Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,842 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Hyundai Sonata body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #70

Nov 042015

Sonata

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This has happened to at least 3 Hyundai Sonata 2010 autos of people I know. When attempting to open the door to enter the car the door handle just comes off in the persons hand. In my wifes case luckely she was on our driveway and fell backward onto grass and was not injured. If this happened to someone parked on a busy street they could fall back into traffic. In looking at the detached handle it looks like the poor quality plastic interior just cracked. As I said this has happened to three people just in my circle of friends so I am sure it is more widespread.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #69

Jan 012015

Sonata

  • 76,537 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the dashboard fractured due to defective material causing the front passenger side air bag to be exposed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 76,537.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #68

Aug 172015

Sonata

  • 73,674 miles
Reached to open back passenger door and it fell in pieces in my hand. This will be the second time this happened to me the first time costing me $125.0. I retired a.could months aback and cannot afford this but I feel it's.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #67

Jul 262015

Sonata

  • 162,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Hyundai Sonata. The rear passenger driver side door handle just snapped off. I went to open the door in a normal fashion and the handle stayed in the open position so I had to push it back in to the closed position. When I pulled on the handle again the handle fell off in my hand. The rear door never did open, now I need to reach through the driver side door to open the rear door from the inside.

- Greensboro, MD, USA

problem #66

Dec 222014

Sonata

  • 63,000 miles
Have had all 4 outer door handles break off of vehicle.

- Clermont, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #65

Apr 162015

Sonata

  • 43,000 miles
Two door handles have broken off my 2010 Sonata while just attempting to open them. According to Hyundai this is not covered by the warranty as they claim it is normal wear and tear. I could see if it was just one door handle but for two to come off days of each other I find it more of a defect than wear and tear. Reading some Hyundai owner forums I have found this appears to be a normal occurrence with their product and feel it is a safety issue as I travel with kids on a daily basis and god forbid they would be locked in the vehicle because I could not open the door due to the handle being in my hand instead of the door.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #64

Mar 242015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 37,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driver side door exterior door handle came off when attempting to open door. Handle parts are plastic! cannot open door from the outside now. Bought new, now under 38K miles, and less than 5 years in use. Contacted Hyundai national, have not heard back yet. Dealers indicate that this may not be covered under warranty.

- Berwyn, PA, USA

problem #63

Mar 252015

Sonata

  • 85,500 miles
The driver side exterior door handle broke off this morning when I tried to open the door. I am the original owner of this vehicle, and this is the third time that this breakage has occurred, albeit on three different doors. Although the interior door latch still works, this is a safety hazard as it would be impossible for rescue services to open the driver's door from the outside in the event of an accident. Based on postings I have come across on the internet, it appears that this is a common problem with Hyundai Sonatas and should in my mind qualify as a recall.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #62

Dec 192014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
Driver back door handle broke off. This appears to be a common complaint but the dealer won't fix the handle. The backdoor is not even used much.

- Grand Island, NY, USA

problem #61

Jan 152015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
The following paragraph was sent to Hyundai to request they fix this defect. They responded with a wordy but polite "we're sorry, but your vehicle is out of warranty". we have a 2010 Sonata. About 18 months ago, the passenger side front door handle fell off while opening the door. We took it to the local dealer for repair. The cost was about $70. Three weeks ago (approx. 1/15/2015), the driver side rear handle fell off. Ten days ago (approx 1/27/2015) the passenger rear door handle fell off. The dealer wants $150 each to repair them. I can understand one handle breaking, but not (on a car less than 5 years old) three of the four handles have broken. I consider this a defect. I have researched your site and have not been able to find any matching complaints. There have been numerous, but normal problems with this vehicle - all of which we have repaired at our own expense without complaint. However, this particular issue is so egregious that we feel the manufacturer should be held responsible for the repairs.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #60

Feb 092015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As many people have stated online, the door handles falling off are a common occurrence. I have had to replace two handles on my car already, first my rear drivers side and now the front passenger side. The commonality of this problem clearly indicates a major engineering issue on the behalf of the manufacturer and customers should not be made to pay for repairs for a manufacturing issue. Each handle has cost me just under $65 to replace.

