CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
43,980 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 12 of 43)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #633

Jan 012016

Sonata

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 55 mph, the steering wheel vibrated and an abnormal noise was heard. The contact had to pull the vehicle over to investigate the noise. When the vehicle was back in motion, it became difficult to steer. An independent mechanic diagnosed that the steering coupler needed to be repaired. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who confirmed the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Leesburg, GA, USA

problem #632

Jun 132016

Sonata

  • 59,000 miles
Steering wheel flaws, when turning to left you will hear a noise and pull. Going over bumps or any type of surface that is not flat road hear a very noticeable clanging noise. Steering wheel rattles at speeds over 55 mph. Like other notifications here, the dealership states this is a known issue with the steering wheel but wants to charge to correct the issue. Car has never been in an accident and is well maintained.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #631

Jan 062016

Sonata

  • miles
Clicking in steering wheel. Shakes violently at 60 mph. Noise comes from the steering wheel when U hit a bump. Dealer knew exactly the problem and the cost before I could even explain. Evidently, this is a known issue with Hyundai that need to be fixed for free and not $350 later.

- Phenix City, AL, USA

problem #630

Mar 162016

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased car on 3/8/2016, the car made noises while turning. Both shaft assembly replaced, parts $749.70, labor $150. Our daughter was given the car on 3/12/2016, on 3/16/2016 while driving the eps light illuminated, power steering was loss. Hyundai dealership diagnosed and replaced steering column and column assembly, cost $1701.18. The passenger airbag has come out on two occasions. The dealership in charlottesville, va pushed it back in. On 6/11/2016, passenger airbag came out while driving. (husband pushed it back in, however, I don't feel our daughter and her passengers are safe). On 6/11/2016, while trying to drive the car, put the gear into D and the car moved backwards. Turn the car off and shifted into D(it worked). This according to our daughter, this has occurred on several occasions. Interior lighting has to be manually manipulated to turn them off.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #629

Mar 012016

Sonata

  • 55,000 miles
There is an issues with the steering coupling on my 2011 Hyundai Sonata. This car has less than 70000 miles and has been maintained since I've owned this vehicle. The steering wheel feels like it could fall of at any moment it shakes violently when stopping and also when going over 60 miles and hour. The smallest bumps in the road cause a violent shaking as well. This part the coupling is literally a piece of rubber the size of a quarter it cost 15 dollars at the part store and the dealership wants 350 dollars to fix it. I know several other Sonata owners that are having this same issue and every website I've found there have been many many of the same complaints. When I called my local dealership the women I spoke to new exactly what was wrong and how much it would cost to fix. If she knew this info right off the top of her head then that leads me to believe several Sonata drivers in my area are having this issue. Please issue a recall!!!'N

- Leesburg, GA, USA

problem #628

Jun 072016

Sonata

  • 77,000 miles
The steering column inside the cab rattles each time I hit a bump or hole in the road. I have 77,000 miles on the vehicle now, but I started to notice a suttle noise about 15,000 miles prior to what is now a major safety conern. Driving into my garage to park the vehicle, I heard a loud snap as I was turning the steering wheel and what sounded like parts falling in the steering column. I pulled forward far enough to close the garage door and there my car sits. Guess I'm lucky I wasn't at 3,000 ft level like I was the day before when the steering decided to break apart. Apparently, after doing some research on my own, the steering coupling is defective and may seperate and leave the driver with no means to steer the vehicle. No recall from Hyundai even though many are having the same issues as noted all over the internet. The Hyundai service center in fresno, ca seems to have marching orders to deny the fact that this issue is much more prevelant than simple wear and tear and are practically ready to fight you if you try to get them to admit it. Don't call the service manager "bro" or he will have the biggest hissy fit about how disrespectful that is. His name is "matt", ok; as though covering up an obvious safety defect that could cost someone their life is just silly childs play! Hyundai, do the "right" thing (ethics 101) and recall the damn thing before people get hurt or killed, if they haven't already.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #627

Apr 092016

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving over 50 mph steering wheel shakes uncontrollably, steering wheel makes a clicking noise when any slight movement made other than driving straight. I took my car to be evaluated at my local Hyundai dealer and was god my steering column was loose and that the entire steering column would need replaced. The dealership told me this issue is affecting the safety of my vehicle and the repair would be at my own expense. They could give no explanation as to why the steering column became loose ( my car has never been involved in an accident) I did some research online and found hundreds of other people complaining of the same issue with this specific year make and model vehicle. My VIN # has had 12 safety recalls since purchase. I feel this steering column problem needs to be a safety recall issued by Hyundai. Thank you

- Mcdonald, PA, USA

problem #626

Mar 312016

Sonata

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 30 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to steer the vehicle. In addition, there was an abnormal noise coming from the steering wheel and the steering wheel vibrated after driving over a bump. The failure recurred on numerous occasions and worsened over time. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the steering coupler needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired and was taken to a dealer who confirmed the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 56,000.

