Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,514 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 24 of 39)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #319

Sep 152014


  • 69,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that there was an abnormal noise coming from the steering wheel when driving or making a turn. The noise was heard at various speeds. The dealer stated that the steering wheel assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 10V457000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000.

- Oxford, MS, USA

problem #318

Sep 222014


  • 88,500 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. While driving various speeds over bumpy roads, the steering wheel became lose and there was a consistent clicking noise. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 88,500.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #317

Oct 012012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 32,095 miles
This vehicle has been having issues with steering since around roughly October 2012. The vehicle pulls left or right on most occasions. I have had this vehicle aligned at the Hyundai dealership and at tire kingdom a number of times. The steering still goes to the left or right even after the alignments were done. Every time I take it to Hyundai they say nothing is wrong with the car and blame it on alignments most of the time. The last time I went to Hyundai I complained about the steering still pulling left or right even after I had just aligned it with them. The only conclusion they can come to was that "I need to keep my hands on the steering wheel to keep it straight" this vehicle year and model has been known in the past to have issues with the steering going left or right on its own. I have taken it to the dealership a number of times and finally decided to put a claim in on the vehicle through they're corporate office. I feel this vehicle is a danger to myself, my family and others. A car should be able to drive straight on a road even if you only let the car go for a second. I have another vehicle that doesn't have this issue at all. I have documentation on the times I have taken the vehicle in and expressed that this car was not safe and have only been turned away. Iv expressed that iv felt at times that while the car is pulling I have to use a certain amount of strength to keep the car straight, this should not be the case with any vehicle especially only being 3 years old. Hyundai doesn't feel like there is an issue with my car and I completely disagree, there have been other cases with Hyundai customers that have bought this year, make and model vehicle and have had the same issue. I would like this to be looked into before an accident occurs due to this steering issue.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #316

Sep 172014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 63,577 miles


Brought car in to dealer for recalls for brake tube and shift lever. I recently noticed a knock and what felt like a slippage in the steering wheel. I brought it to the attention of the service rep and she diagnosed it right away. Since I was past the warranty mileage I brought up the earlier steering issue. She assured me that Hyundai would probably cover it. To the dealer and Hyundai's credit they did. The dealer replaced what is identified on my receipt as 1-56315-2K000 - fff flexible coupling. They coded the cause as "63557 falling apart replace steering coupler". I saw two other complaints on this same issue. All 2011 Sonata's should be inspected.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #315

Sep 152014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 89,213 miles
Car taken to dealer for recall work campaign 122 brake tube and campaign 123 transaxle shift lever. Dealer representative inspected car and notified owners that the steering coupler was failing and needed to be replaced. Representative showed us the part and stated that the material that it was made of was "too soft" and that the part would fail and leave the car "unsteerable" during operation. We authorized the repair of the steering flexible coupling part 56315-2K000-fff a $4.41 part that required $270 in labor to replace. This repair is not covered by Hyundai warranty. A short search on the internet revealed that many other Sonata owners are noticing the same defect in the steering. As owner of this car we are able to have this repair made for us and the motoring public's safety. My fear is that other Hyundai Sonata owners will ignore or not notice the clunk of the steering wheels operation before this part fails tragically.

- Myakka City, FL, USA

problem #314

Sep 102014


  • 61,800 miles
I recently took my vehicle back to Hyundai in newport news, va and was told because my vehicle is out of warranty that I would have to pay over $500 to have my steering coupling replaced when I first brought this to their attention in 2010-2011. My car was build in May 2010 and falls under the safety recall but because my VIN was not part of the recall I am not covered which is unacceptable and should not hinder the life of myself or my daughter. I hear cranking and ticking every time I turn my wheel and I have to drive extra careful due to fear of my steering wheel becoming locked. This is unacceptable and unsafe. I contacted Hyundai motor America and they said I can pay upfront and file a claim for reimbursement that takes 4-6 weeks to approve or deny based on what they feel I should receive if I receive anything at all. We spend thousands of dollars in repairs only to be let down by this company.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #313

Aug 012014


  • 45,000 miles


There is a loud clicking sound when the steering wheel is turned to the left or the right. It started subtle (I.e. not as loud ). then within a few weeks, the clicking noise is very noticeable. It is loud, and it occurs every time it is driven. It occurs in park, at low mph - at higher mph, as of now, it seems to be the more subtle sound. After researching, my 2011 model is not included in a recall that over 100,000 2011 Sonatas are in. Hyundai needs to include all 2011 Sonata's in the recall. It is unfair car manufacturers do not include all models, when now it is a known issue with this vehicle (official complaints have been made by people like myself). Research shows people are repairing at their own expense - and also many cars are in terrible accidents due to this problem.

