Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,514 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 26 of 39)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #279

Feb 082012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 33,500 miles


I bought my 2011 Hyundai Sonata back in February 2012 from enterprise car sales and ever since I bought it I been hearing a knocking sound in the front end of my car while im driving from maybe 10mph to 40mph. But on the highway when I reach speeds over 50mph I don't hear anything. I have taken it to the dealer numerous of times I have had certified mechanics check it and they told me it could be one of the motor mounts but the dealer never wanted to change it they kept telling me the car was fine. Now its going to be a year later and my car has that same knocking sound in the front but now its extremely loud. I can feel the knocking through the steering too so now I don't know what to do.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #278

Dec 042013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
I am reporting a third incident that occurred after the date of the earlier two incidents I previously reported in my earlier complaints. After the previous incident, Hyundai burlingame (1025 rollins road, burlingame, ca 94010), installed a new engine and installed a new fuel intake valve. On October 19, 2013, the second repair work was completed and I picked up the car. On December 4, 2013, I was driving the car on us 101, northbound traveling approximately 70 mph when the car began to make loud clanging noises and violently shake and shudder and the engine light came on. I was able to pull off the highway just as the car again experienced a catastrophic engine failure. As the engine failed, the power to the steering went out and this made the car difficult to maneuver. The car was towed to Hyundai burlingam and is awaiting repair.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #277

Oct 042013


  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated stated that while turning at various speeds, he heard a knocking sound. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where who stated the steering column needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 10V457000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 64,000.

- St. Augustine, FL, USA

problem #276

Oct 012013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 67,382 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50 mph, the steering wheel began to vibrate violently. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was being driven. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id numbers: 10V426000 (steering) and 10V457000 (steering). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The technician informed the contact that the steering column and front driver's side axle would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired for the most recent failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 67,382. Updated 12-26-13

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #275

Oct 032013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I am reporting a second incident that occurred after the date of the first incident I previously reported in my earlier complaint. As noted in my earlier complaint, the car had experienced catastrophic engine failure. I had the car taken for repair to the Hyundai licensed dealer and automotive repair service center operated by Hyundai burlingame (1025 rollins road, burlingame, ca 94010). The repair center explained the engine would have to be completely replaced and so would the fuel intake valve. A new engine and intake valve were installed in the car. On 10/2/2013, the repair work was completed and my spouse picked up the car and returned to our residence. On 10/3/2013, my spouse was driving the repaired car to work during the morning commute on southbound I-280 in the bay area when the car began to make loud clanging noises and violently shake and shudder. My spouse was able to pull of the highway just as the car again experienced catastrophic engine failure and the engine began releasing very heavy dark smoke. As the engine failed, the power to the steering went out and this made the car difficult to maneuver. The car was towed to the nearest authorized Hyundai dealer and service repair center, stevens creek Hyundai (4425 steven creek blvd., santa clara, ca 95051). Stevens creek Hyundai opened the hood of the car and examined the engine. Steven creek Hyundai told my spouse there was a high pressure gasoline leak and gasoline had been spurting on the hot engine and also that there was some sort of catastrophic engine failure.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #274

Sep 272013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 75,500 miles
While driving at approximately 10mph I heard a rattle from the front of the car. I suspected it was suspension related but then noticed there was some play in the steering. Turning the steering wheel left and right just slightly causes the sound to occur. On the NHTSA website I found there was a recall for steering issues for my year and model car. I took it to key Hyundai in jacksonville and they verified the steering column and intermediate shaft were the source. My car is not included in the recall even though it has the exact issue. The dealer wants $1310.75 to repair my 2 year old car.

- Saint Marys, GA, USA

problem #273

Sep 162013


  • 15,142 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata gls. The contact stated that while attempting to make a left or right turn, the steering column would make a loud clucking noise. In addition, the vehicle had become rough to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the mechanic stated that the steering column was not working properly. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 15,142.

- North Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #272

Oct 062010


  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the power steering and ESC warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 2,000 and the current mileage was 70,000.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #271

Sep 152013


  • 38,900 miles
My car was just serviced for excessive noise occurring when I would make turns as if the car could not grip the road. I brought the car to the deal as was told the alignment must be off, only to find that there was a recall that I was never told of. The dealer replaced the lower control arms on the car and a new alignment part their "TP3 recall" but when driving home the car did not make noises when making the turns on the on/off ramps but rather when driving straight and/or when changing lanes. Dealer due to being a Sunday and service department being closed as me to call them back. This will be the 3rd time I have had to bring the car in for the same issue with each time the steering column being loose and a natural pull to the driver side.

