Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 13
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,240 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 15)

problem #292

Jun 202016

Sonata

  • 108,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car started making a metallic clicking noise at highway speeds and then stalled when trying to accelerate. I was able to get the car off to the side of the highway. The dealership indicated that the engine was shot. Appears to be related to NHTSA 15V568.

- Stratford, CT, USA

problem #291

Jun 092016

Sonata

  • 104,000 miles
Fork in stater motor that moves the pinion gear gear to engage snapped. Hyundai has a tsb and this is a common report on the internet. Believe using plastic for this part was a poor decision guaranteeing failure.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #290

Jan 012016

Sonata

  • 110,000 miles
Car still idles but does not accelerate while in motion while driving in the dark (only) my traction light comes on. During this time, while I am driving, the car fails to accelerate. It will lose all momentum. The car never shuts off. I have to remove my foot from the gas and reapply it, for the car to correct itself. Very scary. I drive on the highway everyday to and from work. Sometimes it does it repeatedly, giving my car a "hopping" feeling. It does not do it every morning but at least 3-5 times a week. Some days I am worried I will not make it to work or worse get hit from losing speed. My car also makes a clanking noise while I am reversing. I have had it shut off on me once while driving on the highway during rush hour traffic. Sat for about an hour on the shoulder before the car would start again. I received letters in the mail about a recall and took it on February 4, 2016 to the Hyundai dealership. Was there for almost 3 hours. They fixed my brake stopping pad and some handles on the doors but said there was nothing wrong with the engine..... I am not sure if they were honest or not after reading some of the comments on carcomplaints.com.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #289

Jun 112016

Sonata

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 50 mph, the engine stalled and the brakes failed without warning. The vehicle was restarted and the failure recurred. The vehicle was driven to the mechanic. The failure was diagnosed as an engine issue. The VIN was included in an unknown recall. The failure mileage was 112,000.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #288

Jun 022016

Sonata

  • 114,500 miles
There is a recall on this car/engine. The dealer examined the vehicle on February 16, 2016 and states that the recall is closed; however, on June 2, 2016 to present is has been noticed that the vehicle is exhibiting issues as described in the recall. Specifically, cyclical engine knocking, tapping. Confirmed with independent mechanic.

- Canonsburg, PA, USA

problem #287

May 232016

Sonata

  • 146,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 50 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated, the vehicle decreased speed independently, and stalled. The vehicle failed to restart and was towed to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine); however, the mechanic stated that the vehicle could not be repaired. The diagnosis was that the cylinder head needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 146,000.

- Castleberry, AL, USA

problem #286

May 162016

Sonata

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down an off ramp where they had some placed some speed strips to warn vehicles that the road ahead was stripped and under the process of being re-asphalted. I slowed down as I entered the main road and the power turned off and all the dashboard lights lit up. I was lucky no one was behind me and the road was clear to enter. I pulled into the parking lot of a retail store, glided into a parking space and put the vehicle in park. I tried starting the vehicle, which it did, and as soon as I pushed on the accelerator, the vehicle turned off again. I let it sit, called aaa and the dealership where I was having it towed to give them advance warning. While I was waiting for the tow truck, I attempted to restart the vehicle, which it did, and this time when I attempted to drive it, it did not stop but acted like nothing happened. I drove the vehicle around the parking lot and nothing happened again and backed the vehicle into a space to allow the tow driver easier access to the car. The dealership has had it all day and still have not located any problems.