- Pontoon Beach, IL, USA

problem #625

May 012015

Sonata

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While turning the steering wheel in either direction, a clunking type noise was present coming from the steering column. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Wilson, NC, USA

problem #624

Dec 232015

Sonata

  • 55,000 miles
Making clicking sounds while turning steering wheel. My has started doing this when I took it for a recall approx 6 months ago. The dealer said that this could be dangerous as steering column could deteriorate and would affect accuracy of steering wheel. This has been an issue with many of Hyundai forums online, specifically with steering coupler and column. Defect in manufacturing when thousands have problems with this.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #623

May 242016

Sonata

  • 78,522 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 35 mph, the steering wheel seized and the contact lost control of the vehicle. The vehicle crashed while maneuvering around a curved road. There were no warning lights illuminated. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 78,522.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #622

May 182016

Sonata

  • miles
I noticed my steering wheel had play in it. Took to Hyundai dealer and they stated I needed a coupler and intermediate shaft and bolts to be replaced. My vehicle had 73,008 miles. Asked why this could happen on such low miles they stated parts don't last forever. Dealer summit the claim to Hyundai and Hyundai denied therefore I had to pay for repair since this was a safety issue.

- Clifton Park, NY, USA

problem #621

Dec 102015

Sonata

  • miles
The steering wheel all of a sudden felt loose one while I was driving and then it started making a rattling noise and it can be heard when I turn the wheel, go over a bumps or if I drive faster then 60 miles per hour it gets really loud with a constant rattling noise, my car only has 72000-73000 miles on

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #620

Jan 122016

Sonata

  • miles
At 62,000 miles the steering wheel felt tight, and then suddenly it felt loose when I turned the wheel to the right, and then it started a clicking noise every time I turned the wheel to the right or left. Over the next 3,000 miles it has become progressively worse with clicking and rattling any time I turn the wheel, even sitting still. Going over any bump makes a rattling noise in steering column. I see this is a very common problem in 2011 Sonata's and wonder why there is no recall?!!

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #619

May 122016

Sonata

  • 65,000 miles
Upper steering assembly joint is loose. Causing a clunking sound when driving over bumps, manhole and driving at 60mph

- Queens Village, NY, USA

problem #618

Jan 012015

Sonata

  • miles
Clicking sound from the steering wheel. Will happen at rest or motion. Progressively got worse. Also produced a thud sound on bumps on interstate. Dealer indicates the steering coupler had failed. I told them I seen many other people with the same problem. Why was it not covered by manufacturer with it being so widespread issue? cost me $394.48 for dealer to replace including the recommend alignment.

- Lilburn, GA, USA

problem #617

Apr 012016

Sonata

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 hyundia Sonata. The contact heard a clicking noise coming from the steering column when turning the steering wheel in either direction. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering wheel coupler was faulty. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 56,000.

- North Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #616

May 032016

Sonata

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. When the vehicle was in motion and stationary, the steering wheel became loose. When the vehicle drove over a bump in the road, the steering wheel made a loud rattling noise. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 108,000.

- Jefferson, GA, USA

problem #615

Dec 182015

Sonata

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving various speeds, the steering power steering seized and the eps light illuminated on the instrument panel. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the eps control unit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was notified of NHTSA campaign number: 16V190000 (steering) after the failure occurred; however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000. The VIN was not available.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #614

Nov 102015

Sonata

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V190000 (steering) several months after the failure occurred. The steering wheel made an abnormal noise and vibrated extensively for an extended period of time. The vehicle was taken to more than three independent mechanics who stated that there was an electric power steering failure. The dealers were unable to provide a specific diagnosis to repair the vehicle. The vehicle was also included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V759000 (service brakes, hydraulic) and 15V568000 (engine). The failure mileage was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lumberton, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?