Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
43,469 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 25 of 42)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #343

Dec 302014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I recently purchased a 2011 Hyundai Sonata gls on 12-26-14 with 97,300 miles. The car only came with one key so I decided to get another key from local Hyundai dealership. While there I decided to check on any recalls the car may of had and not yet done. The service department pulled up 4 total recalls which hasn't been taken care of yet. I told them about a clunking feel in the steering wheel when I turned it to the left or right. They said it was the flexible coupling........a round thick rubber part that looks like a gear. Rubber.....really......in the steering gear system"????? the technician said this part is a safety hazard and wears out on a regular basis to the point you could loose total control of steering. Come to find out that part was replaced around 26,000 miles. They said it wasn't a recall item and the replaced part was only warrantied 12 months/12,000 miles. They also informed me it was a safety issue and I should get it replaced asap! the total cost is $250.......$8 for part and the rest is labor. Not a big surprise.......labor's always more expensive than the part! I didn't do a lot of research on the car before I bought it. Shame on me!!!! within an hour on the internet I learned a great deal on the unbelievable number of people who are having this problem. I don't understand why Hyundai hasn't recalled the flexible coupling? I'm going to dig a little deeper to see how many accidents/deaths are associated with this particular part. I'd love to know if there's a class action lawsuit against Hyundai on this part" Hyundai you are putting a tremendous amount of peoples lives in risk of injury or death because you will not recall a part which is less than $10!!!!! oh, how about redesigning the part which is rubber and making it out of something more durable!!!!! selling this deathtrap asap and getting a Honda or Toyota!!!!!! seriously!!!!!!!....updated 01/23/15

- Jacksonville, AL, USA

problem #342

Nov 012014

Sonata

  • miles
Steering makes a clicking or knocking sound when turning left, right, and even when in park. Driving on uneven roads makes the clicking noise as well. I called the dealership about steering recalls. They claimed one had already been performed and this sounded like a coupling problem.I took it in for am overview and they confirmed it is the coupling. I have read many similar complaints with even worse results. The part itself is cheap to replace online...but labor is over 250 dollars at the local dealer. I believe a recall should be issued immediately before any more steering issues take place or before fatal accidents happen! I have tried contact many, and not one has taken my concern seriously.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #341

Oct 012014

Sonata

  • 60,500 miles
The steering of my 2011 Hyundai Sonata gls makes clicking noise when turning the wheel left or right in parked. The noise is present when I'm driving at or around 70mph. I fear that it may a safety issue.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #340

Jun 022014

Sonata

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 60 mph, the steering wheel veered to the right without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic assist needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Stanwood, WA, USA

problem #339

Dec 012014

Sonata

  • miles
Steering wheel coupler has broken. Not covered under warranty! this part if failing on many Sonatas and should be recalled.

- Holly Springs, MS, USA

problem #338

Dec 262014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Steering makes a clicking or knocking sound when turning left or right. Called dealership about steering recalls. They claimed one had already been performed and this sounded like a coupling problem. I have read other similar complaints. Part is less than 2 dollars...labor is over 200 dollars. I believe a recall should be issued if others are complaining about the same thing.

- Donna, TX, USA

problem #337

Dec 242014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The steering of my 2011 Hyundai Sonata gls makes clicking noise when turning the wheel left or right in parked. Also when I drive on a bad/uneven road, there is noise form the steering column as if something inside is loose. I fear that it may a safety issue. I see that many other Sonata owners have the same problem. Can this be investigated for a recall? thanks!

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #336

Oct 012014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
The steering column has a loud rattle and a `catch' that makes the car difficult to steer.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #335

Dec 212014

Sonata 4WD 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Vehicle pulls to the left on highway. The higher speeds cause car to pull even more and after a while start to hurt arm. Car was built in April 13th 2011.

- West Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #334

Nov 272014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 41,325 miles
When I turn the steering wheel all the way in (I.e. when parallel parking), the power steering goes out. The eps light comes on in the dashboard and the steering wheel jumps all the way back to the center position. Steering is completely gone. When I then turn off the ignition and turn it back on, the steering is working properly again.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #333

Nov 212014

Sonata

  • 91,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I was driving at about 40 mph the car made an electrical noise and the steering wheel began shaking violently. I fought the shaking wheel to pull the car over and turned it off. The steering wheel continued to shake violently for about 5 minutes with the key out of the ignition. It was exactly like this video: Https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=kzabdamqaps I took it to the dealership who replaced the steering column intermediate shaft as part of a recall and they told me I need a new steering column which is over $1,500 dollars as it was "not associated" with the recall and was not under warranty.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #332

