Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 16
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,354 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 6 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #244

Oct 032015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

October 3rd 2015, I was driving on highway 78 West. I was in the vehicle with my 3 year old daughter. I was driving in a 2 way lane that was under construction. All off a sudden without any warning my vehicle started to decelerate on the highway. I immediately had no control and my speed was decreasing fast. I was in the left lane and in matter of 4-7 minutes my car engine was shutting down on the highway. I was almost hit by multiple trucks who continued to fly by my vehicle on the highway as I tried to find some where in enough time to bear off. Putting me and my 3 year old daughter in immediate danger. Needless to say I was terrified. I was finally able to pull off into the right lane and pull my vehicle into the shoulder of the highway. Since I was in an area that was under construction on this highway the shoulder space was very limited. I could feel the trucks pass my car and I was scared for my life and my daughter?S life. I had an immediate panic attack and thought my daughter and myself was going to die. This has caused a great deal of hardship on myself and my daughter. We have been without our vehicle since this incident. Hyundai in lebanon, pa has had my vehicle since 10/3/15 and continue to give me the run around. They say they ordered a new engine, but it has not shipped to the dealer yet. This incident has created a tremendous hardship for me and my family. I continue to be at a disadvantage as I am driving a rented vehicle. Meanwhile I continue to pay for a car I have not driven for over 3 months. Your immediate assistance would be appreciated. This issue I am having with my vehicle is due to a recall campaign 132. This recall was due to the engine malfunction that Hyundai is aware of. My vehicle stalled while in motion on the highway, putting my life and my 3 year old daughter's life at risk.

- Jonestown, PA, USA

problem #243

Nov 032015

Sonata

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 58,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Hempstead, NY, USA

problem #242

Jan 012016

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle engine consistently lose power while driving. The consumer stated the vehicle became unsafe to drive. The brake lights would stay on, even though the engine was off. The vehicle would not shift out of gear.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #241

Oct 282015

Sonata

  • 118,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at 25 mph, the contact heard an abnormal noise coming from the engine compartment. In addition, the vehicle lost power. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, who diagnosed that the crank shaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 118,500. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Burlington, NJ, USA

problem #240

Dec 112015

Sonata

  • 79,000 miles
Engine making a pinging & tapping sound upon acceleration & a regular burnt oil odor engulfing the interior cabin of vehicle while in motion. It is burning excessive oil between 3,000 mile oil changes.

- New Smyrna Beach, FL, USA

problem #239

Dec 012015

Sonata

  • 41,000 miles
Hyundai installed faulty oil feed pipe to the turbo in Hyundai Sonata 2011 2.0T, the pipe leaks and results in low oil in the engine, which causes engine failure. I saw the oil leaks on the parking spot. Took it to the mechanic and the pipe was at fault, my engine oil was at critical level, provided that I had it changed about 1000 miles.

- Plainview, NY, USA

problem #238

Oct 062015

Sonata

  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received recall notice in October under campaign notice 15V-568. To date, no word from dealer regarding necessary, called for inspection.

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

problem #237

Dec 102015

Sonata

  • miles
There is a recall on my vehicle engine. I took my car to the dealer and they inspected the engine for the defective part (engine). They said the car doesn't met the requirement for fix or replacement. However, they increased the oil amount from 4.5 quarts to 5.5 and change the oil dip stick without explanation when I asked why. I believe they are attempting to cover up the problem with temporary fix. Can you investigate in to this matter please. I call them several times about the situation with the dealership and the changes made without explanation. After several weeks of waiting for them to respond I call them and the costumer service person on the phone gave me an explanation, again not responded to my question directly but by someone who only answer the phone. Please help or advise!

