CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
43,980 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 26 of 43)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #353

Oct 152014

Sonata

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The steering wheel has play in it and it also makes a loud knock when turned from side to side when in motion and not in motion. I spoke to a guy at the dealership at capital Hyundai columbia SC and after I told him what the car was doing he told me it needed a steering coupler and it would cost around $400 and they do a lot of this service for the particular car. But the part only cost $5.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #352

Jan 062015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 41,190 miles
Upon reaching the 70 mph speed limit the vehicle's steering began to vibrate when turning to the right. Recently had new tires and wheel alignment done so that problem it is not.it appears as though it is getting worse as the steering now makes a clunking noise whether moving or not. Also there appears to be many issues with this and Hyundai has issued a safety alert, but no recall. This incident will ultimately result in injuries and possibly fatalities if not addressed. Hopefully the NHTSA will force dealers to replace these faulty parts before that happens.

- Ft Pierce, FL, USA

problem #351

Jan 022015

Sonata

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. Whenever the steering wheel was turned while driving at various speeds, the contact heard an abnormal noise and it felt like the steering wheel would detach. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Wellington, FL, USA

problem #350

Dec 142011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This vehicle has pulled to the right since I drove it off the lot. I have been to multiple dealerships to address the issue, no one has a fix. Dealership has told me it my driving style that is causing the issue. Dealership has told me the tires are not balanced, and rotated the tires. Dealer has done alignment, told me a special tool was needed to fix that they did not have, claimed a recalled part was the issue. After recall was repaired the car still pulls. I have had 3 full sets of tires done, working on set # 4 now - all previous sets were worn out due to camber issues.

- Tinton Falls, NJ, USA

problem #349

Aug 302013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata turbo--when driving, the front end pulls to the right. I am replacing tires yearly. The shop says they can't find any problems, turbo when applied smells like burning rubber.

- Apex, SC, USA

problem #348

Jan 212015

Sonata

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that there was an unknown noise coming from the steering wheel while driving at low speeds. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #347

Mar 042013

Sonata

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When first purchased in March of 2014 noticed a little clicking in steering when turned left or right. Now its gotten worst! even when parked it clicks. When we hit the smallest bump on the road it clicks and shakes bad. I'm to the point of scared to drive my own car. I'm scared I would have no control of the steering one day. I can not drive this car with my 3 kids in it. I thought I bought me a safe family car. I was wrong. I'm doing my research right now and see lot others have this problem. It needs to be a recall. My Hyundai dealer says it's the coupling. He knew exactly what problem I was having. Like it isn't news to him. It'll gonna cost me $349 to get this fixed"!?!"

- Seguin, TX, USA

problem #346

Nov 122014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
The car make a loud thump and the steering is loose when you turn the steering wheel from side to side had it check out and stated it might be the bearings.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #345

Mar 202014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 60,777 miles
I purchased a used 2011 Sonata on 3/19/14. Within a few days, I noticed that when I reached 70 mph, the steering wheel began to vibrate violently. I called the service manager at the dealership who said it sounded like the wheel alignment. Since I work only 6 mi. From home and I hardly ever drove 70 mph, and the dealership is about an hour's drive from home, it was not until 5/19 that I had the alignment done. I paid $58.40 for the work, on the way home I found that it still vibrated at 70 mph. Due to having recently spent so much to buy the car, I couldn't afford to spend any more on it then and decided to keep my speed under 70 until I had more money. On about 9/8, the steering wheel starting making a grinding noise when I turned the wheel when backing out of my parking place. On 9/10 I called the service manager at the dealership again who suggested I take my car somewhere closer to home. I took my car to an automotive repair company, who was recommended by several friends. He removed the driveshaft and said the coupling was "dust" and it was metal against metal. He then said there was a safety notice but not a safety recall on this problem. From that day forward I have had no vibration in the steering wheel. I believe there should be a safety recall before someone gets hurt or killed. I would also like my $421.40 reimbursed.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #344

Jan 012013

Sonata

  • 24,000 miles
Two issues: 1. I purchased the vehicle used in December 2012. Immediately noticed a left pull, so the dealership agreed to align the vehicle prior to us driving off the lot. Since then, the car has never been properly aligned with the dealership consistently stating "you must be hitting too many potholes". I drive a Sonata, not an off-road vehicle. Absolute bologna! I've gone through 2 new tires and three alignments since with the left pull still occurring. Finally, I decided to give up on the dealer and take it to a local repair shop who informed me I'll need to install an aftermarket camber bolt kit and this is a known issue in Sonatas. I'm hoping this will fix the problem, but it seems utterly ridiculous that none of the Hyundai dealerships would ante up and take the blame for this and consistently took my money for an alignment that never fixed the problem. 2. loud clicking when turning left or right at any speed which is getting significantly worse. The clicking was mild when I first purchased the vehicle and has since gotten significantly worse. When I spoke with the dealership about this, they want to charge me another $200+ to fix. **needless to say, I will never purchase a Sonata again. They don't take responsibility for anything.

