Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,514 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 25 of 39)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #299

Jul 152014


  • 71,100 miles


I am still noticing issues with steering I hear knocking in steering wheel when turning and sometimes it shakes as if it is loose. I have taken vehicle to have it fixed per recall, but there still appears to be issues.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #298

Dec 232011


  • 23,000 miles
When I put car in drive and start to drive off it comes completely out of gear, I then have to power off car and then restart and it may work or I may have same issue a few times before it goes in gear. This has cause my car to stall, jerk when it does go in gear, steering wheel shakes when driving, and check engine light has come on. Separate issue is the front bumper is poorly made if you barely tap anything when parking the clamps break and bumper starts to come apart.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #297

May 252014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,300 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the steering column shook and made a rattling noise. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,300 and the current mileage was 15,900. Updated 8/28/14 updated 09/16/2014

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #296

Oct 292013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 14,423 miles


Popping noise when turning and backing up. Noise is been heard after you park and then start up again when backing up. Also when turn in my yard. This has been an ongoing problem. I have carried it back for the same reason several times and it has not been fixed.

- Auburn, AL, USA

problem #295

Jun 012014


  • 61,570 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph, a loud noise emitted inside and outside of the vehicle. The vehicle began to travel out of lane independently and the steering wheel vibrated violently. The vehicle was driven to a parking lot where the engine was turned off. Upon restarting, the vehicle resumed normally. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 61,570.

- Petal , MS, USA

problem #294

Jun 032014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
Steering rattle over bumps and washboard type surfaces. Vehicle sounds like a steering component inside the steering column is broken. Hyundai acknowledges there is a problem but refuses to cover repairs under factory or aftermarket warranty which they also sold me.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #293

Jul 162013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles


Dear sir/madam, I'm contacting you to report what I strongly believe is a defect in the steering unit of Hyundai Sonata, 2011. In an article that was published in September 2010 at yahoo news, a recall problem of the Sonata was reported after "complaints have come in about feeling looseness while driving or abnormal sounds coming from the steering columns." ( my problem with Hyundai matches the description of the complaints, with more complication: 1) when I start the car, without driving, if I steer the steering wheel left and right, I could hear an obnoxiously loud noise in the form of "clicking." One consumer videotapes this problem in this video 2) when I drive on a road that is less than perfectly smooth, I can hear a loud rattling noise, a noise that appears to be coming from loose parts in the column. The noise becomes most obvious and loudest when I drive slowly on brick roads. 3) the problem becomes most dangerous when I drive on the freeway. As I slow down to take an exit, the steering wheel goes viciously vibrating, making it hard to control or keep stable. This vibration is associated with a loud rattling noise coming from the steering column. I took the car to the Hyundai dealer and talked to Hyundai usa, both parties distanced the problem from campaign 97 (a steering intermediate shaft recall). The dealer says that I need to replace the entire steering column on my expenses. If the dealer is right that the problem is not related to the recall, then it is a new problem that needs to be addressed and investigated. Please take into account that the safety of Hyundai Sonata drivers could be endangered by this problem if not fixed. I hope to hear from you soon regarding this matter.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #292

Feb 032014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Steering column makes clunk/rattle noise driving down rough road, bumps, and small potholes at high and low speed, it more noticeable at low speed. While at standing it makes no noise.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #291

Apr 022012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
Steering too tight, wrist and hands get very stressed in short time, keeps pulling to a side, need to put force on steering to stay in lane, very stressful to make turns at all speeds, steering set to low stiffness by dealer, yet very painful, no fix from dealer, says thats how it is since its electronic steering. I see several blogs about the same issue, surprising that there is no remedy. Turbo failed twice before 50K.

- Saint Peters, MO, USA

problem #290

Mar 312011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
On going steering drift issues. Hyundai did a service bulletin 927. Car still wants to veer mostly left. Wrist fatigued hold car in a line. Dealer blew me off when I came in with concerns.

- Federal Way, Wa, WA, USA

problem #289

Apr 232014


  • 84,450 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that when making a turn in either direction, an abnormal knocking was heard from the steering wheel without warning. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the steering coupler needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the vehicle was inspected already under NHTSA campaign number: 10V426000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 84,450.