- East Point, GA, USA

problem #236

Jan 012014

Sonata

  • miles
I have a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. My engine is really loud when starting and when idling. When I start my car from the remote start sometimes it will randomly cut off after 2 mins and will cut back on and cut off again. The recall for the engine was made aware in September 2015 it's now January 2016, I know my engine needs replaced and there's something wrong. Every time I get a regular routine oil change I'm told that the oil is very chunky and it doesn't seem to be distributing throughout the engine like it's supposed to. It's taking the manufacturer way too long to fix this issue. This recall with the engine is very serious and I don't want to be injured or die from this recall and waiting for the manufacturer to get things together to fix the problem. I also have a child and I'm currently pregnant and I'm very concerned about this problem. I feel that we've waited long enough for the manufacturer to fix this issue.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #235

Sep 102015

Sonata

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V568000 (engine) and 15V759000 (service brakes, hydraulic), however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #234

Dec 232015

Sonata

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle caught fire. The contact was alerted to the fire by a neighbor. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 70,000. Parts distribution disconnect....updated 02/19/16

- Willow Spring, NC, USA

problem #233

Sep 152015

Sonata

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine and engine cooling) was received in September of 2015. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Palm Desert, CA, USA

problem #232

Dec 112015

Sonata

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at an unknown speed, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #231

Jul 112015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle engine repairs and acceleration issues. The consumer stated the engine light illuminated. A new engine was recommended. However, the engine light remained on. Also, the consumer stated there were problems with the oil and noises coming from the engine, she also had difficulty gaining speed. The dealer replaced the cylinder head and recommended a gasket. The consumer attached an engine recall notice.

- Rochester, MA, USA

problem #230

Dec 212015

Sonata

  • 78,000 miles
Tinging sound comes and goes while driving, erratic shifting multiple gears, oil light comes on with moderate acceleration, there is a recall on this but I do not have the number. Recall on engine. II have been to the dealer who claims they are not able to replicate but will not allow me to drive with them.

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #229

Dec 202015

Sonata

  • 78,000 miles
Tinging metal sound while driving. Immediately after start it dies, oil light comes on moderate acceleration, shifts erratic and hard in multiple gears

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #228

May 212015

Sonata

  • 105,000 miles
Takata recall this has been the worse experience of my life. In may I was driving West on hwy 40 towards raleigh nc when my car just stopped and made a funny noise, when I pulled over and tried to restart the engine smoke came from under the hood. I had it towed to southern Hyundai in raleigh on wake forest rd. It initially took three months to get a response from the manufacturer to pay 50% of the cost. Then 2 months later or around October when the car was ready I didn't have the other $4500 to give them being a single parent of five. When the notice came out I asked them to see the manufacturer for the remaining balance. It is now December and I still don't have my car. I have been through so much and barely hanging on to a car making payments and haven't driven it in 7 months. The dealer still has possession of the vehicle, why can't the manufacture pay for the cost. I feel like I have been a victim of some cruel crime. What to

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #227

Dec 162015

Sonata

  • miles
"takata recall" I was driving on the interstate the other day and my car was shaking, so scary. I'm not a mechanic, but I know when something is wrong. The lights on my car gets so hot that they keep going out and the car is a drifter. I just happen to enter my VIN# in the system and I was shock. I have been driving this car not knowing my car has 4 recalls on it. I would like to get another car because at this point I do not feel safe driving my family even if they serviced it. Just hearing all the problems that wrong with this car, I do not feel safe. Who do I need to talk to about this matter?

- High Springs, FL, USA

problem #226

Jan 052015

Sonata

  • 90,895 miles
My husband was driving home from work and the engine started making a horrible knocking noise. This was on a Friday. We had the car towed to our mechanic the following Monday and he told us the whole bottom end of the engine had failed. Hyundai wouldn't honor our warranty because we didn't have all of our maintanence records for the car. We ended up paying for the engine to be replaced out of our pocket. When hyundia sent our mechanic the new engine it was the wrong one. My mechanic spend the next 3 weeks arguing with them over his fact. Finally after 6 weeks, hyundia agreed to source a second new engine and install it themselves. Even with this decision, they still wouldn't cover it under our warranty. They took an additional 4 weeks to install the engine. We paid for a rental car out of pocket while this was being taken care of. So ultimately, this cost us close to $6000 out of pocket when it should have been covered under our warranty. I will never purchase another Hyundai, nor will I recommend their products to my familiy and friends or anyone else I come in contact with. This has been an horrible experience.

- Valley Springs, CA, USA

problem #225

Sep 132012

Sonata

  • 44,600 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. When the vehicle was started, it made a loud ticking sound and rattled. The noise lasted approximately fifteen minutes. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the rod accessory oil level gauge needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 44,600.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?