Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,493 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments

problem #10

Apr 012016


  • 100,000 miles


Myfront passenger seat belt went out about 7 months ago. Since then I am now having issues with my front driver seat belt. I have to insert it 3-5 times for it to latch. Sometimes it doesnt latch at all. All in the parked status. There is nothing "stuck" in the buckles. I am also having issues with my key getting stuck in the ignition when I put it in park and try to take it out. This has been going on foratleast 2 years.

- Gary, IN, USA

problem #9

Sep 232015


  • miles
Passenger side seat belt latch intermittently fails to latch. It partially latches but if you pull it pops out. Need to insert about 4 to 5 times and tug to confirm it holds. This was checked by Hyundai service center on 10/8/15 and they stated this was not a warranty item although no external damage was a result of failure.

- Norco, CA, USA

problem #8

Sep 282015


  • 24,000 miles
The front passenger seat belt does not click in the buckle. When I purchase the car in 2011 my ignition key would not come out I took it back to the dealer several time until inally it got stuck there 4 years later it started again but doesnot happen when at the dealership.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #7

Dec 152014


  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, another vehicle crashed into the rear of the contact's vehicle. As a result, the contact crashed into another vehicle and the seat belt became unlatched. The air bags also failed to deploy. The contact sustained neck, back and shoulder injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 112,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 3/13/15 updated 03/26/15

- Tickfaw, LA, USA

problem #6

Sep 042014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
I was rear ended while at a stop by a large truck that was going 40 mph. My airbags didn't deploy, which didn't surprise me, but my seatbelt did not properly engage. When I was rearended, I went forward and my head hit something, possible the steering wheel. The seatbelt finally engaged and strapped me back to the seat. Due to the failure of engagement, and my head hitting an object, I sustained a substantial concussion due to the head trauma and have post concussion syndrome which is greatly effecting me at home and at work.

- Stillwater, OK, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Sep 032013


  • 17,000 miles
On 9/3/2013 my car was hit in an accident and the driver side seat belt disconnected from the door panel which left me unprotected. I experienced shoulder pain and was taken to the hospital for xrays nothing was broken but it took me a couple of weeks to be relieved of the pain.

- Stowe, PA, USA

problem #4

Jun 262012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 29,850 miles


While going down the hill, the car dash board suddenly pop up the message check charging system with a loud noise. After get off on the first Ram, turn the car off then on again the message go away, able to run again without any warning. For the seat belt, the one on the driver side sometime it's hard to pull out specially in the morning. It's also worn out after 5000 mile.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #3

Dec 232011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the passenger side seat belt unlatched from the floor connector while attempting to utilize the seat belt. The contact was able to re-attach the seat belt back into the connector. The contact did not take the vehicle to the dealer or call the manufacturer in regards to the failure. The failure mileage was 11,000. Updated 01/10/12 updated 03/14/12 updated 03/19/12

- Kalama, WA, USA

problem #2

Nov 112011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 12,080 miles
11 year old passenger sitting in the right rear seat, and was using the seat belt, still suffered injuries due to a frontal crash. Person suffered a fractured jaw.

- Trabuco Canyon, CA, USA

problem #1

Oct 132010


  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the steering wheel suddenly locked up which caused her to collide into two wooden posts and signs in a grassy area. The brakes would not engage when the contact attempted to stop the vehicle; a hole in the ground stopped the vehicle. The contact also noticed that the seat belt did not tighten to secure her during the incident. There were no injuries. A police report was filed. The contact stated that she previously had the vehicle into the dealer for recall 10V426000 (steering:gear box:shaft sector) on October 8, 2010. The vehicle was at the dealer at the time of the complaint. The manufacturer had not been notified. The current and failure mileages were approximately 4,000.

- Warwick, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?