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #270

Aug 122013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
This vehicle is impossible to drive in a straight line. Vehicle is constantly pulling to the right or left and requires constant attention. It is almost as if steering wheel has not been centered. I thought that this problem is with my vehicle, but after driving my friends brand new Sonata I concluded that this is the Hyundai problem. Dealer is denying that there is anything wrong with the car; however problem still persists.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #269

Aug 262011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 10,174 miles


The constant recurring problem is my car will not start. I have been stranded several times and have each one documented. I also have problems with the steering wheel locking and the brakes are unable to press. I have contacted an attorney regarding the lemon law and she has notified the Hyundai motor America. My car is currently in the repair shop again and this has gone on for the 2 1/2 years I have owned it. There are over 598,000 complaints against this model of car and the problems are very serious and can cause deadly accidents. My car will not click out of the cruise control feature so I cannot use that feature. The brake lights do not always work and I have been stopped by cars behind me to tell me I have no lights and they almost hit me. What does it take to get this model of car recalled before many deaths occur. The internet has this problem documented and a recall was issued to replace that switch. I have taken my car in to have the brake light sensor replaced twice and it still occurs. I have to continue to pay payments on this car while I drive a rental car. I basically do not have a safe car to drive so I can't go anywhere in fear of being stranded. Can you please look into this and safe lives before it is too late?

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #268

Jul 182013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated that the ball joints, axle and steering needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 31,000....updated 08-08-13 the consumer stated the bearing in the front wheel, joint assembly, bearing bracket, arm control unit and knuckle to the front axle, were all replaced.

- Greenwood , IN, USA

problem #267

Jun 112013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 39,400 miles
When the car is running in park, the steering wheel everytime when turned or rocked in a right to left motion, a clunking loose sound will be felt and heard.

- New Smyrna Beach, FL, USA

problem #266

Mar 222013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the power steering assist failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was advised to the contact that the alignment was off. The vehicle was repaired but the problem persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 28,000.

- Lockhaven , PA, USA

problem #265

May 122013


  • 56,243 miles
My vehicle has had an alignment done four times in the last year, first two by pepboys and last two from Hyundai but the car continues to pull to the left on highway. This is an issue reported with the 2011 Sonata. Hyundai has not done anything to resolve this issue. Last week my wife almost had a head-on collision when her the car pulled to the left on a two lane highway. There are several reports about this issue. You can simply google " Sonata pulling" and you will have plenty of results on this issue. I took my car to holler Hyundai orlando

- Wwinter Springs , FL, USA

problem #264

May 122013


  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, the steering wheel vibrated violently and the vehicle became difficult to maneuver. The contact shut the vehicle off and the steering wheel continued to vibrate. The vehicle was towed to a dealer for diagnosis and the contact was informed the cause for failure could not be found. The vehicle had not been repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileage was 76,000.

- Jefferson City, MO, USA

problem #263

May 032013


  • 21,000 miles
I own a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. I have taken my vehicle back to Hyundai in killeen to have the alignment repaired two times. When I initially received the car it pull very hard to the left, then once they "fixed it" it still pulled. I paid initially to have the car certified and alignment it part of it.

- Belton, TX, USA

problem #262

May 242011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 202 miles
This is my fourth time complaining about my vehicle pulling. I just bought a new set of tires, because my front driver side tire was worn down to the metal. The new tires were properly installed and balanced by discount tire, but my vehicle stills tracks to the right. I cannot let go of the steering wheel for a second without it wanting to change lanes when I am going straight. I've taken my vehicle to the dealer three times already and had the service campaign performed. The condition of the road is not the issue here, as I have been told time and time again. I have also found reports of this tracking issue online. The car is still pulling to the right 60 - 70 percent of the time, and is a constant struggle to control. This is especially difficult when I am traveling at speeds of 45mph, or higher. If I hit the slightest imperfection in the road; the car will bounce all over the place. It still seems to be tracking primarily to the right, but the tracking of this car is so erratic. I have included several reliable sources below, which further explain the issue I am experiencing.

- Davenport, FL, USA

problem #261

Mar 302011


  • 2,000 miles
The vehicle pulls strongly to the left. A very well documented case of a defective vehicle. Was told by the dealer there is nothing they can do. The car is a lease and I cannot get rid of it and continue to pay for a car which, if I don't hold the wheel with the force of god, will spear off to the left and possibly into a tree.

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #260

Apr 212013


  • 18,000 miles
I leased this Hyundai Sonata in 2011 brand new and after 3000 miles began having issues with the car not starting by using the start button. The workaround was to place your foot on the brake and hold down the push button start for 1 minute and the engine would start. This was intermittent. It would happen frequently and then suddenly be better for long periods of time. Finally at 18000 miles went to start the car and everything was dead. It drove ok the day before (not like a car who's battery was bad). The car is being towed to the nearest dealership where I happened to purchase it. In addition to the start issue and the completely dying part (and it was not able to be charged by ordinary means) the car also has a low tire pressure warning that stays on regardless of how much or how little air is in the tire. That remained for 4 months and now seems to be staying off. The car also drifts to the left when driven (it has done this since I purchased it). I had several recalls fixed early on at the dealership, but it did not correct the drifting issue. There is also a rattle in the dash which began at 16,000 miles. The back door handle (behind the driver's seat) handle was stuck in an outward position and the door would not open. It finally opened one day and now the handle is back in place, but a small black piece hangs down from the handle. I have read on the internet several complaints that are the same or similar as all of my issues.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?