Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 16
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,478 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 10 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #156

Sep 012015

Sonata

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle suddenly began to sputter and stalled. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the throttle body was faulty. The throttle body was repaired, but the failure continued. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 95,000.

- Powder Springs, GA, USA

problem #155

Oct 012014

Sonata

  • 98,000 miles
In August of 2011, I purchased a used 2011 Hyundai Sonata. It already had about 11,000 miles when I purchased it. In August of 2014...I was driving to work when I heard some weird noises and the car's engine stallled and I rolled to a complete stop. The engine was dead. I had the car towed to my mechanic and he said he found "shavings' when opening things up. He could not figure out what had caused this failure and basically told me...parts failure. I called the dealership and they said that since I was a second owner, the 100,000 mile warranty did not apply to me. So I had to pay 5600 dollars to have the engine replaced by my mechanic. Now...I get a recall notice saying that my car was being recalled for "excees metal debris may have been generated from factory machining operations. This debris can be forced into the connectiong rod oiling passagesrestricting oil flow to the bearings and increasing of premature bearing wear." Do I need to be reimmbursed for a new engine?!!!!!

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #154

Apr 302015

Sonata

  • 87,000 miles
I had problems with the engine starting in April 2015, with an unexplained noise. I brought car to dealer and was told it was the muffler. They said I could wait 3 months. By June 25, 2015 the noise was extremely loud while the car was running, moving or not. I could not drive the car the 80 mile round trip to work the next day and Hyundai had the car towed to the same dealer. They kept the car for 2 1/2 weeks finally replacing the short block on it. Trust me they looked to not cover it under warranty. By August 24, the car had only been driven 800 miles, having been off for the summer. I checked the oil before starting to commute again and it was down a qt. Of oil. I brought it back to the dealer and was told the oil pan had leaked, even after their warranty work. Note there was no oil drippings in my driveway ever! I no longer trusted the car or the service from the dealer. Again, I have an 80 mile per day commute. So I had no choice but to trade the car back to that dealer, so I would have a reliable vehicle. Having purchased the car I had hoped to pay off the last few payments of the car and have no car payments for awhile. It seems Hyundai and the dealer had other plans. The car was not even finished for another 10 days, I know this because service, from the same dealer I leased a new car from, called to tell me to pick up the 2011. I would not have even been able to trade it to another dealer knowing about the short block problem at that time and weeks before Hyundai sent an interim recall letter to me! I have all service records for this car. The first time warranty work was done on the car, I was never told what the cause of the problem was. I found out when I went to get new tires and mentioned it. That business told me about the problem with the 2011 Hyundai Sonatas

- Lindenhurst, NY, USA

problem #153

Oct 182015

Sonata

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For the past month I have been hearing a knocking coming from under the hood also as im accelerating my car seems to slip a gear and lose some speed. I looked up these things on line and thats when I found out that my car was recalled. I called Hyundai twice and was told yes my car is on the recall list but as of now they don't have a solution. Then one day after work when I went to start my car it hesitated to start. The next morning I went to auto zone to have my battery checked and the machine showed it had 70% juice. Went on to do my shopping came out to start my car and it was completly dead. I called Hyundai and they told me to call roadside assistance and have it towed to them, which I did and now im just waiting to find out whats wrong. This car is unsafe to drive!

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #152

Oct 052015

Sonata

  • 38,228 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving approximately at 45 mph, there was an abnormal noise and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to be restarted. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The dealer stated that they were not able to schedule an appointment until mid November of 2015. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 38,228. Updated 01/12/16

- Landing, NJ, USA

problem #151

Oct 022015

Sonata

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Irmo, SC, USA

problem #150

Oct 162015

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure......updated 02/10/16

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #149

Oct 152014

Sonata

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 40 mph, the headlights, brake lights, and tail lights intermittently failed. The contact also stated the vehicle would jerk and the ignition switch was loose. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine) however, the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V113000 (exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #148

Oct 112015

Sonata

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, an abnormal noise was heard near the front driver side of the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 66,000.

- Hartford, CT, USA

problem #147

Sep 142015

Sonata

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the while the vehicle was in the run position or when turned off, the engine made an abnormal noise. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 63,000.

- Belcamp, MD, USA

problem #146

Sep 012015

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine is making a metallic knocking noise. Took it to Hyundai dealership for oil change on 10/11. They noted the issue was taken care of with the oil change which it was not. There is an interim notice recall on the vehicle and my car is affected. It states if you continue to drive the vehicle with the worn connecting rod bearing the bearing could fail and the engine could stall. When I contacted the dealership they stated it had been noted in my file, that there was no remedy at this time but to contact them once the remedy was ready. This is not acceptable. I do not feel safe driving this car.

- Lexington Park, MD, USA

problem #145

Apr 142015

Sonata

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at various speeds, there was an abnormal noise coming from the front of the vehicle. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 150,000.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #144

Oct 082015

Sonata

  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at approximately 60 mph, the vehicle jerked. In addition, the vehicle was unable to start. The failure occurred intermittently. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 104,000.

- Shalmette, LA, USA

problem #143

Oct 112015

Sonata

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph, the entire instrument panel illuminated and the engine stalled. The vehicle was towed to a dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 68,000.

- La Grande, OR, USA

problem #142

May 062015

Sonata

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 65 mph, a loud knocking noise emitted from the engine compartment. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #141

Jun 302015

Sonata

  • 160,000 miles
We purchased the car used in 2012. In August of 2015, the engine sized while my spouse was driving to work. On the interstate at about 55mph. We ended up having to replace the entire engine to the tune of $4000+. this should not have happened to a car that is not even 5 years old. This is not our only issue with this make/model and not my first complaint.

- Moreland, GA, USA

problem #140

Aug 042015

Sonata

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at 25 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of he failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The failure mileage was 77,000.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #139

Oct 012015

Sonata

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed and various warning lights illuminated. In addition, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to restart after the second attempt. On another occasion, the vehicle was not able to start and was towed to the dealer. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine) however, the recall and remedy part were not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Villa Park, CA, USA

problem #138

Oct 052015

Sonata

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that smoke began to fill the cabin of the vehicle, but suddenly stopped. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine).the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 48,000.

- Wilmer, AL, USA

problem #137

Oct 062015

Sonata

  • 79,206 miles
Driving home, the Sonata revved high and staled out, a tow truck had to be called on a busy interstate. The car still will not start, it is financed still and now will not run. This is consistent with the following recall information: Summary: Hyundai motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain model year 2011-2012 Sonata vehicles manufactured December 11, 2009, to April 12, 2012 at Hyundai motor manufacturing Alabama and equipped with either a 2.0 liter or 2.4 liter gasoline direct injection engine. In the affected vehicles, metallic debris may not have been fully removed during manufacturing of the engine crankshaft. If the debris was not completely removed, oil flow may be restricted through the connecting rod bearings, causing connecting rod damage and possible engine failure. A worn connecting rod bearing will produce a metallic, cyclic knocking noise from the engine and possible engine failure. Safety risk: Engine failure would result in a vehicle stall, increasing the risk of a crash.

- Annandale, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?