Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,500 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 10)

problem #189

Sep 152014


  • 64,981 miles


Over the five years the car will stall in parking lot.will have it towed to dealer.this happen two times this year. They could not find problem. Could not use battery to start, battery checked it was fine, starter fine, alternator made me feel uneasy if it stalled on road.they checked engine said it was fine.not happy with this.the last at my kroger it stopped.towed to repair shop near home same result, could not find problem.each time when car sat overnight for repair the problem went away and car started ok by dealer.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #188

Apr 232016


  • miles
About 5 months again I notice that I can not leave my light switch in auto mode because after locking my doors and engaging the alarm I would always get a knock on the door in the middle of the night with my neighbors letting me know that I left my lights on. I did not leave then on because they go off after I hit the alarm but apparently they are coming back on by themselves. I see other people has had the same problem. I don't understand Hyundai at all how many complaints do they need to realize that they made a huge mistake manufacturing these vechicles. I will never by anything thing Hyundai makes again.

- Louisville, GA, USA

problem #187

Sep 152016


  • 70,000 miles
Periodically the car unlocks all doors at startup (push button) and you can't manually lock them. Also there have been times that you could not lock the car after exiting when this occurred. The only work around I found is to "reboot" the car. The technicians have run various tests and did not come up with a cause or a solution. This is very unsafe for anyone with small children. This has been an issue with this vehicle since I bought it in July 2010. The last date this occurred was on 9/15/2016. I just entered all the issues with this car, including this safety issue related occurrence on

- Eldersburg, MD, USA

problem #186

Sep 102016


  • 88,000 miles


Airbag indicator light is on, seen on instrument cluster panel. Dealership diagnostic determined the issue is a faulty clock spring. Car has not been in any accidents. Car receives routine maintenance.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #185

Aug 012016


  • 58,000 miles
Takata recall issues with steering after recall-steering coupler issues with seatbelt lamp after recall-clockspring issues with lighting-interior malfunstions issues with turbo feed line issues with A/C lines leaking

- West Warwick, RI, USA

problem #184

Jul 312016


  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While the vehicle was stopped in traffic, the engine stalled and all the warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not able to restart. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the alternator and starter failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to another dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 45,000. The VIN was not available.

- Brockton, MA, USA

problem #183

Jul 062016


  • 77,000 miles


I am having continuous problems with this vehicle. I have some recalls and I am now currently experiencing issues with the electrical circuit with the steering wheel.where the horn and the light is not working.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #182

Oct 222014


  • 84,703 miles
My car would have trouble starting, I would turn on the car but the engine wouldn't start, the lights and radio would turn on and nothing. After the starter being installed on 10/22/2014 the car was fine but then it happened again this year and had the starter replaced again. Then it happened later again and finally had the neutral safety start inhibitor switch replaced. My airbag light turns on and now I have to replace the clockspring. I have other issues with this car like for example my front drive axels being deformed which causes a rattling nose when I turn while driving. I would hear clicking noses on the steering column and had the steering coupling replaced. So far as of 8/12/2016 I have had 15 recalls and I have one to do next week. I'm driving a death trap.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #181

Aug 082016


  • 71,469 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that after the vehicle was shut off, the push to start failed to operate. As a result, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 71,469.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #180

Jun 202016


  • miles
My 2011 Sonata all of the sudden shut down around 1 months ago. I took it to the Hyundai dealership they were not able to turn it on. They kept on changing parts but unable to make it turn on. Im very stressed out I have ti make payments on a car that wont turn on.

- East Palo Alto, CA, USA

problem #179

Jul 142016


  • 89,592 miles


I have had this car a little over a year now. It has made the same noise since I've had it. I've been to the huynda dealer many times. They don't understand what's wrong. When your car is between 2000 RPM and 3000 rpms or steadily at 2000 it makes a continuous raddle noise coming from the engine and continues until you take your foot off the accelerator. You want to know my opinion about the damn car? anyone who owns one should be given a new one. Because the car is a piece of crap. Now I also saw a complaint about someone having to replace the coupler. I have documentation that shows I paid the Hyundai to replace my steering coupler. It was over 300 dollars. When your driving down the road the steering is hard to control and the wheel makes a clicking noise. So I took it in and they coupler needed to be replaced. I want reimbursement and you guys should implement another recall about replacing everyone's coupler. You guys should make Hyundai give everyone a new car who has gone through al the mess we have.

