Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,514 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 30 of 39)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #199

Feb 152011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 8 miles


Pulled left immediately upon delivery. Returned to dealer. They said they switched the two front tires to fix the problem. They said it was due to radial pull. This begs the question "what happens when I replace or rotate tires?" I am concerned that the root cause has not been addressed. It has not pulled since they switched the front tires.

- Longmont, CO, USA

problem #198

Jun 252011


  • 140 miles
Leased 2011 Hyundai Sonata on 6/21/11. On 6/25 with 140 miles on the odometer I noticed a strong pull to the left at about 35 mph. Needed to actively correct steering to keep car in a straight trajectory. I immediately checked tire pressure looked under the car for anything obvious but found nothing. Did not drive on high speed roadway until many days later and found that at 65 mph the problem was the same. After July 4th holiday I telephoned Hyundai dealership and they told me to make an appointment, they said they had never heard that before.I did not go to the dealership thru today 8/15/11. I have however seen the numerous same complaints about the 2011 Sonata. I wanted to make my own self heard as to this problem. It continues today and I am going to go to the dealership but expect the same stonewalling I have read about.

- East Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #197

May 012011


  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated while driving, the vehicle would pull to the left. There was a NHTSA campaign id number: 10V457000 (steering:gear box:shaft sector) recall that may be related to the failure. The contact was in the process of finding out if his VIN was a part of the recall. The dealer replaced the strut, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 0 and the current mileage was 4,000.

- Port Jefferson, NY, USA

problem #196

Mar 212011


  • miles


My 2011 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T pulls to the left very hard. It occurs at just about any speed, but is worse with highway speeds. In less than1.5 seconds my car would be 1 lane over if my hands are not on the wheel. I have to hold the wheel to the right just to go straight. I have had this addressed twice at the dealership where I purchased my car. The problem has not been fixed.

- Carol Stream, IL, USA

problem #195

Aug 042011


  • 1 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata pulls left. Car has been back to dealer a few times. They have replaced both struts, did alignments, straighttrac, as well as put 4 brand new tires on the car. I still have an issue with the car pull left. This happens all day every day since I purchased the car in January 2011 I dont feel safe driving this car.

- Franklin Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #194

Jul 102011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 2,736 miles
2011 Sonata turbo pulls left all the time. Soon as you release the wheel the car will pull to the left and into on coming traffic or a guard rail within 3-5 seconds at highway speeds. You have to always have the wheel slightly to the right to keep the car from pulling left. Called Hyundai and filled a case # but to date nobody has returned my call to discuss the problem. It was at the dealer for 4-5 days and they said the tried everything on the Hyundai tsb and it still pulls to the left.

- Nj, NJ, USA

problem #193

Apr 012011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 67,900 miles


My 2011 Hyundai Sonata veers to the right. I have to keep more pressure on the left side of the steering wheel in order to keep the car straight. I have taken the car three times to the dealership but the problem has not be fixed. I have been told that the car steering goes slightly to the right but was not guaranteed that it could be fixed.

- Lynwood, CA, USA

problem #192

Jul 212011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata 2.0T pulls to left at normal speeds during normal driving. This is not a "torque-steer" issue (the tendency of front-wheel drive cars to veer under acceleration due to uneven torque to the front wheels). Even on cruise control, if you don't apply constant "right" correction, the car will veer left. The crown of the road does not stop this, nor is it a wind issue. If you let the wheel go, the car will change lanes to the left (or veer into oncoming traffic!) within 10 seconds. This is an extremely dangerous condition. I have had the car in the shop 3 times and while they are very aware of the issue, have no solution. This is unacceptable and a significant public safety hazard. Please initiate a formal inquiry.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #191

Apr 182010


  • miles
The car is pulling hard to the left, it requires my constant correction. It has done this day 1 of owning the car, and as you go faster, it pulls harder. I brought it back to the dealer to have them fix the alignment, but that didn't do anything except now my wheel isn't centered and it's cocked to the right and still pulls left.

