Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
43,469 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 21 of 42)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #423

Aug 122015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

About two to three weeks started noticing a crackling noise as I am turning the steering wheel either to the left or to the right at low speed as the time went by about two weeks the noise gradually increased and now I have also noticed a rattling noise coming from the steering column and getting trough a bump on the road. I am ware of the two recall campaigns that you have listed on your website but my car VIN # is not listed. Called Hyundai and they said is nothing they can do but at this time I am fearful for my family and me because I believe the car is no longer safe to drive. Just to let you know I have made a appointment for tomorrow with a local Hyundai car dealership. Thank you for your concern and attention.

- Land O Lakes, FL, USA

problem #422

Aug 202015

Sonata

  • 88,002 miles
While driving this car I heard a popping noise in the steering, I called Hyundai they sent me to have the car checked not only on this but found out there were 6 other recalls when I went to pick up my car they told me it is a mdps coupling in the steering column and not covered, the rep told me that this is an ongoing issue with Hyundai and that the part is on back order for several other vehicles and that it would cost me 400 to repair, since this is an ongoing problem with this year model car why are they not doing this as a recall, I was told this is hazardous situation and could cause a life threatening accident really " so I guess Hyundai is waiting for someone to be killed " I am beyond disappointed with this and am afraid to drive my car now ! they need to be held responsible !

- Rolesville, NC, USA

problem #421

Aug 222015

Sonata

  • 126,000 miles
When turning the steering wheel left to right, an audible mechanical clanking noise is heard in the steering column system. Additionally, you can feel feedback in the steering wheel when the clanking noise is occurring. This defect is best found when turning the steering wheel quickly to the left and then to the right, or vice versa. Took car to Firestone today to find problem, and was told it was the "steering column intermediate shaft." This part is a recall item listed for this year/make/model. However, my VIN doesn't qualify as part of this recall. Obviously this defect is wider spread than currently listed, and definitely needs to include my VIN car. Note: I work as an aviation safety inspector for the faa (fg-1825-13), so I work in the same job position but for airplanes instead. Thankfully with my mechanical background, I was able to figure out there was a safety issue before a possible accident and loss of control occurred.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #420

Oct 142014

Sonata

  • 33,546 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was having problems with my steering shaking and rattling, was waiting for my appointment at the dealership to resolve the problem as I noticed was on a recall NHTSA #10V457000 & 10V426000, dealer stated they were completed 05/ 2010. That I would have to pay $500 to fix the problem again. I was in process of transfering back to ft worth. Due to limeted budget could not fix the problem.. several days later I was involved in an incident where a person had contacted my vehicle from the front. I managed to cause this possibly fatal front end collision to be a glancing blow. But not before having problems operating the vehicle's steering capability. The shaking and rattling in the steering wheel which they (dealership) said was corrected; come also with play in the steering it self the steering wheel is turned...left or right. Due to this delay the seconds caused contact to still be made where as if was corrected with a adequate replacement part could possibly been avoided. Now am told I have to pay for this to be fixed even though is a prior recal; that is still defective. Mind you the part is $500. So is this a matter of once a recall always a recall. At $500 a pop. Waranty is 6 yrs / 60,000"? (not totally sure on that") so is my responsbility after that" may as well sell. Is it the automotive S industry to have consumers lease instead of buy...and parts industry and manufacturing industry to capitalize off of defective parts...by reselling these defectice parts over and over??????????"

- Ft Worth, TX, USA

problem #419

Aug 122015

Sonata

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 50 mph, the steering wheel became loose. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Rockwall, TX, USA

problem #418

Apr 212014

Sonata

  • 40,000 miles
Steering column recall (campaign 97) was identified as performed by Hyundai on November 12, 2010. While having repairs done to 2011 Hyundai Sonata, the mechanic identified that the car had a recall which was characterized by the steering problems/shaking identified. Hyundai was contracted and they scheduled an appointment to have the car diagnosed stating their policy... "once a recall / always a recall." I really did not really like it when I was told that if the problem was not the steering column recall, I would be charged for the diagnosis. I really did have a problem when I was told that they would not tell me what the charges may be. Compounding this, the rims have corroded to the point where they are almost completely black. This has been contributed to be corrosion of some sort by three independent inspectors. When I asked Hyundai mfg. & ES Hyundai for repair/replacement under the corrosion warranty, I was told this is not covered under their corrosion warranty. My repeated requests to have a service manager/technician to look at the rims and help explain what the problem is have been repeatedly ignored. Why can't these people say what they mean and do what they say?

