Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,514 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 21 of 39)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #379

Apr 112015


  • 75,000 miles


My 2011 Hyundai Sonata began making a loud clicking noise in the steering wheel. This would happen while driving, regardless of speed, and while stationary and moving the wheel either left or right. When I drive over potholes or broken/uneven pavement the noise is loud and the steering wheel starts to shake as if it would fall off at any time. Hyundai said this was not covered by warranty and I see that there was a recall for this same issue for certain vehicles made between 12/11/09 and 9/10/15. Very displeased with this and with Hyundai. I think they are waiting for someone to get seriously hurt before they investigate this and by then it will be too late. It shouldnt have to get that far.

- Dallas, NC, USA

problem #378

May 082015


  • 57,000 miles
Vehicle stopped functioning at 60 mph on an interstate on a Friday night. Had to coast to side of road dodging other cars. Tried to restart vehicle with no luck. Electrical started going haywire. Interior lights started flashing as well as dashboard lights. Smoke was coming from hood of car. Within 20 minutes a road Ranger checked the status of the car and said all fluids looked good. Battery tested good. But was unable to get vehicle to start. Two hours later it was towed to a Hyundai dealership. Was told it appears to be the engine but was told they replaced the starter first because they thought it was that. Finally, told it was the engine and it would need to be replaced. Thankfully it is still under warranty. It's last service was the middle of April. They told me that the steering is possibly going on it. They reported a knocking noise. Nothing has been done to steering as of yet but now that they will have car for up to 3 weeks will probably have them check that too especially after reading many of the complaints on this and other websites.

- Zolfo Spring, FL, USA

problem #377

Feb 042015


  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 20 mph over a bump or crack in the road, the steering wheel felt abnormal. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 10426000 (steering). The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering system needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 79,000.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #376

Apr 082015


  • 75,000 miles


At first the vehicle would shift to the left and the right. Eventually at speeds above 55 the steering wheel will shake. Now at low speeds just to make a turn the steering wheel clicks loud.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #375

Apr 082015


  • 75,000 miles
At first the vehicle would shift to the left and the right. Eventually at speeds above 55 the steering wheel will shake. Now at low speeds just to make a turn the steering wheel clicks loud.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #374

Apr 012015


  • 46,000 miles
The steering column makes a large clicking noise anytime the steering wheel is moved. It sounds as if it is coming loose and is not properly installed. There is no current recall on this item. I am having it checked out tomorrow.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #373

Jul 012014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 140,000 miles


I believe my problem started since I purchased the car in Aug-2010. On the third day of purchase I returned to the dealer cause I noticed that on the freeway it lend to the right, nothing was done. This continued for severe months along with different exam & testing nothing ever conform a problem. About July of 2014 driving 80mph (to avoid being hit) I noticed steering wheel vibrated violently, since I had never driven over 75mph this problem was unknown to me. I thought it was the road or the sudden acceleration. Recently on April 27,2015 driving to work I noticed that no matter what speed over 50mph I was going, it cause the steering wheel to shake violently like if I have a flat. When car was checked I was told that the issue is in the steering column something bent/cracked. My car was manufacture on July 2, 2010 in Alabama, a friend told me about a recall on 2011 Sonata's. but when I called dealer I was told my car was not one of the recall ones. I don't understand how or who decides which car should be on the list, if a problem occurs in a specific time period shouldn't all vehicles be given the same importance. Safety should always be first before $$ doesn't hydundai know that this is how you keep families coming back. I had planned to purchase one for my daughter who is graduating in June but will have to rethink that. I love my car but not if safety is a issue, hydundai really needs to re-look at this problem!

- Wildomar, CA, USA

problem #372

Apr 272015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
Steering wheel makes a loud noise at the slightest turn, even when the car is turned off. Noise is even louder when on the road and can occur without moving the steering wheel. Feels like the steering wheel is going to fall off at any moment. Dealer says this is a known problem that will cost at least $250 to fix. If I get it fixed and then there's a recall, nobody can tell me if I'll get a refund.

- Bedford, TX, USA

problem #371

Jan 312015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
The steering wheel is making a loud clicking noise it feels that if something is loose it doesn't make a difference at what speeds your going it causes the steering wheel to vibrate or shake violently.there is no recall for that problem for my vehicle but there are recall for some Hyundai Sonata built between certain dates which my vehicle doesn't fall under.I think its the same problem and there should be a recall for all Hyundai Sonata with the same problems why risk somebody's life just repair the vehicle.

- Laredo, TX, USA

problem #370

Apr 172015


  • 89,000 miles
While driving my car I started to hear a clicking sound every time I turn either right/left and when I drive over a small bump in the road. Called local Hyundai dealership and was told I would have to pay a diagnostic fee just to look at the car. I told them I would not pay anything for a safety hazard. I started my research and have seen that this car had a recall about the same issue and when I called corporate I was told it doesn't fall under my vehicle VIN number. I really don't care what the VIN is, if I have a 2011 Sonata I want this fixed! this is a major safety issue and needs to be corrected asap. When will it change" when someone dies or gets hurt?" this was my first and last time I will purchase a Hyundai. I am totally disappointed and concerned. I don't even drive the car anymore. I want this corrected now!!! lets not wait for the worst to happen.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #369

Jul 012014


  • 10,000 miles


Car does not shift from park to reverse or drive properly all the time.