- Medford, NY, USA

problem #190

Jul 162011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 15 miles
I purchased a 2011 Hyundai Sonata SE 2.0T on 07/15/2011. During driving on highway speeds, the car is constantly pull to the left and its a quit significant pull. I took it to the dealer on 7/22/2011, their technition test drove it, it was pull to the left but he kept telling me this is normal. A lot of people having this issue and it is a major concern but Hyundai dealers are not recognizing it. Please try to address this issue as soon as possible. Thank you

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

problem #189

Mar 132011


  • 3,200 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated while driving 55 mph or more the vehicle pulled to the left. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer four times and made several attempts to remedy the failure. The dealer also performed and alignment to the front end of the vehicle, stated that it was functioning normally and that it was also driving within the specifications of the design. The manufacturer stated the dealer informed them that the vehicle was performing within the correct specifications and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 3,200.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #188

Jun 242011


  • 4,500 miles
The car pulls to the left and the steering is slightly tilted left in normal driving position. Also have to apply a constant force to keep the car straight. At high speeds the steering feels free.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #187

Jul 052011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 166 miles
2012 Hyundai Sonata gls pulls right. Took the car for inspection a few days after purchasing the car. They re-aligned the wheels but the problem still remains. I have contacted Hyundai motor company they have suggested that I take the car to 2nd dealership for 2nd inspection before they can act on the issue. Note:this complaint is for 2012 model. In the pull down menu there was not an option to select 2012 Hyundai Sonata.

- Texas, TX, USA

problem #186

Jan 012011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 100 miles
2011 Hyundai Sonata has pulled to the left almost continuously since we took possession of the car. The car has been taken back to the dealer 4 times and has never been corrected. It is so constant that my left shoulder hurts after just a few minutes of driving the car.

- Dover, FL, USA

problem #185

Aug 302010

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 5 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle would pull towards the left or right while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that he would have to get used to the driving of the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure continued. Later while driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle pulled sharply toward the left and the contact lost control of the vehicle. The brakes were applied and the contact noticed that the power steering was no longer functioning. The vehicle was carefully driven to an authorized dealer where the steering column was being replaced. The failure mileage was 5. updated 09/07/11 the consumer has since traded the vehicle. Updated 09/14/11

- North Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #184

Jul 012011


  • miles
It seems more and more Hyundai model cars are exhibiting a very severe shift to the left (or right) when traveling at highway speeds. A recall should be issued. Please see the following example: [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Huston, TX, USA

problem #183

Jun 252011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 2,800 miles
My car (2011 Hyundai Sonata )starts drifting to the left when going over 60 mph. I contacted the Hyundai dealer where I purchased this vehicle in February and was told "it's a defect in the 2011 Hyundai Sonata, but Hyundai does not have a fix for it yet."

- Smyrna, GA, USA

problem #182

Mar 012011


  • 43 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 to 65 mph, the vehicle would pull towards the left. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was advised to have the wheels realigned and the sensors repaired. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 43.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #181

Jun 022011


  • miles
My 2011 Hyundai Sonata limited is pulling right. Noticed it after driving home. Went back within the week to dealer service center. The pulling right is still there, not as severely, but still there. Took it in 3 weeks from purchase, their machinery says there is no alignment problem, but every time road test drive was done, it still pulls to the right. Now, I have been given a rental car and they are keeping it for 2 days just to fix an alignment pulling to right.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #180

Jun 102011


  • miles
There is a problem with the steering in my 2011 Hyundai Sonata limited. At speeds above about 45 mph, the vehicle drifts randomly left & right. The higher the speed, the worse it is. The vehicle is also very sensitive to wind and even the wake of passing vehicles pushes the car around on the highway. It also is hard to steer on grooved pavement, which causes the car to squirm around erratically. I am constantly "correcting" the steering to maintain a straight track. The vehicle often pulls strongly to the left. This occurs especially when on the left side of a "crowned" highway. Pulls very strongly to the left, but tracks straight when on the right side of the road.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?