- Summerdale , AL, USA

problem #417

Aug 202015

Sonata

  • 28,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Steering wheel has loud noise when turning wheel. Also when turning steering wheel there is play in turn before wheels actually turn. Dealership could not repair because parts are on back order. Was told car is safe to drive. Dealership will call when it is my turn, others ahead of me, to repair. Out of warranty by almost two months.

- Gulfport, MS, USA

problem #416

Aug 012015

Sonata

  • 116,944 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the steering wheel was making an abnormal noise and a strong vibration. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 10V426000 (steering) and 10V457000 (steering). The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V434000 (power train). The contact could not confirm if the recall repair part was available to schedule the appointment. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 116,944.

- Griffin, GA, USA

problem #415

Aug 072015

Sonata

  • 98,000 miles
I have 2011 Sonata gls I bought brand new in 2011 (I am the only owner). The reason for this letter is that I have a frequent and increasing clicking sound on my steering wheel when I'm driving and it very frequently comes and gets louder on a slight movement of the steering wheel when I'm driving.

- Ponte Vedra, FL, USA

problem #414

Jul 072015

Sonata

  • 74,500 miles
While driving on the highway and attempting to brake the steering wheel shook rapidly. The steering wheel makes a click when in park and I move the steeping wheel slightly off center to the left or the right. When driving at any speed and go over bumps on the road the steering wheel makes a clunk noise. The steering feels loose when driving on the highway at speeds of 60+. this is an issue that needs to be recalled. When I spoke to the dealer they said that my car doesn't have any recalls on the steering! but found right here on this website, shows the tsb#10-01-32. We purchased this car in 2011 with the full waranty intact from crain Kia, which also owns crain Hyundai the vehicle was a dealership demo vehicle. After running a VIN search on this website, it has not been inspected or repaired. This is unsafe and puts the lives of not just the owners/drivers of this vehicle but other drivers on the road as well in severe danger. At this time, if nothing is done, we will pursue legal action against Hyundai North America and crain Hyundai / Kia. For their lack of professionalism, selling "unsafe" cars to the public! please reopen this case immediately and have them repair these darn cars. Sincerely, us soldier and family

- Cabot, AR, USA

problem #413

Aug 072015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the highway and attempting to brake the steering wheel shook rapidly. The steering wheel makes a click when in park and I move the steeping wheel slightly off center to the left or the right. When driving at any speed and go over bumps on the road the steering wheel makes a clunk noise. The steering feels loose when driving on the highway at speeds of 60+. this is an issue that needs to be recalled. When I spoke to the dealer they said that my car doesn't have any recalls on the steering. It is obvious that there are more vehicles with this steering wheel issue that needs to be fixed at the manufacturers expense....updated 09/22/15

- Casselberry, FL, USA

problem #412

Jul 012015

Sonata

  • 103,000 miles
I own a 2011 Hyundai Sonata that recently began making a loud clunking noise from the interior steering. The steering is now loose and along with the loud clunking noise you can feel the clunk as you turn the steering wheel. I have an appointment scheduled to repair the issue along with a few other recalls. I was advised to contact Hyundai. I contacted Hyundai and advised them of the issue. I was informed there was a recall on certain 2011 Sonatas in reference to the same issue, however the recall had been closed and my vehicle was not included in that recall. According to the original recall the steering components can fail or disconnect causing the steering wheel to become inoperable while driving.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #411

Jul 012015

Sonata

  • 81,630 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at 60 mph, the steering wheel vibrated whenever driving over a bump. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 81,630. Updated 11/09/15