- Coco , FL, USA

problem #288

Mar 112014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 18,200 miles
On March 11, 2014 approximately at 3:30 pm I went to my car in an underground garage. I entered the car, put my seat belt on, and put the car in reverse. Then when putting car in drive, the steering wouldn't move and without acceleration the car took foot was on the brake when the car took off. At that time, I tried to brake and had no steering or brakes. When that happened with the car accelerating, I had no brakes or steering. I crashed into my husbands car that was parked in spot next to me. I smashed his rear right panel. The car was going at such a speed my husband's car was pushed a couple of feet over. If his car was not there, I would have crashed into the cement wall. As for my car, I smashed the left front fender, head light and lower panel on the front of the car. The car immediately went dead. I immediately called my insurance company and proceeded to call Hyundai. I had vehicle towed to the auto body shop for repairs caused by accident. After the body shop repairs were finished, the car was towed to Hyundai. This auto body shop had the car for 2-3 weeks. Hyundai technicians were called in to check. Hyundai's final outcome/decision was that there were no findings and they feel they are not responsible. I was then called to pick the car up the manager. He claimed to have phoned me numerous amount of times, but this is false. I only received one call from him. The car is unsafe to drive since this is the second incident involving the same problem the car was towed from Hyundai back to my residence and parked in the underground garage. I find this completely appalling and very upsetting that this has happened. This is not the response or service I expected to receive from a so called reputable company. This could have resulted in serious injury or fatalities. I feel Hyundai is totally responsible for this situation. They are not taking responsibility for this.

- Harwood Heights, IL, USA

problem #287

Feb 102014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Vehicle drifts to left and steering wheels requires extra/unnecessary force to correct direction of travel.

- Burleson, TX, USA

problem #286

Feb 262014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 60,776 miles
Steering wheel will make loud clunking noise as U turn the steering wheel it feels as if its loose, or the steering column about to com a part, I contacted Hyundai the manufacture asked me to drop the car at local dealer for inspection, local dealer refused to inspect or repair the vehicle, 2 weeks of count less hours on the phone with Hyundai customer support resulted in I must pay inspection & repairs.

- Tampa , FL, USA

problem #285

Feb 272014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 51,025 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph over a pot hole, the power steering assist suddenly malfunctioned and made it very difficult to the turn the steering wheel. The driver turned the engine off and after restarting the engine, the vehicle resumed normally. The vehicle was diagnosed by the dealer but the failure could not be duplicated and no repairs were performed. The contact experienced the failure a second time and the manufacturer was contacted. The manufacturer made arrangements to have the vehicle diagnosed by the dealer a second time. The failure mileage was 51,025.

- Hilton, NY, USA

problem #284

Oct 012013


  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle exhibited a loud noise and shook violently. The failure was recurring. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection where it was diagnosed that the steering wheel bushing needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 10V457000 (steering). The approximate failure and current mileage was 85,000.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #283

Jan 092014


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the steering wheel would begin to shake. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the bushing in the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #282

Dec 312013


  • 100,034 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that when driving above 50 mph, the vehicle would violently shake. The contact had the vehicle diagnosed by an independent mechanic, who indicated the steering column was defective. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 100,034.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #281

Nov 072012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that when driving over 35 mph, the vehicle would drift into the next lane on either side and would not remain in a straight line. The alignment was adjusted by the dealer on three separate occasions but the defect was not remedied. The manufacturer was notified and no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 100. Updated 02/27/14

- Glen View, IL, USA

problem #280

Dec 102013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
On December 10, 2013 I was getting into my car and when I put the keys into ignition and turned the car on the eps light came on, so I then went into the glove compartment to get the Sonata book out to see what that means the steering wheel started shaking violently. I was so scared that the car was going to blow, I turned the car off, and took the keys out to see if it would stop, but it didn't, it was still shaking. I then had to get the car towed to porter Hyundai. They then recalibrated the steering angle sensor and cleared the code. Then on Sunday December 29, 2013 my son was driving the car and while he was driving the eps light came on and the steering wheel started shaking violently again while he was driving, it was very hard for him to get control of the vehicle. He tried turning the car off but the wheel was still shaking. So after I had to take it back down to porter Hyundai today, they have yet to get back with me about the matter.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?