- Suitland, MD, USA

problem #368

Oct 072014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Steering column began making popping and clicking sounds. Found out there was a recall. Called Hyundai and they said problem was fixed in 2010. The car was manufactured within the time frame of the recall. Was told that it couldn't be fixed under campaign or warranty as I was second owner. My children drive this vehicle and I am concerned for their safety. Dealer looked at it at my expense and said nothing wrong. There is a major problem when the car is steered, hits a bump in the road, or even turning. Loud clicking sounds like steerting column is falling apart.

- Danbury, TX, USA

problem #367

Feb 222015


  • 61,500 miles
The steering wheel /column clicks when turning. Today, my local Hyundai dealership verified my concern and stated "noise is coming from intermediate steering shaft $278 may need steering rack as well $1018.45...". there is a recall on 2011 Sonatas for this exact issue (recall # 10V46000) for those built between December 11, 2009 and September 10, 2010. Mine was manufactured on October 22, 2010.... which is only 6 weeks later. I am having this relatively uncommon issue on a car that is < 5 years old and < 62K miles. How is it even possible that my car has had two steering column issues in ~ 4 months? this is a huge safety issue! I also want to add that at 59K, I had my steering column repaired (replace worn coupler in steering column). Luckily it was covered under the 60K warranty. This new issue is very similar to that one, except I'm now >60K miles --- out of warranty). As a matter-of-fact, my initial complaint today was that the old problem resurfaced. At the local level, this issue should be covered under the dealership 1 year service warranty, since it obviously was not inspected/repaired completely. More importantly, on a higher level, why is this even happening, especially since I am only out of the recall range by 6 weeks? the manufacturing dates affected by this recall should be investigated into furtherifurther. I feel these two issues are related and should cover more manufacture dates.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #366

Apr 102013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
When driving car the right side wheel sounds like it is rubbing I have brought it to the dealer several times and have been told that this model is known to make the sound they stated that they changed out parts and it will keep make that sound when going over a incline or pulling up a hill or into a parking area.

- Hineston, LA, USA

problem #365

Mar 072015


  • 56,000 miles
I bought my Sonata new in 2010 & have just now in 2015 put 56,000 miles on it. About a week ago I was driving & noticed a popping & grinding noise anytime the road wasn't smooth & when I would turn the wheel. I took it to be checked out & was told there was a recall. When I called Hyundai customer service about the recall I was informed that even though my car is exhibiting every sign of the steering coupling recall I would not be able to get my car repaired because my car does not fall under the manufacturing dates. My car was manufactured on 10/01/2010 & the recall stopped on 09/10/2010. I asked how they could be sure that every car manufactured after 09/10/2010 could have been manufactured correctly when they were still investigating the issue on the day my car was manufactured. Now I will have to spend $300 for a repair Hyundai should be taking responsibility for. I use to recommend Hyundai to everyone, I will never recommend it again or purchase another Hyundai again. I will be looking into trading my Sonata in after I have the steering coupling repaired.

- Beech Bluff , TN, USA

problem #364

Mar 012015


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 60 mph, the vehicle veered to the left independently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the vehicle needed an alignment. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Blairstown, NJ, USA

problem #363

Mar 062015


  • 60,001 miles
I just purchase this car and my steering wheel shakes bad. I took it to the Hyundai place in albany ga and they stated it was the coupler. I have read a lot of information about this part and many owners are having this problem I don't understand why it wasn't a recall cause you can loose your life with your steering wheel not assembled correctly or a better part. From my understanding it's plastic and plastic do not last long.

- Albany, GA, USA

problem #362

Mar 012015


  • 70,000 miles
After 70,000 miles my Sonata suddenly began to pull hard to the left. I had the car aligned twice thereafter and it did not correct the issue. My mechanic says that there is nothing bent. In a call to a Hyundai mechanic friend of his, he was alerted to a problem with the electronic steering module. Isearched the web and have found that this is a recurring problem with this model car but as of this date no recall has been issued. This is a dangerous defect! it is quite a struggle to keep the car in lane particularly on the highway. If I were to let go of the steering wheel, I would be in the on-coming lane in a matter of a few feet.

- Blairstown, NJ, USA

problem #361

Mar 112015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 69,100 miles
I was hearing a clunking sound and my steering wheel was shaking alot. I took the vehicle straight to my mechanic and he said that my intermediate shaft is bad and that it is dangerous. He said the connection could break and I could lose the ability to steer the vehicle. I called Hyundai and they said there were recalls on the 2011, but my VIN # is not one of the cars. My VIN# may not be one of the cars in the batch recalled but I have this problem with my car. Why should I have to repair a safety issue that Hyundai should be held responsible for?

- Milltown, NJ, USA

problem #360

Oct 092014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
The steering wheel has a slight catch when turning. I was told by the dealer that they could fix it but it was going to cost me. I do a lot of highway miles so there shouldn't be any reason to have steering problems after only 3 years. I had the front stabilizer arm fixed twice due to noise on the front end, was not covered because they said I ran over something, which I did not. They didn't fix right the first time so had to pay again to get the other side fixed.

- Clayton, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?