- Middle River, MD, USA

problem #285

Jan 042016

Sonata

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that there was a progressing failure in which the engine made a loud noise and burned oil excessively. The dealer was notified months before the contact was aware that there was a recall concerning the failure. The dealer was unable to provide a remedy repair solution. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine) and was also included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V759000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The approximate failure mileage was 95,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Midlothian, IL, USA

problem #284

Feb 032016

Sonata

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that there was an abnormal noise that progressed near the steering wheel. In addition, the oil had to be refilled every four to six weeks, but there was no presence of a leak. The contact was unable to determine where the failure originated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for the engine crank shaft recall and it was indicated that the steering coupling needed to be replaced. The contact was informed that the VIN was not included in the engine crank shaft recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was also excluded from NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V568000 (engine), 16V190000 (steering), 10V457000 (steering), and 10V426000 (steering). The contact took the vehicle to an independent mechanic who stated that he would not install the part because it was not an oem revised part from the manufacturer. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer to determine if the manufacturer would be able to provide a repair solution. The failure mileage was not available.

- New Port News, VA, USA

problem #283

May 152014

Sonata

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The vehicle was inspected by the dealer under the recall; however, the contact was informed that the vehicle had not met the criteria to be repaired under the recall. The contact was concerned that the vehicle consumed large quantities of oil. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #282

Dec 222015

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ramsey, NJ, USA

problem #281

Feb 012016

Sonata

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. After the vehicle was started, an abnormal clunking sound emitted from the engine and the vehicle vibrated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician added a fuel additive and fuel system cleaner, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 57,000.

- Milwakee, WI, USA

problem #280

Apr 112016

Sonata

  • 55,000 miles
When I place my car in park the car is, telling me to shift to park but I'm already in park. My car will turn off but my navigation screen stays on. Also the engine push to start/stop light won't turn off. In addition I am unable to use my favorite to lock the doors because it thinks my keys are still in the vehicle so I have to manually lock it. The car seems to stall occasionally and I have to gas it to pick up speeds and I've only had the car for two months.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #279

Apr 042016

Sonata

  • 96,000 miles
On third engine that is finally recalled with campaign 132 but how do I know if the current engine is defective or not" took car to dealership and they said it 'passed' the one time recall check. This is a joke. First engine failed at 96K and second at 10 miles and now who knows when third will fail or not? can't get Hyundai customer care nor dealership to take the time to tell me when the current engine was made. Have 119K on car now. I am frustrated and can't get answers... can you help me"

- Sykesville, MD, USA

problem #278

Apr 042016

Sonata

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while at a stop sign, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart however, the failure was persistent. The contact also mentioned that the air bag warning light constantly illuminated. The vehicle was repaired previously under NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The vehicle was diagnosed by an independent mechanic and the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 118,000.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #277

Mar 312016

Sonata

  • 68,500 miles
ECM computer failed. Nothing will work. Not only undrivable, it is unstartable! had to be towed from our driveway. (many systems on this car have failed previously!!) cannot get local dealer to repair it. No one seems to know what to do. Hyundais are a joke!!

- Bastrop, TX, USA

problem #276

Mar 262016

Sonata

  • 140,000 miles
Briefly, 2011 Hyundai Sonata to dealer for engine recall 132 campaign on 3/24/16. Notified dealer that car had stalled on highway 2 days prior. According to dealer, car "passed" recall. On 3/26/16, engine seized on highway at 65mph. Thankfully, no injuries. Car towed to dealer on 3/29/16. Hyundai approves new engine on 3/30/16. To be continued...

- Branford, CT, USA

problem #275

Dec 202015

Sonata

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owned a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The contact stated that the brake pedal was depressed, but failed. The brakes were repaired three times prior to the crash. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent salvage yard. The contact was not injured. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V759000 (service brakes, hydraulic) and 15V568000 (engine). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 88,000. The vehicle was destroyed.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #274

Sep 012015

Sonata

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle suddenly shut off. After approximately 40 minutes, the contact was able to restart the engine and the vehicle operated normally. A burning odor was present coming from the engine. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that there was no remedy available to repair the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 98,000.

- Taylor, TX, USA

problem #273

Mar 302016

Sonata

  • 122,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving at approximately 65 mph, the vehicle made an abnormal noise and stalled. The vehicle was able to restart and was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine rod needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 122,000.

- Browns Mills, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?