Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 16
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,478 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 8 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #196

Nov 132015

Sonata

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that after the vehicle was started, there was an abnormal noise under the hood of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. In addition, the technician informed the contact that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Waco Robinson, TX, USA

problem #195

Aug 142015

Sonata

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 02/10/16

- Antelope, CA, USA

problem #194

Sep 152015

Sonata

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #193

Jul 182014

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V434000 (power train) and 15V568000 (engine); however the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 1/20/16

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #192

Sep 102015

Sonata

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Rowland Heights, CA, USA

problem #191

Nov 062015

Sonata

  • 68,000 miles
After hearing the knocking sound for 5 minutes, while I was driving on the street, the engine stopped and all the lights went on. Smoke was coming out of the engine and it did not turn on again. Hyundai roadside assistance charged me $75 to tow it to the dealership. Since last week I have been contacting the dealership and Hyundai and still have not heard a definitive answer. Dealership said Hyundai decides and Hyundai said I have to wait because they have no remedy for it.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #190

Jun 152012

Sonata

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while the driver was driving at approximately 45 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The engine did not restart. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where the diagnosis was unknown. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The failure mileage was approximately 15,000. Update 01/13/16

- Camden, NJ, USA

problem #189

May 202015

Sonata

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle began to lose power without warning. The contact also stated that an abnormal noise could be heard coming from the engine. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure occurred intermittently. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #188

Oct 132015

Sonata

  • 52,000 miles
My 16yo daughter was driving the car (going about 40 mph) when warning lights became illuminated and the car started lurching. She was barely able to get the car home. The next day we took it around the corner to closest garage. The mechanic said it sounded like it threw a rod. We had it towed to the dealership. The car only has about 52,000 miles on it and we are the original owners. They have confirmed there was metallic debris in the oil pan- the service rep even had a picture of it on his cellphone to show me.the dealership has been great, giving us a loaner. However, tomorrow the car will have been there for a month and we still have no idea when it will be fixed! the repair parts are unavailable! I thought about trading it in for a new car, but the car is paid for and I don't want to incur anymore debt. I actually had to tell the dealership about the recall (campaign 132). It was so new they were unaware of it. When I tried the automated line for Hyundai corporation it told me my car was not involved in the recall. However, when I asked to speak to a representative and repeated the VIN #, then I was told it was indeed included in the recall. If my car became inoperable a month ago, how on earth do they plan on handling 1/2 a million cars when they can't even fix one?

- North Augusta, SC, USA

problem #187

Nov 012014

Sonata

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While operating the vehicle, a knocking noise was present coming from the engine and the vehicle suddenly shut off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine was faulty. The engine was replaced, but the failure continued. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #186

Sep 012014

Sonata

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 60 mph, the contact noticed an abnormal noise coming from the engine compartment of the vehicle. In addition, the vehicle consumed engine oil in excess and there was oil coming out of the exhaust pipe. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine and the rod bearing needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The failure mileage was 95,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Spruce Pine, AL, USA

problem #185

Oct 012015

Sonata

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at approximately 25 mph, the contact heard an abnormal noise and the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was undetermined. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 79,000.

- Ever Green Park, IL, USA

problem #184

Mar 132015

Sonata

  • 85,000 miles
While driving on the highway, the car began shaking and a clicking noise. The car lost power. The engine through a rod and blew the cam - upper and lower half of the engine block.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #183

Aug 102015

Sonata

  • 73,000 miles
My car was making a knocking noise and would continue to get louder as I pressed the accelerator. I was told the engine had to be replaced which I did at car pros Hyundai in renton, wa. My Hyundai warranty would not cover the engine replacement. I was told it was my fault after only owning the car for a little over a year.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #182

Oct 312015

Sonata

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle decreased speed independently and the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle stalled and, after several attempts, restarted. The failure recurred multiple times. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine) however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #181

Jun 232014

Sonata

  • 51,174 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact mentioned that the push button start failed to work and that the dealer replaced the starter once before the contact owned the vehicle. When the failure was experienced, the contact had the starter replaced by a repair shop but the failure continued. The push button start randomly failed to work. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine), but had not received notification of the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 51,174. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Fernandina Beach, FL, USA

problem #180

Oct 262015

Sonata

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle would suddenly stall. The cause of the failure was undetermined. The manufacturer was notified. The contact also indicated that the brake lights would erroneously remain activated while operating the vehicle. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Del Ray Beach, FL, USA

problem #179

Dec 312014

Sonata

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at an unknown speed, an abnormal knocking sound emitted from the vehicle and it stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to be restarted and the engine warning light illuminated before the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the engine rod had blown and, as a result, the engine needed to be replaced. The contact recently received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #178

Oct 272015

Sonata

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Kingsland, GA, USA

problem #177

Sep 102015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact heard knocking noises coming from the vehicle mainly when accelerating. Shortly after, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The dealer stated that they could not hear the abnormal noises. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the remedy for the failure had not yet been determined. The vehicle could not be repaired. The failure mileage was 105,000. The contact's VIN was associated with this recall as of September 10, 2015. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 2/4/16 the consumer has since sold the vehicle. Updated 02/11/16.

- Disputanta, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?