Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 16
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,478 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 11 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #136

Sep 172015

Sonata

  • 76,503 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There are open factory recalls on this car and I have not received a letter to fix the deficiencies before it gets to become an issue of potential physical harm on the roadway. Driving down the road the front spring just broke a section off about a foot long, now drives dangerously brakes, transmission, engine, head lamps, suspension

- Annandale, MN, USA

problem #135

Oct 032015

Sonata

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at various speeds, there was a loud abnormal noise coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the engine was failing and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 20,000. Updated 1/12/2016

- Hazle Township, PA, USA

problem #134

Oct 042015

Sonata

  • 61,000 miles
10/4/2015 I was dropping my daughter off when my car stalled cars had to swerve out of the way to prevent from hitting us. The car was stuck in the middle of the street I had to push it over so that we could be safe. I had to get the car towed to the dealership. Its been two days and still they have not looked at my car and have not given me a rental car. I looked on line and I see that there is 5 recalls for my car and one is an engine issue which causes the car to stall. I do not feel safe in this car anymore and need something to be done since this is stopping me from going to work and picking up my daughter. I do not want this dangerous car anymore due to engine recall

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #133

Oct 012014

Sonata

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While operating the vehicle, a knocking and clicking noise were present coming from the engine. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 68,000.

- Plant City, FL, USA

problem #132

Oct 042015

Sonata

  • 108,000 miles
I was driving on the freeway at approximately 65mph when my Sonata unexpectedly completely shut down. I was able to coast off until the car dies on the off-ramp and is completely immobile. My car then had a small engine fire, but was put out and became a stationary obstacle during rush-hour traffic forcing other vehicles to go around and nearly caused several catastrophic accidents as a result. In contacting the dealership, I learned of the recall, though seeing as the recall has not been implemented, many drivers continue to drive their ailed vehicles because those of us who work cannot be without our vehicles for an unknown amount of time. Hyundai needs to fix this immediately as more and more vehicles will begin to die because drivers are told they will "have to wait until parts come in, there's nothing we can do until they come in or Hyundai tells us we can implement the recall."

- Edmonds, WA, USA

problem #131

Oct 022015

Sonata

  • 41,500 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata has a "no start" condition which has occurred in the past leaving the motorist stranded. Very common problem with Sonatas. Dealer will not walk us through procedure to start car in order to get it to the dealership to fix problem. This problem was fixed before but now has happened again.

- Lynbrook, NY, USA

problem #130

Sep 212015

Sonata

  • 170,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning while driving 45 mph on the highway. The contact was able to coast the vehicle over to the side of the road. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they indicated that the engine locked and needed to be replaced. The dealer did not mention if the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The contact had not received a recall notification. The contact was to consult with the manufacturer to determine the remedy to repair the vehicle. The approximate failure mileage was 170,000.

- East Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #129

Sep 102015

Sonata

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 35 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V433000 (service brakes, hydraulic), 14V434000 (power train) and 15V568000 (engine). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 70,000.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #128

Sep 102015

Sonata

  • 124,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle shut off. The contact was able to coast over to the right shoulder and restart the vehicle. The vehicle also made a knocking noise. The contact called the insurance company to have the vehicle towed to the dealer. The technician stated that the motor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 124,000.

- Valdosta, GA, USA

problem #127

Sep 212015

Sonata

  • 80,171 miles
11/20/10: Steering column shaft. 5/18/11: Brake switch. Car will not start or shift out of gear. C1513 code. Internal short in brake switch. 3/26/12: Brake switch. Car will not start. C1513 code. Internal short in brake switch. Shift lever knob repl. 8/5/13: Brake switch. Recall. Repl left front axle assembly. 7/7/14: Inhib switch-check engine light on. Car is shifting hard, especially from P-R & then to D. jolting sensation like someone hit from behind. Code P0705-transm range sensor malf. 10/1/14: Brake tube. Shift lever cable. 10/16/14: Code P0106: Map sensor. Flexible coupling-clicking sound & wobbling when turning. Told me I was over 70K. Indicated I was under 70K when I made this appt. Mgr waived cost. 2/26/15: Starter-would not start-towed. 5/15/15: Rear passenger brake light-bulb burned out & melted into socket. Tail lamp also melted. Tech was able to heat & reshape socket. 8/3/15: Brake light switch-car dead after work. Internal malfunction & caused brake lights to stay on. Hesitation during acceleration. Declined accurate auto to look further as car is still under warranty so I will take it to hub. It improved. 8/25/15: Brake light switch. Severe hesitation-almost rear-ended –felt like it would stall (tech noticed). Informed accurate the car was still under warranty so I will take it to hub. Hesitation improved. 8/27/15: Diag testing-hub waived cost of diag testing-no codes found. Unable to duplicate hesitation. Hesitation occurred when leaving. 9/21/15: Brake light switch-brake lights on. Drive side brake light is out. Hesitation worse-felt as if it would stall! driver side brake lamp bulb. Driver side tail lamp overheated & warped. Eventually replace tail lamp assembly. Declined for accurate to do further testing on the hesitation as the car was still under warranty so I will take it back to hub. Hesitation improved. To date, still does not run smooth.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #126

Sep 072015

Sonata

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I was driving the vehicle, I was experiencing loss of power and even engine failure. Re-started and continued to proceed. Traveling approximately 25 miles per hour down hill coasting, engine died for the third time in less than 4 blocks. Pulled over attempted to re-start again and heard a loud bang under the hood. Pull off to side of road, to view lose of oil and steam from engine. Open hood view smoke and plenty of oil sprayed out back of engine. No power or ability to move vehicle. Called tow truck and once received information from mechanic that rod went through engine block. I repaired the vehicle with $4800 cost and a used 2013 engine. Come to find out, several hundred 2011 Hyundai Sonata engine are have same issue.