Nov 032014

Sonata

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while turning the steering wheel, a clicking noise emitted from the steering column and the steering wheel became very loose making the steering unstable while operating the vehicle. The vehicle was not yet diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the contact was informed that the VIN was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number 10V457000 (steering). The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #331

Apr 232014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
I purchased my 2011 Hyundai Sonata on Dec 15,2013 from a Hyundai dealer. In April I noticed that my vehicle was pulling to the right side. I took it to a different location and after several attempts of them correcting the issue they called me and told me they could not figure out what was wrong. I then took it to the Hyundai dealer and they replaced a sensor and told me it was done. Again my car will not stay in the lane. It pulls so much to the right and is very unsafe. I took it in again and they are telling me it is just the alignment. They even stated that someone else in my house hit something. I looked online and saw that there are numerous complaints of cars pulling to left or right. I was told there was a recall campaign 927 but they only did an alignment on December 23,2011 and nothing else was done but then it was closed, indicating that it had been fixed. They want me to pay for the alignment and told me my tires are bad because of how it drives. Hyundai is aware of the issues and gives me the run around.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #330

Aug 042014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
The vehicle makes a clicking noise when the steering wheel is turned in either direction especially when parking. It can also be herd and felt when driving over uneven surfaces. There's a looseness in the steering that is getting progressively worse over time. I was told by the dealer that the steering flex coupling needs to be replaced but it's not covered by any recalls. During my research of this issue I discovered an alarming amount of 2011 Hyundai Sonata owners experiencing the exact same issue which tells me this has to be a defect. Hyundai needs to issue an immediate recall on these steering flex couplings before someone gets seriously injured or killed. This is a very dangerous situation that needs to be addressed. The proof needed to avoid tragedy is just an internet search away.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #329

Oct 132014

Sonata

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while making a turn, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 10V426000 (steering) but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 67,000.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #328

Oct 232014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
I was informed by several co-workers that there were recalls for our car, the 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The problems that are affecting my 2011 Hyundai Sonata are: Exterior lighting: Brake lights: Switches, brake light and steering: Gear box: Shaft sector. The only recall that the Hyundai dealer honored was from campaign 123. Campaign 110 and 122 will not be honored due to the manufacture date of my vehicle which is March 28, 2011. If my car is having the same problems as the other 2011 Hyundai Sonatas why can't my vehicle be repaired under the recall. I feel that this is unfair to consumers of the 2011 Hyundai Sonata due to a manufacturing date. Please give me some type of remedy for this matter!!! had I known about the business practices of Hyundai I would have never purchased this vehicle!!!

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #327

Jul 012014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
The vehicle was making a clicking noise every time the car is steering in either direction. It's even worst if it is drive in an uneven terrain. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection where it was diagnosed that the steering wheel column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired because it was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 10V457000 or #10V426000. For both campaigns, the last date of manufacturing is 09/10/2010 and my vehicle was manufactured on 10/18/2010. In addition, buttons on the right side of the steering wheel are not working.the approximate failure mileage was 87,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #326

Oct 242014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 105,477 miles
Driving on a busy street, turned down a residential street and the steering wheel started shaking violently. We have own the car since June, 2013 and this has been an ongoing problem. The will be a beep, then the eps and traction control will show on the dash board and then the steering wheel will start to shake violently. My husband shut off the vehicle and it violently shake for 20 mins. At times when this problem occurred in the past the car would be on but we did not even leave the drive way. The first time it did it me was 4 months after purchasing the vehicle and I had my child in the back seat taking her to school when the steering wheel started shaking violently, I was in the middle of a busy intersection and I couldn't get out because I was not strong enough to handle the steering wheel, and we almost got hit. Each time (more than 5 times now) we were either stopped or going less than 25 miles per hour, the eps and traction will light, and the steering wheel will shake violently anywhere from 5 minutes to 45 minutes. There was a time when my husband was driving in our small town when the eps light was on but my husband had no power steering. The steering wheel didn't shake.

- Maize, KS, USA

problem #325

Oct 222014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 103,106 miles
Have replaced brake lights 5 times due to someome telling me they were out. Was stop by a cop today because both brake lights he said we're out. Why are these lights burning out so fast" automotive guy said put some grease on bulb then place them in. I did and they still went out"

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #324

Oct 102014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
Steering wheel developed noise with turning and more free-play in steering wheel. I took car to dealer who replaced coupling seal. According to dealer, this has been a common problem that can lead to significant steering problems.

- Lake Mary, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?