Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,654 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #56

Dec 222016

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving, the sunroof busted out. Glass went all unside the vehicle while I was in heavy traffic on the interstate. I almost wrecked the vehicle and the glass scratched up the paint sourrounding the vehicle and the trunk.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #55

Dec 222016

Sonata

  • 160,000 miles
The morning of December 22,2016 about 7:30 am headed to work, suddenly I hear something sounding like a gun shot near my head!! my sunroof had exploded!! scared the heck out of me!! I was driving about 45-55 mph on a highway. I don't know how I did not wreck my car!!

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #54

Jan 052017

Sonata

  • 46,000 miles
On Thursday 1/5/17, upon starting my vehicle, my engine light was illuminated. Today, I had a diagnostic test done and was told the turbo component was not working. My vehicle has approximately 46,000 miles. I read online and this has happened to others with the same mileage. Is there another recall?

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #53

Dec 252016

Sonata

  • 117,650 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Accessory power remains on in park

- Perry, GA, USA

problem #52

Dec 282016

Sonata

  • 148,000 miles
While putting my car in drive and in park, there is resistance in shifting. This happens every time I shift my transmission from park, to drive and from drive to park, this issue occurs. I contacted my dealer to get this repaired, and the dealer said it was a known issue but will cost between $500-$700 to repair. This is my sole vehicle that I depend on to take me to and from work, so I have to get it repaired for my safety even though it will create a financial burden.

- Tracy, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #51

Jul 132016

Sonata

  • miles
When I accelerate on the freeway, engine stalls. Goes from 55 to zero and when I pump vigoursly in the gas to make it go faster, it will not. I almost was slammed in the rear from other cars in the freeway. Plus air bag light will not go off. Plus knock knock noise heard in the engine.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #50

Nov 102016

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have taken my car into Hyundai 3 times for the same repair on the steering column. I have clicking and chunking in the steering wheel and now my key will not release. I was told this time by Hyundai that it would cost me $150 for diagnostic and thousands if it isnt a related issue. This car is a lemon, and im stuck with it.

- Coolidge, AZ, USA

problem #49

Oct 202016

Sonata

  • 76,170 miles
On multiple occasions my vehicle has been serviced by a Hyundai dealership in South Florida. After "repairing" the air bag signal, it has reappeared on at least four trips to the dealer. After multiple repair (including the replacement of the cables) the following issues still occur; 1) the oil indicator lights and the tachometer lights go on and off periodically, 2) the air conditioner goes off, the comes back again in few minutes, 3) the low air light comes for my tires, 4) engine light, and 5) speedometer indicator went up and down with the vehicle traveling at the same speed. The vehicle is close to 76,000 miles. The above indicated events occurred primarily while driving in city streets. However, some of them were experienced in highway traffic.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #48

Oct 012016

Sonata

  • 80,000 miles
Crusie control brake lights parking steering engine all records I have with the dealership show the major problems ive have and its yet to be fixed along with the many recalls on this vehicle

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #47

Sep 152014

Sonata

  • 64,981 miles
Over the five years the car will stall in parking lot.will have it towed to dealer.this happen two times this year. They could not find problem. Could not use battery to start, battery checked it was fine, starter fine, alternator fine.it made me feel uneasy if it stalled on road.they checked engine said it was fine.not happy with this.the last at my kroger it stopped.towed to repair shop near home same result, could not find problem.each time when car sat overnight for repair the problem went away and car started ok by dealer.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #46

Sep 082016

Sonata

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My driver side tail light fell out of the casing, driving down the highway during the summer of 2015. Luckily, the wires kept it holding on or it would have flown into traffic. Now, a bit over a year later, in September of 2016, and out of warranty, the passenger side has done the same thing. The dealership refuses to do anything since I am out of warranty. According to Hyundai forums, there are a lot of cars that are having this issue. See this link: www.Hyundai-forums.com/yf-2011-Sonata-I45/143267-tail-light-studs-breaking-off.html#/topics/143267?page=3&_K=wuwg5M also, there is an issue with a $3 clip in the steering wheel. I get a lot of clatter when driving down the road, and turning my steering wheel according to Hyundai forums, my car isn't the only one this is happening to. I have been told it isn't a safety issue, and can wait a bit to get it replaced. It is highway robbery for them to charge $237 to replace a $3 part. But, because it is in the steering column, no other auto-repair places will fix it. I cannot document this as I have not had it fixed yet, and I cannot record the sound while driving...

- Maryville, TN, USA

problem #45

Sep 172016

Sonata

  • 40,570 miles
Starter needed replacement at 40,600 miles.