- Council Bluffs, IA, USA

problem #125

Sep 032015

Sonata

  • 111,000 miles
On Sept. 3, 2015 while driving on the expressway I experienced the engine locked up and immediately pulled onto shoulder. I tried to restart the engine and the car began to smoke. Had it towed to darcy Hyundai in joliet. Hyundai informed me that the engine seized up and the starter was burned out and it was out of warranty and said to repair it with a replacement engine would be 5800 dollars and at that point I did not have the money and my credit cards were maxed out. And then I had to asked my father for advice either to repair or replace the vehicle. We decided it would be more practical to purchase a used car from car-max and because of my financial position my father had to extend himself and sign for the car. This 2011 Hyundai Sonata was also in my fathers name due to a bankruptcy.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #124

Sep 082015

Sonata

  • 76,000 miles
My wife and I bought a 2011 Hyundai Sonata on August 28th, 2015 from a dealership, but after driving the vehicle for a period of 10 days, the engine keeps running with knocking noise; a noise which my wife and I were not sure as to which part of the engine it was emanating from. We though maybe it was just a rock and would subside after few drives, but it didn't. on September 25th, 2015, while my wife was driving to the store, the vehicle stalled at a stop sign, but after removing the keys off the ignition and re-cranking the engine, it started running and the knocking noise went off, but the engine light came on afterward. My wife took it to the dealership we bought it from for a check up and repair, but the dealership's maintenance shop was unable to fix the vehicle for the reason that it had not reached 30 days since we bought the vehicle for the warrant that we bought to kick in. This was very frustrating and puzzling for the dealership to act this way to a customer who just bought a vehicle.

- Fort Worth , TX, USA

problem #123

Jun 152012

Sonata

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was unable to restart. The vehicle was towed to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the vehicle had no oil and that the engine failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. The VIN was not available.

- Elkton, MD, USA

problem #122

Sep 142015

Sonata

  • 68,683 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at 60 mph, the vehicle stalled in the middle of the highway without warning. In addition, the brake light was consistently illuminated, even when the vehicle was parked. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 68,683.

- Pembrooke Pines, FL, USA

problem #121

Aug 102015

Sonata

  • 84,139 miles
The engine was making a noise, we changed oil as recommended but noise was still prevalent. Car was taken in, engine failure. Engine was replaced with a rebuilt engine. The called it a remanufactured engine and they sent the head out to get assembled. According to the dealer Hyundai does not have band new engines available so they must rebuild the damaged units & send them out or the dealer is told to rebuild. We have no cause the dealer & Hyundai will not tell us the truth. So we have our car back with a remanufactured engine in it not a brand new engine as promised.

- Dewey, AZ, USA

problem #120

Sep 182015

Sonata

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at 55 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The lights on the instrumental panel illuminated after the failure occurred. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 56,000.

- Winnadow , NC, USA

problem #119

Sep 142015

Sonata

  • 76,000 miles
My car is a pre-owned car with currently a little over 76,000 miles. I had this car for almost 2 yrs, and my engine has died. I keep up with my oil changes every 3,000 miles. Because I'm the second owner the warranty is up to 60,000 miles. I don't understand why would my engine fall on an 2011 Sonata. Hyundai should look into this issue.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #118

Jun 132013

Sonata

  • 61,000 miles
My fiance' was driving my car on the highway and it just started to putter and started to make knocking noises and could no longer be driven. He pulled over to the side of the road and we had to have the car towed to the dealer. The dealer told me I needed a new engine (on my relatively new care that I, the original owner had for just over 2 years). They claimed that my engine was dirty and non-lubricated. I kept up with my oil changes and as a matter of fact, just had the oil changed (not by Hyundai) about a week prior to the incident. Since I had the engine replaced with a used engine (about $5500), the car has seized on me three other times. I just found out that because I had a used engine put in by a Hyundai dealership, I am not covered under the 10 yr/100,000 mile warranty. This car has been a total nightmare, repair after repair for which I have to pay out of pocket for. Hyundai has "branded" my car, which is a real crack up considering its a faulty car that they sold me.

- Yeadon , PA, USA

problem #117

Aug 092015

Sonata

  • 124,000 miles
While driving on a highway in the middle of traffic my 2011 Sonata completely stopped and the engine totally seized up endangering my entire family. There was no unusual engine sound prior to it stopping and no warning whatsoever. We had to coast to the side of the road, avoiding oncoming traffic. This is totally unacceptable as it endangered 5 lives. Thank goodness we were able to get to the side of the road. We are told that the engine would need to be totally replaced at a min. Engine cost of $5800 not including labor or other parts. In estimating costs, probably $8000 or more. It looks like there is a defect in the rotating assembly that causes sudden and catastrophic engine failure. Hyundai is aware of this problem and has done nothing to prevent it. Now I have no car to drive, and must somehow come up with the above costs or rent a car. The car is out of warranty but was well maintained. This is a serious problem and needs immediate attention.

- Perry, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?