- Brunswick, GA, USA

problem #312

May 152014


  • miles
The steering wheel rattles anytime it goes over any bums, dips, center dividers or any imperfection on the road. There is a recall till September 10th, vehicle is less than 20 days from the recall date and has the same identical issue. The recall is still affecting other vehicles close to the September 10 the, 2010. I truly need help for this, I am a single mother with no child support from the father, I can't afford to fix this issue. I am under stress everyday for the safety of my vehicle. Please, I am begging for help and would appreciate if you can investigate how close in time the make of my vehicle is to the recall date. There must be a connection to this recall, considering the fact that my vehicle was produced within 20 days of this recall pertaining to replacement of the steering wheel column; universal joint shaft. Please help me, I am pleading for help. I appreciate you taking time to read this and would truly appreciate all you assistance for the safety of my child and myself.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #311

Jul 142014


  • 81,000 miles
Car steering make clicking/clunking noise when steering wheel is turned from left to right with an 5-10 degree play in the steering wheel. Noise appears to becoming from the steering column joints. There is also a loud clicking noise like there is a loose part in the steering column when going over bumps. This noise emits directly from the steering wheel housing.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #310

Jul 282014


  • 75,000 miles
Steering column began making noise when turning either direction. There was looseness in the column that progressively became more pronounced over time. On September 4, 2014, I contacted the local Hyundai service center by phone and was told that my VIN was not covered in the published steering column-related recall for the 2011 Sonata.

- Saint Gabriel, LA, USA

problem #309

May 012014


  • 76,000 miles


Starting May 2014, the steering column on my 2011 Sonata started making clicking noise when it was turned left or right. The noise is getting louder over time. Right before the clicking sound, I could feel the steering was losing traction... like it was detached. This happens whenever I turned the steering wheel right or left like making turns. I took it to a Hyundai dealer for the steering column problem; and I was told the 2011 steering column recall work had been performed on my vehicle in 2011. The dealer informed me the steering column needed to be replaced and the cost would be my responsibility. My Sonata has about 76K miles. Based on my internet searches, there appears to be many complaints about 2011 Sonata steering column problem. This needs to be addressed by Hyundai before real serious accidents occur.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #308

Aug 012012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
With car running looseness in steering column. There is tsb on it but if out of warranty customer is responsible.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #307

May 152013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 58,230 miles
The gear shift got stuck and move out of park.brake lights does not work when pressing break peddle, which resently accured, that is to it brake lights.also four months ago I begin to have problems with my brakes.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #306

Aug 122014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
The steering column feels as though it will fall off any moment and the noise is clunking and rattles terribly when going over bumps or any slight moment. This is a huge safety issue and could cause a fatality.

- Richmond Hill, GA, USA

problem #305

Aug 152014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 82,357 miles
I brought my 2011 Sonata into the local dealership for an oil change. The service associate explained that my steering column would need to be replaced as it was making a clunking noise when turned left or right. I inquired as to what would cause this and they did not know. They wrote up an estimate to have the steering wheel and column replaced. They instructed me to get this repaired as quickly as possible as this was a safety hazard. If this is indeed a safety problem I think that Hyundai needs to recall these models and fix them.

- Hahira, GA, USA

problem #304

Jul 012014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that when making a left or right turn, there was an abnormal noise coming from the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was confirmed that the failure was related to NHTSA campaign number: 10V457000 (steering) however, the VIN was not included in the recall. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 10/7/14

- Boynton Beach , FL, USA

problem #303

Jul 192014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
When driving the car, there is a clicking/rattling noise coming from the steering wheel. Any bumps or shaking to the car causes the noise.

- Wylie, TX, USA

problem #302

Jul 212014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Loose steering column shaft detected by clunking when turning or going over small bumps. Notified that there is an existing recall for this issue on vehicles manufactured between 11 Dec 2009 and 10 Sep 2010. This vehicle was manufactured 12 Oct 2010.

- Rapid City , SD, USA

problem #301

May 122014


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated while driving there was a popping sound in the steering column and the vehicle veered to the left. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Milledgeville, GA, USA

problem #300

Jul 012014


  • 30,000 miles
Very load clicking sound when moving steering wheel right or left. See video I know they had a recall on the steering and suspension. It was recall serviced but this has just gotten worse. The sound is progressively louder.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?