- Evanston, IL, USA

problem #44

Apr 132016

Sonata

  • 111,000 miles
Takata inflators: Had a car fire from fuel line per fire dept information. I was on the 405 West bound fwy when I started to smell gas and the front hood of the car I noticed black smoke coming out. I got out of the fwy and then parked the car, when someone driving of the opposite direction yelled for me to get out of the car. I turned off the car and ran out to the side walk within a few minutes the car when up in smoke and then it exploded twice. People from the surrounding businesses came out to see if I was alright. The owner of the flower nursery came out and called the fire dept. They arrived and turned out the fire.

- Pico Rivera, CA, USA

problem #43

Jun 232016

Sonata

  • 67,000 miles
No one can fix my recalls - im scared to drive this car I have a 2 year old need payoff amount to I can buy new car! NHTSA recall number: Opens new window takes away from VIN lookup section> 15V568000 recall date: September 10, 2015 safety risk: Engine failure would result in a vehicle stall, increasing the risk of a crash. Ecall status: Recall incomplete manufacturer notes: Owners may also contact the nat'L highway traffic safety admin vehicle safety hotline at 1-888-327-4236(tty 1-800-424-9153), or go to www.safercar.gov htsa recall number: Opens new window takes away from VIN lookup section> 15V759000 recall date: November 16, 2015 my car almost crashed itself because my vehicle staled in the middle of an intersection. Also - sometimes my blinker links will not switch off for no reason and cars almost hit me because thinking im going to merge! I need out of this car its not safe for my 2 year old to drive with me!!! I am already pre-approved for a loan but this car put me in a hole!!! please help

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #42

Dec 142015

Sonata

  • miles
I bought my Hyundai Sonata gls 2011, in 2010, and since then there have been several recalls on it. I have done my research, and have found that a manufacturer must repair, replace, or supply a new vehicle to the owner when a recall is mandated. I have taken my vehicle to the dealership for each recall, and what they do is inspect the vehicle, and in most cases, tell me my car doesn't apply to the recall as they find nothing wrong. I am disturbed by this because again, everything I have read, everyone I have talked to, etc... tells me that the dealer must do something in order for the recall to be considered complete. I am driving around in a vehicle with things wrong with it, transporting a toddler, and am stuck with finding resolution on my own. How is this fair to the consumer? the manufacturer has all of its money, as my car is paid off, and my car isn't worth anything for trade or resell due to negligence. If I can make a difference by filing a complaint, and possibly save someone's life, I am willing to try everything and anything in my power to do so.

- York, PA, USA

problem #41

Aug 182016

Sonata

  • miles
I made a previous complaint NHTSA # 10896943...I just wanted to confirm when I picked my car up from the shop because my brake lights would not go off which caused my battery to die and multiple other problems, this was actually my 4th recall to be fixed on this car. They confirmed the rattling and lose steering wheel is because the steeling coupler needs replaced. There is no recall and it is going to cost over $300 to get it fixed. While the car was in the shop I found out there was 2 other recalls 6 total recalls since I bought this car. The shop had to order parts for one of the recalls so I am having to take my car back when the part arrives. There needs to be a recall on the coupler as well, if I do not pay to have this fixed and it breaks while driving it could cause me to lose steering which obviously is not a situation I want to put my family or myself in!! this needs to be addressed before someone get seriously hurt or killed due to all these failures!!

- Gardendale, AL, USA

problem #40

Aug 182016

Sonata

  • miles
Every time I go over a bump in the road even a bump so small most people dont even feel, a rattle comes from the steering column. While in the shop for multiple other recalls I ask them to look at this and he tells me the sterring coupler has been a major issue and probably needs to be replaced but I would need to pay to have it checked. This same issue has occurred on many other 2011 through 2014 Sonatas. It is going to cost over $300 to get it fixed. Given the many issues with this part, it appears to be one of the recalls. I love my car but this is starting to be a bit much seeing how I only have 67,000 miles on the car. Ready to sale it and get something else if Hyundai cant provide a safe and decent care for me and my family!

- Gardendale, AL, USA

problem #39

Jul 122016

Sonata

  • 120,000 miles
After stopping the car and parking, the key gets stuck and I am unable to remove it. After jiggling the key and tugging at the steering wheel, the key eventually can be removed. It has happened more frequently in the past several weeks. The latest occurrence was July 12, 2016.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #38

Jun 232016

Sonata

  • miles
Key gets hung up stuck in ignition will not shut off at times must work gear shift shoving it back and forth to release key and pull out while doing this car can also roll out of its parking space and cause problems.... the vehicle is and was stationary but this has happened on city streets on a hill as well very dangerous. I have read up and seen this numerous times from other people as well so I know it is not just this car

- Watauga, TN, USA

problem #37

Jun 012016

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata. Consumer writes in regards to disappointments in the amount of recall for vehicle.

- Toledo, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?