Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,801 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Hyundai Sonata seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments

problem #16

Jul 252016

Sonata

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dashboard cracking directly around air bag unit underneath dashboard on passenger side. This is a known issue to Hyundai, affecting numerous models and model years. Hyundai dealers refuse to classify it a safety defect, and have told me the dashboard replacement is the responsibility of the customer. Multiple Hyundai service technicians on the internet confirm what I suspect, that this is a manufacturer's defect and a safety issue. Cracks began appearing at about 68,000 miles, approximately November 2015, and are getting progressively worse. Car now has approximately 72,000 miles (July 2016).

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #15

Feb 102016

Sonata

  • 89,000 miles
Crossing intersection on green light. Inattentive driver ran red light, crushing passenger side and forcing car into another vehicle. This impact caused the rear of auto to be crushed. Airbag did not deploy and, thus, did not protect from injury.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #14

Aug 162015

Sonata

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owned a 2009 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 65 mph, the contact lost control of the vehicle and struck the guardrail and median. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The passenger sustained a cut to the back of the head and two front teeth were loose that required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 180,000. The VIN was not available.

- Austell, GA, USA

problem #13

Dec 232014

Sonata

  • 26,456 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light turned on the dash of the 2009 Hyundai Sonata. Called and reported to Hyundai (case # upon NHTSA request) and then took the vehicle to a Hyundai dealer. Vehicle has 26,456 miles on 12/23/2014. Dealer description of fault scanned for dtcs, B1322 and B1324 present and active in SRS system. Cleared codes and attempted wcs reset procedure via gds, reset failed and dtcs returned. Passenger seat bottom needs replaced per tsb 09-bd-007. Customer declined repairs at this time. Quoted $2,189, tax included. I paid $127.43 to diagnose the SRS system problem. The NHTSA has a campaign (recall # 08V161000) for the failure of occupant classification system (OCS) in the right front seat for 2006-2008 Hyundai Sonatas. This 2009 Hyundai Sonata was manufactured on 01/8/2008. These early manufactured 2009 Hyundai Sonatas should be included in NHTSA campaign (recall # 08V161000) since the same 2008 passenger seat bottom part was probably used in these vehicles. The failure of occupant classification system (OCS) in the right front seat is a safety issue that the NHTSA needs to address.

- North Olmsted, OH, USA

problem #12

Dec 232014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 26,456 miles
Air bag light turned "on" the dash of the 2009 Hyundai Sonata. Called and reported to Hyundai (case # upon NHTSA request) and then took the vehicle to a Hyundai dealer. Vehicle has 26,456 miles on 12/23/2014. Dealer description of fault ? scanned for dtcs, B1322 and B1324 present and active in SRS system. Cleared codes and attempted wcs reset procedure via gds, reset failed and dtcs returned. Passenger seat bottom needs replaced per tsb 09-bd-007. Customer declined repairs at this time. Quoted $2,189, tax included. I paid $127.43 to diagnose the SRS system problem. The NHTSA has a campaign (recall # 08V161000) for the failure of occupant classification system (OCS) in the right front seat for 2006 ? 2008 Hyundai Sonatas. This 2009 Hyundai Sonata was manufactured on 01/8/2008. These early manufactured 2009 Hyundai Sonatas should be included in NHTSA campaign (recall # 08V161000) since the same 2008 passenger seat bottom part was probably used in these vehicles. The failure of occupant classification system (OCS) in the right front seat is a safety issue that the NHTSA needs to address.

- North Olmsted, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Sep 032014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Air bag light on the display has come up and it won't go away. Took the vehicle to dealer and I was told that there is spring in the steering wheel worth $450 need to be replaced. Also I have been asked to replace passenger seat belt buckle assembly costing more than $350, to correct the airbag light. I read that an investigation is going on for 2008 Hyundai Sonata for the mentioned seat belt buckle. Please conduct an investigation into the mentioned air bag issue to find out if this is a widespread issue with the model and get the manufacturer to bear the cost.