- East Rockaway, NY, USA

problem #59

Jan 162012

Sonata 6-cyl

  • 31,688 miles
I have experienced three (3) broken outside door handle breaking the same way from stress fracture where the plastic door handle contacts the metal latch. It appears the plastic door handle is too brittle for intended use. The broken door handles were replaced as follows: -rear right side door handle was replaced Jan 16, 2012 -rear left side door handle was replaced Dec 21, 2013 -driver's door handle replaced Dec 1, 2014 I contacted Hyundai customer care and they do not appear to be concerned that this is a safety issue and are treating this as normal wear and tear. A broken door handle fails Hawaii state safety inspection as the door cannot be opened from the outside. Hawaii is not subject to extreme temperature changes. I do not believe this is normal wear and tear as I experienced door handle failure as soon as 2 years of use with the least used door handles, rear passenger doors breaking before the most used driver?S door handle. There are numerous same failures reported on the internet. My Hyundai dealer now has these door handles in stock (used to have to order them in) and told me this is a common occurrence of my model Sonata and to report my concerns to Hyundai usa, which I did to no avail. Maybe they will listen to the NHTSA. Please help. Thank you.

- Mililani, HI, USA

problem #58

Feb 232015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 82,311 miles
As I was trying to get into my car at 7:20 am on 02/24/15 the driver side door handle just fell off the door. The temperature was below zero and it was a surprise to see that happen to a 5 year old car!!!! I called the dealership to see if there is a recall or problem they know of regarding the door but turned with nothing. Then searched online to see if there are anyone else had the same problem and to my surprise they are other people who had similar incidents in several states as well a youtube video of an individual lost 3 handles in California for a newer model Sonata!!!!!! called the Hyundai warranty but had to leave a message!!!!!

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #57

Jun 212014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Opened rear left door and handle came off.

- Thompsons , TX, USA

problem #56

Jan 012015

Sonata

  • miles
Outside rear driver door handle comes off for no reason it just broke off and I am not the only one. This could be a potential safety issue. In the event off an accident this could pose great danger to anybody trying to exit the vehicle. If the door handle brakes with child look door cannot be opened.

- Aberdeen, MD, USA

problem #55

Dec 282012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 38,186 miles
The driver side front door handle fell off as I opened the door. Since then, three other handles have fallen off, the right rear and the left rear.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #54

Jan 042015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
The driver side exterior door handle snapped and broke when I attempted to open my door. This is the second time this happened. The first time was approx. 8 months ago; when the passenger door handle did the same thing.

- Hughesville, MD, USA

problem #53

Dec 202013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
The passenger side door handle fell off in my hands. No force was used and no noise was made (ie: Cracking or and other pieces were seen that fell off other then the handle itself). This door and the rear doors are very rarely used, I have no kids and am the only 1 that uses this car and very rarely have any passengers. The driver's side is the one I open regularly. I called Hyundai dealership where I got the car and they claim there are no recalls are on this despite knowing of other's who had multiple doors break in a similar fashion and seeing many other incidents of this reported on NHTSA site. They didn't seem to care either or record the information of this issue. In checking Hyundai dealership's are charging between $200 to $300 to repair the door handle. This is a safety issue if someone cannot get into the car to rescue someone or if they are trying to retrieve a child. In reading the other complaints I hope my other 3 don't break now and I'm on the hook to repair those out-of-pocket to. This is obviously shoddy workmanship. In all my years/multiple cars I never had a car door handle break. Its very cheap plastic.

- Pennsburg, PA, USA

problem #52

May 082014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
I have had 3 separate occurrences where the exterior door handles have come off while opening the doors. I fixed two of them at my own cost and now have to repair a 3rd. I have contacted Hyundai about a recall and they say there haven't been enough incidences of this to recall it. I have searched the web and have found many complaints of this happening to others. I have contacted Hyundai again and they sent me a form letter response that they are not at fault. I am amazed that there has not been a recall on the door handles. If you search your data base of complaints, I am sure you will agree. There response: Dear [xxx]: thank you for contacting Hyundai motor America. We are sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with the handles on your 2010 Sonata. Your satisfaction is our priority and we appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with us. We try to design and equip all of our models with materials and features that will appeal to our current and potential customers. Some of the factors that are evaluated during vehicle design and productions include demand, safety, durability, efficiency, comfort, convenience and aesthetics. We are sometimes unable to produce an automobile with the features and material that will satisfy or appeal to all of our customers my response back your comments are hollow and without any responsibility to the quality of your parts. "we are sometimes unable to produce an automobile with the features and material that will satisfy or appeal to all of our customers" I didn't realize that the door handles falling off of a car is a "feature". is that a standard feature or an upgrade? I am sorry but I will be forced to communicate my dissatisfaction to all that will listen. You offer no value with your words and no help with the cost of repair. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #51

Nov 032012

Sonata

  • miles
In November 2012, Hyundai of auburn replaced my driver's side back door handle after it had come off. In November 2014, capitol Hyundai (montgomery) replaced my passenger's front side door handle after it had come off. In each instance, the dealer did not provide me with paperwork documenting that the work had been done.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?