- Pelham, AL, USA

problem #178

Feb 112011


  • miles
"takata recall"I believe that I owned a defected vehicle. Since day 1 there was one electrical problem after the other. My radio comes on and off by itself, Hyundai fairfax found no problem after three visits, until I just gave up. I replace 7 - 8 blubs in my car, a airbag, and now a socket for my brake light because my came on and off, like other items in my car. It's like I have a shortage or electrical problem with my vehicle. After, they replaced the clock sensor in the steering wheel for the airbag, now my passenger door locks and unlock sometimes. Every time I complain to fairfax Hyundai, they deny that anything could be wrong with my vehicle. I understand that Hyundai desire is to meet safety regulation and customer satisfaction by providing good product. Unfortunately, things sometimes happen. It's when a corporation takes the complaints seriously and addresses the customer concerns, is what grows a business. I have yet had anyone contact me of my concerns since I had this vehicle, after making many complaints. I will appreciate someone taking this situation and my concerns seriously by contacting me with a resolution.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #177

Jul 162016


  • 80,335 miles
When vehicle was moving it felt like went into a coast but RPM did not increase speed slowed.. gas peddle was pushed in nothing happened when peddle was released and then pushed all functions resumed

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #176

Jun 122016


  • miles
While driving at night, the headlights will turn off when using the turn signal or turning on the high beams, I have to wiggle the headlight switch to get them to come back on. I have sent Hyundai an email concerning this problem as it is a very serious safety issue and the problem is getting worse, but of course there has been no response from Hyundai. With all of the complaints on the internet about this problem. Hyundai needs to issue a recall.

- Nixa, MO, USA

problem #175

Jun 292016


  • 113,000 miles
Car losses power in the highway under 55 miles per hour. When starting from stop or yield it does not take acceleration and almost dies. Almost got in acccident several times as the car doesnt want take gas. More like a suden stop in a trafic.. airbag light is on for more than a year. Brake lights dont work and is not the bulbs. This is becoming almost everyday problem and dealer dont have solution to the problem but I was told it is a known problem for this model. Pls do something about it.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #174

Jun 232016


  • miles
Key gets hung up stuck in ignition will not shut off at times must work gear shift shoving it back and forth to release key and pull out while doing this car can also roll out of its parking space and cause problems.... the vehicle is and was stationary but this has happened on city streets on a hill as well very dangerous. I have read up and seen this numerous times from other people as well so I know it is not just this car

- Watauga, TN, USA

problem #173

Jun 182016


  • 56,150 miles
Did some research and from what I've been reading my 2011 Hyundai Sonata gls 2.4L is affected by the "starter lever" recall. I went to turn my car on the other day and it wouldn't turn on and just made a hissing sound as I turned the key. Went to the auto parts store to have my starter tested and it failed on the diagnostic right away. I need my started fixed and replaced so my car doesn't die on the freeway! had to turn my key and try start the car at least 10 times before it would crank over.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #172

Jun 112016


  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 50 mph, the engine stalled and the brakes failed without warning. The vehicle was restarted and the failure recurred. The vehicle was driven to the mechanic. The failure was diagnosed as an engine issue. The VIN was included in an unknown recall. The failure mileage was 112,000.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #171

May 222016


  • 174,500 miles
The power steering on my 2011 Hyundai Sonata stopped working approx. 1 week ago without any advance warning. The car is of course very difficult to steer without the assistance of power steering. If my Sonata is not one of the cars covered by the recall notice very recently announced, then the recall needs to be expanded to include my vehicle. The car was stationary and I went to start the car, and the eps light was lit and I had no power steering.

- College Park, MD, USA

problem #170

May 132016


  • miles
The light for both the driver and passenger seatbelt not functioning properly will not turn off. The passenger seatbelt light stays at seatbelt off and the driver's will not turn off after the vehicle has started. Both stay on the entire time the vehicle is on.

- Columbia, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?