- Aldie, VA, USA

problem #10

May 012013

Sonata 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The passenger air bag light continues to flash when there is no one in the seat. Took to the dealer and they said it is suppose to flash when first start up the car, but I let them know that it on the entire time I am driving. The dealer said they could not duplicate the issue. I took video of it so I can show them. It is on multiple days in a roll with nothing in the seat. I want to make sure it will work correctly when I do have someone sit in the seat.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #9

Sep 012013

Sonata

  • 139,400 miles
My ESC and air bag malfunction lights are illuminated and my brakes mal-functions. Recall campaign 110 recalls the brake light switch on some of these cars but not on my year and model. I am suggesting that the recall may need to be expanded to include the 2009 Sonata since the switches seem to malfunction in that make/model/year as well.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #8

Aug 012013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
Passenger airbag will not turn on. Does not matter if anyone is in the seat or not, the red light is always on.

- Casselberry, FL, USA

problem #7

Feb 072012

Sonata

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 25 mph, the contact stated he was involved in a frontal crash when the air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was destroyed. The dealer informed the contact that they will forward the information to the manufacturer on his behalf. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The current and failure mileage was 42,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Oak Harbor, WA, USA

problem #6

Jun 112008

Sonata

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Sonata involved in 2008 side impact; over $10000 in damage; drivers side and February 5, 2012 my 2009 Sonata involved in side impact at 45 mph over $10000 damage; drivers side. Both accidents involved replacing both drivers side doors and rear quarter panels. In both cases the side airbags did not deploy. Hyundai said car not hit hard enough. The latest crash injured both myself and my daughter. Both crashes showed the drivers side doors intrusion of about 8 inches to the passenger compartment.

- Pooler, GA, USA

problem #5

Sep 012011

Sonata

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 3 mph the wheels locked and/or the transmission locked causing the vehicle to steer to the right and crash into the side of another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. The driver side and front fender were damaged. There were no injuries. The police was notified but no report was filed. The vehicle was undriveable and was towed to the dealer. The insurance company was notified of the failure. The manufacturer was notified and was sending a representative to the dealership to inspect the vehicle. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #4

Sep 222010

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the passengers side air bag was disabled and the air bag light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that there was no failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The current mileage was approximately 19,100. The failure mileage was approximately 14,000. Updated 04/07/11 the consumer stated the problem was intermittent and when the air bag was in the disabled mode, he found to correct the problem was to shut the vehicle off and then restart it. Updated 04/08/11

- Fishkill, NY, USA

problem #3

Aug 212009

Sonata

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 20 mph, the contact was involved in a crash in which she rear ended another vehicle. None of the air bags deployed. The front driver seat belt also did not tighten during the crash. A police report was filed. No injuries were reported. The vehicle had not been examined for the cause of failure of the non-deployment and the seat belt. Approximately 14 months later, she was involved in another crash in which she was rear ended and the air bags did not deploy. The driver side seat belt again did not tighten during the crash. A police report was filed. The contact was injured. She was taken by ambulance to be treated for serious injuries. The vehicle was destroyed. It was not examined for the cause of failure and was not repaired. The failure mileage was 37,000 and the current mileage was 47,000.

- Mason, MI, USA

problem #2

May 252010

Sonata

  • Manual transmission
  • 27,500 miles
I have a 2009 Hyundai Sonata with a 5 speed manual transmission. On Tuesday, May 25, 2010, I was traveling on route295 South in ri when I tried to shift from 4th gear to 5th gear. I pressed my clutch in and tried to shift, the clutch never came back up and my car stalled in the middle lane of the highway. I couldn't get the clutch to come back and the car lost its speed down to about 5-10 miles per hour, if that. The person behind me went around me but the woman behind him smashed into me doing around 70mph. Her car pushed mine forward and into the next lane. My airbags never deployed. Luckily, I walked away with a bruised left arm and that was all. My husband had called our dealership a few times regarding this issue but because it didn't stick all the time, they couldn't tell us what was wrong. My car is an absolute mess right now and I don't know if it can be repaired.

- Smithfield, RI, USA

problem #1

Jan 182010

Sonata

  • miles
2009 Hyundai Sonata-2 front end collisions air bags never came out for either. Front end work done after 1st front end collision. Air bags did not come out during 2nd colision either. Concerned why the airbags did not come out for either accident.

- Daphne, AL, USA

Not what you are looking for?