- Lillian, AL, USA

problem #410

Jun 102015

Sonata

  • miles
When I first got the car the steering wheel was a little lose. I called the dealership and asked them about it. John D ask if my life was in danger I said no. He said it's nothing they can do. At the time my life was not in danger when it came to the steering column, so I thought. As time went on it got worse to the point I felt that my life could be in danger. So I took it to two different car shops to get it fix cause I don't have a warranty. But both shop said to take it back asap. It could lock up on me at anytime and it is not safe to drive. I can afford another car. I'm afraid that something might happen when I have my kids in the car. The steering column shakes and make noise. I have to hold it real tight when driving so it won't go into other lanes. Please help me I don't know what to

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #409

Jun 012015

Sonata

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the steering wheel vibrated uncontrollably and made an abnormal noise. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 61,000.

- Dallas , TX, USA

problem #408

May 012015

Sonata

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the steering wheel shook violently and there was an abnormal noise while driving at 70 mph. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The contact had to reduce the speed to be able to bring the steering wheel under control. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column coupler failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 10V457000 (steering). The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 115,000.

- Burlington , NC, USA

problem #407

Jun 152015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
At the very beginning it was just a noise that sometimes you can barely hear whenever I was trying to turn the wheel to the right or to the left, but at the days goes by the situation its turning to the worst, the noise has became louder and the wheel is totally loose, right now you don't even have to turn the wheel to hear the noise you can hear the noise just with the regular vibration of the car on the road. I made a research and I found a recall for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata because of issues with the steering, I called Hyundai customer service in order to get information about the recall and they told me that my car was not part of the recall just because my car was made 2 months after the date on the recall, I explained that my car was having the same issue as the cars on the recall and my car was also made in the same fabric in Alabama as the cars on the recall with just two months of difference maybe my car also have the same problem with the steering as the others because its just two months and that's not enough time to fix something in some cases. The only option that they gave me was to address this situation to you guys (NHTSA) because you receive all the customers complaints and police reports and you guys are the only ones that can make a decision or the only ones that can make a recall here in this situation. Thanks in advanced for your help.....updated 10-13-15 updated 3/28/2016

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #406

Aug 102014

Sonata

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 40 mph, there was an abnormal noise that came from the front of the vehicle and the vehicle began to shake without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the steering column was faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 10V457000 (steering). The approximate failure mileage was 105,000.

- Castleberry , AL, USA

problem #405

Jul 012015

Sonata

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. When turning the vehicle, the steering column made an abnormal clicking noise. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the steering column failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- West Point, MS, USA

problem #404

Jul 042015

Sonata

  • 65,000 miles
An existing recall (NHTSA campaign number: 13V113000) indicates that for 2011 Hyundai Sonata the stop lamp switch may not function correctly. The recall notice states that: "during the affected models' production periods, some vehicles were equipped with stop lamp switch assemblies that may experience intermittent switch point contact. Potentially result in intermittent operation of the push-button start feature, (wich is happening) intermittent ability to remove the vehicle's shifter from the park position( also happening), or intermittent operation of the stop lamps.(happening also)" all of these symptoms have been observed in my vehicle, yet the brake light swtich was replaced on a routine service for a recall in 2014. I was not experiencing any trouble at that time. Now at 65000 miles and less then one year later my brakes wont turn off when my car is off resulting in my battery to die. Hyundai has had to come jump my car three times. When I brought it in they said they already replaced it and are no longer liable for it. Now my car is stopping and not allowing me to accelerate intermittenly during driving the vehicle. I also smell burning rubber coming from the inside brake area near the switch. Secondly, my steering coulum and alignment were off. I brought the car in to Hyundai in 2014 because of the steering being very looose and making a knocking noise when you moved it back and forth. They said it was the coupling wich they reaplaced and it did not resolve the malfunction. They then replaced the steering rack and perfomed an alignment and tire rotation with new tires. The noise went away but the alignment is still terribly off. Now when I make right turns it makes a loud clicking noise again and shakes at 65mph or over. My warrenty ended at 60,000 miles and now nothing is covered. I paid for an extended warrenty at purchuse of which they have no record of.

- Chicago , IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?