Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 13
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,053 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 15)

problem #284

Feb 032016

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that there was an abnormal noise that progressed near the steering wheel. In addition, the oil had to be refilled every four to six weeks, but there was no presence of a leak. The contact was unable to determine where the failure originated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for the engine crank shaft recall and it was indicated that the steering coupling needed to be replaced. The contact was informed that the VIN was not included in the engine crank shaft recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was also excluded from NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V568000 (engine), 16V190000 (steering), 10V457000 (steering), and 10V426000 (steering). The contact took the vehicle to an independent mechanic who stated that he would not install the part because it was not an oem revised part from the manufacturer. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer to determine if the manufacturer would be able to provide a repair solution. The failure mileage was not available.

- New Port News, VA, USA

problem #283

May 152014

Sonata

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The vehicle was inspected by the dealer under the recall; however, the contact was informed that the vehicle had not met the criteria to be repaired under the recall. The contact was concerned that the vehicle consumed large quantities of oil. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #282

Dec 222015

Sonata

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ramsey, NJ, USA

problem #281

Feb 012016

Sonata

  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. After the vehicle was started, an abnormal clunking sound emitted from the engine and the vehicle vibrated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician added a fuel additive and fuel system cleaner, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 57,000.

- Milwakee, WI, USA

problem #280

Apr 112016

Sonata

  • 55,000 miles
When I place my car in park the car is, telling me to shift to park but I'm already in park. My car will turn off but my navigation screen stays on. Also the engine push to start/stop light won't turn off. In addition I am unable to use my favorite to lock the doors because it thinks my keys are still in the vehicle so I have to manually lock it. The car seems to stall occasionally and I have to gas it to pick up speeds and I've only had the car for two months.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #279

Apr 042016

Sonata

  • 96,000 miles
On third engine that is finally recalled with campaign 132 but how do I know if the current engine is defective or not" took car to dealership and they said it 'passed' the one time recall check. This is a joke. First engine failed at 96K and second at 10 miles and now who knows when third will fail or not? can't get Hyundai customer care nor dealership to take the time to tell me when the current engine was made. Have 119K on car now. I am frustrated and can't get answers... can you help me"

- Sykesville, MD, USA

problem #278

Apr 042016

Sonata

  • 118,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while at a stop sign, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart however, the failure was persistent. The contact also mentioned that the air bag warning light constantly illuminated. The vehicle was repaired previously under NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The vehicle was diagnosed by an independent mechanic and the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 118,000.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #277

Mar 312016

Sonata

  • 68,500 miles
ECM computer failed. Nothing will work. Not only undrivable, it is unstartable! had to be towed from our driveway. (many systems on this car have failed previously!!) cannot get local dealer to repair it. No one seems to know what to do. Hyundais are a joke!!

- Bastrop, TX, USA

problem #276

Mar 262016

Sonata

  • 140,000 miles
Briefly, 2011 Hyundai Sonata to dealer for engine recall 132 campaign on 3/24/16. Notified dealer that car had stalled on highway 2 days prior. According to dealer, car "passed" recall. On 3/26/16, engine seized on highway at 65mph. Thankfully, no injuries. Car towed to dealer on 3/29/16. Hyundai approves new engine on 3/30/16. To be continued...

- Branford, CT, USA

problem #275

Dec 202015

Sonata

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owned a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The contact stated that the brake pedal was depressed, but failed. The brakes were repaired three times prior to the crash. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent salvage yard. The contact was not injured. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V759000 (service brakes, hydraulic) and 15V568000 (engine). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 88,000. The vehicle was destroyed.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #274

Sep 012015

Sonata

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle suddenly shut off. After approximately 40 minutes, the contact was able to restart the engine and the vehicle operated normally. A burning odor was present coming from the engine. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that there was no remedy available to repair the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 98,000.

- Taylor, TX, USA

problem #273

Mar 302016

Sonata

  • 122,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at approximately 65 mph, the vehicle made an abnormal noise and stalled. The vehicle was able to restart and was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine rod needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 122,000.

- Browns Mills, NJ, USA

problem #272

Mar 292016

Sonata

  • 87,000 miles
As I was driving on the 405 freeway the car shut off. I was able to make it off the freeway but the car would not start again. After having it towed to my mechanic, he said it has something to do with the engine. I looked up the recalls for this car and see this is a problem others have had. Is there anything I can do to fix or get another car?

- Canyon Country, CA, USA

problem #271

Mar 112016

Sonata

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 5 mph in a parking lot, a warning message displayed "critical error" and the vehicle stalled. After numerous attempts, the vehicle restarted. The failure began immediately after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). One week later, the failure recurred. The vehicle failed to restart and was towed to the dealer. The mechanic stated that the starter would need to be replaced. The contact mentioned that the vehicle remained at the dealer for seven consecutive months before the recall repair due to the part not being available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #270

Jul 252014

Sonata

  • 64,000 miles
Engine seized and I had it replaced at a cost of$3,620.04. As per the agreement they made regarding the engine failing due to metal objects being in the engine that was their fault, they would reimburse owners for this cost. I have been waiting over 6 months and when I called, they stalled by requesting me to prove I owned the vehicle by submitting my registration or insurance for the vehicle. I traded in the vehicle last fall and do not have the the items anymore. My name is on the bill I paid for the engine replacement, this is just another way they can try to not pay even they agreed to pay.the engine failed at the savannah airport.

- Richmond Hill, GA, USA

problem #269

Oct 012015

Sonata

  • 41,200 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. After the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine), oil leaked from the engine and the engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the hoses and coil springs needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 41,200.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #268

Aug 202015

Sonata

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. When the vehicle was started, the check engine light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The contact stated that a quart of oil was added and the dipstick was replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Savanah, GA, USA

problem #267

Feb 142016

Sonata

  • 100,299 miles
I took my car in to len stoler Hyundai at 11275 reisterstown road owings mills md on Feb 08 2016 for a recall campaign 132 and campaign 136. I was told everything had been inspected and was fine. On Feb 14th 2016 I was driving home late at night on a residential street when I noticed a noise, clicking sound when suddenly the car stalled. I called my son and he tried to start the car. The oil gauge indicator was on and when he inspected it indicated that oil was very low. Which was unusal because at the time of the recall, I was told my oil was low and I also had an oil and filter done. There was no indication of any leaking from the bottom of my car then nor at the time the car stalled. My son put more oil in the car. The car wouldn't start and he pushed it to the side of the road. The next morning I called aaa and took it back to len stoler Hyundai.its been three weeks and they are still fixing it.

- Owings Mills, MD, USA

problem #266

Feb 292016

Sonata

  • 58,000 miles
II had a recall on several things on my car. Took the car back to dealer I bought it from had the recall stiff done and two week later my starter went out. I informed them there was also a recall for the starter and they argue me down that it was not. Well several people I know with the same type of car year, make and model and they received an notice but when they took it in the recall was found. I had to get my car towed and pay for the repairs in the amount of $575 at for they were trying to charge me over $700. I should not have had to pay for a recall and now trying to find how to file a claim for a refund. My car stop on the street in front of my place of employment I got a jump it made it home and died again on the street call aaa and had it towed to dealer.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #265

Feb 242016

Sonata

  • 96,970 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the engine failed. While driving 50 mph, the lights on the instrument panel illuminated and smoke emitted under the hood. The contact was able to move onto the shoulder of the road. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic who performed a diagnostic, which located a failure code at the engine starter. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 96,970.

- Newark, DE, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?