Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
43,579 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 16 of 42)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #530

Dec 212015

Sonata

  • 54,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. When turning the steering wheel in either direction, a clunking noise was present. The vehicle was examined by an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the universal joint was loose. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 10V457000(steering), although the contact was experiencing an identical failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 54,500. Updated 03/15/16

- Wilson, NC, USA

problem #529

Jan 082015

Sonata

  • 70,000 miles
My 2011 Hyundai Sonata gls has a knocking in the steering when I turn the wheel it sounds as if something is loose and also knocking when I hit a speed bump. I contacted Hyundai and they said my car is not one the 100,000 VIN numbers that are affected by this recall although my car is having the same issues with what is in the recall. This is a known issue if you take a look at the following website www.aboutlawsuits.com/Hyundai-Sonata-recall-steering-problems-13090/?replytocom=87856 you can see a lot of people with the same issue. The main issue is they are only fulfilling the recall to a small amount of Sonatas made at a specific factory when they are many other cars with this defect. Hyundai is charging over $300 for the repair. As I continue to drive the car it is getting more loose and could eventually cause an accident

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #528

Dec 292015

Sonata

  • miles
While sitting in park or driving the steering wheel clicks and makes considerable noise when being turned either way. From considerable research online I've learned that this problem is very widespread among several year models of Sonata how this issue is not a recall is beyond me. Hyundai customer care said they were not aware of any steering issues with Sonata models I'm calling complete B.S. please NHTSA make this company responsible for defective euipment these vehicles are plagued with.

- Foley, AL, USA

problem #527

Sep 152015

Sonata

  • 118,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 60 mph, the steering wheel began to shake violently without warning. The contact also mentioned that there was an abnormal rattling noise in the steering column. The failure occurred randomly. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 10V426000 (steering). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was approximately 118,000.

- Rockwell City, IA, USA

problem #526

Dec 122015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 57,200 miles
Knocking in steering column when turning or when driving over uneven pavements/roads.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #525

Oct 072015

Sonata

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at 65 mph, the steering wheel shook violently without warning. The failure was persistent. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it diagnosed that the shaft universal joint connection failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired previously under NHTSA campaign number: 10V457000 (steering), but the failure recurred numerous times. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 66,000.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #524

Dec 282015

Sonata

  • 61,333 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I took my Sonata to chantilly va dealer for Hyundai recall campaign 132, after inspecting the vehicle, service manager told me that there was some clicking noise starting to happen in steering flex coupling due to wear out. I was quoted an estimate of $450 plus tax to fix it. My car has 61K miles bought in November 2010. I was told that I just passed warranty period. I have been having my vehicle serviced regularly at fairfax Hyundai dealer and was never informed of this problem before.

- Herndon, VA, USA

problem #523

Dec 202011

Sonata

  • miles
My Sonata continues to pull to the left. I have taken my vehicle to the dealer multiple times. They checked the alignment and force balanced the tires a few times. Eventually they told me it was my tires causing the problem. So they put a set of 4 brand new wheels and tires from another car onto mine. The problem still persisted. So they didnt know what to do and contacted an huyndai rep who stated the vehicle performed as designed. If the vehicle performed as designed why did your service techs check my alignment and force balance my tires 3 or 4 times" why did they put another set of wheels and tires on my car if there was no problem" its very dangerous because if I take my hand off the wheel it pulls into the other lane. Other consumers have complained of the same thing and some even had their car replaced. I filled a corporate complaint with Hyundai but they agree with the rep that the is performing as designed.

- Brentwood, PA, USA

problem #522

Sep 142015

Sonata

  • 64,000 miles
Steering wheel chicked when making turns. Noticable shake when driving. Dealer said not under warrenty. Dealer stated "coupling worn". $315 to repair. Based on complaints, can't understand why not recalled.

- Moseley, VA, USA

problem #521

Dec 042015

Sonata

  • 70,000 miles
I own a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. When you turn the steering wheel, the steering wheel is loose and you notice an abnormal clunk feeling. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that a the steering wheel coupler part in the steering needed to be replaced.the vehicle was not repaired. Approximate mileage of the vehicle: 90,000 miles.

