper had seized. Replaced caliper, pads, and rotor. Contacted Hyundai motor America who states this is normal. Also state that design defects are not covered under Hyundai warranty.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #33

Jan 242015

Sonata

  • 31,000 miles
There is a serious problem with the rear brakes on this car and the dealer charged me $550 to fix a problem that should have been covered by a recall as with some of the other Sonata brake problems.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #32

Dec 252014

Sonata

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2009 Hyundai Sonata with about 46K miles had brakes begin screeching with a metal-on-metal sound when braking. In fact, the sound continued when accelerating after completing a stop. On Friday 12/26/14, the car repair shop replaced the pads and rotors. The next day, the brakes were quiet but overheated to such an extreme that there was a strong burning smell and the wheel could not be touched for fear of burning your hand. Returning to the car repair shop, one of the new rotors was completely black from the extreme heat. The pads, rotor, and calipers required completely replacing - even the new ones just purchased. This is a safety issue that Hyundai needs to take responsibility for, issue recalls, and pay for my repairs.

- Mchenry, IL, USA

problem #31

Nov 052014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 76,355 miles
I have owned this car for the past 50000 miles and have replaced the left rear caliper 4 times, right rear caliper 2 times. The rear calipers have a problem of sticking cause the rear brake pads to prematurely wear out. It appears that the protective rubber boot will pinch on the caliper and prevent it from releasing, Hyundai states this is normal. I have gone through also 4 sets of pads in the rear, and none in the front. As usual the car dealer admits to nothing, and will do nothing to help.

- Bridgton, ME, USA

problem #30

Jan 112014

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 47,780 miles
In January, when driving our 2009 Hyundai Sonata, the rear right brakes made noise and were causing noise and excessive heat to come from brake area, where the wheel was too hot to touch and a smell of hot rubber could be made. When taken into the dealer for repair, the technician stated "found the rear brakes down to metal on metal. Causing the concern. Technician replaced the rear brake pads and right rear rotor." Seven months later in August, the same noise, smell and excessive heat happened again. Per the dealer "verified customer concern, technician replaced the right rear brake caliper as needed. Installed replacement pads, ..." we were fortunate not to be in any accident with these poor brakes. The dealer made us pay for both sets of repairs. This is a manufacturer defect, and should be a no charge repair.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #29

Jan 102014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
I had my car towed to the dealership in January after my brakes failed on the way to work. By putting the brake pedal all the way to the floor I was able to stop the car. The dealership told me it was the right rear caliper that had seized. They repaired that caliper, but I expressed my concern for the left rear caliper being damaged and was told that it was "fine." Well a few months later, my left rear caliper has seized and I had it towed to the dealership. They tell me that it is no longer under warranty. I told them that this is a known issue and that I expressed my concern about the left rear caliper in January. They tell me that it is up to Hyundai to decide whether it will be covered or not. This is ridiculous! peoples' lives are at risk!

- Billerica, MA, USA

problem #28

Sep 032012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
Premature wear and replacement was required due to a defect involving the brakes and calipers which may involve defective parts and/or premature corrosion. Brakes and calipers replaced twice in two year period. Rear brake calipers would periodically stick and grind causing brakes to smoke and give off burning smell. Car at times was unsafe to drive due to these problems.

- Marlton, NJ, USA

problem #27

Aug 302014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
My steering and brakes suddenly locked up. I had my kids in the car and lucky that it happened right by my house. No traffic. Even the suspension was affected.I immediately got kids out of the car and contacted my insurance to tow the car.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #26

Jun 172014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 68,537 miles
I had a loud scraping noise coming from the rear of my car and for the second time in 2 years, I have had to have my rear pads and rotors replaced.. the first time was in November of 2012.. I am the original owner of this car and this is excessive. I have read 51 other complaints of the same problem. I have had 5 Hyundai and not put rear brakes on them until over 100,000 miles..

- Millbury, MA, USA

problem #25

May 022012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
I have had to replace my rear brakes and rotors twice in 5yrs. The first was in may of 2012. The vehicle had 28,000 miles. There was no warning lights my first indication was a dragging sound. I just had them replaced again April 2014 with 42.000 miles. Again no warning until the horrible grinding sound. Also many times after long trips there is a distinct burning smell. I was told by the dealer that it was my tires. Another repair company told me it was my brakes getting hot. They said that the rear brakes are constantly engaged thus burning the pads and decreasing gas millage. Other people have reported the same problem though Hyundai denies it. It is a huge safety issue!!

- Normal, IL, USA

problem #24

Nov 282013

Sonata

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the brakes required excessive force in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis where the technician stated that the rusted brake caliper pin had seized. The rear brakes were replaced and the brake pin was lubricated. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Connellsville, PA, USA

problem #23

Oct 082013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 99,257 miles
When applying brakes, the brakes start sticking, causing the car to jerk. I have taken the car to the dealership for them to tell me they could not see anything that was wrong with the brakes. When I left the dealership, the brakes were doing the same thing.

- Harrisburg, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?