- Cornelius, NC, USA

problem #343

Dec 302014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I recently purchased a 2011 Hyundai Sonata gls on 12-26-14 with 97,300 miles. The car only came with one key so I decided to get another key from local Hyundai dealership. While there I decided to check on any recalls the car may of had and not yet done. The service department pulled up 4 total recalls which hasn't been taken care of yet. I told them about a clunking feel in the steering wheel when I turned it to the left or right. They said it was the flexible coupling........a round thick rubber part that looks like a gear. Rubber.....really......in the steering gear system"????? the technician said this part is a safety hazard and wears out on a regular basis to the point you could loose total control of steering. Come to find out that part was replaced around 26,000 miles. They said it wasn't a recall item and the replaced part was only warrantied 12 months/12,000 miles. They also informed me it was a safety issue and I should get it replaced asap! the total cost is $250.......$8 for part and the rest is labor. Not a big surprise.......labor's always more expensive than the part! I didn't do a lot of research on the car before I bought it. Shame on me!!!! within an hour on the internet I learned a great deal on the unbelievable number of people who are having this problem. I don't understand why Hyundai hasn't recalled the flexible coupling? I'm going to dig a little deeper to see how many accidents/deaths are associated with this particular part. I'd love to know if there's a class action lawsuit against Hyundai on this part" Hyundai you are putting a tremendous amount of peoples lives in risk of injury or death because you will not recall a part which is less than $10!!!!! oh, how about redesigning the part which is rubber and making it out of something more durable!!!!! selling this deathtrap asap and getting a Honda or Toyota!!!!!! seriously!!!!!!!....updated 01/23/15

- Jacksonville, AL, USA

problem #342

Nov 012014

Sonata

  • miles
Steering makes a clicking or knocking sound when turning left, right, and even when in park. Driving on uneven roads makes the clicking noise as well. I called the dealership about steering recalls. They claimed one had already been performed and this sounded like a coupling problem.I took it in for am overview and they confirmed it is the coupling. I have read many similar complaints with even worse results. The part itself is cheap to replace online...but labor is over 250 dollars at the local dealer. I believe a recall should be issued immediately before any more steering issues take place or before fatal accidents happen! I have tried contact many, and not one has taken my concern seriously.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #341

Oct 012014

Sonata

  • 60,500 miles
The steering of my 2011 Hyundai Sonata gls makes clicking noise when turning the wheel left or right in parked. The noise is present when I'm driving at or around 70mph. I fear that it may a safety issue.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #340

Jun 022014

Sonata

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 60 mph, the steering wheel veered to the right without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic assist needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Stanwood, WA, USA

problem #339

Dec 012014

Sonata

  • miles
Steering wheel coupler has broken. Not covered under warranty! this part if failing on many Sonatas and should be recalled.

- Holly Springs, MS, USA

problem #338

Dec 262014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Steering makes a clicking or knocking sound when turning left or right. Called dealership about steering recalls. They claimed one had already been performed and this sounded like a coupling problem. I have read other similar complaints. Part is less than 2 dollars...labor is over 200 dollars. I believe a recall should be issued if others are complaining about the same thing.

- Donna, TX, USA

problem #337

Dec 242014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
The steering of my 2011 Hyundai Sonata gls makes clicking noise when turning the wheel left or right in parked. Also when I drive on a bad/uneven road, there is noise form the steering column as if something inside is loose. I fear that it may a safety issue. I see that many other Sonata owners have the same problem. Can this be investigated for a recall? thanks!

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #336

Oct 012014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
The steering column has a loud rattle and a `catch' that makes the car difficult to steer.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #335

Dec 212014

Sonata 4WD 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Vehicle pulls to the left on highway. The higher speeds cause car to pull even more and after a while start to hurt arm. Car was built in April 13th 2011.

- West Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #334

Nov 272014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 41,325 miles
When I turn the steering wheel all the way in (I.e. when parallel parking), the power steering goes out. The eps light comes on in the dashboard and the steering wheel jumps all the way back to the center position. Steering is completely gone. When I then turn off the ignition and turn it back on, the steering is working properly again.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?