- Saint Augustine, FL, USA

problem #520

Sep 042015

Sonata

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the steering wheel made an abnormal noise each time it was turned left or right. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 10V426000 (steering) and 10V457000 (steering). The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine) and the dealer indicated that the parts were not available. The contact was unable to determine when the recall repair would be completed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and could not provide a reasonable time frame to send the part to the dealer. The failure mileage was unknown. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Corolla, NC, USA

problem #519

Sep 042015

Sonata

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that there was an abnormal noise when the steering wheel was turned to the left or right. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 10V457000 (steering) and 10V426000 (steering). The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V568000 (engine) and the dealer indicated that the parts were not available. The contact was unable to determine when the recall repair would be completed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and pertaining to the recall they were not able to provide a reasonable time frame to send the part to the dealer. The failure mileage was not available. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Corolla, NC, USA

problem #518

Dec 102015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
Steering column coupler- potential to lose steering -I heard a clicking sound when the steering wheel was turning during normal steering of the vehicle. At times, the steering got loose and "flyaway". because of this, the steering column needed repair at a cost of $325. This problem is well known. The service advisor at Hyundai commented that he was surprised this is not a recall. My neighbor has a Hyundai and he was forced to get the same repair. Numerous posts exist on Hyundai forums about this problem. I contacted Hyundai and they advised there is no recall campaign at the present, but if one comes about, the money I spent for the repair will be refunded. This is a serious situation and I am besides myself that a recall doesn't exist for this. Thank you.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #517

Dec 072015

Sonata

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while the driving at approximately 35 mph, the steering wheel seized. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the steering box needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 102,000.

- Dunnellon, FL, USA

problem #516

May 012015

Sonata

  • 85,000 miles
2011 Sonata have clicking noise when you turn steering wheel. If I ride over a bumpy road it sounds like a piece of metal is clunking and steering wheel is loose.its totally unsafe on highway, at 65mph steering start vibrating and its scary, especially when there is a slight turn.I have done alignment, tire balance and tire rotation, but not helping with the problem.now dealer wants me to change the coupling or bearing for $250.most of 2011 Sonata have this issue, they have not done anything about it.I tired of spending money on this car.I request NHTSA to help us with this matter.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #515

Dec 042015

Sonata

  • 84,737 miles
There is a load rattle noise from the steering column at any speed while driving over rough roads or turning the steering wheel right and left. I took it to my regular maintenance facility to have them see what he problem was. They informed me that Hyundai has a technical service bulletin which verifies the issue. This bulletin describes the procedure to replace the worm shaft flexible coupling in the motor driven power steering (mdps) steering column to address this condition. www.myhyundaiforums.com/11-St-001.pdf

- Summerfield, NC, USA

problem #514

Dec 122015

Sonata

  • 65,000 miles
I have a 2011 Hyundai Sonata with approximately 65,000 miles. In 2015 the steering wheel locked twice while on but parked. The ESC and power steering indicators were on. After a while the issues spontaneously resolved in these instances and the vehicle able to be driven. In October 2015 the power steering locked up while driving the vehicle on a city street (speed <40mph). I was unable to turn the steering wheel and navigate resulting in several near misses with street parked vehicles before being able to stop the vehicle. Car towed to the dealership where they stated that they drove the vehicle around and "recalibrated it." Two months later while again traveling on city streets (<40mph) the steering wheel began to shake violently and I was unable to steer, again almost resulting in a significant crash. During this incident the same ecs and power steering indicators lit up. Unable to steer I was forced to stop and turn off my vehicle in the middle of a busy road. However, once the vehicle was turned off the steering wheel continued to shake violently until someone who came to assist me shut off the car battery. The car was towed to the dealership where upon showing them video the service manager stated he had never seen this occur in his 20 years of employment. The car is scheduled to be assessed on Monday. Internet searches show other videos of this make/model with the same violently shaking wheel and reports of accident close-calls. My specific car was part of an earlier recall (campaign 097) related to power steering that was reportedly fixed at that time, therefore this car clearly has known problems in this domain. I will never get back in this vehicle and will likely lose money on a trade in. There are clearly significant safety issues with this vehicle that have not been resolved by the earlier recall. Video link: Https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=msqe_quk50U

- Hyde Park, MA, USA

problem #513

Jul 012015

Sonata

  • miles
The steering wheel feels loose and there is a clicking sound when the wheel moves from side to side. Occurs both stationary and in motion, city and highway. Note that there were two recalls for exactly this problem in 2010 but our VIN was not included. Recall numbers 10V426000 and 10V457000. First noticed around July but has gotten noticeably worse recently.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #512

Jun 152015

Sonata

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that when turning the steering wheel, it was loose and there was an abnormal motion. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that an unknown part in the steering needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate mileage was 110,000.

- Callahan, FL, USA

problem #511

Dec 082015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While the vehicle was being serviced, an independent mechanic observed that when the steering wheel was turned, a loud knocking sound was heard. The failure occurred constantly. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the bushings for the steering column had been worn down and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.....updated 01/13/16 the consumer stated the issue was resolved 01/22/16.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?